FINAL ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2026 has been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are included with the mailing of this office action.
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to papers filed 03/02/2026 in which claims 4 and 17 were canceled; claims 11-13 were withdrawn; and claims 1 and 18 were amended. All the amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-16, and 18-20 are under examination.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The Examiner has re-weighted all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
New Objection
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “the polyfunctional monomer is selected from the group consisting of at least … and mixtures thereof” is an improper Markush language. It is noted that the recitation of “at least” is redundant to “mixtures thereof” in the Markush group recitation. It is suggest that Applicant remove the recitation of “at least”. When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush groups, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if “wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D” is a proper limitation, then “wherein R is A, B, C or D” shall also be considered proper. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the following recitations of:
“wherein a polyfunctional monomer is added in the oil phase, wherein the polyfunctional monomer is selected from the group consisting of at least one polyisocyanate, poly maleic anhydride, acyl chloride, polyepoxide, acrylate monomers, polyalkoxysilane and mixtures thereof” of claim 1;
“wherein the acyl chloride A and/or an acyl chloride B that is a polyfunctional monomer added in the oil phase is a compound of formula (I) …” of claim 5;
“wherein a stabilizer is added in the oil phase and/or in the water phase” of claim 7;
“wherein at least one amino-compound B and/or a base is added in the water phase before the formation of the oil-in- water emulsion” of claim 8; and
“wherein a stabilizer is added in the water phase” of claim 19,
are not active steps.
It is noted that the claimed invention is drawn to a process of preparing a polyamide-based core-shell microcapsule slurry, and the “wherein” clause denotes optional language or conditional limitation. It is noted that claim scope is not limited by claim language (i.e., “wherein”) that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. See MPEP §2111.04. Thus, when and where the polyfunctional monomer, the acyl chloride A and/or an acyl chloride B that is a polyfunctional monomer, the stabilizer, and the at least one amino- compound B and/or a base of claims 1, 5, 7-8, and 19, respectively, are added is not critical and not required to be performed.
As such, given that the aforementioned recitations were interpreted as optional languages (said recitations are not required active steps), the processes of claims 1, 5, 7-8, and 19 (and all claims dependent therefrom, respectively) will be interpreted for art rejection purposes under 102 and 103(a), as having the polyfunctional monomer, the acyl chloride A and/or an acyl chloride B that is a polyfunctional monomer, the stabilizer, and the at least one amino- compound B and/or a base (respectively of claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 17-19) present in the resultant microcapsule slurry, irrespective of when and where the polyfunctional monomer, the acyl chloride A and/or an acyl chloride B that is a polyfunctional monomer, the stabilizer, and the at least one amino- compound B and/or a base of claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 17-19, respectively, are added, or in other words, the prior art just has to have the polyfunctional monomer, the acyl chloride A and/or an acyl chloride B that is a polyfunctional monomer, the stabilizer, and the at least one amino- compound B and/or a base in the resultant microcapsule slurry.
Accordingly, if Applicant does not want the aforementioned recitations to be interpreted as optional, it is suggested that said recitations be amended to active steps (e.g., adding a polyfunctional monomer in the oil phase).
Maintained-Modified Rejections
Modification Necessitated by Applicant’s Claim Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elabbadi et al (WO 2020/127749 A1; previously cited).
The Claim Interpretation applies here.
Regarding claim 1, Elabbadi teaches a process for preparing a polyamide core-shell microcapsule slurry comprising a) dissolving at least one acyl chloride and at least one stabilizer in a hydrophobic material to form an oil phase; b) dispersing the oil phase obtained in step a) into a water phase containing an amino compound A to form an oil-in-water emulsion; and c) performing a curing step to form polyamide microcapsules in the form of a slurry (Abstract; pages 2-7, 27-32, and 43-48; claims 1-16). As discussed above, Elabbadi teaches the water phase contained an amino compound A before the formation of the oil-in-water emulsion, thereby meeting the claimed step of “adding at least one amino-compound A in the water phase before the formation of the oil-in-water emulsion” as recited in claim 1. Elabbadi further teaches the stabilizer is selected from gum Arabic (a polysaccharide), modified starch (a polysaccharide), carboxymethylcellulose (a modified cellulose), anionic polysaccharide, or mixtures thereof (pages 27-28; claim 9). It is noted that gum Arabic (a polysaccharide), modified starch (a polysaccharide), carboxymethylcellulose (a modified cellulose), and anionic polysaccharide as taught in Elabbadi meets the claimed “carbohydrate.” Elabbadi further teaches polyisocyanate (a polyfunctional monomer) is added in the oil phase (pages 5-6).
Furthermore, Elabbadi teaches the an oil phase is formed by admixing at least one hydrophobic material with at least one acyl chloride and a stabilizer, wherein the stabilizer and acyl chloride can be premixed and heated at a temperature between 10°C and 80°C before mixing with the hydrophobic material (pages 4-5 and 27). Thus, the heated premix of the stabilizer and acyl chloride meets the claimed “the functionalized carbohydrate is a reaction product between an acyl chloride A with a carbohydrate.”
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, Elabbadi teaches Elabbadi teaches the stabilizer is selected from gum Arabic (a polysaccharide), modified starch (a polysaccharide), carboxymethylcellulose (a modified cellulose), anionic polysaccharide, or mixtures thereof.
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, Elabbadi teaches carboxymethylcellulose (a modified cellulose) as a suitable stabilizer.
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, Elabbadi teaches an acyl chloride was added in the oil phase. Elabbadi teaches the acyl chloride is chosen in the group consisting of benzene-1, 3, 5-tricarbonyl chloride, benzene- 1,2, 4-tricarbonyl trichloride, benzene- 1,2,4,5-tetracarbonyl tetrachloride, cyclohexane- 1, 3, 5-tricarbonyl trichloride, isophthalyol dichloride, diglycolyl dichloride, succinic dichloride, and mixtures thereof (pages 4-5; claim 3).
Regarding claim 6, Elabbadi teaches the amino compound A is selected from the group consisting of L-Lysine, L- Lysine ethyl ester, 3-aminopropyltriethoxy silane and mixtures thereof (pages 28-29; claims 5-8).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, a stabilizer was added in the production of the polyamide core-shell microcapsule slurry.
Regarding claim 8, Elabbadi teaches an amino compound B and/or a base is added to water phase before the formation of the oil-in-water emulsion (pages 4 and 29-30; claims 1-9).
Regarding claim 9, Elabbadi teaches the base is selected from the group consisting sodium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate, sodium hydroxide, and mixtures thereof (page 29; claim 4).
Regarding claim 10, Elabbadi teaches the amino compound B include L-lysine (an amino acid) (pages 28-29; claim 7).
Regarding claim 14, Elabbadi teaches the hydrophobic material is a perfume (page 4 and 6-7; claims 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, as discussed above, Elabbadi teaches the an oil phase is formed by admixing at least one hydrophobic material with at least one acyl chloride and a stabilizer, wherein the stabilizer and acyl chloride can be premixed and heated at a temperature between 10°C and 80°C before mixing with the hydrophobic material (pages 4-5 and 27). Elabbadi teaches the stabilizer is selected from gum Arabic (a polysaccharide), modified starch (a polysaccharide), carboxymethylcellulose (a modified cellulose), anionic polysaccharide, or mixtures thereof (pages 27-28; claim 9). Thus, the heated premix of the stabilizer and acyl chloride meets the claimed “the functionalized carbohydrate is a reaction product between an acyl chloride A with a polysaccharide.”
Regarding claim 18, Elabbadi teaches the at least one acyl chloride is a mixture of acyl chlorides (pages 4-5; claim 3).
Regarding claim 19, as discussed above, a stabilizer was added in the production of the polyamide core-shell microcapsule slurry.
Regarding claim 20, as discussed above, Elabbadi teaches the amino compound B include L-lysine.
As a result, the aforementioned teachings from Elabbadi are anticipatory to claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 of the instant invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Elabbadi fails to disclose a process for preparing a polyamide-based core-shell microcapsule slurry by adding a functionalized carbohydrate being a reaction product between an acyl chloride A with a carbohydrate and the specific polyfunctional monomer into the oil phase. Further Elabbadi fails to disclose a polyamide-based core-shell microcapsule obtainable by this process and wherein the shell comprises a reaction product between an acyl chloride A with a carbohydrate and a specific polyfunctional monomer.” (Remarks, page 6, last paragraph to top of page 7).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the standing 102 rejection, Elabbadi teaches the an oil phase is formed by admixing at least one hydrophobic material with at least one acyl chloride and a stabilizer, wherein the stabilizer and acyl chloride can be premixed and heated at a temperature between 10°C and 80°C before mixing with the hydrophobic material (pages 4-5 and 27). Thus, the heated premix of the stabilizer and acyl chloride meets the claimed “the functionalized carbohydrate is a reaction product between an acyl chloride A with a carbohydrate.” With respect to Applicant’s argument pertaining to “Elabbadi fails to disclose a polyamide-based core-shell microcapsule obtainable by this process and wherein the shell comprises a reaction product between an acyl chloride A with a carbohydrate and a specific polyfunctional monomer,” it is noted that the process of claim 1 does not require “the shell comprises a reaction product between an acyl chloride A with a carbohydrate and a specific polyfunctional monomer.” Thus, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wherein the shell comprises a reaction product between an acyl chloride A with a carbohydrate and a specific polyfunctional monomer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As a result, for at least the reason discussed above, claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 remain rejected as being anticipated by the teachings from Elabbadi in the standing 102 rejection as set forth in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 14-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elabbadi et al (WO 2020/127749 A1; previously cited), and further in view of Goldstein et al (US 2016/0008237 A1).
The Claim Interpretation applies here.
The processes of claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 are discussed above, said discussion being incorporated herein in its entirety.
However, Elabbadi does not teach the polysaccharide is a modified cellulose selected from the group consisting of hydroxyethyl cellulose and hydroxypropyl cellulose of claim 16.
Regarding claim 16, Goldstein teaches a process of producing microcapsule comprising mixing a solution containing a hydrophobic material (sunscreen agent), a wall forming polymeric material including hydroxypropyl cellulose, and an organic solvent to form a homogenous solution (oil phase); mixing the homogenous solution with an aqueous solution (water phase) to form an emulsion; and heating the emulsion to form the microcapsule (Abstract; [0012]-[0025], [0051]-[0077], [0093] and [0144]-[0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include hydroxypropyl cellulose as one of the wall forming polymeric material in the oil phase of Elabbadi, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Goldstein provides the guidance to do so by teaching that hydroxypropyl cellulose is a suitable wall forming polymeric material to form microcapsule, as the use of hydroxypropyl cellulose forms a stabilized shell layer that has a non-breakable feature (Goldstein: [0074]). Thus, an ordinary artisan seeking to provide a stable microcapsule with non-breakable feature would have looked to including hydroxypropyl cellulose as one of the wall forming polymeric material in the oil phase of Elabbadi, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Goldstein does not cure the deficiencies of Elabbadi as discussed above. (Remarks, page 7).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above, claims 1 and 2 remained anticipated by the teachings from Elabbadi. See pages 6-7 and 9-10 of this of office action, said pages being incorporated herein in its entirety. Goldstein was used for teaching and rendering obvious dependent claim 16.
As a result, for at least the reason discussed above, claim 16 remained rejected as being obvious and unpatentable over the combined teachings of Elabbadi and Goldstein in the standing 103 rejection as set forth in this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7 and 9-10 of copending Application No. 17312749 (reference application) in view of Elabbadi et al (WO 2020/127749 A1; previously cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in copending application ‘749 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., processes of preparing a polyamide core-shell microcapsule, wherein the polyamide microcapsule comprises a polyamide shell comprising at least one acyl chloride, a first amino compound, a second amino compound and a stabilizer, wherein the processes comprises the steps of dissolving at least one acyl chloride and stabilizer in a hydrophobic material to form an oil phase; dispersing the oil phase into a water phase comprising a first amino compound to form an oil-in-water emulsion, and performing a curing step to form polyamide microcapsule in the form of a slurry, wherein a second amino compound is added in the water phase before the formation of the oil-in-water emulsion and/or after the oil-in-water emulsion is formed.
While the claims in the instant application is silent with a protein as the stabilizer, it would have been obvious to incorporate a protein as a stabilizer in the oil phase in view of the guidance from Elabbadi (Abstract; pages 2-7, 27-32, and 43-48; claims 1-16).
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over copending Application No. 17312749 in view of Elabbadi.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-19 of copending Application No. 17416379 (reference application) in view of Elabbadi et al (WO 2020/127749 A1; previously cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in copending application ‘379 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., processes of preparing a polyamide core-shell microcapsule slurry comprising dissolving at least one acyl chloride and stabilizer in a hydrophobic material to form an oil phase; dispersing the oil phase into a water phase comprising a first amino compound to form an oil-in-water emulsion, and performing a curing step to form polyamide microcapsule in the form of a slurry, wherein a second amino compound is added in the water phase before the formation of the oil-in-water emulsion and/or after the oil-in-water emulsion is formed, and wherein the first amino compound include amino acid such as L-lysine.
While the instant claims is silent with respect to the weight ratio of first amino compound and second amino compound being between 1.3:1 and 25:1, it would have been obvious to routine optimize the weight ratio of first amino compound and second amino compound of the instant claims to a weight ratio of between 1.3:1 and 25:1 in view of the guidance from Elabbadi (Abstract; pages 2-7, 27-32, and 43-48; claims 1-16).
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over copending Application No. 17416379 in view of Elabbadi.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 17802518 (reference application) in view of Elabbadi et al (WO 2020/127749 A1; previously cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in copending application ‘518 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., the claims in the instant application and the claims in the copending application ‘518 being substantially same polyamide core-shell microcapsule produced by the process of dissolving at least one acyl chloride and stabilizer in a hydrophobic material to form an oil phase; dispersing the oil phase into a water phase comprising a first amino compound to form an oil-in-water emulsion, and performing a curing step to form polyamide microcapsule in the form of a slurry, wherein a second amino compound is added in the water phase before the formation of the oil-in-water emulsion and/or after the oil-in-water emulsion is formed, and wherein the first amino compound include amino acid such as L-lysine.
It would have been obvious to include an acyl chloride chosen from the group consisting of benzene-1, 3, 5-tricarbonyl chloride, benzene- 1,2, 4-tricarbonyl trichloride, benzene- 1,2,4,5-tetracarbonyl tetrachloride, cyclohexane-1,3, 5-tricarbonyl trichloride, isophthalyol dichloride, diglycolyl dichloride, succinic dichloride, and mixtures thereof, as the acyl chloride in the instant claims and arrive at the claims of copending application ‘518 in view of the guidance from Elabbadi (Abstract; pages 2-7, 27-32, and 43-48; claims 1-16).
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over copending Application No. 17802518 in view of Elabbadi.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18290365 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in copending application ‘365 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., processes of preparing a polyamide core-shell microcapsule slurry comprising dissolving at least one acyl chloride and a carbohydrate in a hydrophobic material to form an oil phase; dispersing the oil phase into a water phase to form an oil-in-water emulsion, and performing a curing step to form polyamide microcapsule in the form of a slurry, wherein at least one amino compound is added in the water phase before the formation of the oil-in-water emulsion and/or after the oil-in-water emulsion is formed.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over copending Application No. 18290365
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18578404 (reference application) in view of Elabbadi et al (WO 2020/127749 A1; previously cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in copending application ‘404 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., processes of preparing a polyamide core-shell microcapsule slurry comprising dissolving at least one acyl chloride in a hydrophobic material to form an oil phase; dispersing the oil phase into a water phase to form an oil-in-water emulsion, and performing a curing step to form polyamide microcapsule in the form of a slurry, wherein at least one amino compound is added in the water phase before the formation of the oil-in-water emulsion and/or after the oil-in-water emulsion is formed.
While the process of the instant claims do not contain a protein or a crosslinker, it would have been obvious to incorporate a protein in the oil phase, as well as, a crosslinker such as an amine compound in the water phase in view of the guidance from Elabbadi (Abstract; pages 2-7, 27-32, and 43-48; claims 1-16).
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over copending Application No. 18578404 in view of Elabbadi.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19138430 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in copending application ‘430 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., processes of preparing a polyamide core-shell microcapsule slurry comprising dissolving at least one acyl chloride in a hydrophobic material such as a perfume to form an oil phase; dispersing the oil phase into a water phase (a dispersing phase) to form an oil-in-water emulsion (a two-phases dispersion), and performing a curing step to form polyamide microcapsule in the form of a slurry, wherein at least one amino compound such as lysine is added in the water phase (dispersion phase) before the formation of the oil-in-water emulsion (two-phases dispersion) and/or after the oil-in-water emulsion (two-phases dispersion) is formed.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over copending Application No. 19138430.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues by requesting withdrawal of the double patenting rejections in view of the present response. (Remarks, bottom to page 7 to page 8).
In response, Applicant’s present response were not persuasive for all the reasons discussed above. See pages 3-12 of this office action. Accordingly, the double patenting rejections as set forth in this office action is maintained for the reason of record, pending filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOAN T PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613