DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on September 17, 2025 has been reviewed.
Claims 15 and 18-31 were cancelled in the Preliminary Amendment filed on November 10, 2023.
Claim 32 is newly added in the amendment.
Claim 4 was amended in the amendment.
Claims 1-14 and 16-17 have been examined.
Claim 32 is restricted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 6, 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Restriction
Newly submitted claim 32 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Claims 1-14 and 16-17, drawn to the Session Management Function Node performs application context relocation procedure (App/Service-Level) focuses on migrating application context from one host to another to maintain low latency as device moves, classified in H04L 67/143: Termination or inactivation of sessions, e.g. event-controlled end of session.
Claim 32, drawn to the Session Management Function Node performs Edge relocation procedure (Device-Level) that focuses on moving devices from one edge to another without losing data, classified in H04W36/0022: Control or signaling for completing the hand-off for data sessions of end-to-end connection for transferring data sessions between adjacent core network technologies.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 32 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Olvera-Hernandez et al. (US 2024/0163736 A1), hereinafter referred to as Olvera-Hernandez.
With respect to claim 1, Olvera-Hernandez teaches A Session Management Function (SMF) node (the SMF, para. 0108) comprising:
a memory (memory, para. 0131); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (processor, para. 0137) and configured to:
detect an event related to an Application Context Relocation (ACR) procedure (the PDU Session Establishment procedure may be invoked based on the mobility event and/or the detection that the WTRU has left the old LADN DNN Service Area and/or the detection that the WTRU has entered a new LADN DNN Service Area, which tells the SMF that the Old PDU Session associated with the Old LADN should remain active; the indication is that it should remain active for the duration of the ACR timer, until traffic is no longer detected in the Old PDU Session, and/or until the ACR procedure has been completed, para. 0106) after receiving a first event notification from an Access and Mobility management Function (AMF) node indicating that a User Equipment (UE) is out of an Edge Data Network (EDN) service area or out of a Local Area Data Network (LADN) service area (the AMF pass this information to the SMF during the PDU Session Establishment or PDU Session Update Context Procedure, this information indicate to the SMF not to release and/or deactivate PDU Sessions in the Source LADN DNN, while the ACR procedure is ongoing, when the Source and the Target LADN DNNs are identified as “Equivalent”, para. 0096); and
in response to detecting the event related to the ACR procedure, initiate a procedure for releasing a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session for an LADN associated with the LADN service area, a procedure for releasing a PDU Session for an EDN associated with the EDN service area, or a procedure for deactivating a User Plane (UP) connection for the PDU Session (the SMF use the ACR procedure duration timer, and/or the alternative traffic detection timer, to determine when to release and/or deactivate the pending PDU Session connecting the WTRU to the Source LADN DNN (LADN-1 DNN), para. 0108).
With respect to claim 14, Olvera-Hernandez teaches A method performed by a Session Management Function (SMF) node (the SMF, para. 0108), the method comprising:
detecting an event related to an Application Context Relocation (ACR) procedure (the PDU Session Establishment procedure may be invoked based on the mobility event and/or the detection that the WTRU has left the old LADN DNN Service Area and/or the detection that the WTRU has entered a new LADN DNN Service Area, which tells the SMF that the Old PDU Session associated with the Old LADN should remain active; the indication is that it should remain active for the duration of the ACR timer, until traffic is no longer detected in the Old PDU Session, and/or until the ACR procedure has been completed, para. 0106) after receiving a first event notification from an Access and Mobility management Function (AMF) node indicating that a User Equipment (UE) is out of an Edge Data Network (EDN) service area or out of a Local Area Data Network (LADN) service area (the AMF pass this information to the SMF during the PDU Session Establishment or PDU Session Update Context Procedure, this information indicate to the SMF not to release and/or deactivate PDU Sessions in the Source LADN DNN, while the ACR procedure is ongoing, when the Source and the Target LADN DNNs are identified as “Equivalent”, para. 0096); and
in response to detecting the event related to the ACR procedure, initiating a procedure for releasing a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session for an LADN associated with the LADN service area, a procedure for releasing a PDU Session for an EDN associated with the EDN service area, or a procedure for deactivating a User Plane (UP) connection for the PDU Session (the SMF use the ACR procedure duration timer, and/or the alternative traffic detection timer, to determine when to release and/or deactivate the pending PDU Session connecting the WTRU to the Source LADN DNN (LADN-1 DNN), para. 0108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Olvera-Hernandez et al. (US 2024/0163736 A1), hereinafter referred to as Olvera-Hernandez, in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0330128 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
With respect to claim 2, Olvera-Hernandez teaches The SMF node according to claim 1 as described above,
Olvera-Hernandez does not explicitly teach wherein the event related to the ACR procedure includes after sending a second event notification from the SMF node to an Application Function (AF) node directly or via a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node, receiving a response to the second event notification directly from the AF node or via the NEF node.
However, Kim teaches wherein the event related to the ACR procedure includes after sending a second event notification from the SMF node to an Application Function (AF) node directly or via a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node, receiving a response to the second event notification directly from the AF node or via the NEF node (the source-EAS (S-EAS) 101 include an indication of EAS acknowledgment or AF acknowledgment in the UP path management event API subscribe request message and provide it to the source-EES (S-EES) 100, at step 502 (step 2), the S-EES 100 include an indication of “AF acknowledgment to be expected” in the AF request message and transmit a subscribe operation for the UP path management event notification to SMF, para. 0113) in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
With respect to claim 3, Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim teaches The SMF node according to claim 2 as described above,
Further, Kim teaches wherein the response indicates a completion of the ACR procedure involving a transfer of an application context from a Source Edge Application Server (S-EAS) to a Target EAS (T-EAS) (the source EAS 101 transfer, to the source EES 100, the fact that the application context transfer is completed, the S-EES 100 receiving from the S-EAS the fact that the context transfer has been completed configured to send an AF acknowledgment message in previous interactions, para. 0159; the S-EES 100 transmit an application context transfer request message to the S-EAS 101. At step 507 (step 7), the S-EAS 101 transfer the application context to the T-EAS 201 directly or through the S-EES, para. 0116) in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
With respect to claim 5, Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim teaches The SMF node according to claim 2 as described above,
Further, Kim teaches wherein the second event notification includes notification of information indicating that the UE is out of the EDN service area or out of the LADN service area (the AMF node sends the deactivation information of the PDN session for the LADN to the SMF node, the AFM node pass the value of the timer associated with the LADN to the SMF node, para. 0157; if it is determined that the UE is out of the LADN service area, a procedure for suspending the PDU session for the LADN (i.e., deactivating the UP connection of the PDU session) is performed, para. 0154) in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
With respect to claim 6, Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim teaches The SMF node according to claim 2 as described above,
Further, Kim teaches wherein the second event notification includes a prior notification of release of the PDU Session for the EDN, a prior notification of release of the PDU Session for the LADN, or a prior notification of deactivation of the UP connection (the AMF node sends the deactivation information of the PDN session for the LADN to the SMF node, the AFM node pass the value of the timer associated with the LADN to the SMF node, para. 0157; if it is determined that the UE is out of the LADN service area, a procedure for suspending the PDU session for the LADN (i.e., deactivating the UP connection of the PDU session) is performed, para. 0154) in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
With respect to claim 7, Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim teaches The SMF node according to claim 2 as described above,
Further, Kim teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a request from the AF node or the NEF node to subscribe to a service of providing the second event notification about the PDU Session (the source-EAS (S-EAS) 101 include an indication of EAS acknowledgment or AF acknowledgment in the UP path management event API subscribe request message and provide it to the source-EES (S-EES) 100, at step 502 (step 2), the S-EES 100 include an indication of “AF acknowledgment to be expected” in the AF request message and transmit a subscribe operation for the UP path management event notification to SMF, para. 0113); and
detect the event related to the ACR procedure after receiving the first event notification, provided that the request includes an indication instructing that a response from the AF node be awaited before initiating the procedure for releasing the PDU Session for the LADN associated with the LADN service area, the procedure for releasing the PDU Session for the EDN associated with the EDN service area, or the procedure for deactivating the UP connection for the PDU Session (the source-EAS (S-EAS) 101 include an indication of EAS acknowledgment or AF acknowledgment in the UP path management event API subscribe request message and provide it to the source-EES (S-EES) 100, at step 502 (step 2), the S-EES 100 include an indication of “AF acknowledgment to be expected” in the AF request message and transmit a subscribe operation for the UP path management event notification to SMF, para. 0113; the AMF node sends the deactivation information of the PDN session for the LADN to the SMF node, the AFM node pass the value of the timer associated with the LADN to the SMF node, para. 0157; if it is determined that the UE is out of the LADN service area, a procedure for suspending the PDU session for the LADN (i.e., deactivating the UP connection of the PDU session) is performed, para. 0154) in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
With respect to claim 13, Olvera-Hernandez teaches The SMF node according to claim 1 as described above,
Olvera-Hernandez does not explicitly teach wherein the LADN service area or the EDN service area is a set of one or more Tracking Areas (TAs).
However, Kim teaches wherein the LADN service area or the EDN service area is a set of one or more Tracking Areas (TAs) (the edge data network service area (region) is at least one of or include two or more of a cell list, a list of tracking areas; he edge data network area (region) as the LADN service area, para. 0051) in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olvera-Hernandez et al. (US 2024/0163736 A1), hereinafter referred to as Olvera-Hernandez, in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0330128 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim, further in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0168584 A1), hereinafter referred to as Li, and furthermore in view of Liao et al. (US 2023/0135699 A1), hereinafter referred to as Liao.
With respect to claim 4, Olvera-Hernandez teaches the SMF node according to claim 1 as described above,
Olvera-Hernandez does not explicitly teach wherein the event related to the ACR procedure includes after sending a second event notification from the SMF node to an Application Function (AF) node directly or via a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node, receiving a message instructing to initiate the procedure for releasing the PDU Session for the LADN associated with the LADN service area, the procedure for releasing the PDU Session for the EDN associated with the EDN service area, or the procedure for deactivating the UP connection for the PDU Session,
However, Kim teaches wherein the event related to the ACR procedure includes after sending a second event notification from the SMF node to an Application Function (AF) node directly or via a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node (the source-EAS (S-EAS) 101 include an indication of EAS acknowledgment or AF acknowledgment in the UP path management event API subscribe request message and provide it to the source-EES (S-EES) 100, at step 502 (step 2), the S-EES 100 include an indication of “AF acknowledgment to be expected” in the AF request message and transmit a subscribe operation for the UP path management event notification to SMF, para. 0113), receiving a message instructing to initiate the procedure for releasing the PDU Session for the LADN associated with the LADN service area, the procedure for releasing the PDU Session for the EDN associated with the EDN service area, or the procedure for deactivating the UP connection for the PDU Session (the source-EAS (S-EAS) 101 include an indication of EAS acknowledgment or AF acknowledgment in the UP path management event API subscribe request message and provide it to the source-EES (S-EES) 100, at step 502 (step 2), the S-EES 100 include an indication of “AF acknowledgment to be expected” in the AF request message and transmit a subscribe operation for the UP path management event notification to SMF, para. 0113; the AMF node sends the deactivation information of the PDN session for the LADN to the SMF node, the AFM node pass the value of the timer associated with the LADN to the SMF node, para. 0157; if it is determined that the UE is out of the LADN service area, a procedure for suspending the PDU session for the LADN (i.e., deactivating the UP connection of the PDU session) is performed, para. 0154) in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053),
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order for the UE 50 to use the existing service without interruption through connection to another edge application server, the application context should be relocated to the edge application server to be newly connected as taught by Kim (para. 0053).
Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim does not explicitly teach
receiving from a Policy Control Function (PCF) a message instructing to initiate the procedure,
However, Li teaches
receiving from a Policy Control Function (PCF) a message instructing to initiate the procedure (SMF 803 communicate with PCF 805 regarding the policy configuration for the PDU session (step 813) in case that some session context information is to be changed, e.g., data rate, duration of each active period, connect to a different LADN, para. 0086); an AF may send a BDT request to the NEF that indicates that the AF would like to create a BDT policy for a UE or a group of UEs indicating BDT details such as data size, area/location and time window, the request indicate that the policy is to be used for UE initiated communications referred to herein as a MO-BDT-Policy indication; the NEF forward this request to the PCF, and the PCF formulate a policy, para. 0104) in order to complete data transfers quickly and efficiently as taught by Li (para. 0053),
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, and further in view of Li, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Li to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim in order to complete data transfers quickly and efficiently as taught by Li (para. 0053).
Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, and further in view of Li does not explicitly teach
the message is sent based on information provided by the AF node to the PCF node via the NEF node and a Unified Data Management (UDM) node.
However, Liao teaches
the message is sent based on information provided by the AF node to the PCF node via the NEF node and a Unified Data Management (UDM) node (The AF request, for example, Nnef_ParameterProvisioning_Update request, is to provision SFC parameters for SFC service configuration via NEF and store SFC service configuration at UDM/UDR, para. 0166 and the UDM 2458 include two parts, an application front end and a UDR which store subscription data and policy data for the UDM 2458 and the PCF 2456, and/or structured data for exposure, para. 0146) in order to allow routing of user traffic to a local access as taught by Liao (para. 0058).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, further in view of Li, and furthermore in view of Liao, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Liao to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim, and further in view of Li in order to allow routing of user traffic to a local access as taught by Liao (para. 0058).
Claims 8-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Olvera-Hernandez et al. (US 2024/0163736 A1), hereinafter referred to as Olvera-Hernandez, in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0367115 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim 115’.
With respect to claim 8, Olvera-Hernandez teaches The SMF node according to claim 1 as described above,
Olvera-Hernandez does not explicitly teach wherein the event related to the ACR procedure includes expiration of a time period to wait for completion of the ACR procedure
However, Kim 115’ teaches wherein the event related to the ACR procedure includes expiration of a time period to wait for completion of the ACR procedure (If the UE does not return to a valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) until the timer expires, a procedure for releasing the corresponding PDU session is performed; however, if the UE returns to the valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) before the timer expires, a procedure for resuming or activating the corresponding PDU session is performed, para. 0159; in order to deactivate the PDU session, the SMF node instructs the UPF node to release the UP connection of the PDU session, that is, to release the UP resource, para. 0169) in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim 115’, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim 115’ to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
With respect to claim 9, Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim 115’ teaches The SMF node according to claim 8 as described above,
Further, Kim 115’ teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to start a timer to count the time period to wait for the completion of the ACR procedure (If the UE does not return to a valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) until the timer expires, a procedure for releasing the corresponding PDU session is performed; however, if the UE returns to the valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) before the timer expires, a procedure for resuming or activating the corresponding PDU session is performed, para. 0159; in order to deactivate the PDU session, the SMF node instructs the UPF node to release the UP connection of the PDU session, that is, to release the UP resource, para. 0169) in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim 115’, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim 115’ to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
With respect to claim 10, Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim 115’ teaches The SMF node according to claim 9 as describe above,
Furthermore, Kim 115’ teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine, based on a Data Network Name (DNN) of the LADN or EDN (information on the available DNN (Data Network Name) and the permitted geographical area are included in the LADN information/policy information, para. 0127), whether the timer is required to start before the procedure for releasing the PDU Session or the procedure for deactivating the UP connection (If the UE does not return to a valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) until the timer expires, a procedure for releasing the corresponding PDU session is performed; however, if the UE returns to the valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) before the timer expires, a procedure for resuming or activating the corresponding PDU session is performed, para. 0159; in order to deactivate the PDU session, the SMF node instructs the UPF node to release the UP connection of the PDU session, that is, to release the UP resource, para. 0169) in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim 115’, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim 115’ to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
With respect to claim 11, Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim 115’ teaches The SMF node according to claim 9 as describe above,
Furthermore, Kim 115’ teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine, based on a type of the LADN or EDN (information on the available DNN (Data Network Name) and the permitted geographical area are included in the LADN information/policy information, para. 0127), whether the timer is required to start before the procedure for releasing the PDU Session or the procedure for deactivating the UP connection (If the UE does not return to a valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) until the timer expires, a procedure for releasing the corresponding PDU session is performed; however, if the UE returns to the valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) before the timer expires, a procedure for resuming or activating the corresponding PDU session is performed, para. 0159; in order to deactivate the PDU session, the SMF node instructs the UPF node to release the UP connection of the PDU session, that is, to release the UP resource, para. 0169) in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim 115’, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim 115’ to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
With respect to claim 12, Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim 115’ teaches The SMF node according to claim 9 as describe above,
Furthermore, Kim 115’ teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine whether the timer is required to start before the procedure for releasing the PDU Session or the procedure for deactivating the UP connection, based on whether or not the LADN or LADN is associated with the timer (If the UE does not return to a valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) until the timer expires, a procedure for releasing the corresponding PDU session is performed; however, if the UE returns to the valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) before the timer expires, a procedure for resuming or activating the corresponding PDU session is performed, para. 0159; in order to deactivate the PDU session, the SMF node instructs the UPF node to release the UP connection of the PDU session, that is, to release the UP resource, para. 0169) in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
Therefore, based on Olvera-Hernandez in view of Kim 115’, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim 115’ to the node of Olvera-Hernandez in order to provide a scheme for efficient management of PDU sessions in the LADN as taught by Kim 115’ (para. 0062).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Kim et al. (US 2022/0330128 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim, in view of Olvera-Hernandez et al. (US 2024/0163736 A1), hereinafter referred to as Olvera-Hernandez,.
With respect to claim 16, Kim teaches An Application Function (AF) node (the AF acknowledgment may be transmitted to the SMF after it is recognized that the EAS 101 has completed the app context relocation/transfer operation, para. 0105) comprising:
a memory (memory, para. 0040); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (memory and processor, para. 0040) and configured to:
receive an event notification from a Session Management Function (SMF) node directly or through a Network Exposure Function (NEF) node (the source-EAS (S-EAS) 101 include an indication of EAS acknowledgment or AF acknowledgment in the UP path management event API subscribe request message and provide it to the source-EES (S-EES) 100, at step 502 (step 2), the S-EES 100 include an indication of “AF acknowledgment to be expected” in the AF request message and transmit a subscribe operation for the UP path management event notification to SMF, para. 0113); and
send a response to the event notification to the SMF node directly or through the NEF node after an Application Context Relocation (ACR) procedure involving a transfer of an application context from a Source Edge Application Server (S-EAS) to a Target EAS (T-EAS) is completed (the AF acknowledgment transmitted to the SMF after it is recognized that the EAS 101 has completed the app context relocation/transfer operation, para. 0105; the source EAS 101 transfer, to the source EES 100, the fact that the application context transfer is completed, the S-EES 100 receiving from the S-EAS the fact that the context transfer has been completed configured to send an AF acknowledgment message in previous interactions, para. 0159; the S-EES 100 transmit an application context transfer request message to the S-EAS 101. At step 507 (step 7), the S-EAS 101 transfer the application context to the T-EAS 201 directly or through the S-EES, para. 0116; the source-EAS (S-EAS) 101 include an indication of EAS acknowledgment or AF acknowledgment in the UP path management event API subscribe request message and provide it to the source-EES (S-EES) 100, at step 502 (step 2), the S-EES 100 include an indication of “AF acknowledgment to be expected” in the AF request message and transmit a subscribe operation for the UP path management event notification to SMF, para. 0113),
Kim does not explicitly teach
wherein the response is a message that causes the SMF node to initiate a procedure for releasing a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session for a Local Area Data Network (LADN), a procedure for releasing a PDU Session for an Edge Data Network (EDN), or a procedure for deactivating a User Plane (UP) connection for the PDU Session.
However, Olvera-Hernandez teaches wherein the response is a message that causes the SMF node to initiate a procedure for releasing a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session for a Local Area Data Network (LADN), a procedure for releasing a PDU Session for an Edge Data Network (EDN), or a procedure for deactivating a User Plane (UP) connection for the PDU Session (if the UE does not return to a valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) until the timer expires, a procedure for releasing the corresponding PDU session is performed; however, if the UE returns to the valid authorized area (i.e., LADN service area) before the timer expires, a procedure for resuming or activating the corresponding PDU session is performed, para. 0159; in order to deactivate the PDU session, the SMF node instructs the UPF node to release the UP connection of the PDU session, that is, to release the UP resource, para. 0169) in order to maintain service continuity when moving across service areas during an application context relocation procedure as taught by Olvera-Hernandez (para. 0002).
Therefore, based on Kim in view of Olvera-Hernandez, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Olvera-Hernandez to the node of Kim in order to maintain service continuity when moving across service areas during an application context relocation procedure as taught by Olvera-Hernandez (para. 0002).
With respect to claim 17, Kim teaches The AF node according to claim 16, wherein the event notification indicates that a User Equipment (UE) is out of a service area of the EDN or out of a service area of the LADN, indicates a prior notification of a release of the PDU Session for the LADN, indicates a prior notification of a release of the PDU Session for the EDN, or indicates a prior notification of a deactivation of the UP connection for the PDU Session (The S-EES 100 which received the UP path change event message from the 3GPP network, may start an application context relocation procedure, para. 0114; the EES 100 indicate the application relocation possibility in the AF request. Here, this indication of the application relocation possibility in the AF request may be an indicator that instructs a specific network function device of the mobile communication network, e.g., the 3GPP network, involved in session management of the UE to wait for acknowledgement or notification regarding the completion of the application context relocation from the EES 100 before configuration and activation of a user plane path, para. 0076).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, pages 8-10, filed September 17, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 and 16-17 under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Olvera-Hernandez et al. (US 2024/0163736 A1), hereinafter referred to as Olvera-Hernandez.
Contact Information
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
February 7, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447