DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 16-19, 27, 30-33, 42, 44, 46, 48, and 59 are pending and are examined on their merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on July 23rd 2024 and April 29th 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 16-19, 27, 30-33, 42, 44, 46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cacatian (U.S. Patent No. 11,479,557 issued on April 1st 2020) in view of Pharmablock (Pharmablock, Tetrahydropyrans in Drug Discovery, White Paper, Accessed February 9th 2026, Published 201912).
The instant claims are directed towards a method of treating cancers, including hematological cancers, via administration of a compound of Formula (0):
.
One such compound is:
.
Cacatian teaches the treatment of leukemia (Cacatian, col. 407, claim 1) with compounds including:
N-ethyl-5-fluoro-N-isopropyl-2-((4-(7-(((1r,4r)-4-(methylsulfonamido)cyclohexyl)methyl)-2,7-diazaspiro[3.5]nonan-2-yl)pyrimidin-5-yl)oxy)benzamide (Cacatian, col. 416, claim 4):
.
Applicant’s compound genus differs from said compound only in the replacement of the cyclohexyl moiety with a tetrahydropyran:
Pharmablock teaches tetrahydropyrans as a common bioisosteric substitution for cyclohexanes (Pharmablock, pg. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore find the treatment of leukemias with applicant’s compounds, and thus claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46 (each further limiting the compound genus of claim 1), and 48 (limiting the cancer of claim 1 to a hematological cancer) prima facie obvious.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 16-19, 27, 30-33, 42, 44, 46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cacatian (U.S. Patent No. 11,479,557 issued on April 1st 2020) in view of Pharmablock and in further view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012).
Claims 16 and 17 further limit the R1 group of claim 1 to halogen-substituted ethyls. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above 103 rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 ethyl (see above) with halogen-substituted ethyls, the replacement of hydrogens with halogens is a common bioisosteric substitution in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 17), and claims 16 and 17 are therefore prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 limits the R1 of claim 1 to a cyclic group, such as cyclopropane. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above 103 rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 isopropyl (see above) with a cyclopropyl, such a bioisosteric substitution is also known in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 118), and claim 19 is thereby prima facie obvious.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
The instant claims are directed towards a method of treating cancers, including hematological cancers, via administration of a compound of Formula (0):
.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 16-19, 27, 30-33, 42, 44, 46, and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,919,901. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the treatment of leukemia (a hematological cancer) via administration of equivalent compounds to those of the instant application.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18-19, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46, and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,479,557 in view of Pharmablock (Pharmablock, Tetrahydropyrans in Drug Discovery, White Paper, Accessed February 9th 2026, Published 2019).
The instant claims are directed towards a method of treating cancers, including hematological cancers, via administration of a compound of Formula (0):
.
One such compound is:
.
The reference patent teaches the treatment of leukemia (reference patent, col. 407, claim 1) with compounds including:
N-ethyl-5-fluoro-N-isopropyl-2-((4-(7-(((1r,4r)-4-(methylsulfonamido)cyclohexyl)methyl)-2,7-diazaspiro[3.5]nonan-2-yl)pyrimidin-5-yl)oxy)benzamide (reference patent, col. 416, claim 4):
.
Applicant’s compound genus differs from said compound only in the replacement of the cyclohexyl moiety with a tetrahydropyran:
Pharmablock teaches tetrahydropyrans as a common bioisosteric substitution for cyclohexanes (Pharmablock, pg. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore find the treatment of leukemias with applicant’s compounds, and thus claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46 (each further limiting the compound genus of claim 1), and 48 (limiting the cancer of claim 1 to a hematological cancer) prima facie obvious.
Claims 16, 17, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,479,557 in view of Pharmablock and in further view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012).
Claims 16 and 17 further limit the R1 group of claim 1 to halogen-substituted ethyls. For the teachings of the reference patent and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 ethyl (see above) with halogen-substituted ethyls, the replacement of hydrogens with halogens is a common bioisosteric substitution in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 17), and claims 16 and 17 are therefore prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 limits the R1 of claim 1 to a cyclic group, such as cyclopropane. For the teachings of the reference patent and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 isopropyl (see above) with a cyclopropyl, such a bioisosteric substitution is also known in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 118), and claim 19 is thereby prima facie obvious.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 82-84 of copending Application No. 19/180,560 (US20250326764A1) in view of in view of Pharmablock (Pharmablock, Tetrahydropyrans in Drug Discovery, White Paper, Accessed February 9th 2026, Published 2019).
The instant claims are directed towards a method of treating cancers via administration of a compound of Formula (0):
.
One such compound is:
.
The ‘966 Application teaches the treatment of cancers with compounds including:
N-ethyl-5-fluoro-N-isopropyl-2-((4-(7-(((1r,4r)-4-(methylsulfonamido)cyclohexyl)methyl)-2,7-diazaspiro[3.5]nonan-2-yl)pyrimidin-5-yl)oxy)benzamide (‘560 Application, claims 82-84):
.
Applicant’s compound genus differs from said compound only in the replacement of the cyclohexyl moiety with a tetrahydropyran:
Pharmablock teaches tetrahydropyrans as a common bioisosteric substitution for cyclohexanes (Pharmablock, pg. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore find the treatment of cancers with applicant’s compounds, and thus claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46 (each further limiting the compound genus of claim 1) are prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 16, 17, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 82-84 of copending Application No. 19/180,560 (US20250326764A1) in view of Pharmablock and in further view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012).
Claims 16 and 17 further limit the R1 group of claim 1 to halogen-substituted ethyls. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 ethyl (see above) with halogen-substituted ethyls, the replacement of hydrogens with halogens is a common bioisosteric substitution in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 17), and claims 16 and 17 are therefore prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 limits the R1 of claim 1 to a cyclic group, such as cyclopropane. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 isopropyl (see above) with a cyclopropyl, such a bioisosteric substitution is also known in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 118), and claim 19 is thereby prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18-19, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46, and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 83-100 of copending Application No. 18/863,966 (US20250295661A1) in view of Pharmablock (Pharmablock, Tetrahydropyrans in Drug Discovery, White Paper, Accessed February 9th 2026, Published 2019).
The instant claims are directed towards a method of treating cancers via administration of a compound of Formula (0):
.
One such compound is:
.
The ‘966 Application teaches the treatment of hematological cancers with compounds including:
N-ethyl-5-fluoro-N-isopropyl-2-((4-(7-(((1r,4r)-4-(methylsulfonamido)cyclohexyl)methyl)-2,7-diazaspiro[3.5]nonan-2-yl)pyrimidin-5-yl)oxy)benzamide (‘966 Application, claim 83):
.
Applicant’s compound genus differs from said compound only in the replacement of the cyclohexyl moiety with a tetrahydropyran:
Pharmablock teaches tetrahydropyrans as a common bioisosteric substitution for cyclohexanes (Pharmablock, pg. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore find the treatment of cancers with applicant’s compounds, and thus claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46 (each further limiting the compound genus of claim 1) and claims 48 (limiting the cancer of claim 1 to a hematological cancer) are prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 16, 17, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 83-100 of copending Application No. 18/863,966 (US20250295661A1) in view of Pharmablock and in further view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012).
Claims 16 and 17 further limit the R1 group of claim 1 to halogen-substituted ethyls. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 ethyl (see above) with halogen-substituted ethyls, the replacement of hydrogens with halogens is a common bioisosteric substitution in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 17), and claims 16 and 17 are therefore prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 limits the R1 of claim 1 to a cyclic group, such as cyclopropane. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 isopropyl (see above) with a cyclopropyl, such a bioisosteric substitution is also known in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 118), and claim 19 is thereby prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18-19, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46, 48, and 59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-7, 12, 17, 34-57, and 63-65 of copending Application No. 17/917,193 (US20230165858A1) in view of Pharmablock (Pharmablock, Tetrahydropyrans in Drug Discovery, White Paper, Accessed February 9th 2026, Published 2019).
The instant claims are directed towards a method of treating cancers via administration of a compound of Formula (0):
.
One such compound is:
.
The ‘193 Application teaches the treatment of lymphomas with compounds including:
N-ethyl-5-fluoro-N-isopropyl-2-((4-(7-(((1r,4r)-4-(methylsulfonamido)cyclohexyl)methyl)-2,7-diazaspiro[3.5]nonan-2-yl)pyrimidin-5-yl)oxy)benzamide (‘193 Application, claim 39):
.
Applicant’s compound genus differs from said compound only in the replacement of the cyclohexyl moiety with a tetrahydropyran:
Pharmablock teaches tetrahydropyrans as a common bioisosteric substitution for cyclohexanes (Pharmablock, pg. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore find the treatment of cancers with applicant’s compounds, and thus claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46 (each further limiting the compound genus of claim 1) and claims 48 and 59 (limiting the cancer of claim 1 to a lymphoma) are prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 16, 17, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-7, 12, 17, 34-57, and 63-65 of copending Application No. 17/917,193 (US20230165858A1) in view of Pharmablock and in further view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012).
Claims 16 and 17 further limit the R1 group of claim 1 to halogen-substituted ethyls. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 ethyl (see above) with halogen-substituted ethyls, the replacement of hydrogens with halogens is a common bioisosteric substitution in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 17), and claims 16 and 17 are therefore prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 limits the R1 of claim 1 to a cyclic group, such as cyclopropane. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 isopropyl (see above) with a cyclopropyl, such a bioisosteric substitution is also known in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 118), and claim 19 is thereby prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18-19, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, and 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of copending Application No. 19/458,303 in view of Pharmablock (Pharmablock, Tetrahydropyrans in Drug Discovery, White Paper, Accessed February 9th 2026, Published 2019).
The instant claims are directed towards a method of treating cancers via administration of a compound of Formula (0):
.
One such compound is:
.
The ‘303 Application teaches the treatment of cancer with compounds including:
N-ethyl-5-fluoro-N-isopropyl-2-((4-(7-(((1r,4r)-4-(methylsulfonamido)cyclohexyl)methyl)-2,7-diazaspiro[3.5]nonan-2-yl)pyrimidin-5-yl)oxy)benzamide (‘303 Application, claim 31):
.
Applicant’s compound genus differs from said compound only in the replacement of the cyclohexyl moiety with a tetrahydropyran:
Pharmablock teaches tetrahydropyrans as a common bioisosteric substitution for cyclohexanes (Pharmablock, pg. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore find the treatment of cancers with applicant’s compounds, and thus claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 18, 27, 30, 32-33, 42, 44, 46 (each further limiting the compound genus of claim 1) prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 16, 17, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of of copending Application No. 19/458,303 in view of Pharmablock and in further view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012).
Claims 16 and 17 further limit the R1 group of claim 1 to halogen-substituted ethyls. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 ethyl (see above) with halogen-substituted ethyls, the replacement of hydrogens with halogens is a common bioisosteric substitution in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 17), and claims 16 and 17 are therefore prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 limits the R1 of claim 1 to a cyclic group, such as cyclopropane. For the teachings of Cacatian and Pharmablock as they are relevant to claim 1, see the above ODP rejection for claim 1. Regarding the replacement of the R-1 isopropyl (see above) with a cyclopropyl, such a bioisosteric substitution is also known in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 118), and claim 19 is thereby prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629
1For evidence of publishing date, see the attached 2019 Pharmablock promotional email referencing the above white paper (Pharmablock, promotion.pharmablock.com/20190318134956/index.html, Promotional Email, Accessed February 9th 2026, published 2019)
2For evidence of publishing date, see the attached Pharmablock Linkedin post referencing the above white paper (Pharmablock, linkedin.com/posts/celine-chen-2355a247_follow-pharmablock-on-linkedin-and-you-will-activity-6521027213083672576-V8wK, Linkedin Post, Accessed February 9th 2026, published 2020)