Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 131-139) in the reply filed on 13 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 140-141 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 132-133 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Both claims 132 and 133 recite the limitation “The medicament of claim 118,” in line 1 but claim 118 has been cancelled. This should be directed to claim 131 above as that is the only dependent claim present and elected.
Claim 134-135 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Both claims 134 and 135 recite the limitation “The medicament of claim 1,” in line 1 but claim 1 has been cancelled. This should be directed to claim 131 above as that is the only dependent claim present and elected.
Claims 131-139 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 131 is unclear whether the medicament comprises a first composition and a thermosensitive polymer of the first composition. The first composition, thermosensitive polymer and the medicament are not directly related to each other in the claim. Claims 132-139 are similarly rejected for their dependency or interpreted dependency on claim 131.
Claim 133 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. “The medicament of claim 118 first composition…”, there seems to be missing claim language in this claim and it is unclear what the limitation is claiming.
Claim 133 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear whether a thermosensitive polymer is referring to the thermosensitive polymer of claim 131 or an additional polymer. For the purposes of examination, the thermosensitive polymer of 133 will be treated as the thermosensitive polymer introduced in claim 131.
Regarding claims 135 and 138, the phrases "optionally" and “preferably” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Each instance of the word optionally is interpreted as not necessary for the claimed limitation, however, some of the art is being used to reject the optional parts of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 131-139 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Specifically, claim 131 recites the limitation, “wherein the first composition is located proximal to a target site”. The target site is a part of the human body and the claim is reciting the human body as a locational reference for the structure of the invention. Claims 132-139 are similarly rejected for their dependency or interpreted dependency on claim 131.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 131-132, 134 and 136-138 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenthal et al. (US 2020/0390427) in view of Alas et al. (US 2020/0113627).
Regarding claim 131, Eisenthal discloses teaches a medicament (¶[0064], materials, biosealant) for use in the prevention and/or treatment of pneumothorax in a mammal (¶[0020]-[0021]) by administering a first composition comprising a thermosensitive polymer to lung tissue selected from the group consisting of the pleural cavity, the internal surface of the visceral pleura, the external surface of the parietal pleural, the internal surface of the parietal pleura, and/or within the lung parenchyma (¶[0026] & [0096]); wherein the first composition is located proximal to a target site (¶[0096], where the first composition is delivered on the trajectory of the target area which would proximal to the target area).
Eisenthal does not specifically teach a thermosensitive polymer, however, Eisenthal does teach the polymer can be a block copolymer which includes PEO-PPO-PEO blocks.
Alas teaches a composition for neural ablation. Alas further teaches a thermosensitive polymer used to comprise a block polymer, this block polymer can include polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene (PEO-PPO) (¶[0148] from Alas). The device of Eisenthal specifies this as one of the triblock polymers that can be used in the device. This teaching specifies that this type of block is a thermosensitive polymer. Eisenthal further states that the polymer can be stimuli-responsive polymer which would include thermosensitivity. It would be obvious to use this type of polymer as this is already a type of polymer listed in Eisenthal and known in the art.
Regarding claim 132, the combination of Eisenthal and Alas teaches medicament of claim 118 wherein: Eisenthal and Alas further teach the thermosensitive polymer causes the lung tissue to bulk (¶[0064], where the material swells in the presence of fluid from Eisenthal, ¶[0148], thermosensitive polymer from Alas); and, the medicament is in a gel state (¶[0064], where the material can be one of multiple types of gels).
Regarding claim 134, the combination of Eisenthal and Alas teaches the medicament of claim 1, Eisenthal and Alas further teach wherein said thermosensitive polymer is a block polymer (¶[0067], where there are a number of polymers that can be used including triblock copolymers from Eisenthal, ¶[0148], where the block polymers include to PEO-PPO thermosensitive polymer).
Regarding claim 136, the combination of Eisenthal and Alas teaches the medicament of claim 131, Eisenthal further teaches comprising a second composition comprising contrast-enhancing agent selected from the group consisting of at least agent selected from the group consisting of a radiopaque material (¶[0065]-[0066], where a radiopaque material is used and can be selectively tuned).
Regarding claim 137, the combination of Eisenthal and Alas teaches the medicament of claim 131, Eisenthal further teaches wherein following administration, the distance between the first composition and the pleural cavity is less than the distance between the lesion and the pleural cavity (Fig 7B, where the composition is delivered through the device and would necessarily be nearer the cavity 60 than 55 as it directly contact the part 60 before the lesion 55, 23 is directly contacting 60).
The lesion 55 in the figure 7B is interior of the lung which includes the pleural cavity 60. The lesion is distanced apart from the pleural cavity so it has a non-zero value. The composition is in direct contact with the cavity so the distance between them is 0. The proximity of the three parts is the interpreted distance.
Regarding claim 138, the combination of Eisenthal and Alas teaches the medicament of claim 131, Eisenthal further teaches wherein said pneumothorax was caused by a device inserted into intercostal muscles, visceral pleura, parietal pleura, pleural pleura, or lung parenchyma (¶[0026], where all of these are acceptable insertion areas), preferably by a device inserted into lung parenchyma (¶[0091], where the device is inserted into the lung parenchyma), optionally wherein the device is selected from the group consisting of an access device, coaxial device, percutaneous delivery device, coaxial delivery device, biopsy device, and ablation device (¶[0096], where the device is an access device that has the capability of delivery and also can use biopsy devices and ablation devices during operation).
Claim(s) 133, 135 and 139 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenthal et al. (US 2020/390427) in view of Alas et al. (US 2020/0116327) as applied to claim 131 above, and further in view of Fuller et al. (US 2009/0162438).
Regarding claim 133, the combination of Eisenthal and Alas teaches the medicament of claim 118 first composition comprising a thermosensitive polymer is dissolved within a buffer (¶[0064], where the buffer can activate and dissolve the compound from Eisenthal, ¶[0148], thermosensitive polymer from Alas).
Eisenthal and Alas do not specifically teach a thermosensitive polymer comprises about 30% w/w of the composition.
Fuller teaches a method and device for joining two non-conjoined lumens. Fuller teaches a polymer comprises about 30% w/w of the composition (¶[0121]-[0122]). Modifying the composition of Eisenthal to have a specific w/w for the polymer is a simple change that does not break or change the function of Eisenthal. The invention of Eisenthal has a stimuli-responsive polymer and specifying a weight in water does not change that. The composition percentage is a known value for specific polymers and would be known by one skilled in the art that choosing a specific polymer or having a list of polymers to choose from would be obvious to one of ordinary skill. The thermosensitive nature of said polymer is taught by Alas as stated in claim 131 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eisenthal to include the polymer comprising about 30% w/w of the composition (¶[0121]-[0122] from Fuller).
Regarding claim 135, the combination of Eisenthal and Alas teaches the medicament of claim 1, wherein:
the first composition:
exhibits a gel state and does not transform in-situ (¶[0064], where the composition is a gel); and/or,
is biodegradable (¶[0065]);
the medicament:
is contained within a syringe (85),
is suitable for administration to a human being (¶[0061]);
occludes a tract in the tissue for greater than four hours (¶[0098]); and,
can form a shape in a tissue, the shape being selected from the group consisting of a substantially circular cylinder (¶[0072]);
the target site is selected from the group consisting of cancerous tissue (¶[0068]) and a lesion (¶[0090]),
Eisenthal and Alas do not specifically teach comprises a transition temperature between 5°C and 40°C, optionally between about 5°C and 15°C; comprises 5% to 40% by weight, optionally 20% to 35%, further optionally about 30%, by weight of said thermosensitive polymer; comprises about 70% by weight of phosphate buffered saline; and, comprises an optionally purified thermosensitive polymer, further optionally selected from the group consisting of poloxamine 1107, poloxamine 1307, poloxamer 338 and poloxamer 407.
Fuller teaches a method and device for joining two non-conjoined lumens. Fuller teaches a transition temperature between 5°C and 40°C (¶[0101], where the transition temperature is between 33 and 38 degrees Celsius); comprises 5% to 40% by weight (¶[0121]-[0122]), by weight of said thermosensitive polymer; comprises about 70% by weight of phosphate buffered saline (¶[0124]); and, comprises an optionally purified thermosensitive polymer, further optionally selected from the group consisting of poloxamine 1107, poloxamine 1307, poloxamer 338 and poloxamer 407 (¶[0106], where the poloxamer can be 338 or 407). Modifying the device of Eisenthal to include specific transition temperatures and compositions would be a simple substitution as the polymer of Fuller is or can include a stimuli-responsive polymer among other optional sealants (¶[0064] from Eisenthal). This combination is specifying a type of polymer with specific properties and would not change the device of Eisenthal in doing so but improves the specificity of the device while still giving options such as poloxamer 338 and poloxamer 407 from Fuller. This addition would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as using polymers with specific properties is well-known and as stated above, would not change the function of Eisenthal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eisenthal to include a polymer with a transition temperature between 5°C and 40°C (¶[0101], where the transition temperature is between 33 and 38 degrees Celsius from Fuller), comprises 5% to 40% by weight (¶[0121]-[0122]), by weight of said thermosensitive polymer; comprises about 70% by weight of phosphate buffered saline (¶[0124]), and purified thermosensitive polymer, further optionally selected from the group consisting of poloxamer 338 or poloxamer 407 (¶[0106], where the poloxamer can be 338 or 407).
Eisenthal and Fuller do not specifically teach comprises at least 0.05% w/w of a dye, optionally wherein the dye comprises FD&C Blue.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing or specifying the composition includes at least 0.05% w/w of a dye would result in a difference in function of the Eisenthal or Fuller device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the composition of Eisenthal modified by Fuller, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed composition percentage. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the composition “optionally comprises” have some dye but is not necessarily required (¶[000121] from specification) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Additionally, the dye being blue is similarly a design choice as the device does not require or need a blue dye to function properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of the combined device of Eisenthal and Fuller include 0.05% w/w of a dye and the dye be optionally blue.
Regarding claim 139, the combination of Eisenthal, Alas and Fuller teaches the medicament of claim 135, Eisenthal further teaches wherein the delivery device comprises: Eisenthal further teaches a first member, wherein the first member comprises a cannula (Fig. 6A, 19) and a hub (Fig. 6A, 97), wherein the hub comprises a hub distal end (Fig. 6A, 97B), a hub proximal end (Fig. 6A, 95), and ridges (Fig. 6A, 97A), wherein the cannula is connected to the hub distal end (Fig. 6A, where 19 is connected to 97); and, a second member (Fig. 6A, 82), wherein the second member comprises a cannula (Fig. 6A, 82A), hub (Fig. 6A, 81), port (Fig. 6A, 80A) and sharp closed distal tip configured to pierce through tissue (Fig. 6A, 84); and, a syringe coupled to the hub of the second member, wherein the syringe comprises the first composition (Fig. 6A, 85, where 85 contains the composition).
Conclusion
/HADEN MATTHEW RITCHIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783