DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is amended. Claim 9 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5, filed 07/15/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mcallister (US 20170050010) and Cheng (US 20160058992).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1,2, 3, 5-6, 7 , 10-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Mcallister (US 20170050010) in view of Cheng (US 20160058992).
Regarding Claim 1, Mcallister discloses method for manufacturing a microneedle element comprising at least one microneedle (Figure 1, microneedle-130), the method comprising the following steps: providing a mold element for the microneedle elements to be manufactured (Figure 13, mold-1301); filling the mold element with a first formulation (Figure 13, [0074]-[0075], formulation-1304): curing the first formulation; and pressurizing the first formulation during curing ([0101]).
Mcallister fails to disclose that pressurization is carried out over a period of at least 30 minutes, such that formulation is at least partially cured, however, in the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art of manufacturing microneedle, Cheng discloses that under some pressure drying/curing can take place from 20 minutes to several hours which satisfy the claim limitation ([0106]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the manufacturing of microneedle as taught by Mcallister with pressurization over specific period of time, as suggested by Cheng, for the benefit of achieving desired mechanical strength in the product formed ([0090]), and for further benefit of effectively penetrating desired site ([0090]).
Regarding Claim 2, Mcallister discloses wherein the method comprises, before the step of filling the mold element with the first formulation ([0074]-[0075], first formulation-1302), the following further step: filling the mold element with a second formulation, (Figure 13, [0074], second formulation-1304).
Regarding Claim 3, Mcallister discloses that wherein the method comprises after the step of filling the mold element with the second formulation, the following further step: curing the second formulation ([0102]).
Regarding Claim 5, Mcallister discloses wherein, when filling the mold element with the first formulation, the mold element is overfilled so that the first formulation emerges from the mold element ([0101], Figure 13 the mold element is filled with first formulation then it would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to comprehend that the if the mold element is overfilled then the first formulation emerges from the mold element ).
Regarding Claim 6, Mcallister discloses wherein drying, in particular air drying, takes place during curing ([0115]).
Regarding Claim 7, Mcallister discloses, wherein temperature is applied during curing ([0148]).
Regarding Claim 10, Mcallister discloses, wherein the mold element comprises several microneedle negative molds, and wherein the several microneedle negative molds in particular form a microarray negative mold (Figure 6. [0048]).
Regarding Claim 11, Mcallister discloses, wherein the mold element is filled with the first formulation such that the first formulation covers the several microneedle negative molds (Figure 13, first formulation-1302 ).
Regarding Claim 12, Mcallister discloses a microneedle element, in particular a microneedle or microarray, obtainable by a method according to claim 1 (abstract).
Regarding Claim 14, Mcallister discloses that the pressure is applied but didn’t disclose that wherein the pressurization and/or curing is carried out over a period of at least 60 minutes, however, in the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Cheng discloses that under some pressure drying/curing can take place from 20 minutes to several hours which satisfy the claim limitation ([0106]).
Regarding Claim 15, Mcallister discloses that the pressure is applied but didn’t disclose that wherein the pressurization and/or curing is carried out over a period of at least 90 minutes, however, in the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Cheng discloses that under some pressure drying/curing can take place from 20 minutes to several hours which satisfy the claim limitation ([0106]).
Regarding Claim 16, Mcallister discloses, wherein the first formulation is a backing formulation (Figure 13, first formulation-1302).
Regarding Claim 17, Mcallister discloses, wherein the second formulation is a tip formulation (Figure 13, second formulation-1304).
Regarding Claim 18, Mcallister discloses that wherein the method comprises after the step of filling the mold element with the second formulation, the following further step: curing the second formulation ([0102]). Cheng discloses that while applying some pressure drying/curing can be done ([0106])
Claim(s) 4, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mcallister (US 20170050010) in view of Cheng (US 20160058992) as applied in Claim 3 KR101868872 , hereinafter KR’872 translation attached.
Regarding Claim 4, Mcallister discloses wherein the method comprises, before the step of filling the mold element with the first formulation ([0074]-[0075]), the following further step: filling the mold element with a second formulation, (Figure 13, [0074], second formulation-1302). However. McAllister fails to teach that filling the mold with one additional formulation. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art of microneedle, KR’892 discloses , wherein the method comprises, before the step of filling the mold element with the first formulation and after the step of filling the mold element with the second formulation ([0061]), the following further step: filling the mold element with at least one additional formulation, in particular an intermediate formulation ([0064], a biocompatible polymer is added). KR’892 fails to teach that curing the at least one additional formulation, in particular with simultaneous pressurization.
it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the manufacturing of needle as taught by Mcallister and Cheng, with further including additional biocompatible formulation, as taught by KR’892, for the benefit permeating the skin at desired length and effectively delivering an effective ingredient at a proper time.
Regarding Claim 19 KR’892 fails to teach that curing the at least one additional formulation, in particular with simultaneous pressurization. However, KR’982 discloses that the pressure is applied by using the pressure supply plate 26 above the forming plate 20, that is, outside the molding groove 22, therefore one ordinary skilled in the art would interpret that when the upper portion of the forming plate 20 is pressed by using the pressure supply plate 26 and the pressure acts on the upper portion of the forming groove 22, allow the all liquids/solution to be filled plurality of the grooves and then subsequently they are dried /cured or solidified to produce the microneedle ([0058], [0060], [0061]).
Claim(s) 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Mcallister (US 20170050010) in view of Cheng (US 20160058992) and further in view of Francis (US 20180333899).
Regarding Claim 8 and 20, Mcallister discloses the pressure is applied but fails to teach that pressurization is realized by means of overpressure and/or by means of a pressing device, in particular comprising a punch and/or a roller. In the related field of art, Francis discloses that pressure can be applied by rollers a pressing device ([0070]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine KR’872 with that of Francis’s teaching of the pressure rollers for the purpose of to apply uniform pressure over the mold surface to ensure defect free production.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/NAHIDA SULTANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743