DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment filed on July 10, 2026.
Claims 1 and 4 are pending.
The objection to claim 3 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiroshi is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi (JP2012052006 (already of record)).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Hiroshi teaches a thermoplastic resin composition excellent in heat resistance and flame retardancy comprising cellulose-based resin and a cyclic phosphorus compound (Abstract). Hiroshi further teaches the cyclic phosphorus compound provides flame retardant properties to the composition (Paragraph 47). Hiroshi further teaches
wherein R1, R2, R11-14, R21-24 can be hydrogen, X1 and X2 can be hydrogen or a substituent including C1-C10 alkenyl and alkoxy and R3 can be a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group, which is preferably phenyl, n1 and n2=0-4 (Paragraphs 1, 12-41, 44). However, Hiroshi fails to disclose an exemplary composition wherein R1, R2, R11-14, R21-24, X1, X2 are hydrogen and R3 is phenyl, n1 and n2=0.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have provided R1, R2, R11-14, R21-24, X1, X2 are hydrogen and R3 is phenyl, n1 and n2=0 in Hiroshi as Hiroshi teaches R1, R2, R11-14, R21-24, X1, X2 can be hydrogen and R3 can be a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group, which is preferably phenyl, wherein n1 and n2 can be 0, in order to form the cyclic phosphorous compound with flame retardancy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the obviousness rejection over Hiroshi, Applicant argues that the claimed compound is different from compound 40 in Hiroshi. The anticipation rejection has been withdrawn; however, the obviousness rejection is maintained. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have provided R1, R2, R11-14, R21-24, X1, X2 are hydrogen and R3 is phenyl, n1 and n2=0 in Hiroshi as Hiroshi teaches R1, R2, R11-14, R21-24, X1, X2 can be hydrogen and R3 can be a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group, which is preferably phenyl, wherein n1 and n2 can be 0, in order to form the cyclic phosphorous compound with flame retardancy.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 July 23, 2026