DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-10 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 17, 2026.
Applicant’s election of Species b, c, g, h, j, m, and n in the reply filed on June 17, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs 8-10 included lines which are faded leading to portions of the Drawings lacking clarity particularly in the area of Fig. 30A. It is unclear which portions of the lines are meant to be shown as dotted lines and which lines are meant to be shown solid lines but may appear as partially broken lines due to the lines appearing faded.
Fig. 17 shows the substrate 2B and the fifth transmission part 71b as appearing in what appears to be the same vertical plane and nearly adjacent. Based on Figs. 9-10, these elements are separate and located in different vertical planes. Clarification of locations of these elements and other corresponding structures in these drawings is requested.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “the phrase “edge face” is awkward. Correction is suggested.
The specification uses the term “rotating axis center” and “rotation axis center”. It is unclear which term “center of rotation” and “rotational axis” is meant. The specification should be reviewed to ensure the proper term is being used when these two terms are not found in the same structure. (See claim 1 below).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “rotating mechanism”, “coating mechanism”, “rotary transmission unit” in claim 1; “copying position adjustment mechanism” in claim 2; “moving mechanism”, “attaching member”, and “pressing adjustment part” in claim 3; “a coating roller pressing part” in claim 4; “fourth transmission unit”, “fifth rotary transmission part”; “imitating form” in claim 11;. “sixth rotary transmission unit”, “seventh rotary transmission part” in claim 12;. “eighth rotary transmission part”, “driving part” in claim 14;.”holding part”, “third rotating shaft”, “support part” in claim 23; “liquid supply section” and “liquid expansion part” in claim 24; and “liquid expansion part” in claim 25.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 11-15, and 21-25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
First occurrence of a claimed element should be introduced with “a” or “an”.
Second occurrence of the claimed element should be introduced with “the” or “said”.
A suggested revision of claims 1-5 and 11 follows below. All claims should edited similarly for proper antecedent basis and grammar :
“A coating apparatus comprising a rotating mechanism that rotates a workpiece and a coating mechanism that applies [[the]] a film-forming liquid to [[the]] an outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece comprising: the rotating mechanism can synchronously rotate the workpiece and [[the]] an imitating form having an almost identical outline to [[the]] an outline of the workpiece, at [[the]] a same rotational axis an almost identical outline to each other. “
2. The coating apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the coating mechanism comprises: a copying position adjustment mechanism that enables an adjustment of the position of the pressing roller so that[[ it]] the pressing roller moves along the outer circumferential edge face of the imitating form, while synchronizing [[the]] a change in the distance from [[the]] a center of rotation of the imitating form to [[the]] a contact point between the imitating form and the pressing roller accompanied by a rotation of the imitating form.
3. The coating apparatus according to Claim 2, wherein the copying position adjustment mechanism comprises: a moving mechanism that enables [[the]] an attaching member to which the pressing roller, the coating part and the rotary transmission unit are operably attached to move in a first direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the imitating form and [[the]] a center of rotation of the pressing roller; and a pressing adjustment part that enables [[the]] a pressing adjustment of the attaching member attached to the moving mechanism in [[the]] a first direction.
4. The coating apparatus according to Claim 2, wherein the coating mechanism comprises: a coating roller pressing part, which adjusts a the pressing coating roller towards [[to]] the outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece.
5. The coating apparatus according to Claim 4, wherein the coating roller pressing part comprises: [[a]] an elastic member, which is arranged with a variable force in a second direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the workpiece and the center of rotation of the coating roller.
11 The coating apparatus according to any one of Claim 1, wherein the rotary transmission unit comprises:
a fourth transmission unit that has a fifth rotary transmission part having [[the]] a same outline as the coating roller and enables a synchronized rotation of the fifth rotary transmission part and the coating roller around [[the]] a same rotational axis [[center]]; and a fifth transmission unit that enables a synchronized rotation of the pressing roller and the fifth rotary transmission part.
Appropriate correction is required.
The Claims 1 and 11 use the term “rotating axis center”. It is unclear which term “center of rotation” and “rotational axis” is meant. For the purpose of prosecution based on the drawings, Examiner is considering the term as “rotational axis”. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 11-15, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “having almost identical outline” and “the pressing roller and the coating roller, which have almost identical outline” in claim 1 are a relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The term “almost identical” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 2-5, 11-15, and 21-25 are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. Num. 8,662,008 B2 to Abas et al (hereinafter Abas).
Regarding claim 1, Abas teaches coating apparatus comprising a rotating mechanism (131) that rotates a workpiece (101) and a coating mechanism (121, 141, 125) that applies the film-forming liquid to the outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece (101) comprising:
the rotating mechanism (131) can synchronously rotate the workpiece (101) and the imitating form (112) having almost identical outline to the outline of the workpiece (101) , at the same rotating axis center; and the coating mechanism comprising: a pressing roller (123) that can rotate with the imitating form while being pressed against the outer circumferential edge face of the imitating form (112); a coating part including a coating roller (121) that is pressed against the outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece and rotates with the workpiece to apply the film-forming liquid to the outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece; and a rotary transmission unit ( roller and substrate and software) that synchronously rotates the pressing roller (123) and the coating roller (121), which have almost identical outline. (See Abas, Figs. 1-12, col. 3, lines 28-55; col. 9, lines 35-55.)
Regarding claim 2, Abas teaches the coating mechanism (121, 141, 125) comprises: a copying position adjustment mechanism (126 combined with 121, portion of 126 internal to 121, portion of 126 external to 121) that enables adjustment of the position of the pressing roller (123) so that it moves along the outer circumferential edge face of the imitating form (cam 112), while synchronizing the change in the distance from the center of rotation of the imitating form (cam 112) to the contact point between the imitating form (cam 112) and the pressing roller (123) accompanied by rotation of the imitating form (cam 112) . (See Abas, Figs. 1-12, col. 3, lines 28-55; col. 9, lines 35-55.)
Regarding claim 3, Abas teaches the copying position adjustment mechanism (126 combined with 121-122, 141, 125) comprises: a moving mechanism ( portion of 126 outside of 123) that enables the attaching member to which the pressing roller (123) , the coating part and the rotary transmission unit (122) are operably attached to move in a first direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the imitating form and the center of rotation of the pressing roller; and a pressing adjustment part (portion of 126 extending through 123) that enables the pressing adjustment of the attaching member (portion of 126 within 123 in Fig. 5B) attached to the moving mechanism ( portion of 126 outside of 123) in the first direction. (See Abas, Figs. 1-12, col. 3, lines 28-55; col. 9, lines 35-55.)
Regarding claim 4, Abas teaches the coating mechanism comprises: a coating roller pressing part (942 in Fig. 12 ) , which adjust the power of pressing coating roller (821) to the outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece (801) . (See Abas, Figs. 1-12, col. 3, lines 28-55; col. 9, lines 35-55.)
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. No. 20090202745 A1 to Pavani et al (hereinafter Pavani).
Regarding claim 1, Pavani teaches coating apparatus comprising a rotating mechanism (122, 131) that rotates a workpiece (101) and a coating mechanism (121, 141, 125) that applies the film-forming liquid to the outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece (101) comprising:
the rotating mechanism (131) can synchronously rotate the workpiece (101) and the imitating form (112) having almost identical outline to the outline of the workpiece (101) , at the same rotating axis center; and the coating mechanism comprising: a pressing roller (123) that can rotate with the imitating form (112) while being pressed against the outer circumferential edge face of the imitating form (112); a coating part (125, 121) including a coating roller (121) that is pressed against the outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece (101) and rotates with the workpiece to apply the film-forming liquid to the outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece (101); and a rotary transmission unit ( 122) that synchronously rotates the pressing roller (123) and the coating roller (121), which have almost identical outline. (See Pavani, Figs. 1-12, paragraphs 5-6, 22, 26-28, 31-35, 46-47, 50, 55-57, and 61-63 .)
Regarding claim 2, Pavani teaches the coating mechanism (121, 141, 125) comprises: a copying position adjustment mechanism (126 combined with 121, portion of 126 internal to 121, portion of 126 external to 121) that enables adjustment of the position of the pressing roller (123) so that it moves along the outer circumferential edge face of the imitating form (cam 112), while synchronizing the change in the distance from the center of rotation of the imitating form (cam 112) to the contact point between the imitating form (cam 112) and the pressing roller (123) accompanied by rotation of the imitating form (cam 112) . (See Pavani, Figs. 1-12, paragraphs 5-6, 22, 26-28, 31-35, 46-47, 50, 55-57, and 61-63 .)
Regarding claim 3, Pavani teaches the copying position adjustment mechanism (126 combined with 121-122, 141, 125) comprises: a moving mechanism ( portion of 126 outside of 123) that enables the attaching member to which the pressing roller (123) , the coating part and the rotary transmission unit (122) are operably attached to move in a first direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the imitating form and the center of rotation of the pressing roller; and a pressing adjustment part (portion of 126 extending through 123) that enables the pressing adjustment of the attaching member (portion of 126 within 123 in Fig. 5B) attached to the moving mechanism ( portion of 126 outside of 123) in the first direction. (See Pavani, Figs. 1-12, paragraphs 5-6, 22, 26-28, 31-35, 46-47, 50, 55-57, and 61-63 .)
Regarding claim 4, Pavani teaches the coating mechanism comprises: a coating roller pressing part (942 in Fig. 12 ) , which adjust the power of pressing coating roller (821) to the outer circumferential edge face of the workpiece (801) . (See Pavani, Figs. 1-12, paragraphs 5-6, 22, 26-28, 31-35, 46-47, 50, 55-57, and 61-63 .)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Num. 8,662,008 B1 to Abas et al (hereinafter Abas) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of JP H11156260 A to Tanaka Hirokazu (hereinafter Tanaka).
Regarding claim 5, Abas does not explicitly teach the coating roller pressing part comprises: a elastic member, which arranged with variable force in a second direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the workpiece and the center of rotation of the coating roller.
Tanaka is directed to coating of lenses.
Tanaka teaches the coating application tip (4) comprises: a elastic member (11) , which arranged with variable force in a second direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the workpiece (1) and the center of rotation of the coating application tip (4). (See Tanaka, Abstract, Figures 1-3, page 4, paragraphs 6-7 and page 5, paragraphs 7-9 MT .)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the coating roller pressing part comprises: a elastic member, which arranged with variable force in a second direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the workpiece and the center of rotation of the coating roller, because Tanaka teaches this structure is effective for applying a coating uniformly to the a lens substrate. (See Tanaka, Abstract, Figures 1-3, page 4, paragraphs 6-7 and page 5, paragraphs 7-9 MT .)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20090202745 A1 to Pavani et al (hereinafter Pavani) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of JP H11156260 A to Tanaka Hirokazu (hereinafter Tanaka).
Regarding claim 5, Pavani does not explicitly teach the coating roller pressing part comprises: a elastic member, which arranged with variable force in a second direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the workpiece and the center of rotation of the coating roller.
Tanaka is directed to coating of lenses.
Tanaka teaches the coating application tip (4) comprises: a elastic member (11) , which arranged with variable force in a second direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the workpiece (1) and the center of rotation of the coating application tip (4). (See Tanaka, Abstract, Figures 1-3, page 4, paragraphs 6-7 and page 5, paragraphs 7-9 MT .)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the coating roller pressing part comprises: a elastic member, which arranged with variable force in a second direction along a straight line connecting the center of rotation of the workpiece and the center of rotation of the coating roller, because Tanaka teaches this structure is effective for applying a coating uniformly to the a lens substrate. (See Tanaka, Abstract, Figures 1-3, page 4, paragraphs 6-7 and page 5, paragraphs 7-9 MT .)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 and 21-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and address the outstanding 112(b) rejection.
Conclusion
/KARL KURPLE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717