DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 15-16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 15, the phrase " a member for magnetic refrigeration" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether this is another a member for magnetic refrigeration or the same member for magnetic refrigeration in Claim 1. For purposes of examination: this phrase/term is interpreted as the member for magnetic refrigeration.
In re Claim 6, The term “high-density polyethylene” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-density” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what makes the polyethylene high-density in order to ascertain the boundaries of infringement. For purposes of examination: this phrase/term is interpreted as polyethylene.
Claim16 is rejected at least by virtue of its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katter (US 20100037625 A1).
In re Claim 1, Katter discloses a member for magnetic refrigeration ([0106]) comprising:
a tape for magnetic refrigeration (1; See [0097]: tape form) having a heat dissipation sheath (5), and
a magnetic refrigeration material (4) charged inside the heat dissipation sheath (5),
wherein a spacer (7) is provided on the surface of the tape for magnetic refrigeration (surface of 7), and
wherein the tape for magnetic refrigeration (1; See [0097]) has a concentric multi-layer structure ([0109]: several of these pancake coils may be stacked together to provide a cylindrical component).
In re Claim 2, Katter discloses wherein the concentric multi-layer structure ([0109]) has a concentric circle shape ([0109]: Several of these pancake coils may be stacked together to provide a cylindrical component) in the cross section of the member for magnetic refrigeration (See Fig. 1 and [0109]: when stacked the cross-section would reveal concentric circle shape).
In re Claim 3, Katter discloses wherein the heat dissipation sheath (5) includes one or more kinds consisting of metal ([0089]: made of metal) and high thermal conductive filler ([0042]: material packed into 5).
In re Claim 4, Katter discloses wherein the metal includes one or more kinds selected from the group consisting of Fe ([0089]: made of iron).
In re Claim 5, Katter discloses wherein the high thermal conductive filler (filler of 5; See [0042]) includes aluminum ([0043]: has aluminum).
In re Claim 7, Katter discloses wherein the tape for magnetic refrigeration has a thickness of 0.01 mm to 1 mm ([0099]: 1 mm or less thickness).
In re Claim 8, Katter discloses wherein the magnetic refrigeration material includes one or more kinds selected from the group consisting of a La(Fe,Si)13H-based compound (See [0036]: magnetocalorically active material can be La(Fe,Si)13H).
In re Claim 11, Katter discloses wherein the magnetic refrigeration material is included in the tape for magnetic refrigeration (1) in a multi-core structure (6).
In re Claim 12, Katter discloses wherein when the magnetic refrigeration material is included in the tape for magnetic refrigeration (1) in a multi-core structure (6), and wherein the magnetic refrigeration material of each core is independently different from or identical to each other ([0012] and [0022]).
In re Claim 14, Katter discloses wherein there are a plurality of the spacers (10) provided on part of the surface of the tape for magnetic refrigeration (surface of 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katter (US 20100037625 A1) in view of Kondo (US20180306470A1)
.
In re Claim 6, Katter does not explicitly teach, wherein the polymer includes one or more kinds selected from the group consisting of epoxy resin, polypropylene, high-density polyethylene, polyvinyl alcohol, silicone elastomer, polyimide, polystyrene, and polyvinylidene fluoride.
On the other hand, Kondo teaches wherein the polymer ([0046]) includes one or more kinds selected from the group high-density polyethylene ([0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Katter and to have modified them by the polymer includes high-density polyethylene, in order to improve the heat exchange efficiency (See Kondo [0020]), without yielding unpredictable results.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katter (US 20100037625 A1) in view of Nakamura (US 20200400352 A1).
In re Claim 9, Katter discloses wherein there are the tape for magnetic refrigeration (1), each of which is charged with the magnetic refrigeration material having a different transition temperature (Tc) (See [0033].
However, Katter does not explicitly teach wherein there are a plurality of the tapes for magnetic refrigeration (1), each of which is charged with the magnetic refrigeration material having a different transition temperature (Tc) (See [0033])
On the other hand, Nakamura teaches a plurality of the tapes for magnetic refrigeration (2a-2j) and along more than one section in the axial direction of the member for magnetic refrigeration (Fig. 4-5; See [0012] and [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Katter and to have modified them by having a plurality of the tapes for magnetic refrigeration and the transition temperature along more than one section in the axial direction of the member for magnetic refrigeration as taught by Nakamura, in order to expand the temperature gradient to improve the efficiency of cooling, without yielding unpredictable results.
In re Claim 10, Katter discloses wherein the tape for magnetic refrigeration is charged with the magnetic refrigeration material (1) whose transition temperature (Tc) ([0033]).
However, Katter does not explicitly teach, transition temperature (Tc) continuously varies in the axial direction of the member for magnetic refrigeration.
On the other hand, Nakamura teaches transition temperature (Tc) continuously varies in the axial direction of the member for magnetic refrigeration (Fig. 4-5; See [0012] and [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Katter and to have modified them by having the transition temperature (Tc) of Katter continuously varies in the axial direction of the member for magnetic refrigeration of Katter as taught by Nakamura, in order to expand the temperature gradient to improve the efficiency of cooling, without yielding unpredictable results.
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katter (US 20100037625 A1).
In re Claim 13, Katter does not explicitly teach, wherein the spacer (10) has a height of 0.01 mm to 1 mm.
However, the invention is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that changing the thickness of the tape varies the height of spacers. the thickness of the pipe provides channels enabling the heat exchange medium to flow therein and the thickness of the tape can be varied depending on the cross section area and size of the desired channels (See [0123-0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of modified Katter to have the spacer (10) has a height of 0.01 mm to 1 mm as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katter (US 20100037625 A1) in view of Oezcan (US20190145672A1)
In re Claim 15, Katter teaches the member for magnetic refrigeration of claim 1.
However, Katter does not explicitly teach, a bed for an active magnetocaloric regenerator (AMR).
On the other hand, Oezcan teaches a bed for an active magnetocaloric regenerator (AMR) (1; See [0118-0122])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of modified Katter and to have modified them by having a bed for an active magnetocaloric regenerator as taught by Oezcan, in order to increase the temperature span and efficiency of the cooling of the magnetic refrigeration, without yielding unpredictable results.
In re Claim 16, Modified Katter teaches wherein the AMR bed includes the member for magnetic refrigeration.
However, Modified Katter does not disclose for plurality of members for magnetic refrigeration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a plurality of members of magnetic refrigeration (Oezcan 2; See [0118-0122]), since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involve only routine skill in the art. In re Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM A. MICHAEL ADENIJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763