DETAILED ACTION
In response to Amendments/Arguments filed 1/14/2026. Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are pending. Claim 11 is withdrawn. Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are examined thusly. Claim 1 was amended. Claim 5 was cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh et al. (WO 2019/009175) in view of Itoh et al. (WO 2020/032285). US 20200224069 and US 20210284888 are the PG-Pubs of the National Stage applications and used as the translations, wherein for entry into the National Phase, the specifications must be translated as-is. See MPEP 1893.01(d).
Itoh ‘069 discloses an organopolysiloxane composition for forming a pressure sensitive adhesive layer for display devices and display devices thereof (abstract; para. 0016-0078 and 0091-0102; Table 1). Concerning claim 1 and 6, Itoh ‘069 discloses the composition comprises an organopolysiloxane having an average of more than one alkenyl group in a molecule is a rubber-like organosiloxane (A1) that has the claimed viscosity, degree of plasticity and vinyl amount (para. 0017-0024). The composition further comprises an organopolysiloxane resin (B) that has a hydrolyzable group relative to all silicon atoms of 1.0 mass%, which as disclosed in the instant invention is 4.5 mol%, wherein this organopolysiloxane resin has the same M and Q units with a monovalent R organic group at the same value and can be a phenyl or alkyl group being 1 to 6 carbon atoms (para. 0025-0027 and Table 1). Additionally, the composition includes an organohydrogenpolysiloxane having at least two Si-H bonds with a SiH/alkenyl ratio from 20 to 60 (para. 0028-0040) and a platinum-based hydrosilylation reaction catalyst at a content of 0.1 to 100 ppm (para. 0042-0045). However, Itoh ‘069 is silent to A’ and the mass ratio as claimed.
The resulting PSA composition has an adhesive strength of 2.0 N/25 mm to 35 N/25 mm (or 204 gf/in to 3569 gf/in) using the test method as claimed, wherein the adhesive thickness is 50 microns (para. 0053-0057). Regarding claim 7, a PSA having a thickness of 100 microns has a visible light transmittance of 95% or more (para. 0058-0059). With respect to claim 8, the PSA is used in touch panel display devices (para. 0077). However, Itoh ‘069 is silent to A’ and the mass ratio as claimed.
Itoh ‘888 discloses a similar organopolysiloxane composition comprising A, A’, B, C, and D which have the same or similar materials as that disclosed in Itoh ‘069 for PSAs and uses thereof. Concerning the compound A’ and the mass ratio as claimed, Itoh discloses component A contains a chain organopolysiloxane having alkenyl groups that are the same as that disclosed in Itoh ‘069 and A’ which is a chain organopolysiloxane that does not contain a carbon-carbon double bond-containing reactive group (i.e. a chain organopolysiloxane that is not involved in the curing reaction by hydrosilylation), wherein the ratio of B to the total of A and A’ is 0.9 to 2.4 (abstract; para. 0017-0071). The addition of A’ and the ratio as disclosed by Itoh ‘888 allows for an organopolysiloxane PSA with improved loss tangent, storage elastic modulus, and loss modulus (para. 0062). As such, the combination would yield the claimed properties as claimed in claims 1-4 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the claimed chain organopolysiloxane that is not involved in the curing reaction by hydrosilylation and have the mass ratio as claimed for the above stated benefits.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh et al. (WO 2019/009175) in view of Itoh et al. (WO 2020/032285) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kasahara et al. (US 20170168575). US 20200224069 and US 20210284888 are the PG-Pubs of the National Stage applications and used as the translations, wherein for entry into the National Phase, the specifications must be translated as-is. See MPEP 1893.01(d).
The prior art discloses the above but is silent to the display device having a haptic function.
Kasahara discloses siloxane adhesives are used in haptic touch panels to form a display device, wherein the touch panel has haptic functions and recognizes contact with a surface for haptic feedback (abstract; para. 0078-0194). The haptic function allows for sensing slight movement and the like for specific functionality and such, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a haptic functionality for a touch display (para. 0013-0194).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 5-12, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 103 rejections under Itoh have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of the claims has been withdrawn. However, it is noted that the newly added limitation regarding A’ created a new search and considerations, wherein it was found that the previously cited Itoh reference was still applicable as a primary reference in an obviousness rejection as shown above. Kasahara is still applicable for the above reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783