DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liguo et al. (CN 109 103 539 A) (refer to English translation as provided).
Regarding claim 1, Liguo discloses a battery pack (see fig. 1) comprising:
at least one battery module (battery case 1) having at least one battery cell (battery core 2 and/or electric core 3, fig. 1 and pages 4-5 of translation); and
a thermal runaway suppressor (4, 5, 6, 7, 8) mounted to one side (top side) of the at least one battery module (1) and configured to form a positive pressure (“high pressure coolant in the liquid storage tank” – see page 4 of translation) inside the at least one battery module (1) when an abnormal situation occurs in the at least one battery cell (2/3) (see page 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 2, Liguo further discloses that the thermal runaway suppressor injects a fire extinguishing agent (high pressure cooling, page 4 of translation) into the at least one battery module (1) in case of the abnormal situation (see page 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 4, Liguo further discloses that the thermal runaway suppressor includes: a fire extinguishing tank (storage tank 4, fig. 1 and pages 3-4 of translation) for supplying the fire extinguishing agent (high pressure cooling, page 4); and a fire extinguishing agent supply line (cooling pipe 6, fig. 1 and pages 3-4 of translation) configured to connect the fire extinguishing tank (4) and the at least one battery module (1) and installed through one side of the at least one battery module (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Liguo further discloses that the fire extinguishing agent supply line (6) is installed through an upper side of the at least one battery module (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Liguo further discloses that the fire extinguishing agent supply line (6) is installed through a center part of the upper side of the at least one battery module (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Liguo further discloses that the fire extinguishing agent supply line (6) includes: a connection line (6) connected to the fire extinguishing tank (4) and provided with a predetermined length; and an injection nozzle (nozzle 7) provided on the connection line (6) to penetrate the at least one battery module (see fig. 1 and pages 4-5 of translation).
Regarding claim 8, Liguo further discloses that the fire extinguishing agent supply line (6) includes a line cover (the pipe 6 has its cover or outer surface and the cooling passes through the pipe) covering the connection line (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Liguo further discloses that the fire extinguishing agent (4) is a fire extinguishing gas having cooling properties (high pressure coolant has cooling properties, see page 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 10, Liguo discloses an energy storage system (battery system of automobile or vehicle, see page 2 of translation), comprising the battery pack according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Liguo discloses a vehicle (electric automobile or hybrid electric vehicle, see page 2 of translation), comprising the battery pack according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Liguo further discloses that the at least one battery module is a plurality of battery modules stacked in a first direction (see fig. 1), and wherein the thermal runaway suppressor (4, 5, 6, 7, 8) includes: a fire extinguishing tank (storage tank 4, fig. 1 and pages 3-4 of translation) for supplying the fire extinguishing agent (high pressure cooling, page 4); and a fire extinguishing agent supply line (cooling pipe 6, fig. 1 and pages 3-4 of translation) configured to connect the fire extinguishing tank (4) in the first direction (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Liguo further discloses that the fire extinguishing agent supply line has a plurality of injection nozzles (7) respectively connected to the plurality of battery modules (fig. 1, see pages 4 and 5 of translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liguo as applied above, and further in view of Nakai et al. (JP 2019-029245 A) (refer to online translation as provided).
Regarding claim 2, Liguo does not disclose that the thermal runaway suppressor keeps a pressure at a center in the at least one battery module higher than a pressure at an edge in the at least one battery module in the event of an abnormal situation by injecting the fire extinguishing agent.
Nakai discloses a battery system comprising fire-extinguishing supply wherein a thermal runaway suppressor (pipe 6 that comprises fire extinguishing agent) keeps a pressure at a center (middle, see fig.1) in the at least one battery module higher than a pressure at an edge in the at least one battery module in the event of an abnormal situation by injecting the fire extinguishing agent (pipe conduit 6 is arranged at the center as shown in figure 1 and thus maintaining higher pressure as the center).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have placed the supply line (6) of Liguo at the center as shown by Nakai such that the fire extinguishing agent is properly supplied through the battery pack in case of the fire occurrence (see Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 110 199 406 A to Golubkov discloses a battery pack 100 wherein the pressure in maintained in the center through supply line 62 (figure 4).
Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721