Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/092300 (05/11/2022)
and claims foreign priority to CHINA 202110518639.9 (05/12/2021).
Election/Restrictions
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-8, 11-14, 16-20, 23, drawn to a product of formula (I).
Group II, claim(s) 24-25, drawn to a method of treating or preventing NMDA receptor mediated disease.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
The claimed Markush group is for alternatives of chemical compounds that are not similar in nature. Neither a significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives nor do all the alternatives belong to an art recognized class of chemical compounds. Specifically, formula (I) has A-B and R2 groups which substantially vary in structure.
Therefore, the technical feature linking the claims does not constitute a special technical feature under PCT Rule 13.2. Accordingly, the claims lack unity of invention, and restriction is proper.
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species are those of claims 18, 19, and 23.
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. Currently, the following claim(s) are generic: 1.
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
WHEN CLAIMS ARE DIRECTED TO MULTIPLE CATEGORIES OF INVENTIONS
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475(c).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention or species may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected invention or species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product, and the product claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of the allowable product claim will be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must require all the limitations of an allowable product claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04(b). Additionally, in order to retain the right to rejoinder in accordance with the above policy, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product claims. Failure to do so may result in a loss of the right to rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
During a telephone conversation with Peter Volberding on 1/21/26 a provisional election was made to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-8, 11-14, 16-20, 23. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 24-25 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant also elected the species of Compound 42 shown below:
with A as morpholinyl and B as cyclohexyl R2 3-chlorophenyl, reading on claims 1-8, 11-14, 16-20, 23.
As detailed in the following rejections, the generic claim encompassing the elected species was not found patentable. Therefore, the provisional election of species is given effect, the examination is restricted to the elected species only, and claims not reading on the elected species are held withdrawn.
Should applicant, in response to this rejection of the Markush-type claim, overcome the rejection through amendment, the amended Markush-type claim will be reexamined to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. See MPEP 803.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White et al. (US4387097).
White teaches Example 14 “(4aR*,8aS)-3-(Octahydro-4-methyl-2H-1,4-benzoxazin-8a-yl)phenol” with the following structure:
corresponding to claim 1’s formula (I) when: with A as N-methyl-morpholinyl and B as cyclohexyl, and R2 3-hydroxyphenyl. White also teaches the compound as an analgesic pharmaceutical composition (claim 10-11).
Claims 1-8, 11-14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cahoon et al. (CAPLUS Accession Number: 1974:425872, Abstract of Dissertation, 1973).
Cahoon teaches the following compound:
octahydro-4a-phenyl-2H-1,4-Benzoxazine
corresponding to claim 1’s formula (I) when: with A as morpholinyl and B as cyclohexyl, and R2 phenyl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-14, 16-20, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elhallaoui et al. (J Mol Model (2002) 8:65-72) in view of Warawa (US4046892), White et al. (US4387097), and Wermuth (“The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry”, 4th ed. (2015), Ch. 8, pages 181-241 provided).
Elhallaoui teaches antagonists of NMDA receptor for modeling the pharmacophore to aid in design of NMDA receptor antagonists which have known activity as anesthetics and potential for treating neurological disease (p. 65). Elhallaoui developed the model based on the known activity of PDHQ having the following structure (p. 66, Figs 1-2; p. 67, Table 1; p. 68)
.
Elhallaoui’s PDHQ compound differs from the instant claims (i.e., first compound of claim 23 shown below) by a -CH2- vs. -O- in the lower right ring
“4a-phenyloctahydro-2H-benzo[b][1,4]oxazine”.
Warawa teaches anesthetic compounds of the following formula (claim 2 R=H; claim 3 R=Me):
.
White teaches Example 14 “(4aR*,8aS)-3-(Octahydro-4-methyl-2H-1,4-benzoxazin-8a-yl)phenol” with the following structure:
corresponding to claim 1’s formula (I) when: with A as N-methyl-morpholinyl and B as cyclohexyl, and R2 3-hydroxyphenyl. White also teaches the compound as an analgesic pharmaceutical composition (claim 10-11).
Wermuth teaches the well-known technique in the art known as bioisosterism which is routinely used by those of ordinary skill in the art in the development of pharmaceuticals. Wermuth specifically teaches interchanging divalent atoms among -CH2-, -O-, and -NH- with an expectation of similar activity (p. 182: “Figure 8.1 reports clozapine and two analogs as an example of classic isosteric replacement of NH with O”; p. 188: “A first series of frequently interchanged divalent atoms or groups is represented by O, S, NH, and CH2 … changes can be applied to cyclic series, for example, to a series such as piperidine-morpholine-thiomorpholine-piperazine or in introducing oxygen or sulfur atoms into cyclic ketoprofen analogs”).
One of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Elhallaoui would have considered the structurally related compounds of Warawa and White sharing the same pharmaceutical utility applied the known technique of bioisosterism as taught by Wermuth to form the 1,4-oxazine ring and arrive at the claimed invention.
As evidenced by Elhallaoui and Wermuth, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the claims are prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626