DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to communications dated 11/10/2023. Claims 1-13 and 16-22 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 02/09/2024, 03/10/2025, and 06/04/2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bai et al. (US 2022/0302988) (hereinafter “Bai”).
Regarding claim 1, in accordance with Bai reference entirety, Bai discloses a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 2 and paras [0039] to [0048] or FIG. 12 and paras [0168] to [0178]) for wireless communication (FIG. 1 and paras [0027] to [0037])), comprising: at least one memory (FIG. 2; Memory 282); and at least one processor (FIG. 2; Controller/Processor 280) coupled with (see FIG. 2 for connection details) the at least one memory and configured to cause (FIG. 7 and paras [0080] to [0102]) the UE to:
receive first configuration information configuring a plurality of beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) sets for a first set of cells, each cell of the first set of cells is configured with two BFD-RS sets (para [0082]: "As shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 710, the UE 120 may receive, from the first TRP 705-1, a first BFD reference signal set associated with the first beam group, and the UE 120 may receive, from the second TRP 705-2, a second BFD reference signal set associated with the second beam group. Each BFD reference signal set (e.g., the first BFD reference signal set and the second BFD reference signal set) may include one or more reference signals (e.g., CSI-RSs and/or SSBs) that are periodically transmitted to the UE 120");
receive second configuration information configuring two physical uplink control channel scheduling request (PUCCH-SR) resources, the two PUCCH-SR resources comprising a first PUCCH-SR resource and a second PUCCH-SR resource (para [0085]: "In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether a PUCCH scheduling request resource dedicated to per beam group (e.g., per TRP) BFR scheduling requests is configured in the second beam group. In some aspects, the UE 120 may receive (e.g., prior to detecting beam failure for the first beam set), configuration information that configures one or more PUCCH scheduling request resources dedicated to per beam group BFR scheduling requests. For example, the UE 120 may receive the configuration information in an RRC message from the first TRP 705-1 or the second TRP 705-2. In some aspects, the configuration information may configure a dedicated PUCCH scheduling resource in each of the first and second beam groups. For example, the configuration information may include a mapping of a PUCCH scheduling request dedicated to BFR for the first beam group (e.g., BFR for the first TRP 705-1) to a beam of the second beam group (e.g., a beam associated with the second TRP 705-2). The configuration may further include a mapping of a PUCCH scheduling request dedicated to BFR for the second beam group (e.g., BFR for the second TRP 705-2) to a beam of the first beam group (e.g., a beam associated with the first TRP 705-1). In some aspects, the configuration information may configure a single PUCCH scheduling request resource dedicated to per beam group BFR in the first beam group or the second beam group. In some aspects, no PUCCH scheduling request resources dedicated to per beam group BFR may be configured in either the first beam group or the second beam group"); and
select, when at least one BFD-RS set of the plurality of BFD-RS sets is failed, a PUCCH-SR resource from the two PUCCH-SR resources for transmitting a positive link recovery request (LRR) of the first set of cells based at least in part on whether two BFD-RS sets are configured for a first cell in which the two PUCCH-SR resources are configured to be transmitted (para [0088]: "As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 725, the UE 120 may transmit a BFR request. In some aspects, the UE 120 may selectively transmit the BFR request for the first beam group based at least in part on the determination of uplink resource availability in the second beam group. The BFR request may refer to the BFR scheduling request (e.g., to schedule an uplink grant for a BFR MAC-CE), the BFR MAC-CE, both the BFR scheduling request and the BFR MAC-CE, and/or a RACH BFR request. The UE 120 may select whether to transmit the BFR request and may select which type of BFR request to transmit (e.g., the BFR scheduling request, the BFR MACCE (without a scheduling request), or the RACH BFR request) based at least in part on the determination of uplink resource availability in the second beam group." Moreover, para [0061]: "As shown by reference number 415, the UE may transmit, to a base station on the Pcell or PScell, a link recovery request (LRR). In some examples, the UE may transmit the LRR on an Scell configured with a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (PUCCH-Scell), in which PUCCH BFR is configured. This LRR may be a scheduling request for requesting an uplink grant to schedule an uplink transmission of a BFR MAC control element (MAC-CE).").
Regarding claim 2, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein a BFD-RS set is failed when a radio link quality of each reference signal (RS) in the BFD-RS set is below a configured threshold (para [0083]: "As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 715, the UE 120 may detect beam failure for the first beam group. The UE 120 may monitor the first BFD reference signal set and the second BFD reference signal set and perform measurements (e.g., RSRP measurements) on the first BFD reference signal set and the second BFD reference signal set as the first and second BFD reference signal sets are periodically transmitted to the UE 120. The UE 120 may compare the measurements (e.g., RSRP measurements) on the first BFD reference signal set and the second BFD reference signal set with a threshold (Qout). The UE 120 may detect a beam failure indication for the first beam group (e.g., for the first TRP 705-1) based at least in part on the measurements (e.g., RSRP measurements) for an occurrence of the first BFD reference signal set being below Qout. The UE 120 may detect a beam failure indication for the second beam group (e.g., for the second TRP 705-2) based at least in part on the measurements (e.g., RSRP measurements) for an occurrence of the second BFD reference signal set being below Qout. The UE 120 may detect beam failure for the first beam group (e.g., for the first TRP 705-1) based at least in part on detecting more than a threshold number of beam failure indications in a time duration associated with a BFD timer.").
Regarding claim 3, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein to select the PUCCH-SR resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to select one or more of the two PUCCH-SR resources when one or more of: the first cell is not configured with two BFD-RS sets; or the first cell is configured with two BFD-RS sets, and both of the two BFD-RS sets configured for the first cell are not failed (available) (para [0084]: "As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 720, the UE 120 may determine an availability of uplink resources in the second beam group for a per beam group BFR request based at least in part on detecting beam failure for the first beam group. In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether one or more PUCCH scheduling request resources are available for transmitting a BFR scheduling request on a beam in the second beam group, and/or the UE 120 may determine whether one or more PUSCH resources are available for transmitting a BFR MAC-CE on a beam in the second beam group.").
Regarding claim 4, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein, in a case that the second configuration information comprises one scheduling request (SR) configuration configuring that each PUCCH-SR resource of the two PUCCH-SR resources is associated with a BFD-RS set of a first BFD-RS set and a second BFD-RS set, when the first cell is configured with a first BFD-RS set and a second BFD-RS set, and the first BFD-RS set is failed while the second BFD-RS set is not failed, to select the PUCCH-SR resource the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to select a PUCCH-SR resource associated with the second BFD-RS set (para [0086]: "In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether one or more PUCCH scheduling request resources, including PUCCH scheduling request resources that are not dedicated to per beam group BFR, are available in the second beam group. For example, the UE 120 may determine whether at least one PUCCH scheduling request resource is available that is configured to use at least a beam associated with the working TRP (e.g., the second TRP 705-2). In this case, a PUCCH scheduling request resource configured to use at least a beam in the second beam group may be determined to be available based at least in part on a determination that the PUCCH scheduling request resource does not collide with a semi-persistent downlink symbol configured via RRC signaling, or a dynamic downlink symbol indicated by an slot frame indication (SFI).").
Regarding claim 5, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein, in a case that the second configuration information comprises a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration configuring the two PUCCH-SR resources, respectively, wherein the first SR configuration is associated with a first BFD-RS set and the second SR configuration is associated with a second BFD-RS set, when the first cell is configured with the first BFD-RS set and the second BFD-RS set, and the first BFD-RS set is failed while the second BFD-RS set is not failed, to select the PUCCH-SR resource the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to select the PUCCH-SR resource configured in the first SR configuration associated with the first BFD-RS set (para [0091]: "The earliest available PUCCH scheduling request may use at least a beam associated with the second beam group (e.g., a beam associated with the working TRP). In some aspects, the earliest available PUCCH scheduling request resource may be associated with a first spatial relationship associated with the beam of the second beam group and associated with as second spatial relationship associated with a beam of the first beam group. For example, the PUCCH scheduling request resource may be configured with two beams, one beam to be transmitted to the first TRP 705-1 and another beam to be transmitted to second TRP 705-2. In some aspects, the UE 120 may only transmit the BFR scheduling request via the beam associated with the working TRP (e.g., the beam associated with the second TRP 705-2). For example, the UE 120 may transmit the BFR scheduling request using the earliest available PUCCH scheduling request resource on the beam of the second beam group without transmitting the BFR recovery request on the beam of the first beam group. In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit the BFR scheduling request on all beams configured for the earliest available scheduling request, regardless of the failed TRP (e.g., the first TRP 705-1). For example, the UE 120 may transmit the BFR scheduling request using the earliest available PUCCH scheduling request resource on the beam of the second beam group and on the beam of the first beam group.").
Regarding claim 6, in accordance with Bai reference entirety, Bai discloses a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 2 and paras [0039] to [0048] or FIG. 12 and paras [0168] to [0178]) for wireless communication (FIG. 1 and paras [0027] to [0037])), comprising: at least one memory (FIG. 2; Memory 282); and at least one processor (FIG. 2; Controller/Processor 280) coupled with (see FIG. 2 for connection details) the at least one memory and configured to cause (FIG. 7 and paras [0080] to [0102]) the UE to: receive configuration information configuring one or more physical uplink control channel scheduling request (PUCCH-SR) resources (para [0085]: "In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether a PUCCH scheduling request resource dedicated to per beam group (e.g., per TRP) BFR scheduling requests is configured in the second beam group. In some aspects, the UE 120 may receive (e.g., prior to detecting beam failure for the first beam set), configuration information that configures one or more PUCCH scheduling request resources dedicated to per beam group BFR scheduling requests. For example, the UE 120 may receive the configuration information in an RRC message from the first TRP 705-1 or the second TRP 705-2. In some aspects, the configuration information may configure a dedicated PUCCH scheduling resource in each of the first and second beam groups. For example, the configuration information may include a mapping of a PUCCH scheduling request dedicated to BFR for the first beam group (e.g., BFR for the first TRP 705-1) to a beam of the second beam group (e.g., a beam associated with the second TRP 705-2). The configuration may further include a mapping of a PUCCH scheduling request dedicated to BFR for the second beam group (e.g., BFR for the second TRP 705-2) to a beam of the first beam group (e.g., a beam associated with the first TRP 705-1). In some aspects, the configuration information may configure a single PUCCH scheduling request resource dedicated to per beam group BFR in the first beam group or the second beam group. In some aspects, no PUCCH scheduling request resources dedicated to per beam group BFR may be configured in either the first beam group or the second beam group");
determine a first PUCCH-SR resource from the one or more PUCCH-SR resources configured for transmitting a positive link recovery request (LRR) (BFR request) of a first set of cells (Pcell or PScell), each cell of the first set of cells is configured with two beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) sets (para [0088]: "As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 725, the UE 120 may transmit a BFR request. In some aspects, the UE 120 may selectively transmit the BFR request for the first beam group based at least in part on the determination of uplink resource availability in the second beam group. The BFR request may refer to the BFR scheduling request (e.g., to schedule an uplink grant for a BFR MAC-CE), the BFR MAC-CE, both the BFR scheduling request and the BFR MAC-CE, and/or a RACH BFR request. The UE 120 may select whether to transmit the BFR request and may select which type of BFR request to transmit (e.g., the BFR scheduling request, the BFR MAC-CE (without a scheduling request), or the RACH BFR request) based at least in part on the determination of uplink resource availability in the second beam group." Moreover, para [0061]: "As shown by reference number 415, the UE may transmit, to a base station on the Pcell or PScell, a link recovery request (LRR). In some examples, the UE may transmit the LRR on an Scell configured with a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (PUCCH-Scell), in which PUCCH BFR is configured. This LRR may be a scheduling request for requesting an uplink grant to schedule an uplink transmission of a BFR MAC control element (MAC-CE)." Moreover, para [0087]: "... the UE 120 may determine whether the existing scheduled PUSCH resource is configured to be transmitted on a Pcell, an PScell, an Scell configured with PUCCH, and/or another component carrier configured to transmit a PUCCH scheduling request … "); and
determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or transmit a second PUCCH-SR resource for one or more of transmitting a positive LRR of a second set of cells or transmitting a positive scheduling request (SR) when the first PUCCH-SR resource and the second PUCCH-SR resource overlap in time domain (does not collide), each cell of the second set of cells configured with one BFD-RS set (para [0086]: "[0086] In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether one or more PUCCH scheduling request resources, including PUCCH scheduling request resources that are not dedicated to per beam group BFR, are available in the second beam group. For example, the UE 120 may determine whether at least one PUCCH scheduling request resource is available that is configured to use at least a beam associated with the working TRP (e.g., the second TRP 705-2). In this case, a PUCCH scheduling request resource configured to use at least a beam in the second beam group may be determined to be available based at least in part on a determination that the PUCCH scheduling request resource does not collide with a semi-persistent downlink symbol configured via RRC signaling, or a dynamic downlink symbol indicated by an slot frame indication (SFI).").
Regarding claim 7, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein to determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource when the second PUCCH-SR resource is for transmitting the positive SR (transmission in grant-free PUSCH resource) (para [0087]: "In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether an existing scheduled PUSCH resource is available in the second beam group. For example, the existing scheduled PUSCH resource may be a grant-free PUSCH resource that is periodically scheduled in the second beam group for the UE 120. In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether an existing scheduled PUSCH resource (e.g., a grant free PUSCH resource) is available that is configured to use a TCI state and/or spatial relationship information associated with the working TRP (e.g., the second TRP 705-2).").
Regarding claim 8, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein to determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine to transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource when the second PUCCH-SR resource is for transmitting the positive LRR of the second set of cells and the first set of cells do not include a PCell or PScell (any carrier component) (para [0087]: "... In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether an existing scheduled PUSCH resource (e.g., a grant free PUSCH resource) that is large enough to accommodate a MAC-CE (e.g., the BFR MAC-CE) is available in the second beam group. In some aspects, the existing scheduled PUSCH resource may be configured to be transmitted on any component carrier. In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether the existing scheduled PUSCH resource is configured to be transmitted on a Pcell, an PScell, an Scell configured with PUCCH, and/or another component carrier configured to transmit a PUCCH scheduling request.").
Regarding claim 9, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein to determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource based on a lowest cell index (index associated with corresponding reference signal) of the first set of cells and the second set of cells when the second PUCCH-SR resource is for transmitting the positive LRR of the second set of cells and the first set of cells do not include a PCell or PScell (component carrier) (para [0092]: "In a case in which the UE 120 transmits the BFR scheduling request using a PUCCH scheduling request resource, on a beam of the second beam group (e.g., to the second TRP 705-2), the UE 120 may receive, from the second TRP 705-2, an uplink grant that schedules a PUSCH resource for transmitting the BFR MAC-CE. The UE 120 may perform candidate beam detection to select a candidate beam for the first beam group. For example, the UE 120 may select the candidate beam based on measurements performed on reference signals in a new beam information reference signal set. The UE 120 may transmit the BFR MAC-CE using the PUSCH resource granted by the uplink grant. For example, the granted PUSCH resource may be scheduled and transmitted on a beam in the second beam group (e.g., a beam to the second TRP 705-2) or on a beam in the first group (e.g., a beam to the first TRP 705-1). In some aspects, the BFR MAC-CE may include an indication of the selected candidate beam, such as an index associated with the corresponding reference signal in the new beam information reference signal set. The BFR MAC-CE may also include an indication of the failed TRP (e.g. the first TRP 705-1), such as index associated with the failed TRP." Moreover, para [0087]: "... In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether an existing scheduled PUSCH resource (e.g., a grant free PUSCH resource) that is large enough to accommodate a MAC-CE (e.g., the BFR MAC-CE) is available in the second beam group. In some aspects, the existing scheduled PUSCH resource may be configured to be transmitted on any component carrier. In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether the existing scheduled PUSCH resource is configured to be transmitted on a Pcell, an PScell, an Scell configured with PUCCH, and/or another component carrier configured to transmit a PUCCH scheduling request.").
Regarding claim 10, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein to determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or the second PUCCH-SR resource based on a lowest cell index (index associated with fail TRP) of a first subset of the first set of cells and a second subset of the second set of cells when the second PUCCH-SR resource is for transmitting the positive LRR of the second set of cells, and the first set of cells do not include a PCell or PScell or two BFD-RS sets configured for the PCell or PScell are not failed, wherein at least one BFD-RS set configured for each cell of the first subset is failed, and the BFD-RS set configured for each cell of the second subset is failed (para [0092]: "In a case in which the UE 120 transmits the BFR scheduling request using a PUCCH scheduling request resource, on a beam of the second beam group (e.g., to the second TRP 705-2), the UE 120 may receive, from the second TRP 705-2, an uplink grant that schedules a PUSCH resource for transmitting the BFR MAC-CE. The UE 120 may perform candidate beam detection to select a candidate beam for the first beam group. For example, the UE 120 may select the candidate beam based on measurements performed on reference signals in a new beam information reference signal set. The UE 120 may transmit the BFR MAC-CE using the PUSCH resource granted by the uplink grant. For example, the granted PUSCH resource may be scheduled and transmitted on a beam in the second beam group (e.g., a beam to the second TRP 705-2) or on a beam in the first group (e.g., a beam to the first TRP 705-1). In some aspects, the BFR MAC-CE may include an indication of the selected candidate beam, such as an index associated with the corresponding reference signal in the new beam information reference signal set. The BFR MAC-CE may also include an indication of the failed TRP (e.g. the first TRP 705-1), such as index associated with the failed TRP." Moreover, para [0087]: "... In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether an existing scheduled PUSCH resource (e.g., a grant free PUSCH resource) that is large enough to accommodate a MAC-CE (e.g., the BFR MAC-CE) is available in the second beam group. In some aspects, the existing scheduled PUSCH resource may be configured to be transmitted on any component carrier. In some aspects, the UE 120 may determine whether the existing scheduled PUSCH resource is configured to be transmitted on a Pcell, an PScell, an Scell configured with PUCCH, and/or another component carrier configured to transmit a PUCCH scheduling request.").
Regarding claim 11, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein to determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine to transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource when the second PUCCH-SR resource is for transmitting the positive LRR of the second set of cells and the first set of cells include a PCell or PScell and two BFD-RS sets configured for the PCell or PScell are not failed (availability) (para [0079]: "Some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable a UE to detect beam failure for a first beam group in a cell including a first beam group and a second beam group. The UE may selectively transmit a BFR request for the first beam group based at least in part on a determination of uplink resource availability in the second beam group. In some aspects, the first beam group may be associated with a first TRP and the second beam group may be associated with a second TRP. In some aspects, based at least in part on the determination of the uplink resource availability in the second beam group, the UE may transmit a BFR scheduling request on a beam of the second beam group using a PUCCH scheduling request resource dedicated to BFR for the first beam group, the UE may transmit a BFR scheduling request using an earliest available PUCCH scheduling request resource on a beam of the second beam group, or the UE may transmit a BFR MAC-CE using an existing scheduled PUSCH resource on a beam of the second beam group. As a result, the UE may select an available uplink resource in a case in which there are no dedicated resources configured in the second beam group. This may reduce cases in which the UE cannot transmit per beam group or per TRP BFR requests, thus reducing delays in beam failure recover, decreasing latency of uplink and/or downlink traffic, and increasing network speed. Furthermore, the UE may select the uplink resource based at least in part on a determination of an earliest available network resource, which may decrease latency associated with requesting BFR.").
Regarding claim 12, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein to determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource when the second PUCCH-SR resource is for transmitting the positive LRR of the second set of cells and the first set of cells include a PCell or PScell (para [0088]: "As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 725, the UE 120 may transmit a BFR request. In some aspects, the UE 120 may selectively transmit the BFR request for the first beam group based at least in part on the determination of uplink resource availability in the second beam group. The BFR request may refer to the BFR scheduling request (e.g., to schedule an uplink grant for a BFR MAC-CE), the BFR MAC-CE, both the BFR scheduling request and the BFR MAC-CE, and/or a RACH BFR request. The UE 120 may select whether to transmit the BFR request and may select which type of BFR request to transmit (e.g., the BFR scheduling request, the BFR MAC-CE (without a scheduling request), or the RACH BFR request) based at least in part on the determination of uplink resource availability in the second beam group." Moreover, para [0061]: "As shown by reference number 415, the UE may transmit, to a base station on the Pcell or PScell, a link recovery request (LRR). In some examples, the UE may transmit the LRR on an Scell configured with a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (PUCCH-Scell), in which PUCCH BFR is configured. This LRR may be a scheduling request for requesting an uplink grant to schedule an uplink transmission of a BFR MAC control element (MAC-CE)." Moreover, para [0087]: "... the UE 120 may determine whether the existing scheduled PUSCH resource is configured to be transmitted on a Pcell, an PScell, an Scell configured with PUCCH, and/or another component carrier configured to transmit a PUCCH scheduling request … ")
Regarding claim 13, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Bai also discloses wherein to determine whether to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource or transmit the second PUCCH-SR resource, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine to transmit the first PUCCH-SR resource when the second PUCCH-SR resource is for transmitting the positive LRR of the second set of cells and the first set of cells include a PCell or PScell and at least one BFD-RS set configured for the PCell or PScell is failed (para [0088]: "As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 725, the UE 120 may transmit a BFR request. In some aspects, the UE 120 may selectively transmit the BFR request for the first beam group based at least in part on the determination of uplink resource availability in the second beam group. The BFR request may refer to the BFR scheduling request (e.g., to schedule an uplink grant for a BFR MAC-CE), the BFR MAC-CE, both the BFR scheduling request and the BFR MAC-CE, and/or a RACH BFR request. The UE 120 may select whether to transmit the BFR request and may select which type of BFR request to transmit (e.g., the BFR scheduling request, the BFR MAC-CE (without a scheduling request), or the RACH BFR request) based at least in part on the determination of uplink resource availability in the second beam group." Moreover, para [0061]: "As shown by reference number 415, the UE may transmit, to a base station on the Pcell or PScell, a link recovery request (LRR). In some examples, the UE may transmit the LRR on an Scell configured with a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (PUCCH-Scell), in which PUCCH BFR is configured. This LRR may be a scheduling request for requesting an uplink grant to schedule an uplink transmission of a BFR MAC control element (MAC-CE)." Moreover, para [0087]: "... the UE 120 may determine whether the existing scheduled PUSCH resource is configured to be transmitted on a Pcell, an PScell, an Scell configured with PUCCH, and/or another component carrier configured to transmit a PUCCH scheduling request … ")
As per group claims 16-20, the claims call for a processor having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations of user equipment of claims 1-5, respectively. Thus, they are anticipated by Bai for the same rationales applied to user equipment claims of claims 1-5 as above discussed.
As per group claims 21-22, the claims call for a processor having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations of user equipment of claims 6-7, respectively. Thus, they are anticipated by Bai for the same rationales applied to user equipment claims of claims 6-7 as above discussed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 2022/0104036).
Yi et al. (US 2020/0350972).
Tsai et al. (US 12,185404).
Zhou et al. (US 12,074,680).
Zhu et al. (US 11,943,037).
Koskela et al. (US 2022/0311501).
Koskela et al. (US 12,289,625).
Zeineddine et al. (US 2023/0198602).
Zhou et al. (US 11,843,502).
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/FRANK DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 December 18, 2025