Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 06/07/2021.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)- (d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4, 6–8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Diev et al. (US 2018/0062082 A1, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on 11/08/2023, hereinafter “Diev”).
Regarding Claims 1, 6–8, and 12, Diev discloses the organic light emitting device of Example 14 [Table 3] including an anode, a short reduction layer, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer 1, a hole transport layer 2, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [0847] – [0856]. The light emitting layer comprises Compound II-16 [0809] as a host material [Table 3]. Compound II-16 reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
A1 and A2 are each a C1 alkyl group (methyl),
R1 to R3, R5, and R7 to R10 are each hydrogen,
R4 and R6 are each represented by Chemical Formula 1-1 wherein:
L1’ is a direct bond,
L2 is a C6 arylene group (phenylene),
Ar2 and Ar3 are each a C6 aryl group (phenyl),
m’, n, and p are each 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Compound II-16 reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2 (shown below),
wherein:
A1 and A2 are each a C1 alkyl group (methyl),
R1 to R3, R5, and R11 are each hydrogen,
a is 4,
R4 and R6 are each represented by Chemical Formula 1-1 wherein:
L1’ is a direct bond,
L2 is a C6 arylene group (phenylene),
Ar2 and Ar3 are each a C6 aryl group (phenyl),
m’, n, and p are each 1.
Regarding Claim 3, Compound II-16 does not comprise Chemical Formula 1-2 and therefore does not comprise Ar1. Therefore, Applicant’s further limitation of Ar1 does not apply to Compound II-16.
Regarding Claim 4, Compound II-16 comprises a deuterium content of 0%.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2008/0100208 A1, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on 11/08/2023, hereinafter “Shin”).
Regarding Claim 1, Shin discloses Formula 3 [0046] which reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
A1 and A2 are each a C6 aryl group (phenyl),
R1 to R5 and R7 to R10 are each hydrogen,
R6 are each represented by Chemical Formula 1-2 wherein:
L1 is a direct bond,
Ar1 is a C1 alkyl group (methyl),
m is 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Compound 3 comprises a deuterium content of 0%
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diev et al. (US 2018/0062082 A1) as applied to claims 1–4, 6–8, and 12 above.
Regarding Claim 9, Diev teaches a compound represented by Diev’s Formula II-a, Formula II-b, or Formula II-c can be used as a hole transport material in a device [0409]. Compound II-16 is a compound represented by Diev’s Formula II-a, Formula II-b, or Formula II-c [0407].
However, Diev fails to disclose an organic light emitting device comprising Compound II-16 in the hole transport layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Compound II-16 in the hole transport layer of the organic light emitting device taught by Diev because Diev teaches compounds represented by Diev’s Formula II-a, Formula II-b, or Formula II-c can be used as a hole transport material in a device.
Regarding Claim 10, Formula II-a, Formula II-b, or Formula II-c can be used as a electron transport material in a device [0414]. Compound II-16 is a compound represented by Diev’s Formula II-a, Formula II-b, or Formula II-c [0407].
However, Diev fails to disclose an organic light emitting device comprising Compound II-16 in the electron transport layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Compound II-16 in the electron transport layer of the organic light emitting device taught by Diev because Diev teaches compounds represented by Diev’s Formula II-a, Formula II-b, or Formula II-c can be used as an electron transport material in a device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diev et al. (US 2018/0062082 A1) as applied to claim 1–4, 6–10, and 12 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0380568 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 5, Compound II-16 is represented by Diev’s Formula II-a (shown below) wherein Amino 2 is not present. Diev teaches in some embodiments an amino nitrogen is bonded to position 5 on the fused ring core as defined in the fused ring core numbering shown below ([0310] and [0094]).
However, Compound II-16 fails to read on Applicant’s Compound 002 because it has two amino groups instead of one amino group.
Kim teaches attaching a different number of amine groups to a compound can adjust the HOMO energy level and thereby the HOMO energy level of the hole transport layer may be adjusted to have a proper difference in the HOMO energy level from that of the emissive layer, and thus, light emission inside the emissive layer may be facilitated due to an increase in charge balance [0174].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound II-16 to only have only one amine group in position 5, as taught by Diev. The motivation to do so would be to adjust the HOMO energy level and thereby ensure a proper difference in the HOMO energy level of the hole transport layer with the emissive layer to increase charge balance, as taught by Kim.
The modified version of Compound II-16, as described above (hereinafter “Modified II-16”), is identical to Applicant’s Compound 002 (shown below).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diev et al. (US 2018/0062082 A1) as applied to claim 1–4, 6–10, and 12 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (Advanced Display Technology: Next Generation Self-Emitting Displays, Springer, 2021, hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding Claim 11, Diev teaches the compounds represented by Diev’s Formula II-a, Formula II-b, or Formula II-c is an electroactive material [0012]. Compound II-16 is a compound represented by Diev’s Formula II-a, Formula II-b, or Formula II-c [0407]. Therefore, Compound II-16 is an electroactive material. Diev further defines an electroactive material as a material which may conduct, inject, transport, or block a charge, where the charge can be either an electron or a hole [0082].
However, Diev fails to disclose an organic light emitting device including a hole blocking layer wherein the electron blocking layer comprises Compound II-16.
Kang teaches organic light emitting devices typically contain an electron blocking layer to achieve very high efficiencies [section 2.2.3, pg. 10, paragraph 2]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an electron blocking layer to the organic light emitting device taught by Diev. The motivation to do so would have been to achieve a very high efficiency organic light emitting device, as taught by Kang.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Compound II-16 in the electron blocking layer of the organic light emitting device because Diev teaches compounds represented by Diev’s Formula II-a, Formula II-b, or Formula II-c may be used to block electrons.
Claims 6–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2008/0100208 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above.
Regarding Claims 6 and 12, Shin teaches compounds represented by Shin’s Formula 2a are suitable as a material constituting an organic layer interdisposed between a first electrode and a second electrode of an organic light emitting device [0037]. Formula 3 is a compound represented by Shin’s Formula 2a [0046]. Shin teaches an organic light emitting device includes an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [0007]. Shin further teaches an organic light emitting device comprising a compound of present disclosure results in a low operating voltage, good efficiency, and good brightness [abstract].
However, Shin fails to disclose an exemplified organic light emitting device comprising Formula 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Formula 3 in an organic layer in an organic light emitting device, as taught by Shin. One would be motivated to use Formula 3 in an organic light emitting device based on the low operating voltage, good efficiency, and good brightness benefits, as taught by Shin.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the organic light emitting device include an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode since Shin teaches an organic light emitting device includes an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, Shin teaches the compounds represented by Shin’s Formula 2a are suitable to be used in an emitting layer, a hole injection layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, or a hole transport layer [0037]. Additionally, a compound represented by Shin’s Formula 2a may be used as a host material [0037].
However, Shin fails to disclose an exemplified organic light emitting device comprising Formula 3 as a host material in the light emitting layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Formula 3 as the host material in the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device since Shin teaches Formula 3 may suitably be used as a host material in the light emitting layer. One would be motivated to use Formula 3 as a host material in an organic light emitting device based on the low operating voltage, good efficiency, and good brightness benefits, as taught by Shin.
Regarding Claim 9, Shin teaches the compounds represented by Shin’s Formula 2a are suitable to be used in an emitting layer, a hole injection layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, or a hole transport layer [0037].
However, Shin fails to disclose an exemplified organic light emitting device comprising Formula 3 in the hole transport layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Formula 3 in the hole transport layer of an organic light emitting device since Shin teaches Formula 3 may suitably be used in the hole transport layer. One would be motivated to use Formula 3 in the hole transport layer of an organic light emitting device based on the low operating voltage, good efficiency, and good brightness benefits, as taught by Shin.
Regarding Claim 10, Shin teaches the compounds represented by Shin’s Formula 2a are suitable to be used in an emitting layer, a hole injection layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, or a hole transport layer [0037].
However, Shin fails to disclose an exemplified organic light emitting device comprising Formula 3 in the electron transport layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Formula 3 in the electron transport layer of an organic light emitting device since Shin teaches Formula 3 may suitably be used in the electron transport layer. One would be motivated to use Formula 3 in the electron transport layer of an organic light emitting device based on the low operating voltage, good efficiency, and good brightness benefits, as taught by Shin.
Regarding Claim 11, Shin teaches the compounds represented by Shin’s Formula 2a are suitable to be used in an emitting layer, a hole injection layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, or a hole transport layer [0037].
However, Shin fails to disclose an exemplified organic light emitting device comprising Formula 3 in the hole blocking layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Formula 3 in the hole blocking layer of an organic light emitting device since Shin teaches Formula 3 may suitably be used in the hole blocking layer. One would be motivated to use Formula 3 in the hole blocking layer of an organic light emitting device based on the low operating voltage, good efficiency, and good brightness benefits, as taught by Shin.
Conclusion
/J.R.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789