Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0388875), herein referred to as “Gao”, in view of Vare and Talmola (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2010/0113021), herein referred to as “Vare”. This reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated January 23, 2024.
Regarding Claim 1,
Gao discloses: A method comprising: receiving, by a communication device from a network, location information comprising a location point for each time point related to each of neighbor cells
[0082] FIG. 6 illustrates a diagram of a method 600 implemented between a UE 602 and a network node 604 (e.g., a satellite) for performing a cell reselection procedure 606, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated, while camping on Cell #1 504, UE 602 can receive ephemeris information (i.e., orbital baseline parameters and adjustments) via SIBX 608 transmitted by the network node 604. SIBX 608 can contain one or more of the following: (i) orbital baseline parameters can contain the Keplerian Orbit Elements (a, e, ω, Ω, i, M0), including Semi-major axis a [m], Eccentricity e Argument of periapsis ω [rad] , Longitude of ascending node Ω [rad], Inclination i [rad], Mean anomaly M0=M(t0) [rad] at epoch t0 [JD], along with the adjustments of these parameters when the satellite deviates from the planned orbits, which can be used by UE to derive the real-time location of a satellite.
[0084] FIG. 7 illustrates an NTN 700 for in which yet another cell reselection method may be performed by a UE 714, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. NTN 700 comprises satellite 702, satellite 706 and satellite 710 that respectively transmit to Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. As illustrated, UE 714 is located within the boundaries of Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. It can be assumed that UE 714 is now camping on Cell #1 704 and is moving toward the edge of Cell #1 704, in which case a reselection to connect to either Cell #2 708 or Cell #3 710 should be considered. As illustrated, T1 represents a valid time of operation for UE 714 in Cell #1 704, T2 represents a valid time of operation for UE 714 in Cell #2 708, and T3 represents a valid time or operation for UE 714 in Cell #3 712. Per FIG. 7, T3 represents the longest valid time of operation. Arrow 716 indicates a direction that the satellites are moving.
Note: Paragraph [0082] demonstrates the network (a satellite) sending location information to the UE. Paragraph [0084]/Figure 7 demonstrate where the UEs and cells are located.
selecting, by the communication device, a cell for cell reselection among the neighbor cells based on a distance between the location point and the communication device
[0084] FIG. 7 illustrates an NTN 700 for in which yet another cell reselection method may be performed by a UE 714, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. NTN 700 comprises satellite 702, satellite 706 and satellite 710 that respectively transmit to Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. As illustrated, UE 714 is located within the boundaries of Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. It can be assumed that UE 714 is now camping on Cell #1 704 and is moving toward the edge of Cell #1 704, in which case a reselection to connect to either Cell #2 708 or Cell #3 710 should be considered.
Note: Reselection between Cell #2 and Cell #3 are based on the T2 and T3 quantities, to which the UE decide the cell to be selected based on various parameters (paragraph [0082] above).
performing, by the communication device, a cell reselection to the cell, wherein, based on the neighbor cells including a first set of neighbor cells in a distance decreasing state,
[0080] Next, at operation 2, based on the association between satellite/beam and the cell information, UE 402 can identify coverage and cell center of each cell. UE 402 can then estimate the distance between itself and the cell center. Finally, the UE 402 will perform cell reselection to the cell (i.e., Cell #3 312) with the shortest distance between the UE and the cell center.
Note: Cell #3 (first set of neighbor cells) is in the distance decreasing state since it contains the shortest distance between the UE and the cell center. Cell #3 also has the longest time period, as shown:
[0081] As illustrated, T1 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #1 504, T2 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #2 508, and T3 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #3 512. Per FIG. 5, T3 represents the longest valid time of operation. Arrow 516 indicates a direction that the satellites are moving.
wherein, based on the neighbor cells including a second set of neighbor cells in a distance increasing state, the cell for cell reselection is selected as a second cell for which the distance is shortest in the second set of neighbor cells
[0080] Next, at operation 2, based on the association between satellite/beam and the cell information, UE 402 can identify coverage and cell center of each cell. UE 402 can then estimate the distance between itself and the cell center. Finally, the UE 402 will perform cell reselection to the cell (i.e., Cell #3 312) with the shortest distance between the UE and the cell center.
Note: Cell #2 (second set of neighbor cells) is in the distance increasing state since it contains the longest distance between the UE and the cell center. Cell #2 also has the shortest time period, as shown:
[0081] FIG. 5 illustrates a NTN 500 for performing yet another cell reselection method by a UE 514, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. The NTN 500 comprises satellite 502, satellite 506 and satellite 510 that respectively provide cellular communication services to Cell #1 504, Cell #2 508 and Cell #3 512. As illustrated, UE 514 is located within the boundaries of Cell #1 504, Cell #2 508 and Cell #3 512. It can be assumed that UE 514 is now camping on Cell #1 504 and is moving toward the edge of Cell #1 504, in which case a reselection to connect to either Cell #2 508 or Cell #3 510 should be considered. As illustrated, T1 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #1 504, T2 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #2 508, and T3 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #3 512. Per FIG. 5, T3 represents the longest valid time of operation.
wherein, based on the neighbor cells including both of the first set of neighbor cells and the second set of neighbor cells, the cell for cell reselection is selected as a third cell for which cell ranking is highest among the first cell and the second cell
[0059] In some embodiments, upon receiving a range to best cell for NTN (RangeToBestCellNTN) value, a UE can rank the neighbor cells based on the R-criterion, while the cells whose R value is within range to best cell in NTN of the R value of the highest ranked cell can be considered as candidate cells. The UE can then perform cell reselection to one or more criteria including: (i) a cell with shortest distance between the cell center and the UE; (ii) a cell with the shortest distance between the satellite and the UE; and/or (iii) a cell with longest valid/serving time or remaining valid/serving time.
Note: Here, the UE can make a reselection (“the third cell”) based on the shortest distance and longest valid time (distance increasing state) and the remaining valid time (decreasing time/longer distance, also referred to as the distance decreasing state).
wherein the distance decreasing state is a state in which the distance to the first set of the neighbor cells from the UE decreases by time, and wherein the distance increasing state is a state in which the distance to the second set of the neighbor cells from the UE increases by time.
[0084] FIG. 7 illustrates an NTN 700 for in which yet another cell reselection method may be performed by a UE 714, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. NTN 700 comprises satellite 702, satellite 706 and satellite 710 that respectively transmit to Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. As illustrated, UE 714 is located within the boundaries of Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. It can be assumed that UE 714 is now camping on Cell #1 704 and is moving toward the edge of Cell #1 704, in which case a reselection to connect to either Cell #2 708 or Cell #3 710 should be considered. As illustrated, T1 represents a valid time of operation for UE 714 in Cell #1 704, T2 represents a valid time of operation for UE 714 in Cell #2 708, and T3 represents a valid time or operation for UE 714 in Cell #3 712. Per FIG. 7, T3 represents the longest valid time of operation. Arrow 716 indicates a direction that the satellites are moving.
Note: Per Figure 7, T1, T2, and T3 are all increasing in time, of which the first set (Cell #2/T2) can decrease in time as compared to the second set (Cell #3/T3), which is the longest time period.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the cell for cell reselection is selected as a first cell for which the distance is longest in the first set of neighbor cells.
However, Vare discloses the cell for cell reselection is selected as a first cell for which the distance is longest in the first set of neighbor cells.
[0096] Upon determining that cell n is not known to belong to the CSG whitelist at block 1210, methodology 1200 can conclude at block 1212, wherein the ranking of cell n is computed using a negative ranking offset (e.g., as Q.sub.meas-Q.sub.offsetNotAllowed,CSG), thereby decreasing a distance from the cell at which reselection to the cell occurs. Alternatively, if cell n is known to belong to the CSG whitelist, methodology 1200 can conclude at block 1214, wherein the ranking of cell n is computed using a positive ranking offset (e.g., as Q.sub.meas-Q.sub.offsetNotAllowed,CSG), thereby increasing a distance from the cell at which reselection to the cell occurs.
Gao and Vare are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao to include cell reselection occurring where the distance is longest in the first set of neighbor cells as taught by Vare so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Regarding Claim 2,
You teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the location point related to each of the neighbor cells comprises at least one of a cell center of each of the neighbor cells, or a location of a network node related to each of the neighbor cells.
[0084] FIG. 7 illustrates an NTN 700 for in which yet another cell reselection method may be performed by a UE 714, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. NTN 700 comprises satellite 702, satellite 706 and satellite 710 that respectively transmit to Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712.
Note: The nodes are being interpreted as the satellites, which have a known location related to the cells.
Regarding Claim 12,
Gao teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein each of the neighbor cells comprises a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell.
[0084] FIG. 7 illustrates an NTN 700 for in which yet another cell reselection method may be performed by a UE 714, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. NTN 700 comprises satellite 702, satellite 706 and satellite 710 that respectively transmit to Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712.
Regarding Claim 13,
You teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the communication device is in communication with at least one of a mobile device, a network, or autonomous vehicles.
[0084] FIG. 7 illustrates an NTN 700 for in which yet another cell reselection method may be performed by a UE 714, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. NTN 700 comprises satellite 702, satellite 706 and satellite 710 that respectively transmit to Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. As illustrated, UE 714 is located within the boundaries of Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. It can be assumed that UE 714 is now camping on Cell #1 704 and is moving toward the edge of Cell #1 704, in which case a reselection to connect to either Cell #2 708 or Cell #3 710 should be considered.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 1.
Gao teaches: A device comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising: receiving, from a network, location information comprising a location point for each time point related to each of neighbor cells
[0082] FIG. 6 illustrates a diagram of a method 600 implemented between a UE 602 and a network node 604 (e.g., a satellite) for performing a cell reselection procedure 606, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated, while camping on Cell #1 504, UE 602 can receive ephemeris information (i.e., orbital baseline parameters and adjustments) via SIBX 608 transmitted by the network node 604. SIBX 608 can contain one or more of the following: (i) orbital baseline parameters can contain the Keplerian Orbit Elements (a, e, ω, Ω, i, M0), including Semi-major axis a [m], Eccentricity e Argument of periapsis ω [rad] , Longitude of ascending node Ω [rad], Inclination i [rad], Mean anomaly M0=M(t0) [rad] at epoch t0 [JD], along with the adjustments of these parameters when the satellite deviates from the planned orbits, which can be used by UE to derive the real-time location of a satellite.
[0084] FIG. 7 illustrates an NTN 700 for in which yet another cell reselection method may be performed by a UE 714, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. NTN 700 comprises satellite 702, satellite 706 and satellite 710 that respectively transmit to Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. As illustrated, UE 714 is located within the boundaries of Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. It can be assumed that UE 714 is now camping on Cell #1 704 and is moving toward the edge of Cell #1 704, in which case a reselection to connect to either Cell #2 708 or Cell #3 710 should be considered. As illustrated, T1 represents a valid time of operation for UE 714 in Cell #1 704, T2 represents a valid time of operation for UE 714 in Cell #2 708, and T3 represents a valid time or operation for UE 714 in Cell #3 712. Per FIG. 7, T3 represents the longest valid time of operation. Arrow 716 indicates a direction that the satellites are moving.
Note: Paragraph [0082] demonstrates the network (a satellite) sending location information to the UE. Paragraph [0084]/Figure 7 demonstrate where the UEs and cells are located.
selecting a cell for cell reselection among the neighbor cells based on a distance between the location point and the communication device
[0084] FIG. 7 illustrates an NTN 700 for in which yet another cell reselection method may be performed by a UE 714, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. NTN 700 comprises satellite 702, satellite 706 and satellite 710 that respectively transmit to Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. As illustrated, UE 714 is located within the boundaries of Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. It can be assumed that UE 714 is now camping on Cell #1 704 and is moving toward the edge of Cell #1 704, in which case a reselection to connect to either Cell #2 708 or Cell #3 710 should be considered.
Note: Reselection between Cell #2 and Cell #3 are based on the T2 and T3 quantities, to which the UE decide the cell to be selected based on various parameters (paragraph [0082] above).
performing a cell reselection to the cell, wherein, based on the neighbor cells including a first set of neighbor cells in a distance decreasing state,
[0080] Next, at operation 2, based on the association between satellite/beam and the cell information, UE 402 can identify coverage and cell center of each cell. UE 402 can then estimate the distance between itself and the cell center. Finally, the UE 402 will perform cell reselection to the cell (i.e., Cell #3 312) with the shortest distance between the UE and the cell center.
Note: Cell #3 (first set of neighbor cells) is in the distance decreasing state since it contains the shortest distance between the UE and the cell center. Cell #3 also has the longest time period, as shown:
[0081] As illustrated, T1 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #1 504, T2 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #2 508, and T3 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #3 512. Per FIG. 5, T3 represents the longest valid time of operation. Arrow 516 indicates a direction that the satellites are moving.
wherein, based on the neighbor cells including a second set of neighbor cells in a distance increasing state, the cell for cell reselection is selected as a second cell for which the distance is shortest in the second set of neighbor cells
[0080] Next, at operation 2, based on the association between satellite/beam and the cell information, UE 402 can identify coverage and cell center of each cell. UE 402 can then estimate the distance between itself and the cell center. Finally, the UE 402 will perform cell reselection to the cell (i.e., Cell #3 312) with the shortest distance between the UE and the cell center.
Note: Cell #2 (second set of neighbor cells) is in the distance increasing state since it contains the longest distance between the UE and the cell center. Cell #2 also has the shortest time period, as shown:
[0081] FIG. 5 illustrates a NTN 500 for performing yet another cell reselection method by a UE 514, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. The NTN 500 comprises satellite 502, satellite 506 and satellite 510 that respectively provide cellular communication services to Cell #1 504, Cell #2 508 and Cell #3 512. As illustrated, UE 514 is located within the boundaries of Cell #1 504, Cell #2 508 and Cell #3 512. It can be assumed that UE 514 is now camping on Cell #1 504 and is moving toward the edge of Cell #1 504, in which case a reselection to connect to either Cell #2 508 or Cell #3 510 should be considered. As illustrated, T1 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #1 504, T2 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #2 508, and T3 represents a valid time of operation for UE 514 in Cell #3 512. Per FIG. 5, T3 represents the longest valid time of operation.
wherein, based on the neighbor cells including both of the first set of neighbor cells and the second set of neighbor cells, the cell for cell reselection is selected as a third cell for which cell ranking is highest among the first cell and the second cell
[0059] In some embodiments, upon receiving a range to best cell for NTN (RangeToBestCellNTN) value, a UE can rank the neighbor cells based on the R-criterion, while the cells whose R value is within range to best cell in NTN of the R value of the highest ranked cell can be considered as candidate cells. The UE can then perform cell reselection to one or more criteria including: (i) a cell with shortest distance between the cell center and the UE; (ii) a cell with the shortest distance between the satellite and the UE; and/or (iii) a cell with longest valid/serving time or remaining valid/serving time.
Note: Here, the UE can make a reselection (“the third cell”) based on the shortest distance and longest valid time (distance increasing state) and the remaining valid time (decreasing time/longer distance, also referred to as the distance decreasing state).
wherein the distance decreasing state is a state in which the distance to the first set of the neighbor cells from the UE decreases by time, and wherein the distance increasing state is a state in which the distance to the second set of the neighbor cells from the UE increases by time.
[0084] FIG. 7 illustrates an NTN 700 for in which yet another cell reselection method may be performed by a UE 714, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. NTN 700 comprises satellite 702, satellite 706 and satellite 710 that respectively transmit to Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. As illustrated, UE 714 is located within the boundaries of Cell #1 704, Cell #2 708 and Cell #3 712. It can be assumed that UE 714 is now camping on Cell #1 704 and is moving toward the edge of Cell #1 704, in which case a reselection to connect to either Cell #2 708 or Cell #3 710 should be considered. As illustrated, T1 represents a valid time of operation for UE 714 in Cell #1 704, T2 represents a valid time of operation for UE 714 in Cell #2 708, and T3 represents a valid time or operation for UE 714 in Cell #3 712. Per FIG. 7, T3 represents the longest valid time of operation. Arrow 716 indicates a direction that the satellites are moving.
Note: Per Figure 7, T1, T2, and T3 are all increasing in time, of which the first set (Cell #2/T2) can decrease in time as compared to the second set (Cell #3T3), which is the longest time period.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the cell for cell reselection is selected as a first cell for which the distance is longest in the first set of neighbor cells.
However, Vare discloses the cell for cell reselection is selected as a first cell for which the distance is longest in the first set of neighbor cells.
[0096] Upon determining that cell n is not known to belong to the CSG whitelist at block 1210, methodology 1200 can conclude at block 1212, wherein the ranking of cell n is computed using a negative ranking offset (e.g., as Q.sub.meas-Q.sub.offsetNotAllowed,CSG), thereby decreasing a distance from the cell at which reselection to the cell occurs. Alternatively, if cell n is known to belong to the CSG whitelist, methodology 1200 can conclude at block 1214, wherein the ranking of cell n is computed using a positive ranking offset (e.g., as Q.sub.meas-Q.sub.offsetNotAllowed,CSG), thereby increasing a distance from the cell at which reselection to the cell occurs.
Gao and Vare are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao to include cell reselection occurring where the distance is longest in the first set of neighbor cells as taught by Vare so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Vare, held further in view of Chen and Chou (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0223073), herein referred to as “Chen”.
Regarding Claim 4,
Gao in view of Vare does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Chen discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the neighbor cells comprise target cells for a conditional mobility
[0093] According to an implementation of the present application, a handover priority may be used to indicate the priority of the CHO command.
Note: Conditional handover (CHO) is being interpreted as “conditional mobility.”
and wherein the performing of the cell reselection to the cell comprises performing a conditional mobility to the cell based on a mobility command related to the cell.
[0093] In some aspects of the present embodiments, if there are more than one triggered CHO commands with the same HO priority, the CHO command with the highest target cell signal quality (e.g., on RSRP level) may have the first priority (i.e., may be executed first).
Gao in view of Vare and Chen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Vare to include the concepts of conditional mobility based on a signal quality as taught by Chen so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Vare and Chen, held further in view of Balan et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0239752), herein referred to as “Balan.” The reference claims priority to, and has support in, provisional application 63/028483.
Regarding Claim 5,
Gao in view of Vare and Chen does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Balan discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein the conditional mobility is performed to the cell based on that a mobility condition for the cell is satisfied.
[0034] A multiple-event CHO execution condition, which may be known by the UE in advance or may be signalled to the UE e.g., as part of the multiple-event CHO configuration, may indicate a status or condition of each event of the multiple events, or a relationship between the events, that needs to occur in order for the CHO execution condition to be fulfilled for the multiple-event CHO execution (and thus trigger CHO execution). For example, for a dual-event CHO execution that is based on two events (a first event, and a second event), the UE may jointly evaluate (where UE evaluates aspects of both events, e.g., even sometimes evaluating aspects of both events at the same time in some cases) both the first event and the second event to determine if the following multiple-event CHO execution condition has been fulfilled: multiple-event CHO execution is performed by the UE if a first event, having a Time-To-Trigger (TTT) timer that has already expired, does not fulfill a leaving condition for the first event when a Time-To-Trigger (TTT) timer for the second event expires. This is an example of a multiple-event CHO execution condition, and others may be used.
Gao in view of Vare, Chen, and Balan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Vare and Chen to include the concept of when a mobility condition of a cell is satisfied as taught by Balan so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Regarding Claim 6,
Gao in view of Vare and Chen does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Balan discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the conditional mobility is performed to the cell based on that a mobility condition for the cell is not satisfied.
[0034] A multiple-event CHO execution condition, which may be known by the UE in advance or may be signalled to the UE e.g., as part of the multiple-event CHO configuration, may indicate a status or condition of each event of the multiple events, or a relationship between the events, that needs to occur in order for the CHO execution condition to be fulfilled for the multiple-event CHO execution (and thus trigger CHO execution). For example, for a dual-event CHO execution that is based on two events (a first event, and a second event), the UE may jointly evaluate (where UE evaluates aspects of both events, e.g., even sometimes evaluating aspects of both events at the same time in some cases) both the first event and the second event to determine if the following multiple-event CHO execution condition has been fulfilled: multiple-event CHO execution is performed by the UE if a first event, having a Time-To-Trigger (TTT) timer that has already expired, does not fulfill a leaving condition for the first event when a Time-To-Trigger (TTT) timer for the second event expires. This is an example of a multiple-event CHO execution condition, and others may be used.
Gao in view of Vare, Chen, and Balan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Vare and Chen to include the concept of when a mobility condition of a cell is not satisfied as taught by Balan so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Vare, held further in view of Grob-Lipski (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2012/0157105).
Regarding Claim 7,
Gao in view of Vare does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Grob-Lipski discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the distance decreasing state comprises a time period from a time when the distance is maximized, to a time when the distance is minimized
[0012] The first value is indicative of the distance between the mobile device and the first base station. Thus, when the first value is above the first threshold, this means that the distance between the mobile device and the first base station is bigger than a predetermined maximum value. The second value is based on the time between the first and the second handover. Thus, when the second value is below the second threshold, this means that the time between the first and the second handover was shorter than a minimum value. These two conditions are the criteria for detecting a cell spot. A cell spot is detected, when the base station serving the cell spot is located in a bigger distance than a predetermined value and the cell spot is smaller than a second predetermined value.
and wherein the distance increasing state comprises a time period from a time when the distance is minimized, to a time when the distance is maximized.
[0012] The first value is indicative of the distance between the mobile device and the first base station. Thus, when the first value is above the first threshold, this means that the distance between the mobile device and the first base station is bigger than a predetermined maximum value. The second value is based on the time between the first and the second handover. Thus, when the second value is below the second threshold, this means that the time between the first and the second handover was shorter than a minimum value. These two conditions are the criteria for detecting a cell spot. A cell spot is detected, when the base station serving the cell spot is located in a bigger distance than a predetermined value and the cell spot is smaller than a second predetermined value.
Note: Since the second value is the time, and the first value is the distance, here, the cell spot being smaller than a second predetermined value is the time period when the distance is minimized, and the cell spot being location in a bigger distance is indicative of the distance being maximized.
Gao in view of Vare and Grob-Lipski are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Vare to include the concepts of a distance increasing state and a distance decreasing state as taught by Grob-Lipski so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Regarding Claim 8,
Gao does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 8.
However, Vare discloses: The method of claim 7, wherein the location information comprises a reference distance which is a maximum distance between the location point and the communication device.
[0047] In step 513, the mobile terminal determines the range distance (maximum neighbor distance (MND)) based on the receiver physical parameters of the received signal and on other factors affecting the cell coverage area. With some embodiments, the MND is derived directly from the distance from the center of the current cell to the distance to the neighboring cell. The mobile terminal may further determine the cell coverage offset (CCO) as previously discussed.
Gao and Vare are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao to include the concept of a reference distance which is the maximum distance between a location and a UE as taught by Vare so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Regarding Claim 9,
Gao does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 9.
However, Vare discloses: The method of claim 7, wherein the location information comprises a reference location point such that a distance between the reference location point and the communication device is maximized.
[0047] In step 513, the mobile terminal determines the range distance (maximum neighbor distance (MND)) based on the receiver physical parameters of the received signal and on other factors affecting the cell coverage area. With some embodiments, the MND is derived directly from the distance from the center of the current cell to the distance to the neighboring cell. The mobile terminal may further determine the cell coverage offset (CCO) as previously discussed.
Note: The “center of the current cell” is being interpreted as the reference location point.
Gao and Vare are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao to include the concept of a reference location point where the maximum distance between a location and a UE as taught by Vare so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Vare, held further in view of Niu et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2024/0064858), herein referred to as “Niu”.
Regarding Claim 10,
Gao in view of Vare does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 10.
However, Niu discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the network, information related to a service time of each of the neighbor cells
[0064] In some embodiments, the time that UE camps on or receives the system information from entering idle mode or inactive mode in the serving cell may be used to determine the coverage condition of the UE in NTN. For example, UE select a cell to camp on. From that on, UE starts a timer. If the length of timer is higher than a time threshold, UE may be considered as in enhanced coverage or in a specific coverage level. The UE may also compares the time with multiple thresholds, to determine a specific coverage level. Furthermore, in some implementations, the RSRP/RSRQ value may further be compared with another threshold, together with the time comparison, to identify the cell coverage level. Table 4 below shows an example on how to determine the coverage level based on the timing advance.
and determining a remaining service time for each of the neighbor cells as a time period from a current time point to an end time point of the service time of each of the neighbor cells, wherein the cell for cell reselection is selected as a cell for which the remaining service time is longest among a third set of the neighbor cells.
[0064] In some embodiments, the time that UE camps on or receives the system information from entering idle mode or inactive mode in the serving cell may be used to determine the coverage condition of the UE in NTN. For example, UE select a cell to camp on. From that on, UE starts a timer. If the length of timer is higher than a time threshold, UE may be considered as in enhanced coverage or in a specific coverage level. The UE may also compares the time with multiple thresholds, to determine a specific coverage level. Furthermore, in some implementations, the RSRP/RSRQ value may further be compared with another threshold, together with the time comparison, to identify the cell coverage level. Table 4 below shows an example on how to determine the coverage level based on the timing advance.
Note: Per paragraph [0224] of the Applicant’s specification, the service time is the period of time where a wireless device can camp on a cell. Here, not only is that applied, but the timer threshold is indicative of measuring the current and end time point.
Gao in view of Vare and Niu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Vare to include the concept of a service time period and calculate the remaining service time as taught by Niu so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Regarding Claim 11,
Gao in view of Vare does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 11.
However, Niu discloses: The method of claim 10, wherein the service time of a neighbor cell comprises at least one of: a period of time during which a service is provided to the communication device by an entity related to the neighbor cell in a service area of the entity; a period of time during which the communication device is able to camp on the neighbor cell in an idle mode or an inactive mode; or a period of time during which the communication device is able to perform a mobility or a random access procedure in a connected mode, and wherein the information related to the service time comprises at least one of a start time point of the service time, the end time point of the service time, or a timer value corresponding to the service time.
[0064] In some embodiments, the time that UE camps on or receives the system information from entering idle mode or inactive mode in the serving cell may be used to determine the coverage condition of the UE in NTN. For example, UE select a cell to camp on. From that on, UE starts a timer. If the length of timer is higher than a time threshold, UE may be considered as in enhanced coverage or in a specific coverage level. The UE may also compares the time with multiple thresholds, to determine a specific coverage level. Furthermore, in some implementations, the RSRP/RSRQ value may further be compared with another threshold, together with the time comparison, to identify the cell coverage level. Table 4 below shows an example on how to determine the coverage level based on the timing advance.
Note: Per paragraph [0224] of the Applicant’s specification, the service time is the period of time where a wireless device can camp on a cell. Here, not only is that applied, but the timer threshold is indicative of measuring the current and end time point.
Gao in view of Vare and Niu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Vare to include the concept of a time period for an inactive/idle mode wireless device to camp on a neighbor cell as taught by Niu so as to aid in the cell reselection process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on March 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1, 4-11, 13-14.
There and no new claims.
The following claims have been canceled: 3 and 18.
Claims 1-2, and 4-14 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, 21, and 26 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411