DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/23/2024 and 3/13/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 17, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 recites “a data packet”, whereas line 3 goes on to recite and then further define “an Internet protocol (IP) data packet”. It is suggested by Examiner to change “a data packet” in line 1 to recite “Internet protocol (IP) data packet” and line 3 could be changed to recite “the IP data packet”, in order to keep the element of an IP data packet consistent throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 17-18, 22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steer et al. (US 2012/0176900 A1), hereinafter referred to as Steer, in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0160167 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhou.
Re. Claim 1, Steer teaches:
A method for transmitting a data packet, (¶0087 FIG. 6 is a flow chart illustrating one aspect of a method for receiving and routing a data packet according to one embodiment of the present invention.)
performed by a first device, (¶0087 Initially, a wireless network node [i.e. a first device] receives a data packet (step 80). The wireless network node further adds new time information to the packet (step 90) and sends the data packet on the first link of the new route (step 92). [i.e. the network node (first device) performs the transmitting of the data packet])
comprising: transmitting an (Fig. 7 and ¶0088 describe the data packet & ¶0048 FIG. 1, MSC 22 also is coupled to a data packet network 24. Data packet network 24 includes any and all types of data packet networks, including any one of the known Internets, including those that operate under IP.v6 protocols [i.e. data packets are for IP.v6 protocols] & ¶0087 Initially, a wireless network node receives a data packet (step 80). The wireless network node further adds new time information to the packet (step 90) and sends the data packet on the first link of the new route (step 92).)
wherein the IP data packet comprises: an identifier of a router for transmitting the IP data packet, (Fig. 7 – route plan 102 & ¶0090-¶0092 the route plan stored in route plan field 102 includes a list of the sequence of nodes the packets are to traverse to reach their destination. The routing sequence does not include the plan for the links already traversed in one embodiment. Thus, the list of the sequence of nodes (the route plan) would shrink (by one entry) at each intermediate node in the route. intermediate nodes are able to develop re-routing plans when they have more recent information about any of the links in the proposed route. The routing and timing information is appended to the information to the packets being sent and is marked as an extension to the standard header. [i.e. the route plan is a list of nodes along the transmission path to a destination, the list containing the identifier of each node/router responsible for (re)transmitting the data packet along the path])
and a first time and a second time corresponding to the identifier of the router, (¶0088 at least two time values are transmitted within efficiency field 106. efficiency field 106 carries time of transmission data for at least one wireless network node so that the timing for transmission through a link may be determined as a part of calculating a link's efficiency. A first time value reflects one of a total transmission time that is updated by every wireless network node [i.e. first time corresponds to each node/router] or a transmission time of the initiating node so that a total time may be calculated. A second time value reflects the transmission time of the data packet from the previous wireless network node. [i.e. both first and second time values involve and therefore correspond to the node/router identified in the routing table at each point along the path, total transmission time is updated at each node/router and transmission time between nodes involves the identified next node/router and the previous node/router])
and the first time and the second time determine a processing time range corresponding to a time at which the router identified by the identifier of the router processes the IP data packet. (¶0088 efficiency field 106 carries time of transmission data for at least one wireless network node so that the timing for transmission through a link may be determined as a part of calculating a link's efficiency. [i.e. the timing for transmission through a link (a node/router) is functionally equivalent to processing time range of each node/router along the path], at least two time values are transmitted within efficiency field 106. A first time value reflects one of a total transmission time that is updated by every wireless network node or a transmission time of the initiating node so that a total time may be calculated. A second time value reflects the transmission time of the data packet from the previous wireless network node. Accordingly, a wireless network node or a network access node may evaluate the value(s) in the efficiency field to determine a total route efficiency as well as an efficiency of a previous link. [i.e. first and second time value are used for determining the processing time range (efficiency) for the data packet at each node/router])
Although Steer discusses transmission of data packets, the reference does not explicitly teach: transmitting an Internet protocol (IP) data packet.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou teaches such a limitation:
transmitting an Internet protocol (IP) data packet. (Fig. 6 & ¶0059 a source device of a data packet is a device that generates the data packet, and a target device is a device corresponding to a destination address to which the data packet needs to be sent. For an Internet Protocol (IP) data packet, after a device generates a data packet, [i.e. device generates an IP data packet] a source IP address of the data packet indicates a source device of the data packet, and a destination address of the data packet indicates a target device of the data packet. & ¶0108 The time parameter is used to represent a time that has been occupied by each intermediate device in a process of transmitting the first data packet from the source device to the first device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Steer’s invention of minimization of radio resource usage in multi-hop networks with multiple routings to include Zhou’s teaching of transmitting an internet protocol (IP) data packet, because it enables the device to operate on a network using information such as source/destination IP addresses to ensure sufficient resources for high-priority service flows. (see Zhou ¶0004)
Re. Claim 6, Steer teaches:
A method for transmitting a data packet, (¶0087 FIG. 6 is a flow chart illustrating one aspect of a method for receiving and routing a data packet according to one embodiment of the present invention.)
performed by a second device, (¶0077 As long as the node can forward a packet to another node along the route, or initiate a route by sending a packet to its appropriate neighbor, when the packet passes through a node with additional routing information, the routing will be adapted to the latest optimum conditions of the network. & ¶0083 The initial routing process will choose a route based on the information in the routing table and choose a route that minimizes the route cost (as described previously). The packet will then be sent to the appropriate neighboring (or distant neighbor) node to begin its journey. [i.e. neighboring nodes are second devices, also referred to as subsequent nodes in other parts of disclosure])
comprising: receiving an (Fig. 7 and ¶0088 describe the data packet & ¶0048 FIG. 1, MSC 22 also is coupled to a data packet network 24. Data packet network 24 includes any and all types of data packet networks, including any one of the known Internets, including those that operate under IP.v6 protocols [i.e. data packets are for IP.v6 protocols] & ¶0055 network node 35, however, would generate route information for transmission with the traffic (data packets) from client 16 defining the subsequent wireless network nodes in a specified route to network access node 26. For example, the route information could specify that the traffic be routed either through wireless network node 34 or 28 from wireless network node 32. The subsequent wireless network node 28 or 34, upon receiving the traffic [i.e. receiving data packet] with routing information, compares the routing information to its own routing information)
wherein the IP data packet comprises: an identifier of a router for transmitting the IP data packet, (Fig. 7 – route plan 102 & ¶0090-¶0092 the route plan stored in route plan field 102 includes a list of the sequence of nodes the packets are to traverse to reach their destination. The routing sequence does not include the plan for the links already traversed in one embodiment. Thus, the list of the sequence of nodes (the route plan) would shrink (by one entry) at each intermediate node in the route. intermediate nodes are able to develop re-routing plans when they have more recent information about any of the links in the proposed route. The routing and timing information is appended to the information to the packets being sent and is marked as an extension to the standard header. [i.e. the route plan is a list of nodes along the transmission path to a destination, the list containing the identifier of each node/router responsible for (re)transmitting the data packet along the path])
and a first time and a second time corresponding to the identifier of the router, (¶0088 at least two time values are transmitted within efficiency field 106. efficiency field 106 carries time of transmission data for at least one wireless network node so that the timing for transmission through a link may be determined as a part of calculating a link's efficiency. A first time value reflects one of a total transmission time that is updated by every wireless network node [i.e. corresponding to each node/router] or a transmission time of the initiating node so that a total time may be calculated. A second time value reflects the transmission time of the data packet from the previous wireless network node. [i.e. both time values involve and therefore correspond to the node/router identified in the routing table at each point along the path, total transmission time is updated at each node/router and transmission time between nodes involves the identified next node/router and the previous node/router])
and the first time and the second time determine a processing time range corresponding to a time at which the router identified by the identifier of the router processes the IP data packet. (¶0088 efficiency field 106 carries time of transmission data for at least one wireless network node so that the timing for transmission through a link may be determined as a part of calculating a link's efficiency. [i.e. the timing for transmission through a link (a node/router) is functionally equivalent to processing time range of each node/router along the path] In another embodiment, at least two time values are transmitted within efficiency field 106. A first time value reflects one of a total transmission time that is updated by every wireless network node or a transmission time of the initiating node so that a total time may be calculated. A second time value reflects the transmission time of the data packet from the previous wireless network node. Accordingly, a wireless network node or a network access node may evaluate the value(s) in the efficiency field to determine a total route efficiency as well as an efficiency of a previous link. [i.e. first and second time value are used for determining the processing time range (efficiency) for the data packet at each node/router])
Although Steer discusses transmission of data packets, the reference does not explicitly teach: transmitting an Internet protocol (IP) data packet.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou teaches such a limitation:
transmitting an Internet protocol (IP) data packet. (Fig. 6 & ¶0059 a source device of a data packet is a device that generates the data packet, and a target device is a device corresponding to a destination address to which the data packet needs to be sent. For an Internet Protocol (IP) data packet, after a device generates a data packet, [i.e. device generates an IP data packet] a source IP address of the data packet indicates a source device of the data packet, and a destination address of the data packet indicates a target device of the data packet. & ¶0108 The time parameter is used to represent a time that has been occupied by each intermediate device in a process of transmitting the first data packet from the source device to the first device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Steer’s invention of minimization of radio resource usage in multi-hop networks with multiple routings to include Zhou’s teaching of transmitting an internet protocol (IP) data packet, because it enables the device to operate on a network using information such as source/destination IP addresses to ensure sufficient resources for high-priority service flows. (see Zhou ¶0004)
Re. Claim 17, Steer teaches:
A device for transmitting a data packet, (¶0087 Initially, a wireless network node [i.e. a first device] receives a data packet (step 80). The wireless network node further adds new time information to the packet (step 90) and sends the data packet on the first link of the new route (step 92). [i.e. the network node (first device) performs the transmitting of the data packet])
comprising: a processor; (¶0093 A wireless network node 110 includes a processor 112)
and a memory for storing processor-executable instructions; (¶0093 A wireless network node 110 includes a processor 112 that is coupled to receive computer instructions stored within a memory 114)
wherein the processor is configured to perform a method for transmitting a data packet, (¶0093 Generally, the computer instructions include logic for the wireless network node to create and update a link table (or equivalent thereof), to route traffic and data packets according to a lowest cost route, to generate route and time stamp information with the data packets and to update or modify a specified route for a data packet under specified conditions described herein this application. [i.e. instructions are for performing a method which includes transmitting a data packet])
comprising: transmitting an (Fig. 7 and ¶0088 describe the data packet & ¶0048 FIG. 1, MSC 22 also is coupled to a data packet network 24. Data packet network 24 includes any and all types of data packet networks, including any one of the known Internets, including those that operate under IP.v6 protocols [i.e. data packets are for IP.v6 protocols] & ¶0087 Initially, a wireless network node receives a data packet (step 80)… The wireless network node further adds new time information to the packet (step 90) and sends the data packet on the first link of the new route (step 92).)
wherein the IP data packet comprises: an identifier of a router for transmitting the IP data packet, (Fig. 7 – route plan 102 & ¶0090-¶0092 the route plan stored in route plan field 102 includes a list of the sequence of nodes the packets are to traverse to reach their destination. The routing sequence does not include the plan for the links already traversed in one embodiment. Thus, the list of the sequence of nodes (the route plan) would shrink (by one entry) at each intermediate node in the route. intermediate nodes are able to develop re-routing plans when they have more recent information about any of the links in the proposed route. The routing and timing information is appended to the information to the packets being sent and is marked as an extension to the standard header. [i.e. the route plan is a list of nodes along the transmission path to a destination, the list containing the identifier of each node/router responsible for (re)transmitting the data packet along the path])
and a first time and a second time corresponding to the identifier of the router, (¶0088 at least two time values are transmitted within efficiency field 106. efficiency field 106 carries time of transmission data for at least one wireless network node so that the timing for transmission through a link may be determined as a part of calculating a link's efficiency. A first time value reflects one of a total transmission time that is updated by every wireless network node [i.e. corresponding to each node/router] or a transmission time of the initiating node so that a total time may be calculated. A second time value reflects the transmission time of the data packet from the previous wireless network node. [i.e. both time values involve and therefore correspond to the node/router identified in the routing table at each point along the path, total transmission time is updated at each node/router and transmission time between nodes involves the identified next node/router and the previous node/router])
and the first time and the second time determine a processing time range corresponding to a time at which the router identified by the identifier of the router processes the IP data packet (¶0088 efficiency field 106 carries time of transmission data for at least one wireless network node so that the timing for transmission through a link may be determined as a part of calculating a link's efficiency. [i.e. the timing for transmission through a link (a node/router) is functionally equivalent to processing time range of each node/router along the path] In another embodiment, at least two time values are transmitted within efficiency field 106. A first time value reflects one of a total transmission time that is updated by every wireless network node or a transmission time of the initiating node so that a total time may be calculated. A second time value reflects the transmission time of the data packet from the previous wireless network node. Accordingly, a wireless network node or a network access node may evaluate the value(s) in the efficiency field to determine a total route efficiency as well as an efficiency of a previous link. [i.e. first and second time value are used for determining the processing time range (efficiency) for the data packet at each node/router])
Although Steer discusses transmission of data packets, the reference does not explicitly teach: transmitting an Internet protocol (IP) data packet.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou teaches such a limitation:
transmitting an Internet protocol (IP) data packet. (Fig. 6 & ¶0059 a source device of a data packet is a device that generates the data packet, and a target device is a device corresponding to a destination address to which the data packet needs to be sent. For an Internet Protocol (IP) data packet, after a device generates a data packet, [i.e. device generates an IP data packet] a source IP address of the data packet indicates a source device of the data packet, and a destination address of the data packet indicates a target device of the data packet. & ¶0108 The time parameter is used to represent a time that has been occupied by each intermediate device in a process of transmitting the first data packet from the source device to the first device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Steer’s invention of minimization of radio resource usage in multi-hop networks with multiple routings to include Zhou’s teaching of transmitting an internet protocol (IP) data packet, because it enables the device to operate on a network using information such as source/destination IP addresses to ensure sufficient resources for high-priority service flows. (see Zhou ¶0004)
Re. Claim 18, Steer combined with Zhou teaches claim 1.
Steer further teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform the method for transmitting the data packet according to claim 1. (¶0093 memory 114 includes computer instructions that define operational logic for the wireless network node including instructions that relate to routine operations of the wireless network node. Additionally, the computer instructions in memory portion 116 define logic as described in each of the above described method steps and logic to result in operation as described according to the various embodiments of the invention including, for example, the operation of wireless network nodes as described in relation to FIGS. 1-7)
Re. Claim 22, Steer combined with Zhou teaches claim 6.
Steer further teaches:
A device for transmitting a data packet, (¶0087 Initially, a wireless network node [i.e. a device] receives a data packet (step 80). The wireless network node further adds new time information to the packet (step 90) and sends the data packet on the first link of the new route (step 92). [i.e. the network node (device) performs the transmitting of the data packet])
comprising: a processor; (¶0093 A wireless network node 110 includes a processor 112)
and a memory for storing processor-executable instructions; (¶0093 node 110 includes a processor 112 that is coupled to receive computer instructions stored within a memory 114)
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method for transmitting the data packet according to claim 6. (Fig. 1 Wireless network node 28 & Abstract: Every wireless network node transmits the data packet, & ¶0055 network node 35, however, would generate route information for transmission with the traffic (data packets) from client 16 defining the subsequent wireless network nodes in a specified route to network access node 26. For example, the route information could specify that the traffic be routed either through wireless network node 34 or 28 from wireless network node 32. The subsequent wireless network node 28 or 34, [i.e. subsequent/neighbor nodes are device(s) for transmitting a data packet, which would inherently contain a processer like wireless network node 110 is disclosed as having below] upon receiving the traffic with routing information, compares the routing information to its own routing information ¶0093 A wireless network node 110 includes a processor 112 that is coupled to receive computer instructions stored within a memory 114, the computer instructions in memory portion 116 define logic as described in each of the above described method steps and logic to result in operation as described according to the various embodiments of the invention including, for example, the operation of wireless network nodes as described in relation to FIGS. 1-7 herein)
Claim 26 is directed to a device claim that recites similar limitations to device claim 18. Therefore, the rejection for claim 26 is similar to that put forth for claim 18.
Claims 2, 7, 19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steer combined with Zhou, and further in view of Pang et al. (US 2020/0305026 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pang.
Re. Claim 2, Steer combined with Zhou teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the first time is a processing time for the router to process the IP data packet, and the second time is a time error that is allowable for the router to process the IP data packet; or wherein the first time is a minimum time allowing the router to process the IP data packet, the second time is a maximum time allowing the router to process the IP data packet.
However, in the analogous art, Pang teaches such a limitation:
or
wherein the first time is a minimum time allowing the router to process the IP data packet, (¶0158 the first indication information may alternatively include at least one of a duration threshold and a duration jitter. The duration threshold may include an upper duration limit and/or a lower duration limit. [i.e. a first time] & ¶0160 the first network node sends the first data packet within an allowable duration threshold range of the first duration, or within an allowable duration jitter range of the first duration.)
and the second time is a maximum time allowing the router to process the IP data packet. (¶0158 the first indication information may alternatively include at least one of a duration threshold and a duration jitter. The duration threshold may include an upper duration limit [i.e. a second time] and/or a lower duration limit. & ¶0160 the first network node sends the first data packet within an allowable duration threshold range of the first duration, or within an allowable duration jitter range of the first duration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Steer and Zhou’s invention of minimization of radio resource usage in multi-hop networks with multiple routings to include Pang’s teaching of a second time being a maximum time allowed for the router to process the data packet, because it would allow the router to receive the data packet during an allowable duration threshold, which helps avoid errors due to transmission capability requirements not being met. (see Pang ¶0032 & ¶0160)
Claims 7, 19, and 23 are directed to both method and device claims that recite similar limitations to those of method claim 2. Therefore, the rejections for claims 7, 19, and 23 are similar to that put forth in claims 2.
Claims 3-4, 8-9, 20-21, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steer combined with Zhou, in further view of Tang et al. (US 2020/0344664 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tang.
Re. Claim 3, Steer combined with Zhou teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the identifier of the router is a router address.
However, in the analogous art, Tang teaches such a limitation:
wherein the identifier of the router is a router address. (¶0058 the header of the uplink data packet includes first information, and the first information is used to indicate a source address and/or a destination address. & ¶0100 The address of the destination node may not only include the address of the terminal device to which the data packet belongs, but also include the address of the relay node directly connected to the terminal device to which the data packet belongs. [i.e. identifier of each node/router in the path is an address, for the source, intermediate and/or destination nodes])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Steer and Zhou’s invention of minimization of radio resource usage in multi-hop networks with multiple routings to include Tang’s teaching of the identifier of the router being a router address, because it would allow the device to properly determine whether to forward the data packet to at least one relay node and improve the performance of the relay network. (see Tang ¶0004-¶0005)
Re. Claim 4, Steer combined with Zhou and Tang teaches claim 3.
Steer further teaches:
wherein a plurality of identifiers of routers exist and are comprised in a routing flow table; (¶0044 determining what links are available for routing across the network, the cost factors associated with each link and the development and updating of a routing information table in each node. The second aspect includes initiating a route based on a cost function and the information in an initiating wireless network node's routing table about the network. The third aspect is the updating of the routing while the packet is in transit if the network conditions change from those used by previous nodes to select the initial routing. & ¶0061 the wireless network node creates a link table (step 48), adds information to the link table based on local link conditions (step 50), adds information to the link table based on link information received from neighbors (step 52) [i.e. link table (routing flow table) holds information about multiple identifiers of links (routers)])
and wherein the method for transmitting the data packet further comprises: transmitting the IP data packet according to the router address comprised in the routing flow table. (¶0061 the wireless network node creates a link table (step 48), adds information to the link table based on local link conditions (step 50), adds information to the link table based on link information received from neighbors (step 52) & ¶0076 When a node receives a packet from a neighbor, as specified in step 60, for forwarding onwards across the network, the node evaluates the proposed routing against its own version of the network routing table. The packet is then forwarded to the next node in the route, together with the routing information (either the original if the route is not changed or the new information if it is changed [i.e. at each node in the route, transmitting the packet to the next node is determined based on the routing information (address) of the next node in the routing table (routing flow table)]).)
Claims 8-9, 20-21, and 24-25 are directed to method claims that recite similar limitations to those of method claims 3-4. Therefore, the rejections for claims 8-9, 20-21 and 24-25 are similar to those put forth for claims 3-4.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steer combined with Zhou, and further in view of Bahr (US 2009/0196227 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bahr.
Re. Claim 5, Steer combined with Zhou teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the IP data packet further comprises hop count information; and wherein the hop count information comprises a hop count, the hop count is N+1, where N represents a number of routers identified by the identifiers of the routers.
However, in the analogous art, Bahr teaches such limitations:
wherein the IP data packet further comprises hop count information; (Fig. 2 - Hop Count field)
and wherein the hop count information comprises a hop count, the hop count is N+1, where N represents a number of routers identified by the identifiers of the routers. (¶0015-¶0016 HopCount is the number of further network nodes traversed by the RREQ packet up to and including the current network node, in order to ensure that the correct hop count is present it is necessary in particular to increment the HopCount by one first following reception. [i.e. hop count represent number of nodes in the route, which is increased by 1 at each node, therefore the number would represent (number of nodes in path) + 1 at each nodes reception])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Steer and Zhou’s invention of minimization of radio resource usage in multi-hop networks with multiple routings to include Bahr’s teaching of the packet including hop count information incremented by one following reception, because it would help to achieve high reliability and ensure that the correct hop count is present. (see Bahr ¶0014-¶0015)
Claim 10 is directed to a method claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 5. Therefore, the rejection for claim 10 is similar to those put forth for claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 2019/0140965 A1); at least ¶0015-¶0016 & ¶0038 discloses total hop count in a data packet and total hop count is equal to sum of network segment routers plus one.
Liu (US 2012/0076143 A1); at least ¶0109 discloses hop count parameter of a data packet, where hop count equals number of devices passed through plus one.
Blatt (US 2021/0399983 A1); at least ¶0003 discloses addresses for source, intermediate, and final destination nodes stored in a routing table at each node.
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417