DETAILED ACTION
1.Claims 1-16,18-24,26 and 27 are pending.
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 and 22 in the reply filed on 07/21/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-21,23,24 26 and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 1-16 and 22 read on antigen-binding molecule are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s provision of the foreign priority document CN202110515444 is acknowledged. However, an English translation has not been provided in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 201.15.
Claims 2,4, 6, 7,9,12,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claims 2,4,6, 7,9, 12,14 are indefinite and ambiguous in the recitation of: “preferably”.
The characteristics and metes and bounds of “preferably ” are unclear and indefinite.
6. Claims 1-16 and 22 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of variant species of RANKL-binding molecules is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
It is known in the art that the amino acid residues that define the structure of the
complementarity determining regions (CDR) of an antibody are critical to the functional specificity and affinity of the antibody for the target antigen, such that the 3 CDRs of the heavy and light chains form the antigen-binding domain of the antibody paratope, where critical contacts with the antigen epitope occur during binding (for review see MacCallum et al., 1996). Further, it is known that the heavy chain CDR2 and CDR3 regions contain most of the residues that have a major contribution to the binding free energy of the antigen binding domain (Dondelinger et al., 2018; pg. 8, col. 1, para. 2 – col. 2, para. 1). The CDR3, in particular, is highly variable. The assembly of the variable regions from the V(D)J genes is such that, following the recombination mechanisms, the joined regions are part of CDR3. The CDR3 loops are often critical for antigen binding in Igs and appear to provide the principal peptide binding residues in TCRs as well. Structural analysis has demonstrated that one or both of the CDR3 loops of the Ig heavy or light chain are always involved in antigen contact (Rock et al., 1994). Thus, when assessing the functional identity of an antibody, or antigen binding protein, the length and amino acid sequences of the set of CDRs are a critical structural characteristic of the protein as a whole.
Regarding the “single structural similarity” of a proper Markush grouping, the alternatives must share a substantial structural feature from which the common use flows. In the case of the instant antigen-binding molecules which are interpreted as antibodies, the common functionality of binding to RANKL would flow from the CDRs, and in particular the CDR3 regions. Applicants present numerous alternative embodiments, each comprising a light chain CDR3 and a heavy chain CDR3, wherein there are different L-CDR3s and different H-CDR3s. When comparing the sharedness of amino acid structure of the alternate CDR3 regions, it is clear they may be quite distinct. However, with a range of length from 5-16 total residues, and the amount of variability in residues from one variant to the next, it is difficult to assign even a basic shared structural similarity to various species, upon which variants may be generated. That is, a common base sequence structure from which techniques such as affinity maturation may be used to determine specific point mutations in order to generate variant embodiments.
Section 803.04 of the MPEP states that “sequences that encode different proteins are structurally distinct and are deemed to constitute distinct and independent inventions.” The numerous variant of RANKL binding proteins described are not all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, as the disclosed binding proteins are novel. Also, said antigen-binding molecules described do not share a single structural similarity from which the common functionality of binding to RANKL naturally flows, rather the critical H-CDR3 regions are structurally distinct from each other in amino acid sequence. Therefore, said distinct species of binding proteins do no comprise a “proper” Markush grouping. The elected species of an antigen-binding moleculers comprising the complementary CDR set of HCDR1: SEQ ID NO: 7; HCDR2: SEQ ID NO: 8;
HCDR3: SEQ ID NO: 14; LCDR1: SEQ ID NO: 4; LCDR2: SEQ ID NO: 5; LCDR3: SEQ ID NO: 6; VH: SEQ ID NO: 37; and VL: SEQ ID NO: 40; and the second antigen-binding domain that specifically binds to NGF: HCDR1: SEQ ID NO: 58; HCDR2: SEQ ID NO: 59; HCDR3: SEQ ID NO: 60; LCDR1: SEQ ID NO: 61; LCDR2: SEQ ID NO: 62; LCDR3: SEQ ID NO: 63; VH: SEQ ID NO: 64; and VL: SEQ ID NO: 65 respectively, has been searched . As the alternative species of claims 1-16,22 are not a proper Markush grouping, the examiner has not extended the search beyond the elected species, as per MPEP section 803.03(III)(C)(2).
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
8. Claims 2, 4, 9, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant is in possession of : antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID NO:37 and VL of SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID NO:64 and VL of SEQ ID NO:65
Applicant is not in possession of : any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65.
The claimed invention is drawn to a genus of antibody that recognize and quantitatively binds to RANKL however, structural identifying characteristics of the genus are not disclosed. There is no evidence that there is any per se structure/function relationship between the disclosed antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID NO:37 and VL of SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID NO:64 and VL of SEQ ID NO:65 and any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65.
In determining that the Specification did not support the claimed any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65 the Specification disclosure is considered. The specification fails to disclose a complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation between the antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID NO:37 and VL of SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID NO:64 and VL of SEQ ID NO:65 and any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65. Thus the skilled artisan could not envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus of any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65 that are capable of binding to RANKL and NGF until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Absent a recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the Specification does not provide adequate written description support of the claimed genus.
Neither is antibody binding seen as sufficiently limiting since an antibody epitope may be as small as 6-15 shared amino acid residues (e.g., Lemer Nature 1982; 299:592-596, see page 595-596) and places no limitations on the function of the protein containing the polypeptide sequence recognized. It is well known in the art of remarkable flexibility of antibody repertoire and that huge variety of antibodies including monoclonal can be made that binds to a single epitope. Thus, disclosing a few antibodies doesn’t describe a genus of antibodies that binds to a particular epitope ( see for example Ferrara et al, 2015 and Lloyd et al., 2009, Protein Engineering, v.22, pages 159-168 and Edwards et al., JMB 2003, v.334,pages 103-118)
Given the well known high level of polymorphism of immunoglobulins / antibodies, the skilled artisan would not have been in possession of the vast repertoire of antibodies and the unlimited number of antibodies encompassed by the claimed invention; one of skill in the art would conclude that applicant was not in possession of the structural attributes of a representative number of species possessed by the members of the genus of any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65. encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations, broadly encompassed by the claimed invention.
The claims do not define the relevant identifying characteristics, namely the relevant amino acid sequences of the claimed genus of any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65 that are essential for binding to RANKL and NGF.
On 22 February 2018, the USPTO provided a Memorandum clarifying the Written Description Guidelines for claims drawn to antibodies, which can be found at www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf. That Memorandum indicates that, in compliance with recent legal decisions, the disclosure of a fully characterized antigen no longer is sufficient written description of an antibody to that antigen. Accordingly, the instant claims have been re-evaluated in view of that guidance.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615. “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.”
Functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support, especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable, where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. See ABBVIE DEUTSCHLAND GMBH & 2 CO. v. JANSSEN BIOTECH, INC., Appeals from the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts in Nos. 09-CV-11340-FDS, 10-CV-40003-FDS, and 10-CV-40004-FDS, Judge F. Dennis Saylor, IV. See also Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351 (“[T]he level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology.”); see also Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 636 F.3d 1341, 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (noting the technical challenges in developing fully human antibodies of a known human protein).
Further, the Court has interpreted 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, to require the patent specification to “describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc, 63 USPQ2d 1609 and 1618 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
In evaluating whether a patentee has fulfilled this requirement, our standard is that the patent’s “disclosure must allow one skilled in the art ‘to visualize or recognize the identity of’ the subject matter purportedly described.” Id. (quoting Regents of Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed Cir. 1997)).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483.
The Federal Circuit has recognized that "the written description requirement can in some cases be satisfied by functional description," it has made clear that "such functional description can be sufficient only if there is also a structure-function relationship known to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Wallach, 378 F.3d 1330, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also, Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 964 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that the written description requirement would be satisfied "if the functional characteristic of preferential binding ... were coupled with a disclosed correlation between that function and a structure that is sufficiently known or disclosed"); Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 782 F.3d 1367, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (holding that an "adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products").
Here, the specification provides a functional description of the claimed antigen-binding molecule - i.e., binding to RANKL, but the specification does not identify any disclosure of a correlation between the claimed function and the structure of the antibodies that perform that function.
Federal Circuit clarification of the law of written description as it applies to antibodies. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) decided Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017), which concerned adequate written description for claims drawn to antibodies. The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. The Amgen court expressly stated that the so-called "newly characterized antigen" test, which had been based on an example in USPTO-issued training materials and was noted in dicta in several earlier Federal Circuit decisions, should not be used in determining whether there is adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for a claim drawn to an antibody. Citing its decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., the court also stressed that the "newly characterized antigen" test could not stand because it contradicted the quid pro quo of the patent system whereby one must describe an invention in order to obtain a patent. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79, quoting Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2010). In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional.
Also, it is noted that the Court has held that the disclosure of screening assays and generalclasses of compounds was not adequate to describe compounds having the desired activity: without disclosure of which peptides, polynucleotides, or small organic molecules have the desired characteristic, the claims failed to meet the description requirement of § 112.
See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., lnc., 69 USPQ2d 1886,1895 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Here, the problem here is that the instant specification fails to provide a disclosure of which amino acids are required for the claimed genus of any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65 to perform said function, i.e. binding to RANKL and NGF.
Note that the claims do not recite and the specification does not provide sufficient written description of the structure-identifying any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations.
Given the claimed broadly class of antibodies and in the absence of sufficient disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics for the broadly claimed genus of any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65.encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations encompassed by the claimed methods, the patentee must establish “a reasonable structure-function correlation” either within the specification or by reference to the knowledge of one skilled in the art with functional claim AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014)
And the specification at best describes plan for making a genus of any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations then identifying those that satisfy claim limitations, but mere “wish or plan” for obtaining claimed invention is not sufficient.
Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Laboratories, 97 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Therefore, there is insufficient written description for the genus of any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations by the claims to provide sufficient structure for any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65 that can binds to RANKL and NGF at the time the invention was made and as disclosed in the specification as filed under the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Applicant has been reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 USC 112 is severable from its enablement provision. (See page 1115.)
A skilled artisan cannot, as one can do with a fully described genus, visualize or recognize the identity of the members of the genus that exhibit this functional property.
Meeting the written description threshold requires showing that the applicant was in “possession” of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.2d at 1563-1564. Support need not describe the claimed subject matter in exactly the same terms as used in the claims. Eiselstein v. Frank, 52 F.3d 1035, 1038 (Fed. Cir. 1995). This support cannot be based on obviousness reasoning – i.e., what the written description and knowledge in the art would lead one to speculate as to modifications the inventor might have envisioned, but failed to disclose. Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Ariad points out, the written description requirement also ensures that when a patent claims
a genus by function, the specification recites sufficient materials to accomplish that function - a problem that is particularly acute in biological arts." Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1352-3.
The USPTO has released a Memo on the Clarification of Written Description Guidance For Claims Drawn to Antibodies and Status of 2008 Training Materials, 02/22/2018.
See https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf.
The Memo clarifies the applicability of USPTO guidance regarding the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) concerning the written description requirement for claims drawn to antibodies, including the following.
“In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional”.
In contrast to applicant’s reliance upon the description of certain anti-RANKL antibodies
there is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the claimed any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations to demonstrate possession.
Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017).
“When a patent claims a genus using functional language to define a desired result, the specification must demonstrate that the applicant has made a generic invention that achieves the claimed result and do so by showing that the applicant has invented species sufficient to support a claim to the functionally-defined genus.” See Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
“A sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus.” See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69.
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017), relying upon Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed Cir. 2010), the following is noted.
To show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that is “had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Demonstrating possession “requires a precise definition” of the invention. To provide this precise definition” for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen at page 1358).
This it is the Examiner’s position that one of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe the claimed genus of any antigen-binding molecule comprising the first antigen-binding domain having VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:37 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:40 and a second antigen-binding domain comprising VH that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:64 and VL that is 90% identity SEQ ID NO:65.
10. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 20200339624 or US Patent Application 20250034247 each in view of US Patent 7,364,736, US Patent 7,037,498, US Patent 9,109,026 and US Patent 12,077,591
US Patent Application ‘624 teaches a bispecific antibody comprising a first antigen-binding domain that specifically binds to RANKL and a second antigen-binding domain that specifically binds to NGF ( see entire document, paragraphs 0010, 0018, 0283, 0287, 0290 in particular)
US Patent Application ‘247 teaches a bispecific antibody comprising a first antigen-binding domain that specifically binds to RANKL and a second antigen-binding domain that specifically binds to NGF ( see entire document, paragraphs 0009, 0109, 0225, 0226,0229 in particular)
US Patent Application ‘624 and US Patent Application ‘247 do not explicitly teaches a bispecific antibody wherein the first antigen binding domain that specifically binds to RANKL comprising VL of SEQ ID NO:40 and VH of SEQ ID NO:37 and the second antigen binding domain that specifically binds to NGF comprising VL of SEQ ID NO:65 and VH of SEQ ID NO:64
US Patent ‘736 teaches an antibody that is specifically binding to RANKL , comprising VL of SEQ ID NO:14 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:40 ( see sequence alignment)
US Patent ‘498 teaches an antibody that is specifically binding to RANKL , comprising VH of SEQ ID NO:24 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:37 ( see sequence alignment)
US Patent ‘591 teaches an antibody that is specifically binding to NGF comprising VL of SEQ ID NO:128 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:65 ( see sequence alignment)
US Patent ‘026 teaches an antibody that is specifically binding to NGF comprising VH of SEQ ID NO:36 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:64 ( see sequence alignment)
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute first antigen binding domain that specifically binds to RANKL and the second antigen binding domain that specifically binds to NGF taught by US Patent Application ‘624 and US Patent Application ‘247 with VL and VH taught by US Patent ‘736, US Patent ‘498 , US Patent ‘591 and US Patent ‘026 with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests that each antibody can be used to specifically binds to RANKL and NGF.
From the teachings of the references, it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
12. The claims 1-16 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Application No. 18/560894 and 19/129603.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of copending Application No. 18/560894 and 19/129603 each recited bispecific antibody that can binds to RANKL and NGF.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
13. No claim is allowed.
14. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Gregory Emch can be reached on 571/ 272-8149
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644
.