DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/09/2023, 08/30/2024, 12/20/2024, and 01/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the position and configuration of the electrode leads recited in claims 1 and 5 should be clearly illustrated with high resolution. Additionally, the limitation of claim 5, specifically the first and second sides of the central axis and the leading position should be clearly illustrated with high resolution. The drawings currently do not clearly show whether the first and second sides of the central axis correspond to opposite ends or opposite lateral sides of the battery cell assembly. If these claimed relationships are not intended, the unsupported feature(s) should be canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the two of more longitudinal unit cells” in line 3 appears to be improper and should be corrected to “the two or more longitudinal unit cells.”
Dependent claims 2-15 are similarly objected to for encompassing the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “second side of the central axis” in line 9 without having an article is not proper. It is suggested to add an article at the beginning and write it as “a second side of the central axis”.
Dependent claims 6-8, and 13-14 are similarly objected to for encompassing the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “a plurality of first sensing pins and a plurality of second sensing pins” should read “a plurality of the first sensing pins and a plurality of the second sensing pins” to clarify reference back to ‘the first sensing pin’ and ‘the second sensing pin’ as introduced in claim 7 upon which 14 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the battery cell” in line 4 without proper antecedent basis. While claim 1 recites “two or more battery cells” in line 3, it is unclear whether “the battery cell” refers to each of the two or more battery cells or to a single battery cell. Therefore, the scope of the claim is unclear and the claim is indefinite.
For purposes of examination, “the battery cell” is interpreted as referring to each of the “two or more battery cells.”
Claims 2-15 are similarly rejected for depending upon claim 1.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the plurality of sensing pins” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim 13 because claim 13 does not recite “a plurality of sensing pins” prior to the recitation in line 5 (“a plurality of the sensing pins” is suggested, consistent the recitations in claims 11 and 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20180048033 A1) and further in view of Shin et al. (US 20200058918 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a battery module ([0069], Fig. 2, battery module 120) comprising:
a battery cell assembly including two or more longitudinal unit cells ([0069], Fig. 2, cartridges 10 of cartridge stack 10A),
each of the two of more longitudinal unit cells including two or more battery cells arranged in a row in a longitudinal directions ([0068, 0071], Fig. 2, battery cells 30 arranged in a row extending in a longitudinal direction within cartridge 10),
wherein the battery cell includes a pair of electrode leads at both ends in the longitudinal direction ([0072, 0074], Fig. 2, electrode leads 25b and 25c at opposite ends of battery cells 30),
and each of the two or more longitudinal unit cells are stacked in two or more columns in a thickness direction of the battery cell ([0069, 0070], Fig. 2, cartridges 10 sequentially stacked in cartridge stack 10A along a thickness direction);
a sensing line ([0113-0115], Fig. 2, through the combination of the first wire portion 49 and the second wire portion 69) electrically connected to each of the electrode leads ([0113-0115], Figs. 2, 6, 8);
Further Regarding this limitation, Lee discloses that the first middle sensing structure 50 includes a first wire portion 49 connected to the first connection clip 44 through a first leading wire, and that the second middle sensing structure 70 includes a second wire portion 69 connected to the second connection clip 64 through a second leading wire ([0113-0115], Figs. 2, 6, 8). Lee further teaches that the first wire portion 49 and the second wire portion 69 extend along respective side walls of the cartridge stack 10A ([0116]). Additionally, Lee teaches that the first and second connection clips 44 and 64 contact respective electrode leads 25 of the battery cells ([0112]). Accordingly, the combined first wire portion 49 and second wire portion 69 constitute a sensing line electrically connected to the electrode leads of the battery cells.
a module case accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0069, 0082], Fig. 1, side plates 100 and 110, lower end plate 95A, an upper end plate 95B, first and second end sensing structures 97 and 99 form a module case)
Lee does not explicitly teach a limitation wherein an end portion of the sensing line includes a sensing pin protruding from the module case.
Lee teaches that the first and second end sensing structures 97 and 99 include a voltage sensing module 84 having connector portion 84A electrically connected to sensing bus bars 84C and 84D, where the sensing bus bars are electrically connected to the electrode leads and associated sensing structures including wire portions 49 and 69 ([0081, 0121-0122], Fig. 10). Lee additionally teaches that connector portion 84A is externally exposed through insulating cover 88 via window W1 ([0122], Fig. 10), thereby teaching an end portion of the sensing line protruding through the insulating cover 88.
However, Shin more explicitly teaches this limitation. Specifically, Shen teaches a sensing terminal module 300 including protruding portions 113 extending outwardly through a through-hole 230 formed in a sensing cover 200 ([0051, 0074-0076], Figs. 4-5). Shen further teaches that the protruding part 113 passes through the through-hole 230 and protrudes from the sensing cover 200 to electrically couple with a sensing terminal ([0075-0076]). Shen therefore teaches a sensing-related protruding pin/member extending outwardly from the module case/ sensing cover through an opening. Shin further teaches that the protruding parts 113 extend through the through-hole 230 to reach and couple with a sensing terminal, thereby improving stability of electrical connection between the electrode lead and the sensing terminal ([0020, 0067]).
Further, Lee, and Shin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of sensing member in battery module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee to include the protruding sensing pin extended through the through-hole to reach and couple with a sensing terminal, taught by Shin, thereby improving stability of electrical connection between the electrode lead and the sensing terminal in the module case ([0020, 0067]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Modified Lee further teaches a limitation wherein the module case includes an opening aligned with the sensing pin, so that the sensing pin protrudes through the opening.
Lee teaches a window W1 through which a portion of the sensing line protrudes ([0081, 0121-0122], Fig. 10). Shin more explicitly teaches a through-hole 230 formed in sensing cover 200 and aligned with protruding parts 113, such that the protruding parts 113 pass through the through-hole 230 and protrude outwardly from the sensing cover 200 ([0075-0076], Fig. 5). Shin further teaches that the protruding parts 113 extend through the through-hole 230 to reach and couple with a sensing terminal, thereby improving stability of electrical connection between the electrode lead and the sensing terminal ([0067,0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the aligned opening/through-hole arrangement taught by Shin so that the sensing pin/protruding sensing member extends through an opening in the module case for improving stability of electrical connection between the electrode lead and the sensing terminal ([0067,0020]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Lee further teaches a limitation wherein the sensing line is electrically connected to each of the electrode leads of each of the battery cells through at least one of a bus bar and a sensing member, wherein the bus bar is coupled to the electrode leads and wherein the sensing member is coupled to the bus bar ([0069, 0081, 0113-0115, 0127- 0128], Figs. 2, 6, 8, 10, 12).
Specifically, Lee discloses first wire portion 49 and second wire portion 69 as portions of the sensing line electrically connected to the electrode leads through first and second connection clips 44 and 64, respectively ([0113-0115], Figs. 2, 6, 8). Lee further discloses voltage sensing module 84 including first and second sensing bus bars 84C and 84D electrically connected to electrode leads 25b and 25c of battery cells 30 ([0081], Fig. 10).
Lee additionally teaches that first sensing bus bar 84C and second sensing bus bar 84D are connected to electrode leads 25b1 and 25b2 through lead drawing slits H ([0127-0128], Fig. 12), thereby teaching a bus bar electrically coupled to the electrode leads of the battery cells.
Further, Lee teaches that second sensing bus bar 84D includes connection tap 84D1 contacting lower and upper electrode leads 25b1 and 25b2 and access tap 84D2 extending to printed circuit board 83 ([0129], Fig. 12). Lee also teaches that printed circuit board 83 of the first and second end sensing structures 97 and 99 is electrically connected to first wire portion 49 and second wire portion 69, respectively ([0121-0122]). Accordingly, Lee teaches a sensing member coupled to the bus bar and electrically associated with the sensing line.
Therefore, first wire portion 49 and second wire portion 69 correspond to the claimed sensing line; first and second sensing bus bars 84C and 84D correspond to the claimed bus bar; electrode leads 25b and 25c correspond to the claimed electrode leads of the battery cells; and printed circuit board 83 together with connection tap 84D1 and access tap 84D2 correspond to the claimed sensing member coupled to the bus bar.
Regarding claim 4, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 3, as stated above. Lee further teaches a limitation wherein the bus bar includes at least one of a terminal bus bar and an inter-bus bar, wherein the terminal bus bar is connected to an external terminal, and wherein the inter-bus bar is coupled to the electrode leads so as to electrically connect the battery cells ([0126, 136], Figs. 12, 14; terminal bus bar 81 corresponds to the claimed terminal bus bar, and first and second sensing bus bars 84C and 84D correspond to the claimed inter-bus bar).
Specifically, Lee disclosed terminal bus bar 81 is combined to electrode terminal 87 through insulating cover 88 and second window W2, wherein electrode terminal 87 corresponds to the claimed external terminal ([0136], Fig. 14), thereby teaching the limitation “wherein the terminal bus bar is connected to an external terminal”. Lee further disclosed that the sensing bus bars 84C and 84D are electrically connected and laser welded to electrode leads 25b1 and 25b2 corresponding to electrically connecting the battery cells ([0127-0128], Fig. 12), thereby teaching the limitation “wherein the inter-bus bar is coupled to the electrode leads so as to electrically connect the battery cells”.
Regarding claim 9, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 3, as stated above. Lee further teaches a limitation wherein an inter-bus bar is installed at a front end and a rear end of the longitudinal unit cells ([0081, 0127-0129], Figs. 10, 11), the inter-bus bar being coupled to the electrode leads protruding from the battery cells at the front end and the rear end of the longitudinal unit cells, wherein the sensing line is coupled to the inter-bus bar (Fig. 2), and wherein the sensing pin protrudes through at least one of a front end plate and a rear end plate of the module case ([0081, 0122], Fig. 10).
Specifically, Lee teaches first and second sensing bus bars 84C and 84D disposed at respective end portions of the battery module arrangement and electrically connected to electrode leads 25b and 25c of battery cells 30 ([0081, 0127-0129], Figs. 10, 11). Lee further teaches that connector portion 84A of voltage sensing module 84 is electrically connected to sensing bus bars 84C and 84D and externally exposed through insulating cover 88 via window W1 ( [0081, 0122], Fig. 10). Lee additionally teaches sensing structures including wire portions 49 and 69 electrically connected to the voltage sensing module 84 and associated with the first and second end sensing structures 97 and 99 (Fig. 2). Accordingly, wire portions 49 and 69 correspond to the claimed sensing line, while connector portion 84A corresponds to the claimed sensing pin protruded through the module structure.
Lee, does not explicitly teach the sensing pin protrudes through at least one of a front end plate and a rear end plate of the module case.
However, Shin more explicitly teaches this limitation. Specifically, Shin teaches protruding parts 113 extending outwardly from electrode leads 111 and passing through through-holes 230 formed in sensing cover 200 such that the protruding parts protrude externally from one end of the battery module structure ([0076], Fig. 5). Shin further teaches that the protruding parts 113 are configured to be fit-coupled to sensing terminals for improved coupling stability ([0067]-[0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the protruding sensing pin arrangement taught by Shin such that connector portion 84A and associated sensing lines 49 and 69 of Lee protrude through at least one of an end-plate portion of the module case in order to improve coupling stability of electrical connection between an electrode lead and a sensing terminal ([0020, 0067-0068]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Modified Lee further teaches a battery pack comprising: a battery module stack including a plurality of battery modules of claim 1 stacked in the thickness direction; and a sensing block extending in the thickness direction and coupled to each of a plurality of the sensing pins protruding from the plurality of battery modules.
Specifically, Lee teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery modules arranged in a stacked configuration in the thickness direction (Fig. 2). Lee further teaches voltage sensing module 84 including sensing structures electrically connected to battery-cell electrode leads through sensing bus bars 84C and 84D and associated wire portions 49 and 69, wherein the voltage sensing module extends in the thickness direction and corresponds to the claimed sensing block ([0081, 0121-0122], Fig. 10).
Lee does not teach a plurality of sensing pins protruding from the plurality of battery modules and coupled to the sensing block in the claimed manner.
However, Shin teaches this limitation. Specifically, Shin teaches protruding parts 113 extending from electrode leads 111 of the battery modules ([0064, 0067, 0068], Figs. 5-6). Shin further teaches sensing terminal module 300 supported on sensing cover 200 including module seating part 250, wherein the sensing terminal module is coupled to the plurality of protruding parts 113 extending from the stacked battery modules ([0079], Fig. 5). Shin therefore teaches a sensing block extending in the thickness direction and coupled to a plurality of sensing pins protruding from a plurality of battery modules. Shin further teaches that this structure improves stability of electrical connection of the electrode lead and the sensing terminal ([0031, 0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shin to include the plurality of protruding sensing-pin structures taught by Shin in order to improve stability of electrical connection between the electrode leads and the sensing terminal ([0031, 0035]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 11, as stated above. Modified Lee further teaches a limitation wherein a plurality of coupling grooves is configured to receive each of the plurality of sensing pins, the plurality of coupling grooves being recessed in a coupling surface of the sensing block facing the plurality of sensing pins.
Lee further teaches the sensing block structure corresponding to voltage sensing module 84 coupled to sensing structures of the battery modules (Fig. 10, voltage sensing module 84 coupled to insulating cover 88).
Lee, does not teach a plurality of coupling grooves configured to receive each of the plurality of sensing pins, the plurality of coupling grooves being recessed in a coupling surface of the sensing block facing the plurality of sensing pins.
However, Shin explicitly teaches this limitation. Specifically, Shin teaches sensing cover 200 including a plurality of through-holes 230 configured to receive corresponding protruding parts 113 ([0031, 0078], Fig. 5). Shin further teaches that each protruding part 113 is inserted into a corresponding one of the through-holes 230 during coupling of sensing terminal module 300 and sensing cover 200 ( [0031, 0078]). The through-holes 230 are recessed in the coupling surface of the sensing structure facing the protruding parts 113 and therefore correspond to the claimed plurality of coupling grooves configured to receive sensing pins. Shin further teaches this configuration improves stability of electrical connection between an electrode lead and a sensing terminal ([0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shin to include recessed receiving structures for corresponding protruding sensing-pin structures in order to improve stability of electrical connection between an electrode lead and a sensing terminal ([0020]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 9, as stated above. Modified Lee further teaches a battery pack comprising: a battery module stack including a plurality of the battery modules of claim 9 stacked in the thickness direction; and a side sensing block extending in the thickness direction and coupled to a plurality of the sensing pins protruding through the front end plate or the rear end plate of the module case.
Specifically, Lee teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery modules arranged in a stacked configuration in the thickness direction (Fig. 2). Lee further teaches two voltage sensing module 84 at two ends of the battery pack including sensing structures electrically connected to battery-cell electrode leads through sensing bus bars 84C and 84D and associated wire portions 49 and 69, wherein the voltage sensing module extends in the thickness direction and corresponds to the claimed side sensing block ([0081, 0121-0122], Fig. 10).
Lee does not teach a plurality of the sensing pins protruding through the front end plate or the rear end plate of the module case coupled to the side sensing block in the claimed manner.
However, Shin teaches this limitation. Specifically, Shin teaches a plurality of protruding parts 113 protruding through sensing cover 200 at one end of battery pack ([0064, 0067, 0068], Figs. 5-6). Shin further teaches sensing terminal module 300 supported on sensing cover 200 including module seating part 250, wherein the sensing terminal module is coupled to the plurality of protruding parts 113 ([0079], Fig. 5). Shin therefore teaches a sensing block extending in the thickness direction and coupled to a plurality of sensing pins protruding through sensing cover 200. Shin further teaches that this structure improves stability of electrical connection of the electrode lead and the sensing terminal ([0031, 0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shin to couple the side sensing block structures to a plurality of the sensing pins protruding through one end of module case as taught by Shin in order to improve stability of electrical connection between the electrode leads and the sensing terminal ([0031, 0035]).
Claims 5-7, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as modified by Shin, as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20200287179 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Lee further teaches (i) the firs limitation wherein number of columns of longitudinal unit cells are disposed on each of opposing sides of a central axis of the battery cell assembly is the same, the central axis extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the battery cell assembly.
Specifically, Lee teaches one column of battery cells in Fig. 2, and further teaches the number of battery cells of the battery module may be increased in order to increase the capacity or output voltage of the battery module ([0005]). Therefore, merely duplicating parts by providing additional columns of longitudinal unit cells instead of one, as shown in Lee, would not result in a patentably distinct structure and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to increase energy density. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); see also MPEP § 2144.04.
In addition, Wang explicitly teaches this arrangement. Specifically, Wang discloses a multi-column battery cell arrangement including first and second battery cell array structures 101 and 102 disposed adjacent one another in a single-layer multi-column manner ([0111], Fig. 8) as a modification suggested in Lee to increase the capacity of the battery module ([0005] of Lee). Wang further teaches structural members disposed between adjacent battery cell array structures, thereby defining opposing sides relative to a central region/axis extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the battery cell assembly. Further, modified Lee, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of battery pack.
Further, Lee as modified by Shin teaches (ii) the second limitation wherein each of the electrode leads of the battery cells included in the longitudinal unit cells on a first side of the central axis are coupled to the inter-bus bar, and wherein each of the electrode leads of the longitudinal unit cells on second side of the central axis coupled to the terminal bus bar.
Specifically, Lee discloses voltage sensing module 84 including first sensing bus bar 84C and second sensing bus bar 84D electrically connected to electrode leads 25b and 25c of battery cells 30 ([0081], Fig. 10). Lee additionally discloses terminal bus bar 81 electrically connected within the battery module bus arrangement at an end portion of the battery module ([0136], Fig. 12). Accordingly, Lee teaches electrode leads electrically connected to both inter-bus bar and terminal bus structures.
Shin further teaches arranging electrode leads 111 at one end portion of the battery cells and electrically coupling the electrode leads through associated connection structures for improving electrical connection stability ([0068], Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Wang and Shin to arrange the electrode leads and associated bus bar connections on opposite sides at an end portion of the battery cell assembly in order to improve electrical connection stability ([0068], Fig. 6 of Shin).
Regarding claim 6, Lee, as modified by Shin and Wang, teaches all limitations of claim 5, as stated above. Lee further teaches (i) the first limitation wherein the sensing line is connected to each of the inter-bus bar and the terminal bus bar. And a connecting portion of the sensing line, wherein the connecting portion connects the inter-bus bar and the terminal bus bar.
Specifically, Lee teaches first and second end sensing structures 97 and 99 including voltage sensing module 84 electrically connected to first and second sensing bus bars 84C and 84D and associated sensing structures including wire portions 49 and 69 ([0081], [0127-0128], Fig. 2). Lee further teaches terminal bus bar 81 electrically connected within the battery module bus arrangement ([0134]-[0136], Figs. 2, 14). Accordingly, Lee teaches a connection portion wherein voltage sensing module 84 electrically connects the inter-bus bar arrangement and the terminal bus bar arrangement.
Lee does not teach (ii) the second limitation wherein the sensing pin is bent so as to extend upward or downward, and wherein the sensing pin protrudes from the module case.
However, Shin teaches this limitation. Specifically, Shin teaches protruding part 113 and coupled to sensing terminal 350 through sensing cover 200 ([0075-0076], Fig. 5). Shin illustrates in Fig. 9 that protruding part 113 is bent under compression by compression terminal parts 353a and 353b, such that the protruding sensing pin extends downward in a bent configuration as claimed ([0098]). Shin further teaches compression terminal parts 353a and 353b including bending portions bent inward toward protruding part 113 to improve coupling and fixing strength between sensing terminal 350 and protruding part 113 ([0099-0100], Fig. 9). Shin additionally teaches that sensing terminal 351 and protruding part 113 are coupled in surface contact over a wide area to improve stability of mechanical coupling and electrical connection ([0125-0126]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shin to provide the sensing connection structure of Lee with the bent protruding sensing-pin arrangement taught by Shin in order to improve stability of mechanical coupling and electrical connection ([0125-0126]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee, as modified by Shin and Wang, teaches all limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Lee further teaches (i) the first limitation wherein the terminal bus bar includes a first terminal bus bar coupled to at least a first one of electrode leads, and a second terminal bus bar coupled at least a second one of electrode leads.
Specifically, Lee teaches terminal bus structures electrically connected to respective electrode leads of battery cells including terminal bus bar 81 and sensing bus bars 84C and 84D electrically connected to electrode leads 25b (Fig. 10) and 25c (Fig. 11) respectively ([0081, 0126]). Lee therefore teaches multiple bus-bar structures coupled to respective electrode leads, which encompasses the claimed first and second terminal bus bars.
Lee does not teach (ii) the second limitation wherein the sensing pin includes a first sensing pin and a second sensing pin, the first sensing pin being disposed on a side of the first terminal bus bar and the second sensing pin being disposed on a side of the second terminal bus bar.
However, Shin teaches this limitation. Specifically, Shin teaches protruding parts 113 extending from electrode leads 111 and disposed at side portions of the battery module arrangement ([0064], Figs. 5-6). Shin further teaches plural protruding parts 113 arranged corresponding to plural electrode leads 111 (Fig. 6). Shin additionally teaches that protruding parts 113 are configured to be fit-coupled to sensing terminals for electrical connection and improved coupling stability ([0067]).
Accordingly, Shin teaches a first sensing pin and a second sensing pin, and when applied to modified Lee per above citations, teaches toward a structure wherein said first and second sensing pins are disposed at corresponding side portions associated with respective electrode leads and terminal-side connection structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the bus-bar arrangement of Lee with plural sensing-pin structures as taught by Shin such that a first sensing pin is disposed on a side of a first terminal bus bar and a second sensing pin is disposed on a side of a second terminal bus bar in order to improve the coupling stability ([0067]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee, as modified by Shin and Wang, teaches all limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Modified Lee further teaches a battery pack comprising: a battery module stack including a plurality of the battery modules of claim 6 stacked in the thickness direction; and a sensing block extending in the thickness direction and coupled to each of the plurality of sensing pins protruding from the module case.
Specifically, Lee teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery modules arranged in a stacked configuration in the thickness direction (Fig. 2). Lee further teaches voltage sensing module 84 including sensing structures electrically connected to battery-cell electrode leads through sensing bus bars 84C and 84D and associated wire portions 49 and 69, wherein the voltage sensing module extends in the thickness direction and corresponds to the claimed sensing block ([0081, 0121-0122], Fig. 10).
Lee does not teach a plurality of sensing pins, and a sensing block coupled to each of the plurality of sensing pins protruding from the module case.
However, Shin teaches this limitation. Specifically, Shin teaches protruding parts 113 extending from electrode leads 111 of the battery modules and sensing cover 200 ([0064, 0067, 0068, 0072], Figs. 5-6). Shin further teaches sensing terminal module 300 supported on sensing cover 200 including module seating part 250, wherein the sensing terminal module is coupled to the plurality of protruding parts 113 extending from the sensing cover 200/module case ([0079], Fig. 5). Shin therefore teaches a sensing block extending in the thickness direction and coupled to a plurality of sensing pins protruding from the module case. Shin further teaches that this structure improves stability of electrical connection of the electrode lead and the sensing terminal ([0031, 0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shin to include the plurality of protruding sensing-pin structures taught by Shin in order to improve stability of electrical connection between the electrode leads and the sensing terminal ([0031, 0035]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee, as modified by Shin, and Wang, teaches all limitations of claim 7, as stated above. Modified Lee further teaches a battery pack comprising: a battery module stack including a plurality of the battery modules of claim 7 stacked in the thickness direction; and a first sensing block and a second sensing block extending in the thickness direction, wherein each of the first sensing block and the second sensing block is coupled to a plurality of first sensing pins and a plurality of second sensing pins of the battery modules, respectively.
Specifically, Lee teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery modules arranged in a stacked configuration in the thickness direction (Fig. 2). Lee further teaches two voltage sensing module 84 at two ends of the battery pack including sensing structures electrically connected to battery-cell electrode leads through sensing bus bars 84C and 84D and associated wire portions 49 and 69, wherein the voltage sensing module extends in the thickness direction and corresponds to the claimed first and second sensing block ([0081, 0121-0122], Fig. 10).
Lee does not teach a plurality of first sensing pins and a plurality of second sensing pins of the battery modules coupled to the first and second sensing block in the claimed manner.
However, Shin teaches this limitation. Specifically, Shin teaches two sets of protruding parts 113 extending from electrode leads 111 of the battery modules at one end of battery pack corresponds to the claimed plurality of first sensing pins and plurality of second sensing pins ([0064, 0067, 0068], Figs. 5-6). Shin further teaches sensing terminal module 300 supported on sensing cover 200 including module seating part 250, wherein the sensing terminal module is coupled to the plurality of protruding parts 113 extending from the stacked battery modules ([0079], Fig. 5). Shin therefore teaches a sensing block extending in the thickness direction and coupled to a plurality of sensing pins protruding from a plurality of battery modules. Shin further teaches that this structure improves stability of electrical connection of the electrode lead and the sensing terminal ([0031, 0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Shin to couple respective first and second sensing-block structures to corresponding pluralities of protruding sensing-pin structures taught by Shin in order to improve stability of electrical connection between the electrode leads and the sensing terminal ([0031, 0035]).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as modified by Shin and Wang, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Dekeuster et al. (US 20160197324 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Modified Lee does not teach a limitation wherein a venting plate extends in the longitudinal direction from a front end of the module case to a rear end of the module case wherein the venting plate, having a venting channel therein, is disposed between the same number of columns of longitudinal unit cells, and wherein the venting plate supports the terminal bus bar, the inter-bus bar, and the sensing line.
However, Dekeuster teaches a vent shield plate 100 including vent channels 112 configured ([0053], Fig. 6) to direct vented gases through the battery module while protecting electrical connection structures including sensing components 84, bus bars 82, and cabling 90 of integrated sensing and bus bar subassembly 80 ([0047], Fig. 6). Further, Dekeuster teaches that the vent shield absorbs thermal and kinetic energy from vented gases in order to mitigate degradation or damage to sensing components 84, bus bars 82, and cabling 90 of the integrated sensing and bus bar subassembly 80 ([0045, 0053]).
Further, Lee discloses the longitudinal direction from a front end of the module case to a rear end of the module case (Fig. 2, [0069], longitudinal direction from first sensing structures 97 to second end sensing structures 99). Also, as discussed with respect to claim 5, Wang teaches a multi-column longitudinal battery-cell arrangement including columns of battery cells disposed on opposite sides of a central axis extending in the longitudinal direction of the battery module ([0111], Fig. 8 of Wang).
Further, Lee, Shin, Wang, and Dekeuster are considered analogous art because each reference relates to battery module electrical interconnection.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the vent shield/venting plate of Dekeuster longitudinally between the longitudinal unit-cell columns of modified Lee such that the venting plate extends from a front end to a rear end of the module case while supporting and protecting the sensing-line and bus-bar structures from vented gases in order to increase the support and decrease the degradation upon exposure to the vented gases ([0045, 0053]).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as modified by Shin, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20200287179 A1) and Dekeuster et al. (US 20160197324 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Lee, as modified by Shin, teaches all limitations of claim 9, as stated above. Lee further teaches (i) the first limitation wherein number of columns of longitudinal unit cells are disposed on each of opposing sides of a central axis of the battery cell assembly is the same, the central axis extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the battery cell assembly.
Specifically, Lee teaches one column of battery cells in Fig. 2, and further teaches the number of battery cells of the battery module may be increased in order to increase the capacity or output voltage of the battery module ([0005]). Therefore, merely duplicating parts by providing additional columns of longitudinal unit cells instead of one, as shown in Lee, would not result in a patentably distinct structure and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to increase energy density. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); see also MPEP § 2144.04.
In addition, Wang explicitly teaches this arrangement. Specifically, Wang discloses a multi-column battery cell arrangement including first and second battery cell array structures 101 and 102 disposed adjacent one another in a single-layer multi-column manner ([0111], Fig. 8) as a modification suggested in Lee to increase the capacity of the battery module ([0005] of Lee). Wang further teaches structural members disposed between adjacent battery cell array structures, thereby defining opposing sides relative to a central region/axis extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the battery cell assembly. Further, modified Lee, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of battery pack.
Modified Lee does not teach (ii) the second limitation wherein a venting plate extends in the longitudinal direction from a front end of the module case to a rear end of the module case wherein the venting plate, having a venting channel therein, is disposed between the same number of columns of longitudinal unit cells, and wherein the venting plate supports the inter-bus bar and the sensing line.
However, Dekeuster teaches a vent shield plate 100 including vent channels 112 configured ([0053], Fig. 6) to direct vented gases through the battery module while protecting electrical connection structures including sensing components 84, bus bars 82, and cabling 90 of integrated sensing and bus bar subassembly 80 ([0047], Fig. 6). Further, Dekeuster teaches that the vent shield absorbs thermal and kinetic energy from vented gases in order to mitigate degradation or damage to sensing components 84, bus bars 82, and cabling 90 of the integrated sensing and bus bar subassembly 80 ([0045, 0053]).
Further, Lee discloses the longitudinal direction from a front end of the module case to a rear end of the module case (Fig. 2, [0069], longitudinal direction from first sensing structures 97 to second end sensing structures 99).
Further, Lee, Shin, Wang, and Dekeuster are considered analogous art because each reference relates to battery module electrical interconnection.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the vent shield/venting plate of Dekeuster longitudinally between the longitudinal unit-cell columns of modified Lee such that the venting plate extends from a front end to a rear end of the module case while supporting and protecting the sensing-line and bus-bar structures from vented gases in order to increase the support and decrease the degradation upon exposure to the vented gases ([0045, 0053]).
Conclusion
/LILI RASSOULI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728