Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts (page 8 of remarks):
a) Velev does not involve the claimed capability of receiving a paging cause, nor suggest determining whether the remote unit would support the claimed capability of receiving the paging cause.
b) However, the Examiner very kindly directs applicant to the UE 205 receives core network (CN) initiated Paging message for USIM-2 209 (see signaling 425), where the Paging message can include additional paging information indicating service (or traffic) type which causes the MT communication, i.e. paging procedure. The granularity of the paging information can discriminate between the following service categories: a) IMS and non-IMS based Voice/video service; b) IMS and non-IMS based SMS or USSD; c) IMS service other than voice/video or SMS; and/or d) Other service not listed above, e.g. data services including video (¶0105). Also, the multi-SIM UE 205 is paged for USIM-1 207 and if based on the paging cause value the multi-SIM UE 205 (¶0088). Further, the UE 205 performs NAS MM procedure (e.g. Registration request or TAU procedure) to indicate its multiple-SIM (“MuSIM”) capabilities to each network (i.e. for each activated USIM). This can be e.g. indicated in NAS MM messages to network serving node (e.g. AMF/MME). The MuSIM UE capability may include: 1) MuSIM support: (e.g., yes/no), 2) support of suspended states: (e.g., long suspend state, and/or short suspend state, etc.), and/or 3) support of Release Assistance Information (“RAI”) for CP transmissions, SMS transmissions, and/or UP transmissions (¶0099). Therefore, UE is capable of receiving a paging cause.
c) Applicant also asserts (page 9 of remarks): Velev does not disclose or suggest that the multi-SIM UE determines whether it has the capability of receiving the paging cause and sends information to the network based on the determined result.
d) However, the Examiner very kindly point out to the remote unit 105 is able to change its radio capabilities advertised to the network, if the multiple-USIM operation enhancements are preferred and configured in the remote unit 105 (¶0062). Also, the UE 205 registers (or attaches) to one or more mobile communication networks using multiple SIMs (e.g., USIM-1 and USIM-2, see signaling 421). Upon registration with more than one USIMs (e.g., where the UE 205 is already registered with USIM-1 and initiates registration with USIM-2), the UE 205 performs NAS MM procedure (e.g. Registration request or TAU procedure) to indicate its multiple-SIM (“MuSIM”) capabilities to each network (i.e. for each activated USIM) (¶0099). Further, UE 205 receives core network (CN) initiated Paging message for USIM-2 209 (see signaling 425), where the Paging message can include additional paging information indicating service (or traffic) type which causes the MT communication, i.e. paging procedure. The granularity of the paging information can discriminate between the following service categories: a) IMS and non-IMS based Voice/video service; b) IMS and non-IMS based SMS or USSD; c) IMS service other than voice/video or SMS; and/or d) Other service not listed above, e.g. data services including video (¶0105). Also, based on the service type in the paging cause in step 1a—or based on the type of MO communication in step 1b—and based on the supported or preferred capabilities from step 0, the UE 205 determines whether to apply short suspended connection or long suspended connection (¶0107). Therefore, Velev teaches UE 205 determines whether it has the capability of receiving the paging based on the paging cause value and sends information to the network (emphasis added).
e) Applicant further asserts (page 10 of remarks): HONG does not involve the claimed capability of receiving a paging cause, nor disclose or suggest determining whether the UE would support the claimed capability of receiving the paging cause.
f) However, the Examiner very kindly directs applicant to parts b and d, where Velev teaches the claimed capability of receiving a paging cause.
g) Applicant's arguments with regards to dependent claims are based on the deficiency of the references to support the limitations of independent claims. The arguments are respectfully traversed for the same reason(s) as stated above for rejection of independent claims.
3. Therefore, the limitations of the claims are met and the rejection is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1,3-4, 6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15, 17-18, 20, and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev (US 2022/0053448 A1) in view of HONG (US 2023/0080113 A1).
As per claim 1, Velev teaches a method for processing information (Figs.3 and 4A-B, method of processing information for multi SIM UE 205), comprising: in response to determining, by a multi-card user equipment (UE), that the multi-card UE supports a capability of receiving a paging cause (Figs.3 , ¶0083 and ¶0085, based on determining that multi-SIM UE 205 supports capability of receiving paging cause based on paging cause value); and sending, by the multi-card UE, first information to an access network device (¶0064 and ¶0083, exchanging or sending by the multi-SIM UE 205 information to the network (e.g., RAN Node or MME/AMF)); and in response to determining, by the multi-card UE, that the multi-card UE does not support the paging cause capability (¶0062 and ¶0107, based on determining that UE does not support paging cause based on the type of MO communication and based on the supported or preferred capabilities); and sending, by the multi-card UE, second information to the access network device, the second information not comprise the paging cause support indication information (¶0099, sending by the multi SIM UE to network serving node NAS MM messages (i.e. second information), this message not comprising paging cause support indication).
However, Velev does not explicitly teach wherein the first information comprises multi-card mode indication information and paging cause support indication information, wherein the multi-card mode indication information is configured to indicate that the multi- card UE has at least two SIMs in an operational state or that the multi-card UE it-needs to use a capability supported by the multi-card UE, and the paging cause support indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE supports the capability of receiving the paging cause.
In the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches wherein the first information comprises multi-card mode indication information and paging cause support indication information (¶0204 and ¶0267 and ¶0168, indication information for indicating that the UE is capable of supporting multiple USIMs (i.e. multi-card mode indication information) and supporting paging cause indication information), wherein the multi-card mode indication information is configured to indicate that the multi- card UE has at least two SIMs in an operational state or that the multi-card UE it-needs to use a capability supported by the multi-card UE (¶0204 and ¶0138, multi USIM mode indication information indicating that the multi USIM UE has multiple USIMs in operation at the same time), and the paging cause support indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE supports the capability of receiving the paging cause
(¶0204 and ¶0267 and ¶0168, paging cause support indication information indicating that multi USIM UE accepts the reception of the paging message may be determined according to the cause of the paging; therefore supports the capability of receiving the paging cause).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HONG into invention of Velev in order to provide a method and device for seamlessly providing a communication service even when two or more USIMs are configured to avoid overlapping situations and status changes while transmitting and receiving data.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 1 above, Velev does not explicitly teach, wherein the first information further comprises one piece of multi-card capability indication information, and the one piece of multi-card capability indication information is configured to indicate a predetermined capability supported by the SIM, in the operational state, in the multi-card UE, wherein the predetermined capability comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability.
In the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches wherein the first information further comprises one piece of multi-card capability indication information, and the one piece of multi-card capability indication information is configured to indicate a predetermined capability supported by the SIM, in the operational state, in the multi-card UE (¶0204 and ¶0267, multi USIM capability indication information indicating capability supported by the SIM in the operating mode), wherein the predetermined capability comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability (¶0263 and ¶0267, paging rejection capability, paging restriction capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HONG into invention of Velev in order to provide a method and device for seamlessly providing a communication service even when two or more USIMs are configured to avoid overlapping situations and status changes while transmitting and receiving data.
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, Velev does not explicitly teach, wherein the first information further comprises a plurality of pieces of multi-card capability indication information, and different pieces of multi-card capability indication information are configured to indicate different predetermined capabilities supported by the SIM, in the operational state, in the multi-wherein the predetermined capability comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability.
In the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches wherein the first information further comprises a plurality of pieces of multi-card capability indication information, and different pieces of multi-card capability indication information are configured to indicate different predetermined capabilities supported by the SIM (¶0232-234, plurality of capability information are configured by the multi USIM or any function for multiple USIMs), in the operational state, in the multi-wherein the predetermined capability (¶0204 and ¶0267, multi USIM capability indication information indicating capability supported by the SIM in the operating mode), comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability (¶0263 and ¶0267, paging rejection capability, paging restriction capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HONG into invention of Velev in order to provide a method and device for seamlessly providing a communication service even when two or more USIMs are configured to avoid overlapping situations and status changes while transmitting and receiving data.
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 1 above, Velev teaches wherein the first information comprises a registration request message or a service request message (¶0059 and ¶0113, registration request message and service request procedure).
As per claim 8, Velev teaches a method for processing information (Figs.3 and 4A-B, method of processing information), comprising: in response to receiving, by an access network device, first information sent by a multi-card UE (¶0064 and ¶0083, based on exchanging or receiving by the network (e.g., RAN Node or MME/AMF) from the multi-SIM UE 205 information), and sending, by the access network device, the first information to a core network device (¶0079, notify by sending the information to the core network device); and in response to receiving, by the access network device, second information sent by the multi-card UE, sending, by the access network device, the second information to the core network device, wherein the second information does not comprise the paging cause support indication information (¶0062, ¶0099, and ¶0107, based on determining that UE does not support paging cause based on the type of MO communication and based on the supported or preferred capabilities, sending by the multi SIM UE to network serving node NAS MM messages (i.e. second information), this message not comprising paging cause support indication
However, Velev does not explicitly teach wherein the first information comprises multi-card mode indication information and paging cause support indication information, wherein the multi-card mode indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE has at least two SIMs in an operational state or that the multi-card UE it-needs to use a capability supported by the multi-card UE, and the paging cause support indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE supports the capability of receiving a paging cause.
In the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches wherein the first information comprising multi-card mode indication information and paging cause support indication information (¶0204 and ¶0267 and ¶0168, indication information for indicating that the UE is capable of supporting multiple USIMs (i.e. multi-card mode indication information) and supporting paging cause indication information), wherein the multi-card mode indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE has at least two SIMs in an operational state or that the multi-card UE it-needs to use a capability supported by the multi-card UE (¶0204 and ¶0138, multi USIM mode indication information indicating that the multi USIM UE has multiple USIMs in operation at the same time), and the paging cause support indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE supports capability of receiving a paging cause (¶0204 and ¶0267 and ¶0168, paging cause support indication information indicating that multi USIM UE accepts the reception of the paging message may be determined according to the cause of the paging; therefore supports the capability of receiving the paging cause).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HONG into invention of Velev in order to provide a method and device for seamlessly providing a communication service even when two or more USIMs are configured to avoid overlapping situations and status changes while transmitting and receiving data.
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 8 above, Velev does not explicitly teach, wherein the first information further comprises one piece of multi-card capability indication information, and the one piece of multi-card capability indication information is configured to indicate a predetermined capability supported by the SIM, in the operational state, in the multi-card UE, wherein the predetermined capability comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability.
In the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches wherein the first information further comprises one piece of multi-card capability indication information, and the one piece of multi-card capability indication information is configured to indicate a predetermined capability supported by the SIM, in the operational state, in the multi-card UE (¶0204 and ¶0267, multi USIM capability indication information indicating capability supported by the SIM in the operating mode), wherein the predetermined capability comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability (¶0263 and ¶0267, paging rejection capability, paging restriction capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HONG into invention of Velev in order to provide a method and device for seamlessly providing a communication service even when two or more USIMs are configured to avoid overlapping situations and status changes while transmitting and receiving data.
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 8 above, Velev does not explicitly teach, wherein the first information further comprises a plurality of pieces of multi-card capability indication information, and different pieces of multi-card capability indication information are configured to indicate different predetermined capabilities supported by the SIM, in the operational state, in the multi-wherein the predetermined capability comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability.
In the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches wherein the first information further comprises a plurality of pieces of multi-card capability indication information, and different pieces of multi-card capability indication information are configured to indicate different predetermined capabilities supported by the SIM (¶0232-234, plurality of capability information are configured by the multi USIM or any function for multiple USIMs), in the operational state, in the multi-wherein the predetermined capability (¶0204 and ¶0267, multi USIM capability indication information indicating capability supported by the SIM in the operating mode), comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability (¶0263 and ¶0267, paging rejection capability, paging restriction capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HONG into invention of Velev in order to provide a method and device for seamlessly providing a communication service even when two or more USIMs are configured to avoid overlapping situations and status changes while transmitting and receiving data.
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 8 above, Velev teaches wherein the first information comprises a registration request message or a service request message (¶0059 and ¶0113, registration request message and service request procedure).
As per claim 15, Velev teaches a method for processing information (Figs.3 and 4A-B, method of processing information), comprising:
receiving, by a core network device, first information sent by an access network device, (¶0079, notify by sending the information to the core network device from RAN node (i.e. access network device)); and receiving, by the core network device, second information sent by the access network device, the second information not comprising the paging cause support indication information (¶0099, sending by the multi SIM UE to network serving node NAS MM messages (i.e. second information), this message not comprising paging cause support indication).
However, Velev does not explicitly teach wherein the first information comprising multi-card mode indication information and paging cause support indication information, wherein the multi-card mode indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE has at least two SIMs in an operational state or that the multi-card UE it-needs to use a capability supported by the multi-card UE, and the paging cause support indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE supports a capability of receiving a paging cause.
In the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches the first information comprising multi-card mode indication information and paging cause support indication information (¶0204 and ¶0267 and ¶0168, indication information for indicating that the UE is capable of supporting multiple USIMs (i.e. multi-card mode indication information) and supporting paging cause indication information), wherein the multi-card mode indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE has at least two SIMs in an operational state or that the multi-card UE it-needs to use a capability supported by the multi-card UE (¶0204 and ¶0138, multi USIM mode indication information indicating that the multi USIM UE has multiple USIMs in operation at the same time), and the paging cause support indication information is configured to indicate that the multi-card UE supports a capability of receiving a paging cause.
(¶0204 and ¶0267 and ¶0168, paging cause support indication information indicating that multi USIM UE capable of supporting the paging cause).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HONG into invention of Velev in order to provide a method and device for seamlessly providing a communication service even when two or more USIMs are configured to avoid overlapping situations and status changes while transmitting and receiving data.
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 15 above, Velev does not explicitly teach, wherein the first information further comprises one piece of multi-card capability indication information, and the one piece of multi-card capability indication information is configured to indicate a predetermined capability supported by the SIM, in the operational state, in the multi-card UE, wherein the predetermined capability comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability.
In the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches wherein the first information further comprises one piece of multi-card capability indication information, and the one piece of multi-card capability indication information is configured to indicate a predetermined capability supported by the SIM, in the operational state, in the multi-card UE (¶0204 and ¶0267, multi USIM capability indication information indicating capability supported by the SIM in the operating mode), wherein the predetermined capability comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability (¶0263 and ¶0267, paging rejection capability, paging restriction capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HONG into invention of Velev in order to provide a method and device for seamlessly providing a communication service even when two or more USIMs are configured to avoid overlapping situations and status changes while transmitting and receiving data.
As per claim 18 as applied to claim 15 above, Velev does not explicitly teach, wherein the first information further comprises a plurality of pieces of multi-card capability indication information, and different pieces of multi-card capability indication information are configured to indicate different predetermined capabilities supported by the SIM, in the operational state, in the multi-wherein the predetermined capability comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability.
In the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches wherein the first information further comprises a plurality of pieces of multi-card capability indication information, and different pieces of multi-card capability indication information are configured to indicate different predetermined capabilities supported by the SIM (¶0232-234, plurality of capability information are configured by the multi USIM or any function for multiple USIMs), in the operational state, in the multi-wherein the predetermined capability (¶0204 and ¶0267, multi USIM capability indication information indicating capability supported by the SIM in the operating mode), comprises at least one of: a paging rejection capability; a paging time control capability; or a paging restriction capability (¶0263 and ¶0267, paging rejection capability, paging restriction capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HONG into invention of Velev in order to provide a method and device for seamlessly providing a communication service even when two or more USIMs are configured to avoid overlapping situations and status changes while transmitting and receiving data.
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 15 above, Velev teaches wherein the first information comprises a registration request message or a service request message (¶0059 and ¶0113, registration request message and service request procedure).
As per claim 43, Velev teaches a communication device (¶0135, user equipment apparatus), comprising: a processor (¶0135, processor); and a memory storing executable instructions by the processor (¶0135, memory storing instructions by processor), wherein the processor is configured to, when running the executable instructions, implement the method of method for processing information according to claim 1 (please refer to claim 1 above).
As per claim 44, Velev teaches a non-transitory computer storage medium having a computer executable program stored thereon that (¶0138, computer readable instructions stored thereon), when being executed by a processor (¶0138, processor), implements the method for processing information according claim 1 (please refer to claim 1 above).
B) Claims 7, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev (US 2022/0053448 A1) in view of HONG (US 2023/0080113 A1) and further in view of KUMAR (WO 2021/066562 A1).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, Velev in view of HONG does not explicitly teach receiving, by the multi-card UE, first capability indication information returned by the access network device, wherein the first capability indication information at least comprises information indicating that the a core network supports a paging cause capability, and wherein the first capability indication information is determined based on the first information.
In the same field of endeavor, KUMAR teaches receiving, by the multi-card UE, first capability indication information returned by the access network device, wherein the first capability indication information at least comprises information indicating that the a core network supports a paging cause capability, and wherein the first capability indication information is determined based on the first information (¶0034, receiving by the MUSIM UE paging message from the AMF controller and the paging message includes an indication that the paging cause is supported by the wireless communication network, where the indication can include a new paging cause value or a new dedicated indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of KUMAR into invention of Velev and HONG in order for providing a paging cause to a Multiple Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network to improve the spectral efficiency and the overall network performances.
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 8 above, Velev in view of HONG does not explicitly teach receiving, by the access network device, first capability indication information returned by the core network device based on the first information, wherein the first capability indication information at least comprises information indicating that the core network supports a paging cause capability; and sending, by the access network device, the first capability indication information to the multi- card UE.
In the same field of endeavor, KUMAR teaches receiving, by the access network device, first capability indication information returned by the core network device based on the first information, wherein the first capability indication information at least comprises information indicating that the core network supports a paging cause capability; and sending, by the access network device, the first capability indication information to the multi- card UE (¶0034, receiving by the MUSIM UE paging message from the AMF controller and the paging message includes an indication that the paging cause is supported by the wireless communication network, where the indication can include a new paging cause value or a new dedicated indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of KUMAR into invention of Velev and HONG in order for providing a paging cause to a Multiple Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network to improve the spectral efficiency and the overall network performances.
As per claim 21 as applied to claim 15 above, Velev in view of HONG does not explicitly teach determining, by the core network device, that the first information received comprises the paging cause support indication information; and sending, by the core network device, first capability indication information to the access network device, wherein the first capability indication information at least comprises information indicating that the core network supports a paging cause capability.
In the same field of endeavor, KUMAR teaches determining, by the core network device, that the first information received comprises the paging cause support indication information; and sending, by the core network device, first capability indication information to the access network device, wherein the first capability indication information at least comprises information indicating that the core network supports a paging cause capability (¶0034, receiving by the MUSIM UE paging message from the AMF controller and the paging message includes an indication that the paging cause is supported by the wireless communication network, where the indication can include a new paging cause value or a new dedicated indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of KUMAR into invention of Velev and HONG in order for providing a paging cause to a Multiple Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network to improve the spectral efficiency and the overall network performances.
Conclusion
5. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643