DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending and are examined on their merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on November 10th 2025 and January 26th 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quisel (WO 2021/062163 A1 effectively filed on September 27th 2019).
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are directed towards the treatment of iron deficiency anemia in a subject with myelofibrosis via administration of pelabresib. Quisel teaches the treatment of myelofibrosis and iron deficiency anemia via administration of CPI-0610 (also known as pelabresib) (Quisel, claims 1-2, claim 77), anticipating claims 1, 3, and 4.
Claim 5 is directed towards a method of increasing reticulocytes in a subject in need thereof via administration of pelabresib. Quisel teaches treatment of a subject with low reticulocyte count (Quisel, claim 49), anticipating claim 5.
Claim 7 requires that, in the method of claim 5 the subject has anemia. Quisel teaches treatment of a patient population with anemia (Quisel, claim 1), anticipating claim 7.
Claim 8 requires that, in the method of claim 5, the subject has myelofibrosis. Quisel teaches treatment of a patient population with myelofibrosis (Quisel, claim 1), anticipating claim 8.
Claims 9-10 require that, in the method of claim 1, the subject is also administered the JAK inhibitor, ruxolitinib. Quisel teaches administration of pelabresib (CPI-0610) alongside JAK-STAT antagonists (Quisel, paragraph [000196]), and teaches ruxolitinib as the JAK-STAT antagonist (Quisel, claim 89; Quisel, paragraphs [00033]-[00034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quisel (WO 2021/062163 A1 effectively filed on September 27th 2019).
Claim 2 further limits the method of claim 1 to a subject wherein the low reticulocyte count is less than about 0.5% of total erythrocytes in a subject. In other terms, wherein the reticulocytes (red blood cells newly produced by the bone marrow) are under 0.5% of the total red blood cell count. While Quisel does not explicitly quantify the reticulocyte count, Quisel does define a patient population wherein the anemia in myelofibrosis is caused by ineffective erythropoiesis due to bone marrow suppression (Quisel, paragraph [000168]). That is, Quisel defines a patient population wherein the bone marrow is not sufficiently producing new red blood cells (i.e. reticulocytes). As Quisel treats such a patient population with a low reticulocyte count (Quisel, paragraph [000168]; Quisel, claim 49), one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in treating a patient population wherein the reticulocyte count is below the claimed 0.5% threshold. Claim 2 is thereby prima facie obvious.
Claim 6 similarly limits the method of claim 5 to wherein the subject has a reticulocyte count of less than about 0.5% of total erythrocytes. Claim 6 is prima facie obvious for the same reasons as claim 2.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629