Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election to prosecute claims 1-18 (Group 1) in paper dated 3/23/2026 is acknowledged. Applicants traversed the restriction because the core of claims 19 and 20 is composition of claim 1 and will not cause serious burden.
Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. First the instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/030696, and the reasons for restriction was that based on the prior art cited, instant composition does not make contribution over the prior art. Please see page 4 of the restriction requirement dated 1/23/2026. Applicants however argued that there is no burden to search claims 19 and 20. The burden of search is applied to the applications under US restriction practice. Consequently, restriction is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 1 recited presence of pigment and optionally filler. It is important to note that some can be both fillers and pigments. Consequently, if a filler can be utilized as a pigment, it will also meet the claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 15-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Instant claim 1 is directed to a composition comprising binder. Dependent claims 11-17 state that the binder further comprises as polymerized monomer at least one crosslinkable co-monomer. It is not clear if the polymerized monomer is the same as binder or in addition to the binder. This is specifically confusing since specification does not provide any distinction and utilizes only term latex which is made utilizing butyl acrylate, styrene, acrylic acid, acrylamide. As such there is only one binder and no further additives. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Instant claim 1 discloses the content of silicate to be 2-10wt% and the content of the siliconate as 0.01-5 wt.%. Claim 4 which depends on instant claim 1 states that the combined content of silicate and siliconate is 4 wt.% or more without providing upper range. Claim 4 therefore fails to limit scope of the independent claim because the cumulative content of the silicate and siliconate by virtue of term “or more” does not provide an upper range. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-14, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) OR 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brenner (EP 3 922 689) herein Brenner’689.
With respect to claim 1, Brenner’689 discloses an aqueous composition comprising [0006]:
An organic binder in an amount of at least 15 wt.% which is in a dispersion (emulsion)
A pH adjusting agent
At least one silicate
At least one silicon containing compound in particular methyl siliconate
Water glass
Pigments and fillers.
Balance being water
In particular binder is utilized in amount of 15-35 wt.% (see also claim 4), alkyl siliconate is utilized in amount of 0.05-1.5 wt. %, water glass is utilized in amount of 0.001-2 wt.%. all amounts are provided on dry basis. Pigments are listed in [0017] and are utilized in amount of 0-25 wt. % [0028] and 0-25 wt.% of fillers, wherein more preferred amount of fillers and pigments is 1-20% each in which case the cumulative number of filler/pigment is 40% or less.
With respect to the PVC while the value is not disclosed in the teachings of Brenner’689 such can be calculated using applicants’ equation as follows assuming content of the filler to be 0% and using higher ranges for each component:
PVC = (20 pigment) / (20+35+2) = 20/57 = 0.35*100 = 35 % for the maximum pigment loading PVC will be lower if lower amount of pigment is utilized.
With respect to claim 2, the composition of Brenner’689 is a paint composition which is one part composition.
With respect to claim 3, pigment is utilized in amount of 20% or less (see rejection of claim 1).
With respect to claim 5, by definition water glass is soluble alkali silicate, preferred waterglass of Brenner’689 is lithium water glass [0006].
With respect to claims 6-10, preferred siliconate is potassium methyl siliconate which has formula CH3K3O3Si, resulting in n being zero and wherein R is methyl (C1 alkyl group).
With respect to claim 11, while Brenner’689 does not disclose specifically alkyl acrylate, the term acrylate and (meth)acrylate as established in the art is a broad term that refers to the ester of acrylic acid as such presence of alkyl is implied in order to form an ester.
With respect to claim 12, the binder of Brenner’689 is preferably acrylate binder. The binder comprises acrylates or methacrylates as well as vinyl aromatic acrylates or methacrylates [0006] wherein content of (meth)acrylamide is zero.
With respect to claim 13, while Brenner’689 discloses acrylate binder, he does not disclose the (meth)acrylic acid consequently acid content is zero.
With respect to claim 14, Brenner’689 discloses use of two polymers one of which is pure acrylate, signifying that the content of vinyl monomer would be zero.
With respect to claim 17, polymeric binders of Brenner’689 include those that are purely acrylates (mono-ethylenically saturated and have carboxylate group) as well styrene which is a vinyl monomer [0006]. Optionally acrylic or methacrylic acid [0006]
With respect to claim 18, the additives of Brenner’689 include thickeners, pH adjusting agents, dispersants.
Claims 1-3, 5-14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brenner (EP 3,505,576) herein Brenner’576.
With respect to claim 1, Brenner’576 discloses aqueous composition comprising [0007]:
5-65 parts of filler as component a,
0.5-20 parts of binder as component b which is in a dispersion (emulsion),
0.5-15 parts of pigment as component g,
0-3.0 parts of alkali alkyl siliconate and 0.3-3.0 parts of water glass as component e.
Wherein all content is provided on dry basis.
Balance being water
While Brenner does not disclose PVC, such can be calculated utilizing provided by the applicants’ equation assuming binder at 20 parts, waterglass at 3 parts, pigment at 5 parts and filler at 5 parts:
PVC = 10/(20+3+10) = 10/28 = 0.35*100 is 35%.
With respect to claim 2, Brenner’576 discloses one pot aqueous coating composition.
With respect to claim 3, the composition as shown above comprises pigment in an amount of 0.5-15 parts (see rejection of claim 1).
With respect to claim 4, combination of waterglass and siliconate when combined can be at most 6% which overlaps with applicant’s range (above 4).
With respect to claim 5, by definition water glass is soluble alkali silicate, preferred waterglass of Brenner’576 is lithium water glass or potassium waterglass [0040].
With respect to claims 6-10, the most preferred siliconate of Brenner’576 is potassium methyl siliconate, which has formula CH3K3O3Si, resulting in n being zero and wherein R is methyl (C1 alkyl group) [0033].
With respect to claim 11, binders of Brenner ‘576 include monomers such as acrylic ester, methacrylic ester, methacrylic acid, vinyl aromatic [0043]. There are three options with respect to the binder taught by Brenner’576: first methacrylates, second methacrylates with styrene, third methacrylate with versatonic acid and optionally acrylate. As such the polymer can be purely acrylate. Both first and second option meet claim 11 considering how wide range of the acrylate is. While Brenner’689 does not disclose specifically alkyl acrylate, the term acrylate and (meth)acrylate as established in the art is a broad term that refers to the ester of acrylic acid as such presence of alkyl having at least 1 carbon atom is implied in order to form an ester.
With respect to claim 12, Brenner’576 does not disclose acrylamide as one of the monomers therefore its content is zero.
With respect to claim 13, while Brenner’576 discloses methacrylic acid as one of the monomers, methacrylic acid itself is optional as evidenced in the examples where the binder is based on styrene and acrylate, consequently content of methacrylic acid can be zero.
With respect to claim 14, in [0043] Brenner’576 discloses that the binder comprises at least one monomer, where at least one includes one. Consequently, content of vinyl aromatic encompassed by the teachings of Brenner includes zero as well as any content to make styrene acrylate disclosed in the examples.
With respect to claim 18, the composition of Brenner’576 utilizes additives such as thickeners and surfactants [0031, 0046, 0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenner’689 or Brenner’576 in view of Junk (WO 2019/108175).
The discussion of Brenner’689 or Brenner’576 from paragraphs 1 and 2 (respectively) of this office action are incorporated here by reference.
While both Brenner disclosure teach aqueous coating compositions which utilize binder along with siliconate, waterglass and pigment, both references describe binder component in generic manner leaving one of ordinary skill in the art open to many polymers as long as they are based on acrylate type monomers and vinyl aromatic. These monomers form polymers which are film forming polymers and contribute to properties of the overall coating composition.
Junk discloses aqueous coating composition which just like coatings of both Brenner disclosures have antimicrobial properties, increased storage stability. Similarly to both references of Brenner the composition of Junk includes silicate (water glass), siliconate and pigment. The entire composition of Junk has PVC between 20-40% and pH within the same range as that in both disclosures of Brenner. Junk however, devotes a lot more of its disclosure to binders.
The binder of Junk is an emulsion comprising at least two different monomers [0012]. The monomers are ethylenically unsaturated monomers based on alkyl acrylates and alkyl methacrylates [0017], acrylic and methacrylic acid [0019] and styrene [0018].
With respect to claims 11 and 14, at least 85% of the monomers are ester of acrylic or methacrylic acid, styrene and mixtures thereof [0020]. Table 1 specifically discloses the make up of polymerization feed 1 and feed 2, wherein
Feed 1 (on dry basis) with 702.5 grams of total monomer mixture, Feed 2 (on dry basis) with 552 grams of total monomer mixture, overall monomer weight is 1254.5 grams. (assuming 100% reaction completion)
The alkyl acrylates make up 784.8 grams total of 62.55% (meets instant claim 11)
Styrene makes up 415.5 grams total of 33.07% (meets instant claim 14)
Acrylamide makes up 18.9 grams total of 1.50% (meets instant claim 12)
Methacrylic acid makes up 9.4 grams total of 0.74% (meets instant claim 13)
AMPS monomer makes up 37.7 grams total of 3% (meets instant claim 17)
With respect to claims 15 and 16, the AMPS monomer comprises moiety capable of reacting with a separate crosslinking agent AMPS 2403 is reactive acrylate 2-acrylamide-2methylpropane sulfonic acid). Junk teaches that monomers comprising sulfonic functionality are utilized to increase compatibility of the polymer with silicate or siliconate [0021]. They are referred to as stabilizing monomers.
Instant specification further describes use of crosslinkable monomers having two or more ethylenic unsaturation groups which include [0033] such as diacetone acrylamide, acetoacetoxy ethyl methacrylate and the like. Junk states that use of these monomers increases wet adhesion properties to coating composition. As well as up to 3% of crosslinking monomers having triallyl, diallyl, dimethacrylates and divinyl functionalities.
Final polymer comprises crosslinking agents [0056] which are not part of the polymer chain. The crosslinking agent reacts with specific polymeric functionalities which reaction results in formation of a film or a coating upon removal of water.
In the light of the above disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed to utilize the polymer of Junk in both Brenner teachings and thereby obtain instant invention. Use of monomers as taught in Junk has to take into consideration many aspects of the composition such as stability, compatibility and film forming in order to achieve a coating composition. As shown in Junk all the monomers disclosed therein serve a very specific purpose that is also required by both Brenner references. Consequently, utilizing polymer of Junk along with silicate, siliconate and pigment of both Brenner references would provide stable coating composition which has improved storage stability that minimizes microbial growth and wherein binder is film forming binder.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2019/108175).
With respect to claims 1 and 4, Junk disclosers aqueous composition comprising emulsified binder (Abstract), pigments and fillers as well as combination of silicates and siliconates. Table 1 discloses exemplary composition comprising total of 395.5 parts such that when normalized to 100%, the content of the binder is exactly 50% (on dry basis) with PVC of 39% [102-103]. If water is to be included, then the content of binder is 40%. It should be noted that the exemplified composition is an example only such that the PVC of the composition can be in a range of 20-45% [0080].
The content of alkali silicate and alkyl siliconate is 0.1-4% [0070], which meets instant claim 4 of the total content of 4% or more.
While Junk does not disclose separate content for each the mixture of the two would still meet the claims. For example, if the content of siliconate was 0.1% (minimum required by Junk) the balance would be the silicate (3.9%) and both components would still meet the claimed ranges. Additionally, the obviousness analysis may “take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007). For example, the analysis may “include recourse to logic, judgment, and common sense available to the person of ordinary skill that do not necessarily require explication in any reference or expert opinion.” Perfect Web Techs., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2009). The Patent Trial and Appeal Board has held that mixing equivalent components in a 1:1 ratio represented no more than application of the “logic, judgment, and common sense available to the person of ordinary skill” in the art. Ex parte Swanzy, Appeal 2017-004875 at 8-9.
It would have would have been prima facie obvious, using no more than ordinary creativity, logic, judgment, and common sense, to combine silicate and siliconate in equal amounts (i.e. in a 1:1 ratio) based on the fact that both are disclosed in parallel as being equally suitable for use in this capacity. This 1:1 ratio falls within the claimed ratio where both silicate and siliconate would be utilized in 2 parts meeting their claimed ranges.
With respect to claim 2, the composition of Junk is one pat paint or lacquer composition [0073].
With respect to claim 3, the content of pigment in Junk with PVC in a range of 20-45%. The content in the exemplified formulation (Table 3) the content of pigment (titania and calcium carbonate) is 34%, if only titania is to be considered as a pigment and calcium carbonate as filler, then the content of titania only is 19%. Either way, the limitation of claim 3 is met.
With respect to claims 5-10, preferred silicate salt is potassium silicate and preferred siliconate is potassium methyl siliconate (claim 15) which has formula CH3K3O3Si, resulting in n being zero and wherein R is methyl (C1 alkyl group).
With respect to claims 11-13, 14 and 17, at least 85% of the monomers are ester of acrylic or methacrylic acid, styrene and mixtures thereof [0020]. Table 1 specifically discloses the makeup of polymerization feed 1 and feed 2, wherein
Feed 1 (on dry basis) with 702.5 grams of total monomer mixture, Feed 2 (on dry basis) with 552 grams of total monomer mixture, overall monomer weight is 1254.5 grams. (assuming 100% reaction completion)
The alkyl acrylates make up 784.8 grams total of 62.55% (meets instant claim 11)
Styrene makes up 415.5 grams total of 33.07% (meets instant claim 14)
Acrylamide makes up 18.9 grams total of 1.50% (meets instant claim 12)
Methacrylic acid makes up 9.4 grams total of 0.74% (meets instant claim 13)
AMPS monomer makes up 37.7 grams total of 3% (meets instant claim 17)
With respect to claims 15 and 16, the AMPS monomer comprises moiety capable of reacting with a separate crosslinking agent AMPS 2403 is reactive acrylate 2-acrylamide-2methylpropane sulfonic acid). Junk teaches that monomers comprising sulfonic functionality are utilized to increase compatibility of the polymer with silicate or siliconate [0021]. They are referred to as stabilizing monomers.
Instant specification further describes use of crosslinkable monomers having two or more ethylenic unsaturation groups which include [0033] such as diacetone acrylamide, acetoacetoxy ethyl methacrylate and the like. Junk states that use of these monomers increases wet adhesion properties to coating composition. As well as up to 3% of crosslinking monomers having triallyl, diallyl, dimethacrylates and divinyl functionalities.
Final polymer comprises crosslinking agents [0056] which are not part of the polymer chain. The crosslinking agent reacts with specific polymeric functionalities which reaction results in formation of a film or a coating upon removal of water.
With respect to claim 18, according to Table 3 composition of Junk utilizes various additives such as defoamers, dispersants, stabilizers, thickeners and the like.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/290,320 (‘320). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 and 18 of ‘320 discloses one-part aqueous composition comprising:
5-70 wt.% of emulsified polymeric biner which encompasses instant range of 5-50 wt.%
1-55 wt.% of silicate which encompasses instant range of 2-10 wt.%
0.01-10 wt.% of alkyl siliconate which encompasses instant range of 0.01-5 wt.%
Water
Optional additives which encompass pigments, fillers and additives of the instant invention. One pot composition further meets the limitation of instant claim 2.
Co-pending application discloses particle size of the emulsified binder which is not recited in instant claim 1. However, per MPEP 804 to learn the meaning of the limitation one can consult the specification. Consistent with instant specification emulsified binder is defines as having particle size o f 50-500 nm (p. 5).
Additionally, co-pending application does not recite PVC, which means that the co-pending application is not limited to any specific content and therefore broader in scope.
Claim 2 of ‘320 further narrows the scope of the content of binder, silicate and siliconate, however the narrower content still overlaps with content of the instant invention.
Claim 3 of ‘320 requires no more than 0.5 wt.% of stabilizers. Since term “no more” only specifies upper range, the lower range can be zero meeting the claims of the instant invention.
Claim 4 of ‘320 is the same as instant claim 5.
Claims 5-9 of’320 are the same as instant claims 6-10.
Claim 10 of ‘320 recites that the monomers of the binder include alkyl methacrylates, methacrylic acid and styrene and claims 11-14 are the same as instant claims 11-14.
Claim 15-17 of ‘320 is the same as instant claims 15-17.
Claim 19 of ‘320 discloses primer or a sealer comprising water without any further additives. Consulting specification with respect to what the applicants mean by primer and sealer (as per MPEP 804) pigment is disclosed to be included in an amount of 10-55 wt. % which meets limitation of instant claim 3.
With respect to instant claim 4, while co-pending application ‘320 does not disclose cumulative amount of silicate and siliconate, such amount is encompassed based on the content of each component.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 April 29, 2026