DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 9 -12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 requires “a locking pin, slidably engaged with the connector along the longitudinal axis between an unlocked position and a locked position . ” However, this seems to conflict with claim 1 which requires “ a connector having a stem defining a stem lumen extending along a longitudinal axis ”. Figs. 1 and 2B show locking pins 160A and 160B, however, both pins are laterally offset from the depicted axis . While it seems accurate to say that the depicted locking pins slide parallel to the longitudinal axis, it appears inaccurate to say that any depicted locking pin is slidably engaged with the connector along the longitudinal axis . Clarification is requested. Claims 10-12 are rejected as they depend from claim 9. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 , 2, 5-8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sonderegger et al. (US 9,889,255 B2, hereafter “Sonderegger”) . As to claim 1, Sonderegger discloses a vascular access system (see Figs. 55-62) , comprising: a port (260) defining a reservoir (116; see Fig. 4) configured to be accessed percutaneously by a needle and including a port lumen (122; see Fig. 4) in fluid communication with the reservoir; and a connector (258) having a stem (see annotated Figs. 57-58 below) defining a stem lumen (hollow part of stem shown with tubing therein) extending along a longitudinal axis (annotated below) , the connector slidably engaged with the port in a first direction along an axis extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and transitionable between a disengaged position and an engaged position (see lines 13-48 col. 16) . As to claim 2, Sonderegger discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the stem lumen aligns with the port lumen to provide fluid communication therebetween when the connector is in the engaged position (aligned as once the connector 258 is attached to the base, fluid can flow from catheter through the base – see Fig. 55 & lines 1-48 col. 16 ) . As to claim 5, Sonderegger discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the port includes a channel (272 and/or 27 4 ) and the connector includes a rail (262 and/or 268) , the rail configured to slidably engage the channel as the connector engages the port (see lines 1-48 col. 16) . As to claim 6, Sonderegger discloses the vascular access system according to claim 5, wherein the rail engages the channel in one of an interference fit, press-fit, or snap-fit engagement (see lines 1-48 col. 16) . As to claim 7, Sonderegger discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the connector includes an abutment surface (surface of 262 and/or 268) configured to engage a surface (surface of 272 and/or 274) of the port to inhibit further movement in the first direction, when the connector is in the engaged position (see lines 1-48 col. 16) . As to claim 8, Sonderegger discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the axis extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis is one of a transverse axis, lateral axis, or an axis extending at an angle therebetween (see Figs. 55, 62 & lines 1-48 col. 16). As to claim 13, Sonderegger discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the port includes a needle penetrable septum (124) disposed over the reservoir and configured to provide percutaneous access to the reservoir (see Figs. 2, 55, 61) . Claim(s) 1 -3, 5, 7, 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fenton (US 5,178,612). As to claim 1, Fenton discloses vascular access system (Figs. 1-4) , comprising: a port (30) defining a reservoir (34) configured to be accessed percutaneously by a needle (device is implantable and configured to be accessed via cover 36; see para beginning line 11 col. 4 and para beginning line 35 col. 4 ) and including a port lumen (interior of 37) in fluid communication with the reservoir (lines 20-22 col. 4) ; and a connector (10) having a stem (12) defining a stem lumen (interior of 12) extending along a longitudinal axis (12a) , the connector slidably engaged with the port (engages with clamp tab 50, which is part of port) in a first direction along an axis extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (once fully attached, the wing elements slidingly attached to 50; which is perpendicular to 50a) and transitionable between a disengaged position and an engaged position (see lines 16-33 col. 6; since 50 is resilient it follows that wing elements could also be removed). As to claim 2, Fenton discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the stem lumen aligns with the port lumen to provide fluid communication therebetween when the connector is in the engaged position (see Fig. 4, lines 35-55 col. 4) . As to claim 3, Fenton discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the port includes a recess (24) configured to receive a body (14a and 14b part of body of connector) of the connector therein, when in the engaged position (Fig. 4 & para beginning line 64 col. 8) . As to claim 5, Fenton discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the port includes a channel (24) and the connector includes a rail (14a or 14b) , the rail configured to slidably engage the channel as the connector engages the port ( Fig. 4 & para beginning line 64 col. 8 ) . As to claim 7, Fenton discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the connector includes an abutment surface (surface of void region 24 which contacts 16a, 16a) configured to engage a surface of the port to inhibit further movement in the first direction, when the connector is in the engaged position ( Fig. 4 & para beginning line 64 col. 8 ) . As to claim 8, Fenton discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the axis extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis is one of a transverse axis, lateral axis, or an axis extending at an angle therebetween (under applicant’s depiction of axis in instant Fig. 1, it would be a transverse axis as seen in Fig. 4 of Fenton) . As to claim 13, Fenton discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, wherein the port includes a needle penetrable septum disposed over the reservoir and configured to provide percutaneous access to the reservoir ( see para beginning line 11 col. 4 and para beginning line 35 col. 4) . Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (US 2016/0354593 A1, hereafter “Ko”) . As to claim 15, Ko discloses a method of coupling a catheter to a port, comprising: urging a stem (18) into a lumen of the catheter (para 0027, Fig. 5) , the stem extending from a connector body (17) and defining a stem lumen (183) extending along a longitudinal axis (not annotated by Ko, but is interpreted to extend longitudinally through a center of internal channel 183) ; aligning the connector body (17) with a recess (recess interpreted as interior portion of 11 that receives flange 141 and 171/174) disposed on a port (11) , along an axis extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 3, before assembly) ; slidably engaging the connector body with the recess in a first direction along the axis extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 2, 5 showing 17 engaged in recess) ; aligning the stem lumen (183) with a port lumen (interior of 11) to provide fluid communication between the catheter and the port (see Fig. 5, para 0029, 0033; clear that fluid from a needle enters interior of 11 and then 20) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenton in view of Arai et al. (US 6,290,677 B1, hereafter “Arai”). As to claim 14, Fenton discloses the vascular access system according to claim 1, but does not expressly show wherein a surface of the connector that the stem extends from, forms a continuous outer profile with a surface of the port when the connector is in the engaged position. Arai discloses a connector (11) wherein a surface of the connector forms a continuous outer profile with a surface of the port (1) when the connector is in the engaged position (see para beginning line 18 col. 4 and Figs. 2A, 2B, 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a profile of the system of Fenton such that a surface of the connector that the stem extends from, forms a continuous outer profile with a surface of the port when the connector is in the engaged position . One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of requiring a smaller incision space and being less invasive to the patient (see Figs. 4-5 & para beginning line 63 col. 4). Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Kai et al. (US 5,562,618, hereafter “Kai”). As to claim 17, Ko discloses the method according to claim 15 as described above, but does not expressly recite wherein the connector body engages the recess in one of a press-fit, interference fit, or snap-fit engagement. Kai discloses engagement of various parts using interference and press-fits (see paragraphs beginning line 18 col. 5, line 51 col. 5, line 60 col. 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ko such that the connector body engages the recess in one of a press-fit or interference fit . One would have been motivated to do so based off Kai, which teaches use of interference and press-fits as a suitable way to connect different parts in a port system together (see paragraphs beginning line 18 col. 5, line 51 col. 5, line 60 col. 6 of Kai). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 4, 16, 18-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 9-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claims 4 and 9 , while Fenton discloses the vascular access system according to claim 3 (pertaining to claim 4), and while Sonderegger and Fenton each disclose the vascular access system according to claim 1 (pertaining to claim 9) as described above, each are silent to the limitations found in the specified claims and no reference was found that would have made it obvious to modify Sonderegger/Fenton to satisfy either claim 4 or 9 in combination with the limitations of the claims from which they depend. Claims 10-12 depend from claim 9. As to claims 16 and 18, 20 and 25, while K o discloses the method of claim 15 as described above, Kai is silent to the limitations found in the specified claims and no reference was found that would have made it obvious to modify Kai to satisfy any of the specified claims in combination with the limitations of the claims from which they depend. Claim 19 depends from claim 18 and claims 21-24 depend from claim 20. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT James D Ponton whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1001 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9am-5pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Chelsea Stinson can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-1744 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /James D Ponton/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783