DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 15-22 and 28) in the reply filed on 5-20-26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Molins does not form elevations in or on the lining paper itself. This is not found persuasive because the elected claims do not require forming elevations in or on the paper itself. Also, in Molins the filter plug 2, filter plug 3, and filtering mixture 4 are held together within cylindrical paper wrapping 1 thereabout. Claims 23-25 and 26-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
●a first machine for printing in claim 28
●a second machine for hot stamping in claim 28
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Molins (US 3,595,137).
Claims 15-20: Molins teaches a mouthpiece lining paper comprising: the filter tip of Molins is for use with cigarettes wherein the filter tip is between a user’s lips and a tobacco portion of the cigarette. Thus, one of the two ends of the filter tip, in Figure 1, is a mouth piece. In Figure 1, items 2 and 3 are filter plugs and item 4 represents a filtering mixture comprising thermally expandable particles within a compartment. The filter plug 2, filter plug 3, and filtering mixture 4 (with the thermally expandable particles) are held together within a cylindrical paper wrapping 1 thereabout. The mouthpiece lining paper, upon heating, is configured to provide at least one elevation in that the thermally expandable particles expand to take up excess space in the compartment (are elevated) (Abstract; col1 Lns34-42; col2 Lns42-48; col3 Lns16-20; claim 8). Other locations within reference may be included in the above recited locations (paragraphs, drawing, abstract, claims) to demonstrate further the features in the reference as claimed in the instant claims.
Also, for claim 18: the mouthpiece lining paper includes a layer of print wherein the thermally expandable particles are present in the printing layer also – in that the filter plug 2, filter plug 3, and filtering mixture 4 (with the thermally expandable particles) are held together within cylindrical paper wrapping 1 (having the printing layer) hereabout (col1 Ln66 to col2 Ln10).
Also, for claim 19: the printing layer is only present in limited areas on the mouthpiece lining paper in that such includes images smaller than the paper wrapper such as brand names (col1 Ln66 to col2 Ln10). The mouthpiece lining paper has at least one surface area in which the thermally expandable particles are present (surface area covering the compartment) and at least one further surface area in which there are no thermally expandable particles (surface area not covering the compartment (Fig1).
Also for claim 20: the at least one surface area in which there are thermally expandable particles is optically identical to the at least one further surface area in which there are no thermally expandable particles (the paper wrapping 1 is identical all about the wrapping) (“after exposure to heat the at least one surface area and the at least one further surface area become distinguishable due to expanded particles formed from the thermally expandable particles” refers to an intended use of the claimed mouthpiece lining paper and is not considered to provide a structural limitation to the claimed structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molins as applied to claim(s) 15-20 above, and further in view of Anthony (GB 2148690 A).
Claim 21, Molins does not teach that the composition of the print is ink.
However, printing ink on a cigarette wrapper to make an image (such as a brand) is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Anthony’690. Anthony teaches that marking cigarette paper wrappings with printing ink is well established for printing brands thereon (col1 Lns9-17).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have provided in Molins that the composition of the print (for the brand) is ink given that such is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Anthony’690 – where it obvious to replace one print composition (that of Molins – powder (col1 Ln66 to c2 Ln10)) with another art recognized alternative print composition (that of Anthony’690 i.e. ink) where successful and useful results have been illustrated.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molins as applied to claim(s) 15-20 above, and further in view of Cai (CN 1888308 A).
Claim 22, Molins does not teach a foil element with the paper wrapping 1.
However, Cai teaches using a combination of foil and paper wrapping, for a cigarette. The combination has good gas barrier property and good water vapor barrier property.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have provided in Molins a foil element with the paper wrapping 1 in that Cai teaches using a combination of foil and paper wrapping, for a cigarette, because combination has good gas barrier property and good water vapor barrier property.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molins in view of Anthony (FI 82591 B).
Claim 28: the above discussion of Molins applies herein. Molins teaches a method and apparatus for producing the mouthpiece lining paper according to claim 15. There is provided a first machine for printing the mouthpiece lining paper. A second machine is for tube formation. A band is transportable through the apparatus with the band being composed in a transverse direction (that being the machine direction) of a plurality of mouthpiece lining papers, the plurality of mouthpiece lining papers including the mouthpiece lining paper, each of the plurality of mouthpiece lining papers being for one aerosol-generating consumer article (col1 Ln66 to col2 Ln61).
Claim 28: Molins does not teach a machine for hot stamping the paper wrapper 1.
Anthony’591 teaches making a paper wrapper for a cigarette which comprises a printer (pg1 paras1-3) and a hot presser to simulate pores of natural cork (pg2 para4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have provided in Molins a machine for hot stamping the paper wrapper 1 in that Anthony’591 teaches that such allows one to simulate pores of natural cork, if so desired.
Claim 28: with respect to the claimed first and second machines, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches structures for the first and second machines to perform the claimed function. Molins teaches structures for the first and second machines to perform the same claimed functions. Molins is thus considered to meet these limitations of the claim.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sinclair teaches a cigarette filter having a swellable means.
Conclusion
/LINDA L GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745