Priority
The present application claims priority to the applications, EP 21174266.3 and PCT/EP2022/062612, with the effective filing dates of 18 May 2021 and 10 May 2022, respectively.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Response to Restriction Requirement filed, 7 April 2024.
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) and
in the reply filed on 7 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the unity of invention is evidenced by the International Search Report and that the standards that apply to the International Searching Authority also apply to the U.S. Patent Office. Additionally, Applicant argues that the different categories of invention are considered to have unity if the claims are drawn to a product and a process of use. Further, Applicant argues that the Examiner must explain why there is no single general inventive concept and that the Examiner has not produced proper reasons why each group lacks unity with each other group nor considered the special technical feature recited in, and common to, each claim. Additionally, Applicant argues that Groups I-III are closely related such that there is no serious search burden.
However, this is not found persuasive, because Applicant appears to have misunderstood the finding of lack of unity, which was based on a lack of special technical feature. Thus, the Examiner applied the standards for a National Phase (371) application and considered Groups I-III to have a common technical feature, which did not make a contribution over the prior art (JP 2011/148714: Compound IIa-27; of record, see Requirement for Restriction mailed 11 February 2026). Regarding a serious search burden, Applicant applies a different standard to traverse the restriction requirement, which is irrelevant to 371 applications. Accordingly, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 4 recites R5 and R6 form together with the C atom to which they are a bound a C3-C6 cycloalkyl, which does not read on the elected species.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group (Groups II and III), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 14 Nov 2023 and 8 Feb 2024, and the references cited therein have been considered, unless indicated otherwise.
The reference, JP 2008/008139, is lined through, because it does not appear to be relevant as it is directed to a storage system for printing. The Examiner notes the reference, JP 2008/088139, which arose in the search, would seem to be relevant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitani (WO 2009/119089, see IDS filed 2/8/2024) in view of Lovering (J. Med. Chem., 2009, 52, 6752-6756) as evidenced by and Chen (J. Agric. Food Chem., 2022, 70, 10090-10099).
Mitani teaches compounds that are agricultural and horticultural fungicides (abstract). Mitani specifically teaches Compound Ib-23, which is
, which was selected for further testing and was one of a few compounds that showed a control value of 75% or more (page 22, [0065]; [0116]). Additionally, Mitani teaches Compound Ia-61:
(page 20, [0064]), which incorporates more sp3 character. Further, Mitani teaches that many control agents used in agricultural and horticultural crops are used inefficiently against crop diseases due to emergence of drug-resistant pathogens ([0002]). Mitani also teaches that design of control agents must also take into account phytotoxicity/pollution to plants, toxicity to humans, livestock, and fish, and impact on the environment, which leads to a strong demand for the emergence of a compound that can be safely used with few defects ([0002]). Mitani teaches that the compounds disclosed therein are reliable and can be used safely ([0004]).
Regarding claim 1, Mitani is silent to the elected species:
.
Lovering teaches that escaping from flatland (i.e. incorporating more saturation) improves clinical compound success (abstract). Lovering teaches that incorporation of more sp3 character (more saturation) into a compound results in higher solubility and lower melting point in a medicinal chemistry context (page 6755, column 1, paragraph 2), as evidenced by Chen. Chen teaches that the same ADME-T principles of medicinal chemistry apply in agricultural chemistry (abstract; page 10090, column 1, paragraph 1; page 10090, column 2, paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to select Compound Ib-23,
, with the t-butyl of Compound Ia-61,
, as taught by Mitani to incorporate more sp3 character as taught by Lovering (as evidenced by Chen), because:
-Mitani teaches compounds that are agricultural and horticultural fungicides,
-Mitani teaches Compound Ib-23, which is
, which was selected for further testing and was one of a few compounds that showed a control value of 75% or more,
-Mitani teaches Compound Ia-61:
, which incorporates more sp3 character, as evidenced by Lovering and Chen. Lovering teaches that incorporation of more sp3 character (more saturation) results in higher solubility and lower melting point in a medicinal chemistry context. Chen teaches that the same ADME-T principles of medicinal chemistry apply in agricultural,
-Mitani teaches that many control agents used in agricultural and horticultural crops are used inefficiently against crop diseases due to emergence of drug-resistant pathogens, and
-Mitani teaches that that the compounds disclosed therein are reliable and can be used safely.
-Lovering teaches that escaping from flatland (i.e. incorporating more saturation) improves clinical success,
-Lovering teaches that incorporation of more sp3 character (more saturation) results in higher solubility and lower melting point in a medicinal chemistry context, as evidenced by Chen. Chen teaches that the same ADME-T principles of medicinal chemistry apply in agricultural chemistry, and
-Lovering teaches that three-dimensionality that saturation imparts also results in greater selectivity, resulting in fewer off-target effects and that more highly saturated compounds are more likely to succeed in the transitions from discovery through clinical trials to drugs (page 6755, column 1, paragraph 2).
Thus, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such
a selection to predictably arrive at the elected species,
. Thus, Mitani in view of Lovering as evidenced by Chen teaches the compound,
.
Regarding claim 2, Mitani teaches Compound Ib-23:
([0065]), wherein R5 is methyl.
Regarding claim 3, Mitani teaches Compound Ia-61:
([0064]), wherein R6 is t-butyl.
Regarding claim 5, Mitani teaches that X is a halogen (Compound Ib-23, [0065]).
Regarding claim 6, Mitani teaches that X is fluorine (Compound Ib-23, [0065]).
Regarding claim 7, Mitani teaches that Y is fluorine (Compound Ib-23, [0065]).
Regarding claim 8, Mitani teaches a composition of
([0071]).
Double Patenting
2. Claim 1-3 and 5-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5-7, and 9 of copending Application No. 18/292,973 in view of Mitani (WO 2009/119089, see IDS filed 2/8/2024) in view of Lovering (J. Med. Chem., 2009, 52, 6752-6756) as evidenced by and Chen (J. Agric. Food Chem., 2022, 70, 10090-10099). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
U.S. Application No. 18/292,973 recites a compound of Formula (I):
, wherein R1 is H, R4 is H, R5 is C1-6 alkyl, R6 is C1-6 alkyl, X is fluorine, and Y is fluorine and compositions thereof (claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9 of ‘973).
Regarding claim 1, ‘973 fails to teach the elected species,
, wherein eastern ring contains an oxygen.
Mitani teaches compounds that are agricultural and horticultural fungicides (abstract). Mitani specifically teaches Compound Ib-23, which is
, which was selected for further testing and was one of a few compounds that showed a control value of 75% or more (page 22, [0065]; [0116]). Additionally, Mitani teaches Compound Ia-61:
(page 20, [0064]), which incorporates more sp3 character. Further, Mitani teaches that many control agents used in agricultural and horticultural crops are used inefficiently against crop diseases due to emergence of drug-resistant pathogens ([0002]). Mitani also teaches that design of control agents must also take into account phytotoxicity/pollution to plants, toxicity to humans, livestock, and fish, and impact on the environment, which leads to a strong demand for the emergence of a compound that can be safely used with few defects ([0002]). Mitani teaches that the compounds disclosed therein are reliable and can be used safely ([0004]).
Lovering teaches that escaping from flatland (i.e. incorporating more saturation) improves clinical compound success (abstract). Lovering teaches that incorporation of more sp3 character (more saturation) into a compound results in higher solubility and lower melting point in a medicinal chemistry context (page 6755, column 1, paragraph 2), as evidenced by Chen. Chen teaches that the same ADME-T principles of medicinal chemistry apply in agricultural chemistry (abstract; page 10090, column 1, paragraph 1; page 10090, column 2, paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to select a compound of Formula (I) as taught by ‘973 and Compound Ib-23,
, with the t-butyl of Compound Ia-61,
, as taught by Mitani to incorporate more sp3 character as taught by Lovering (as evidenced by Chen), because:
-‘973 recites a compound of Formula (I):
, wherein R1 is H, R4 is H, R5 is C1-6 alkyl, R6 is C1-6 alkyl, X is fluorine, and Y is fluorine,
-Mitani teaches compounds that are agricultural and horticultural fungicides,
-Mitani teaches Compound Ib-23, which is
, which was selected for further testing and was one of a few compounds that showed a control value of 75% or more,
-Mitani teaches Compound Ia-61:
, which incorporates more sp3 character, as evidenced by Lovering and Chen. Lovering teaches that incorporation of more sp3 character (more saturation) results in higher solubility and lower melting point in a medicinal chemistry context. Chen teaches that the same ADME-T principles of medicinal chemistry apply in agricultural,
-Mitani teaches that many control agents used in agricultural and horticultural crops are used inefficiently against crop diseases due to emergence of drug-resistant pathogens, and
-Mitani teaches that that the compounds disclosed therein are reliable and can be used safely.
-Lovering teaches that escaping from flatland (i.e. incorporating more saturation) improves clinical success,
-Lovering teaches that incorporation of more sp3 character (more saturation) results in higher solubility and lower melting point in a medicinal chemistry context, as evidenced by Chen. Chen teaches that the same ADME-T principles of medicinal chemistry apply in agricultural chemistry, and
-Lovering teaches that three-dimensionality that saturation imparts also results in greater selectivity, resulting in fewer off-target effects and that more highly saturated compounds are more likely to succeed in the transitions from discovery through clinical trials to drugs (page 6755, column 1, paragraph 2).
Thus, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such
a selection to predictably arrive at the elected species,
. Thus, the combination of ‘973, Mitani, and Lovering as evidenced by Chen teaches the compound,
.
Regarding claim 2, ‘973 teaches R5 is C1-6 alkyl (claims 1-2 of ‘973). Additionally, Mitani teaches Compound Ib-23:
([0065]), wherein R5 is methyl.
Regarding claim 3, ‘973 teaches R6 is C1-6 alkyl (claims 1 and 3 of ‘973). Additionally, Mitani teaches Compound Ia-61:
([0064]), wherein R6 is t-butyl.
Regarding claim 5, ‘973 teaches X is a halogen (claims 1 and 5 of ‘973). Additionally, Mitani teaches that X is a halogen (Compound Ib-23, [0065]).
Regarding claim 6, ‘973 teaches X is fluorine (claims 1 and 6 of ‘973). Additionally, Mitani teaches that X is fluorine (Compound Ib-23, [0065]).
Regarding claim 7, ‘973 teaches Y is fluorine (claims 1 and 7 of ‘973). Additionally, Mitani teaches that Y is fluorine (Compound Ib-23, [0065]).
Regarding claim 8, ‘973 teaches a composition of a compound of Formula (I):
, wherein R1 is H, R4 is H, R5 is C1-6 alkyl, R6 is C1-6 alkyl, X is fluorine, and Y is fluorine (claims 1 and 9 of ‘973). Additionally, Mitani teaches a composition of
([0071]).
Conclusion
/MADELINE M. DEKARSKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622