DETAILED ACTION
It is noted that the amended claims are the first recitation of the combination of ALS or Alzheimer’s disease in combination with an inhibitor consisting of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deng et al. (Cerebral Cortex, April 2019;29: 1509–1519).
Deng et al. teach a composition comprising an anti-miR-214-3p antagomir, wherein the antagomir is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (see page 1510). The antagomir was in a composition comprising phosphate buffered saline and the composition was injected into ventricles of mice (instant claim 1).
The instant claims is a compound claim and the cited reference is not required to teach the intended use of for treating Alzheimer’s disease or ALS. The intended use does not introduce any specific structural limitation to the composition.
Therefore, the claim is anticipated by Deng et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (Cerebral Cortex, April 2019;29: 1509–1519), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Jia et al. (Molecular Brain (2019) 12:104, 1-11).
Deng et al. teaches that miR-214-3p targets β-Catenin mRNA and down regulates the expression of β-Catenin protein in vitro and in vivo (page 1512).
Deng et al. teaches: The miR-214 3p antagomir was given by i.c.v. injection into the third cerebral ventricle (80mg/mL, 2μL) (Supplementary Fig. 9a). After 48h, the distribution of miR-214-3p was determined with fluorescent in situ hybridization (page 1513).
Deng et al. teaches: These above findings indicate that antagomir-214-3p reverses the behaviors that related to major depression, and β-catenin expression plays an important role in this process (page 1514).
Deng et al. teaches: our results indicate that antagomir-214-3p may improve the deficit of synaptic plasticity via regulating cldn1 expression (page 1515).
Deng et al. teaches: our rescue experiment demonstrate that intranasally delivered antagomir-214-3p exerted antidepressant effects mainly through the upregulation of β-catenin expression in the mPFC (page 1518).
Deng et al. teaches: Most importantly, our study highlights that intranasal administration of antagomir-214-3p may also serve as a means for the treatment of MDD and other psychiatric disorders (page 1518). Selection of a mode of administration is routine in the art and would have been a matter of design choice (instant claims 17 and 18).
Therefore, Deng et al. teaches that antagomir-214-3p (identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2) results in the upregulation of β-catenin expression. Although Deng et al. does not teach a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease via delivery of the pharmaceutical composition comprising the miR-214-3p antagomir, it would have been obvious to deliver the antagomir of Deng et al. in a pharmaceutical composition to treat Alzheimer’s disease because restoring Wnt/ β-catenin signaling was known to be a promising therapeutic strategy for Alzheimer’s disease, as taught by Jia et al. (title).
Therefore, one would reasonably expect that upregulating β-catenin would enhance synaptic plasticity and therefore treat Alzheimer’s disease because Jia et al. teach that Alzheimer’s brains experience synapse loss and that enhancing Wnt/ β-catenin signaling enhances synaptic plasticity (pages 2 and 3); and that Wnt/ β-catenin signaling is diminished in the Alzheimer’s brain (page 5) (instant claim 9).
Instant claims 19-22 recite intended outcomes rather than additional method steps and would therefore necessarily flow from the recited method step, delivery of a pharmaceutical composition consisting of instant SEQ ID NO: 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY ROSE HUDSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636