CTNF 18/290,066 CTNF 101808 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-27 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0010180, filed on 01/24/2022 and Application No. KR10-2022-0183559 , filed on 12/23/2022 . Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/09/2023, 12/06/2024 and 05/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings received on 11/09/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention should not include “improved” (MPEP 606). A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: BATTERY MODULE WITH IMPACT RESISTANCE AND SAFETY AND BATTERY PACK INCLUDING THE SAME . 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph [5], line 5, “second” should be “secondary” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 4 recites the limitation " the wires " in line 3 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (KR-20210086089-A; hereinafter “Ahn”; hereinafter US 2021/0203028 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent); in view of Yoon et al (US 20140045006 A1; hereinafter “Yoon”) . Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses a battery module (battery pack; [0008]) comprising: a first case (frame; [0059]) having a receiving space; a plurality of battery cells received in the receiving space (the group of battery cells 10 inserted into the first holder 150 and the second holder 140 may be surrounded by a frame 130 provided along the peripheries of the battery cells 10; [0059]) in an upright state (a vertical direction Z1 may refer to the length direction of the battery cells 10; [0055]) such that a positive electrode terminal of each of the plurality of battery cells faces upwards (first and second terminals 11 and 12 having different polarities may be provided on the upper end 10a of each of the battery cells 10; [0055]) ; one or more busbars located in the vicinity of the positive electrode terminals of the plurality of battery cells (the first and second bus bars 161 and 162 inserted into each other in a comb shape may extend along rows of battery cells 10 at opposite sides of the rows of the battery cells 10 and may respectively be wire bonded to the first and second terminals 11 and 12 of the battery cells 10; [0097]) ; a wire configured to electrically connect each of the plurality of battery cells and one or more busbars to each other (the bonding wires 20 may be provided as a medium for electrical connection between the first and second terminals 11 and 12 of the battery cells 10 and first and second bus bars 161 and 162; [0057]) ; a rib structure located above the plurality of battery cells (the first holder 150 may be fitted to upper portions of the battery cells 10; [0059]) ; a rib structure being provided with an opening configured to allow the wire to extend therethrough (bonding wires may be respectively connected to first and second terminals of the plurality of battery cells through first and second terminal holes of the holder; [0026]) and configured to protect the wire (such that the battery cells 10 may be firmly fixed without movement such as vibration or rotation, and the bonding wires 20 may not be damaged by movement of the battery cells 10; [0057]); and a resin layer provided above the plurality of battery cells (the filling resin may cover the bonding wires together with the first and second terminals of the plurality of battery cells; [0027]) . The examiner notes that Ahn discloses a battery pack, however Ahn also discloses that a battery pack includes: a plurality of battery cells; and a holder including cell regions in which the plurality of battery cells are arranged, and well regions each arranged between adjacent cell regions of the cell regions [0008]. Therefore, the disclosed battery pack reads on the description of the claimed battery module. Ahn fails to disclose the rib structure being provided with an upwardly protruding rib. Yoon teaches a first insulating rib may be protruded in a first direction with respect to the base plate, and the second insulating rib may be protruded in a second direction that is a direction opposite to the first direction [0011]. Ahn and Yoon are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Yoon with the disclosure of Ahn, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would result in the battery cells and the top cover being spaced apart from each other [Abstract], as suggested by Yoon. Regarding claim 2, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn further discloses a second case provided on the resin layer (the first holder 150 and the second holder 140 may be surrounded by a frame 130 provided along the peripheries of the battery cells 10 and may be accommodated between an upper cover (not shown) and the cooling plate 110 provided at a lower side of the battery pack; [0059]). Ahn fails to disclose the second case being fixed to the first case. Yoon teaches a housing that may include a bottom cover fastened to the top cover so as to accommodate the battery cells [0024]. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Yoon with the disclosure of Ahn, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would result in covering the recess that receives the plurality of battery cells [0033], as suggested by Yoon. Regarding claim 3, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn further discloses that an upper surface of the resin layer is flat (the filling resin 180 may include: a plate portion 181 formed in a flat plate shape on the first holder 150; and protrusions 182 protruding downward from the plate portion 181; [0093]). Therefore, the flat plate shape is on the upper surface, while the protrusions go downward. Regarding claim 4, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn further discloses that the resin layer directly contacts upper surfaces of the plurality of battery cells the one or more busbars, the wires, (the filling resin 180 covers connection members which connect terminals of the battery cells 10 such that the connection members may be insulated and protected from the outside; [0098]), and the rib structure (the filling resin 180 is injected into the first holder 150; [0095]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (KR-20210086089-A; hereinafter “Ahn”; hereinafter US 2021/0203028 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent); in view of in view of Yoon et al (US 20140045006 A1; hereinafter “Yoon”), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in further view of Motokaya et al. (US 2019/0273243 A1; hereinafter “Motokaya”) . Regarding claim 5, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn further discloses the first and second terminals of the battery cells may be connected to the first and second bus bars through the bonding wires [0070], wherein the wires sit on top of the bus bars. Motokaya teaches a battery module wherein the wires (lead) can be attached under the busbar (see modified figure 4). Therefore, wires can be attached on top or under the bus bar, and the height of the rib would be at least equal or greater than a height of the wire after bonding. PNG media_image1.png 336 377 media_image1.png Greyscale Ahn and Motokaya are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to routinely switch the placement of the wires disclosed by Ahn and place the wires under the bus bar, therefore, the height of the rib would be at least equal or greater than a height of the wire after bonding. Doing so would result in the module maintaining and protecting electrical connection of lead (wire) to a positive electrode terminal of the cylindrical cell [0047], as suggested by Motokaya . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (KR-20210086089-A; hereinafter “Ahn”; hereinafter US 2021/0203028 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent); in view of in view of Yoon et al (US 20140045006 A1; hereinafter “Yoon”) and Motokaya et al. (US 2019/0273243 A1; hereinafter “Motokaya”), as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Kwag et al. (US 20210074965 A1; hereinafter “Kwag”) . Regarding claim 6, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn fails to disclose that a height of the resin layer is equal to or greater than the height of the rib. Kwag teaches that the height H15 between the first and second holder plates 110 and 120 may refer to a height obtained by adding the thicknesses t of the first and second holder plates 110 and 120 to the height HG of the accommodation space G1 formed between the first and second holder plates 110 and 120 [0072]. Further, the height HF of the potting resin F may be greater than the height H15 between the first and second holder plates 110 and 120 on which the potting resin F is formed, but may be less than the height H10 of the case 100 functioning as a dam for the potting resin F, that is, the heights HF, H15, and H10 may satisfy the condition, H15<HF<H10 [0073]. Therefore, the height of the resin (HF) is greater than the height H15 that includes the sum of the thicknesses of the first and second plate (t 1 and t 2 ) and the height of the space G1 between both plates. Also, H15 = t 1 +t 2 +HG and HF is greater than H15 (HF>H15), therefore, HF>t 1 . Ahn and Kwag are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the height of the resin layer be equal to or greater than the height of the rib. Doing so would result in securely sealing the accommodation space of the cooling fluid formed between the first and second holder plates [0071], as suggested by Kwag . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (KR-20210086089-A; hereinafter “Ahn”; hereinafter US 2021/0203028 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent); in view of in view of Yoon et al (US 20140045006 A1; hereinafter “Yoon”), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in further view of Lim et al. (US 20200058974 A1; hereinafter “Lim”) . Regarding claim 7, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn fails to disclose the battery module according to claim 2, further comprising a pad located between the resin layer and the second case. Lim teaches a battery module that may include: a cell assembly having a plurality of battery cells stacked on top of each other in one direction; a cooling channel integrated plate positioned to face the cell assembly in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the battery cells are stacked, the cooling channel integrated plate having a cooling passage formed therein and through which cooling water may flow; and a thermally conductive adhesive layer allowing the cell assembly and the cooling channel integrated plate to adhere to each other [0008]. Wherein the thermally conductive adhesive layer may be considered the resin, the top cover as taught by Yoon being on top. Ahn and Lim are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries modules. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Lim in the battery module disclosed. Doing so would result in a significant improvement of the cooling efficiency [0012], as suggested by Lim. Regarding claim 8, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn fails to disclose the battery module according to claim 7, wherein the pad is made of a thermally conductive material. Lim teaches that the cooling channel integrated plate 13 may be formed from a metal material (e.g., aluminum and the like) that facilitates heat transfer to improve cooling performance [0029]. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Lim in the disclosure of Ahn. Doing so would result in a significant improvement of the cooling efficiency [0012], as suggested by Lim. Regarding claim 10, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn fails to disclose the battery module according to claim 7, wherein an upper surface of the resin layer and a lower surface of the pad directly contact each other. Lim teaches that the thermally conductive adhesive layer 17 may have one surface thereof (e.g., a first surface) in direct contact with the battery cell 21 and the other surface (e.g., a second surface) in direct contact with the cooling channel integrated plate 13 [0032]. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the resin layer in contact with the pad. Doing so would result in allowing the cell assembly and the cooling channel integrated plate to adhere to each other [0008], as suggested by Lim . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (KR-20210086089-A; hereinafter “Ahn”; hereinafter US 2021/0203028 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent); in view of in view of Yoon et al (US 20140045006 A1; hereinafter “Yoon”) and Lim et al. (US 20200058974 A1; hereinafter “Lim”), as applied to claim 7 above, in further view of and Chen et al. (US 2020/0203684; hereinafter “Chen”) . Regarding claim 9, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn fails to disclose the battery module according to claim 7, wherein the pad is made of an elastic and compressible material. Chen teaches, directed to a battery module a cushion pad 2 usually made of an elastic compressible material [0063]. Ahn and Chen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the pad be made of an elastic and compressible material. Doing so would result in ensuring that each battery has sufficient expansion space to prevent lithium precipitation and capacity diving in the case [0063], as suggested by Chen . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (KR-20210086089-A; hereinafter “Ahn”; hereinafter US 2021/0203028 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent); in view of in view of Yoon et al (US 20140045006 A1; hereinafter “Yoon”) and Lim et al. (US 20200058974 A1; hereinafter “Lim”), as applied to claims 7 and 10 above, and in further view of Lee et al. (KR 20200036640A; hereinafter “Lee”; hereinafter US 20210050635 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent) . Regarding claim 11, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn fails to disclose the battery module according to claim 10, wherein an upper surface of the resin layer and a lower surface of the pad directly contact each other. Lee teaches, directed to a battery module, a second heat insulating member (pad) 180 covers the upper side of the plurality of cylindrical cells 110 and may be disposed at the inner side of the top cover 130 (second case) [0051]. Wherein the top cover 130 is coupled to the bottom cover 120 and may cover the top portions of the plurality of cylindrical cells 110 [0040]. Ahn and Lee are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have an upper surface of the resin layer and a lower surface of the pad directly contact each other. Doing so would result in the coverage of top portions of the plurality of cells [0012], as suggested by Lee. Regarding claims 12-14, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn fails to disclose the battery module according to claim 11, wherein the pad is provided with a plurality of space portions, the space portions being formed through the pad [claim 12]. Ahn further fails to disclose the battery module according to claim 12, wherein each of the space portions is located on a vertical extension line of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery cells [claim 13], and the battery module according to claim 13, wherein the space portions are formed in the same number as the plurality of battery cells [claim 14]. Lee teaches, directed to a battery module, a second heat insulating member (pad) that covers the upper side of the plurality of cylindrical cells, with space portions being formed through the pad (see figure 6.1). PNG media_image2.png 283 233 media_image2.png Greyscale Lee further teaches, directed to a battery module, that each of the space portions is located on a vertical extension line of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery cells (see figure 6.2) and that are formed in the same number as the plurality of battery cells (see figure 6.3). PNG media_image3.png 245 197 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 258 218 media_image4.png Greyscale Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have include the teachings of Lee in the disclosure of Ahn to meet the limitations of the claimed pad. Doing so would result in preventing flame spread and propagation of the flame toward the bus bar member, when at least one cell among the plurality of cylindrical cells is ignited [0051], as suggested by Lee . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (KR-20210086089-A; hereinafter “Ahn”; hereinafter US 2021/0203028 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent); in view of in view of Yoon et al (US 20140045006 A1; hereinafter “Yoon”), as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Lee et al. (KR 20200036640A; hereinafter “Lee”; hereinafter US 20210050635 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent) . Regarding claim 15, Ahn discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ahn fails to disclose a battery pack comprising the battery module according to claim 1. Lee teaches a battery pack that may include at least one battery module [0072]. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the modified disclosed battery module in a battery pack. Doing so would result in a battery pack having all the advantages of the battery module [0075], as suggested by Lee . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Park et al. (US 20120115014 A1) discloses a battery module with a support plate that includes a pressing protrusion surrounding the bus-bar. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA N LIZARAZU whose telephone number is (571)272-9697. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 7:30am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicole Buie-Hatcher can be reached at 5712703879. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1725 /NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 2 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 3 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 4 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 5 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 6 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 7 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 8 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 9 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 10 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 11 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 12 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/290,066 Page 13 Art Unit: 1725