Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-2 in the reply filed on is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Groups I-III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a corrosion-resistant refractory material, wherein the phase of the refractory material comprises corundum and one or two or more selected from the group consisting of: CA6, C2M2A14, CM2A8 and ZrO2 , this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of “Study of microstructure and properties of corundum-calcium hexaluminate composite aggregate” to Fu et al. Fu et a. discloses a composite comprising a corundum phase and a CA6 phase. See page 436; Microstructure of composite aggregate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 - 5, 8 - 10, and 12, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the examination, limitation(s) following the phrase are not considered.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 2 - 5, 8 - 10, and 12 recite an initial broad recitation, and the claims also recite ranges following the phrase ”preferably”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
The term “high” in claims 9 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “light” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “light” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “fine” in claims 6-7 and 9-10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “fine” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claims 1-12, acronyms should always be defined in the claim as their BRI can change with time.
Claim 4 recites the refractory material comprises Al2O3, CaO, ZrO2 and MgO but then recites a range for MgO includes and a range of ZrO2 includes zero. It is unclear how the material can comprise MgO while also containing 0% of MgO. It is unclear how the material can comprise ZrO2 while also containing 0% of ZrO2.
Claim 8 recites the fine powder comprises ZrO2 and MgO but then recites a a range of ZrO2 includes zero. It is unclear how the material can comprise ZrO2 while also containing 0% of ZrO2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over “Study of microstructure and properties of corundum-calcium hexaluminate composite aggregate” to Fu et al.
Regarding clam 1, Fu et a. disclose a composite comprising a corundum phase and a CA6 phase. See page 436; Microstructure of composite aggregate.
Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658
Although the prior art is silent about the corrosion-resistant properties, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art, since the prior art combination teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding clams 2 - 4, Fu et a. disclose α-Al2O3 micro powder, CaCO3 powder and carbohydrate polymers were mixed, added appropriate amount of water into mixture. Milled the mixture by planetary ball mill for 0.5h, pulled the slurry into mould, molded, solidified, mold released, then dried at 110°C for 24h, sintered at 1830°C for 3h at last.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 5, Fu et al. disclose the bulk density.
Regarding claims 6-12, it is noted that claims are product-by-process claims. Eventhough product-by- process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 77F.2d 695, 698,227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over EP 1 178 023 A1( filed by applicant on 11/17/2023).
Regarding claims 1-12, EP 1 178 023 A1 discloses a high density refractory material contains at least about 90 wt.% calcium hexaluminate and white fused
corundum. See abstract, [0022] and [0027].
Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658
Although the prior art is silent about the corrosion-resistant properties, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art, since the prior art combination teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claim 3, a sintering aid comprising not more than about 1 wt.% . See claim 1.Regarding claim 4, Thealuminasourcecomprisesabout83-97wt.% of the mixture on an Al2O3 basis, preferably about 86-95 wt.%, more preferably about 89-93.5 wt.%, and most preferably about 90-93 wt.%. The calcium oxide source comprises about 3-17 wt.% of the mixture on a CaO basis, preferably about5-14wt.%,more preferably about 6.5-11 wt.% and most preferably about 7-10 wt.%.The sintering aidcomprisesabout0.01-1wt.% of the mixture, preferably about 0.1-0.7 wt.%, and optimally about 0.2-0.6 wt.%. See [0014].
Regarding claim 5, density of the fired pellets was determined by two different methods, the water displacement method (Archimedes principal) and by caliper measurement. Both methods revealed a high sintered density of about 3.25 g/cm3, about 96% of theoretical density. Apparent porosity was about 4.54%. See [0026].
Regarding claims 6-12, it is noted that claims are product-by-process claims. Eventhough product-by- process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 77F.2d 695, 698,227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claimsof copending Application No. 18290391 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the applications disclose a refractory material comprises corundum and CA6.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1- 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4,8, 11-13 and 15 of copending Application No. 18290389(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the applications disclose a refractory material comprises refractory material comprises corundum and one or two or more selected from the group consisting of: CA6, CMA, and ZrO2
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13of copending Application No. 18/29039(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the applications disclosea refractory material, wherein the phase of the refractory material comprises corundum and one or two or more selected from the group consisting of: CA6, C2M2A14, CM2A8 and ZrO2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731