DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/10/2025 with respect to the amendments of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yang (USPN 2011/0133642) in view of Fukumitsu et al (USPN 2015/0108533).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (USPN 2011/0133642) in view of Fukumitsu et al (USPN 2015/0108533).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a protection circuit (a protection circuit shown in figure 6), comprising:
a Zener diode (501) configured to be connected between a positive pole side (at a node a) and a negative pole side (at a node b) of a power supply (a DC power supply 301) and to be connected in parallel to a protected component (a LED element 101); and
a resistor (a current limiting resistor 401, or a current limiting resistor 402, see par. 0047) configured to be connected between a parallel circuit part (a parallel circuit part including the LED 101 and the Zener diode 501) and the positive pole side of the power supply, and/or between the parallel circuit part and the negative pole side of the power supply,
the parallel circuit part including the Zener diode (501) and the protected component (101) being connected in parallel to each other,
wherein the protected component is a light emitting diode (101), and
the resistor (401) is part of a current limiting resistor configured to limit a current provided to the light emitting diode.
Yang does not disclose a varistor as claimed.
However, providing a varistor in parallel with a light emitting diode is known in the art.
Such as Fukumitsu discloses a light emitting device comprises a varistor (a varistor 4) configured to be coupled in parallel with a light emitting diode (a LED 2) (see par. 0075).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have a zener diode of Yang to incorporate a varistor as disclosed by Fukumitsu in order to provide bidirectionally a large range of a surge voltage protection, and low cost effective. Thus, enhancing a protection performance.
3. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (USPN 2011/0133642) in view of Fukumitsu et al (USPN 2015/0108533), and further in view of Leong et al (USPN 2008/0290814).
Regarding claim 3, Yang and Fukumitsu disclose all limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above, but do not disclose the light emitting diode for a railway vehicle as claimed.
Providing a light emitting diode for a railway vehicle is known in the art. Typically, Leong discloses a lightning device (figure 4) comprise a light emitting diode (72) for a railway vehicle (see par. 0006).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have a light emitting diode of Leong to incorporate a light emitting diode with a protection structure disclosed by Yang and Fukumitsu in order to provide bidirectionally a large range of a surge voltage protection, and low cost effective. Thus, enhancing a protection performance.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838