Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-15, 19-24, 26-28 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freudelsperger (US 2009/0021023).
Regarding claim 12, Freudelsperger teaches a method for operating a storage system, 1, that includes a plurality of rack aisles, see figure 4, each rack aisle including a storage rack, 1a-1d, and a vehicle, 5, that is movable along the storage rack in a longitudinal direction, x, see figures 1 and 2, each vehicle including a lifting device, 8, having a receiving device, 5d, adapted to receive a load, 4, and being in a vertical direction, see paragraph 0024, comprising:
supplying electrical energy that is generated during operation by the vehicles of a first one of the rack aisles to a second one of the rack aisles, see figure 4 and paragraph 0026.
Regarding claim 13, Freudelsperger teaches each rack aisle includes an intermediate circuit capacitor, S1, S2, and S3, the method further comprising storing, in the intermediate circuit capacitor of the second rack aisle, the electrical energy generated during operation by the vehicle of the first one of the rack aisles, see figure 4 and paragraphs 0026 and 0027.
Regarding claim 14, Freudelsperger teaches the intermediate circuit capacitors, S1, S2, and S3 of the rack aisles are electrically connected to each other, see figure 4 and paragraph 0026.
Regarding claim 15, Freudelsperger teaches the intermediate circuit capacitors, S1, S2, and S3, of the rack aisles are electrically connected to each other in a parallel circuit, see figure 4.
Regarding claim 19, Freudelsperger teaches the electrical energy generated during operation by the vehicle of the first one of the rack aisles is used to drive the vehicle of the second one of the rack aisles in the longitudinal direction. Freudelsperger teaches recycling energy from one vehicle to drive another vehicle on a different aisle, see paragraph 0026, and further teaches motors 6 and 7 for driving the vehicle in the longitudinal direction, see paragraph 0024, which would be two of the motors receiving the recycled energy.
Regarding claim 20, Freudelsperger teaches the electrical energy generated during operation by the vehicle of the first one of the rack aisles is used to drive the receiving device of the lifting device of the vehicle of the second one of the rack aisles in the vertical direction. Freudelsperger teaches recycling energy from one vehicle to drive another vehicle on a different aisle, see paragraph 0026, and further teaches motor 8 for driving the receiving device of the lifting device of the vehicle, see paragraph 0024, which would be one of the motors receiving the recycled energy.
Regarding claim 21, Freudelsperger teaches the electrical energy generated during operation by the vehicle of the first one of the rack aisles is used to drive the receiving device of the lifting device of the vehicle of the second one of the rack aisles in the vertical direction. Freudelsperger teaches recycling energy from one vehicle to drive another vehicle on a different aisle, see paragraph 0026, and further teaches motor 8 for driving the receiving device of the lifting device of the vehicle, see paragraph 0024, which would be one of the motors receiving the recycled energy.
Regarding claim 22, Freudelsperger teaches the electrical energy generated during operation by the vehicle of the first one of the rack aisles is used in the second one of the rack aisles to move a load from a lower storage compartment to an upper storage compartment, the upper storage compartment being farther away from a floor in the vertical direction than the lower storage compartment. Freudelsperger teaches recycling energy from one vehicle to drive another vehicle on a different aisle, see paragraph 0026, and further teaches motor 8 for driving the receiving device to move a load in three mutually orthogonal directions, horizontally, vertically, and into and out of compartments, see paragraph 0024.
Regarding claim 23, Freudelsperger teaches the electrical energy generated during operation by the vehicle of the first one of the rack aisles is used in the second one of the rack aisles to move a load from a lower storage compartment to an upper storage compartment, the upper storage compartment being farther away from a floor in the vertical direction than the lower storage compartment. Freudelsperger teaches recycling energy from one vehicle to drive another vehicle on a different aisle, see paragraph 0026, and further teaches motor 8 for driving the receiving device to move a load in three mutually orthogonal directions, horizontally, vertically, and into and out of compartments, see paragraph 0024.
Regarding claim 24, Freudelsperger teaches a storage system, comprising:
a plurality of rack aisles, each rack aisle including a storage rack, 1a-1d, and a vehicle, 5, the vehicle adapted to move along the storage rack in a longitudinal direction, x, see figures 1 and 2, each vehicle including a lifting device, 8, that includes a receiving device. 5d, adapted to receive a load, 4, the receiving device adapted to move in a vertical direction, see paragraph 0024.
Regarding claim 26, Freudelsperger teaches each rack aisle includes an intermediate circuit capacitor, S1, S2, and S3, adapted to store the electrical energy supplied to the rack aisle.
Regarding claim 27, Freudelsperger teaches the intermediate circuit capacitors of the rack aisles are electrically connected to each other, see figure 4 and paragraph 0026.
Regarding claim 28, Freudelsperger teaches the intermediate circuit capacitors of the rack aisles are electrically connected to each other in a parallel circuit, see figure 4.
Regarding claim 32, Freudelsperger teaches a storage system, comprising:
a plurality of rack aisles, each rack aisle including a storage rack, 1a-1d, and a vehicle, 5, the vehicle adapted to move along the storage rack in a longitudinal direction, x, see figures 1 and 2, each vehicle including a lifting device, 8, that includes a receiving device, 5d, adapted to receive a load, 4, the receiving device adapted to move in a vertical direction;
wherein at least one first one of the rack aisles is adapted to supply electrical energy that is generated during operation by the vehicle of the first one of the rack aisles to at least one second one of the rack aisles, see figure 4 and paragraphs 0026 and 0027.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freudelsperger (US 2009/0021023) in view of WO 2016/094923, as cited by applicant.
Regarding claim 16, Freudelsperger does not teach each rack aisle includes a rechargeable battery, the method further comprising storing, in the rechargeable battery of the second rack aisle, the electrical energy generated during operation by the vehicle of the first one of the rack aisles. Freudelsperger teaches the recycling of unused energy back into the system, see paragraph 0027, but does not teach storage of unused energy.
WO ‘923 teaches a storage system with power recycling and a rechargeable battery (power storage) associated with each storage row. See reproduced section of English translation below:
It is also advantageous if the storage bins are organized in rows of shelves, which are arranged adjacent to at least one rack aisle, if the rack aisle in superimposed levels independently movable storage and retrieval equipment and if the at least one power supply and each power storage units assigned to several levels of shelf aisle are. For example, the rows of shelves can be organized in several storage areas, each of which is assigned a power supply and a power storage. For example, a shelf row with 18 levels can be organized in 3 storage areas with 6 shelf levels each. In each shelf level, a single-level stacker ("shuttle") may be provided. Advantageous in this embodiment are the good scalability, the good availability comparatively small power storage and the good availability of the bearing assembly as such. In the event of a power failure, only one storage area will fail and not a complete rack aisle. It is also favorable if the storage bins are organized in rows of shelves which are arranged adjacent to rack aisles and if each rack aisle a single storage and retrieval unit or in superimposed planes independently movable are arranged devices and if the at least one power supply and the at least one power storage are assigned to the stacker cranes of several rows. In this way, an energy balance over several shelf aisles away take place.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the power storage of WO ‘923 with the storage system of Freudelsperger in order to achieve the predictable result of storing excess energy that is not immediately used by the system for even more energy savings.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Freudelsperger and WO ‘923 teaches the rechargeable batteries of the rack aisles are electrically connected to each other, as the batteries would be placed in the connected circuit already taught by Freudelsperger.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Freudelsperger and WO ‘923 teaches the rechargeable batteries of the rack aisles are electrically connected to each other in a parallel circuit, as the batteries would be places in the parallel circuit already taught by Freudelsperger.
Regarding claim 29, Freudelsperger does not teach each rack aisle includes a rechargeable battery adapted to store the electrical energy supplied to the rack aisle. Freudelsperger teaches the recycling of unused energy back into the system, see paragraph 0027, but does not teach storage of unused energy.
WO ‘923 teaches a storage system with power recycling and a rechargeable battery (power storage) associated with each storage row. See reproduced section of English translation below:
It is also advantageous if the storage bins are organized in rows of shelves, which are arranged adjacent to at least one rack aisle, if the rack aisle in superimposed levels independently movable storage and retrieval equipment and if the at least one power supply and each power storage units assigned to several levels of shelf aisle are. For example, the rows of shelves can be organized in several storage areas, each of which is assigned a power supply and a power storage. For example, a shelf row with 18 levels can be organized in 3 storage areas with 6 shelf levels each. In each shelf level, a single-level stacker ("shuttle") may be provided. Advantageous in this embodiment are the good scalability, the good availability comparatively small power storage and the good availability of the bearing assembly as such. In the event of a power failure, only one storage area will fail and not a complete rack aisle. It is also favorable if the storage bins are organized in rows of shelves which are arranged adjacent to rack aisles and if each rack aisle a single storage and retrieval unit or in superimposed planes independently movable are arranged devices and if the at least one power supply and the at least one power storage are assigned to the stacker cranes of several rows. In this way, an energy balance over several shelf aisles away take place.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the power storage of WO ‘923 with the storage system of Freudelsperger in order to achieve the predictable result of storing excess energy that is not immediately used by the system for even more energy savings.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Freudelsperger and WO ‘923 teaches the rechargeable batteries of the rack aisles are electrically connected to each other, as the batteries would be placed in the connected circuit already taught by Freudelsperger.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Freudelsperger and WO ‘923 teaches the rechargeable batteries of the rack aisles are electrically connected to each other in a parallel circuit, as the batteries would be places in the parallel circuit already taught by Freudelsperger.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freudelsperger (US 2009/0021023) in view of Eil (US 2023/0024496).
Regarding claim 25, Freudelsperger teaches a control, 25 and 31, and a computer, 32. Freudelsperger does not teach that the computer and control are used for an order system.
Eil teaches an order system and a control unit, 270, the order system being adapted to transmit logistics orders to the control unit, the control unit being adapted to coordinate received logistics orders and to transmit individual orders to respective individual rack aisles, see paragraph 0142.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the computer and control, 31 and 32, of Freudelsperger to also control the order system of the storage system, as taught by Eil, in order to achieve the predictable result of automatically controlling the vehicles within the storage rack.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Freudelsperger, cited above, is the best prior art. Additional prior art cited on the PTO-892 is included to show the general state of the prior art.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652
19 December 2025