DETAILED ACTION
All rejections and objections not mentioned below have been withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 386(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. EP21174267.1, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. A claim by claim analysis indicated a lack of support for formula (Y) of claims 14-15 in the application EP21174267.1 and thus a priority date of 05/10/2022 was used for claims 14-15. A priority date of 05/18/2021 was used for the remaining claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2023, 12/26/2023, 04/25/2024, 12/11/2024, and 03/06/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitani (Mitani et al., US-20110136782-A1, 2011-06-09).
The reference Mitani teaches the following compound (compound A1-11, table 1, page 10), wherein n=1, X=Cl, R5-8=H, R1=R4=H, R2-3=C1 alkyl. However, this is not a compound of the instant claims because R5-8=H cannot all be H. This helps to teach claim 1-7 and 9.
The reference Mitani teaches the following generic formula (page 1, shown below) wherein instant variables R5-8=H can be other groups including methyl groups. This helps to teach claims 1, 6-7, 9-10.
The reference Mitani also teaches oxo groups at instant positions R5 and R6 [0023]. This helps to teach claim 8.
The reference Mitani also teaches wherein X=C1 alkyl groups [0028]. This helps to teach claims 11-12.
The reference Mitani also teaches an example synthesis and a general synthesis [0139] for a compound of the general reference formula that reacts a compound of instant formula Y “After carrying out nitrogen replacement on a dimethylformamide solution (15 mL) of 3-quinoline boronic acid (0.70 g, 4.07 mmol) and 2 M aqueous cesium carbonate solution (4.70 mL, 9.40 mol), tetrakis(triphenylphosphine)palladium (0.72 g, 0.63 mmol) and 5-chloro-2,2-dimethyl-2,3-dihydro-benzo[f][1,4]oxazepine (3.13 mmol) were added to this solution. This solution was then stirred for 14 hours while heating at 90° C” (page 22). The reference Mitani teaches the compound “5-chloro-2,2-dimethyl-2,3-dihydro-benzo[f][1,4]oxazepine" (page 22, shown below), wherein R5=R6=H, R7=R8=C1 alkyl, Hal=Cl, n=0. This helps to teach claim 14.
The reference Mitani also teaches that the compounds of the invention are active fungicides are can be use in such compositions [0001]. This helps to teach claim 1 and 13.
The reference Mitani does not specifically teach a compound of the instant claim wherein R5-8 are not all H (claims 1-14) or oxo at instant positions 5 and 6 on a specific molecule (claim 8) or a specific compound with X=CH3 but instead requires picking and choosing of variables from a generic formula. The reference Mitani does not specifically teach the process of claim 14 as it is used to make another compound of the generic formula and the process of making A1-11 (the lead compound is not described).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified Mitani to get the instant claims. Claim 1-14 only differs from the lead compound A1-11 by a single methyl group so that R5-8 do not all equal H. Adding a methyl group is obvious in those positions because the references generic formula suggest this modification [0021]. Further, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the H group for a Me. 2144.08(II)(A)(4)(c). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because the modification is suggested by the general formula and the change is relatively minor to the structure of the molecule.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified Mitani to get the instant claim 8 because Mitani also teaches oxo groups at instant positions R5 and R6 [0023]. One would have a reasonable expectation of success because the change is suggested by the generic reference formula and one would be motivated to do so to produce a fungicide.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified Mitani to get the instant claims 11-12 because Mitani also teaches C1 alkyls groups at instant positions X [0023]. One would have a reasonable expectation of success because the change is suggested by the generic reference formula and one would be motivated to do so to produce a fungicide. Further, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the H group for a Me. 2144.08(II)(A)(4)(c). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because the modification is suggested by the general formula and the change is relatively minor to the structure of the molecule.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified Mitani to get the instant claim 14 because the reference gives both a general synthesis method for the compounds of the reference invention [0139] and a specific example which is descriptive enough that one of ordinary skill in the art may modify it to produce the other compound of the invention. One would have reasonable expectation of success because one would just switch the starting reactants to provide the desired compounds and the reaction is fairly simple because it is a standard Suzuki coupling reaction between a boronic acid derivative represented by formula and an imidoyl halide derivative. One would be motivated to do so to produce the compounds of the reference invention to be used as fungicides.
The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the broad generic ranges taught by the reference but such “picking and choosing” within several variables does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Corning Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec., 868 F.2d 1251, 1262 (Fed. Circ. 1989).
However, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/129,054 (reference application) and over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/122,318. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim being examined is generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in a conflicting patent or application.
The application ‘054 claims:
This anticipates claims 1-13.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/122,318 in view of Mitani (Mitani et al., US-20110136782-A1, 2011-06-09).
The application ‘318 claims:
This helps to teach claims 1-13.
The application ‘318 does not teach any specific examples of compounds of the instant claims (1-13).
Mitani further teaches that all needed changes would be obvious as outlined in the 103 rejection (which is incorporated herein by reference).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified application ‘318 with Mitani because they both teach compounds of very similar structure for use against fungi. One would be motivated to use the example compounds of Mitani as starting points for the general formula of application ‘318 to get the instant claims with reasonable expectation of success because they are already known to work as anti-fungi agents and have similar structure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The objection to the specification still hold because the abstract does not include a use for the compounds and compositions of the instant invention.
The applicant argues the 103 rejection fails to render the instant claims obvious because:
A combination of ‘239 publication and EP’419 fails to render the present claims obvious. This argument is not persuasive because a combination of ‘239 publication and EP’419 is not a combination of art used in any of the present rejections.
The applicant argued a finding of unexpected results shown on pages 98-100 of the instant specification. This argument is unpersuasive because unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claims and of both statistical and practical significance. Since the unexpected results on pages 98-100 recite no error ranges these results are not of statistical significance. Additionally, these results are not commensurate in scope with the claims as they only show results for three other compounds that only vary in addition of methyl groups while the claims cover a much broader scope of compounds that may or may not share these results. Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980) (Claims were directed to a process for removing corrosion at "elevated temperatures" using a certain ion exchange resin (with the exception of claim 8 which recited a temperature in excess of 100C). See also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329-31, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-85 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (data showing improved alloy strength with the addition of 2% rhenium did not evidence unexpected results for the entire claimed range of about 1-3% rhenium); In re Grasselli, 713 F .2d 731,741,218 USPQ 769, 777 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to certain catalysts containing an alkali metal. Evidence presented to rebut an obviousness rejection compared catalysts containing sodium with the prior art. The court held this evidence insufficient to rebut the prima facie case because experiments limited to sodium were not commensurate in scope with the claims.). To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627