DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction Requirements
Applicant's amendment of claims entered on 08/26/2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 11, 20, 22-23, 25-27, 29, 32, 34, 36, 38, 41, 43, 46-50, 52-58, and 63 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 46-50 and 52-57 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/04/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Thus claims 6, 8, 11, 20, 22-23, 25-27, 29, 32, 34, 36, 38, 41, 43, 58, and 63 of elected invention Group II are examined in this office action.
Rejections and objections that are withdrawn
Objection to specification is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment of specification to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code from pages 4 and 19.
Objection to claims 6 and 38 are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment of the claims to add a space between he term a), b), c), d) in claim 6 and recitation of the term “content” in claim 38.
35 USC § 112 – Indefiniteness rejection has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment of claims by deleting the indefinite phrase “fresh maize pollen or the amount of” from claim 6, by reciting claim 25 to depend on claim 23, by deleting the phrase “any ratio between 1:20 and 50:1” from claim 27, by deleting “(FLORISIL ®)”.
Following 35 USC § 102 analysis has been modified in light of applicants’ amendment of claim 6 to specifically recite the treated maize pollen is placed in sealable container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Anticipated by Etter et al.
Claims 6, 20, 27, 32, 34, 36, 38, 41 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Etter et al. (US Patent Pub. No.: U.S. 2019/0008144, Pub. Date: Jan. 10, 2019).
Claims are drawn to a method of storing viable maize pollen by applying a carrier and placing the treated maize pollen in sealable container for at least 1 day.
Regarding claims 6 and 36, Etter et al. discloses a method of storing viable maize pollen wherein the method is a novel method for increasing the overall viability and fertility of pollen (Paragraph, 0002). Etter et al. discloses their method comprise: (a) collecting an amount of fresh maize pollen from actively shedding maize plants, placing the pollen in a centrifuge tube (i.e. sealable container), which had equal ratio of silica particles added to the pollen (i.e. treated pollen with a carrier as silica particles). Etter et al. discloses after the addition of the particles each tube was mixed and placed into storage at 4oC (i.e. refrigerated environment) for 24 hours or 1 day (page 10, Paragraph 0093).
Furthermore, Etter et al. discloses their method comprises adding pollen from maize tassels at stage of anthesis and mixing the pollen at 1:3 volume ratio with additive from Table 1 that include Spipernat, Perkasil etc. (i.e. carrier) and they were stored in filter capped centrifuge tubes in a sealed container wherein the sealed container is stored in growth camber at 30C which showed strong viability and flowability after 3 days compared to control (page 10, paragraphs 0094 and 0098).
Regarding claims 20 and 63, Etter et al discloses preservation of pollen in atmospheric pressure of 15-150 kPa which comprise (o.3 atm = 30 kPA and 0.6 atm=60 kPA) (page 8, paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 27, Etter et al discloses pooled pollen was mixed at a 1:3 volume ratio with each additive from Table 1.
Regarding claims 32 and 38, the centrifuge tubes (page 10, Paragraph 0095) would have been fabricated from glass and tube would have some air oxygen content.
Regarding claim 34, Etter et al. discloses after the addition of the particles each tube was mixed and placed into storage at 4oC (i.e. refrigerated environment) for 24 hours or 1 day (page 10, Paragraph 0093).
Etter et al. discloses the temperature may be maintained at least about 6oC (page8, paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 41, Etter et al. discloses solid particles useful for the invention includes activated charcoal. The function of the desired result of CO2 sequestration would have been an inherent property of using activated charcoal (page 9, paragraph 0090). Etter et al. discloses pollen was mixed with activated charcoal powder at various percentages wherein the mixed sample was stored at 5° C., in uncapped 50 mL tubes. Etter et al. discloses percent of charcoal influenced both the viability of the pollen and pollen moisture content (page 9, paragraph 0090).
Hence, Etter et al. had previously disclosed the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argue that Etter’s various examples employ different storage conditions, containers, and additives that are not disclosed together in any single embodiment. For instance, the Examiner cites Example 9 (paragraph [0103]) for pollen amounts, Example 6 (paragraph [0093]) for silica particles, and paragraph [0090] for activated charcoal-each representing distinct experimental protocols that cannot be reconstructed into the claimed method (Applicant’s response, page 3, paragraph 2).
Regarding claims 6 and 36, claim language of instant claim 6 requires that the carrier be applied to the pollen before the treated pollen is placed in the container. Applicant argues Examiner cites example 6 of Etter, which discloses that pollen was "placed into individual 50 mL centrifuge tubes" and then " [ e Jach sample subsequently had an equal ratio of silica particles of a specific size added to the pollen." See Etter, paragraph [0093]. Applicant argues Etter's Example 6 thus places the pollen in the container first and then adds the carrier-the opposite order of steps b) and c) as recited by claim 6. Applicant argues that Etter does not disclose the claimed step order and therefore does not anticipate claim 6 (Applicant’s response, page 3, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant argues a 50 mL tube of Etter is outside the amended range of 100 mL to 1250 mL (Applicant’s response, page 3, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Applicant argues Etter’s example 9 applies no carrier at all-the pollen was stored in filter paper pouches without any separation compound (Applicant’s response, page 4, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, Applicant argues Etter teaches that "use of low pressure was not as favorable as storage at normal atmospheric pressure." See Etter, paragraph [0011]. Etter thus teaches away from the reduced pressure conditions recited in claim 20. Etter does not anticipate claim 20 (Applicant’s response, page 4, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 27, Applicant argues neither the 1 :3 ratio nor the 1: 1 ratio appears in the Markush group recited by claim 27 as amended herein. Applicant argus Etter does not disclose any of the specific ratios recited by claim 27 and therefore does not anticipate this claim (Applicant’s response, page 4, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 32, Applicant argues the Etter’s filter-capped tubes are not sealed containers-they are specifically designed to allow free passage of air. Applicant argues a container that freely exchanges air with the environment does not comprise a defined "starting oxygen content" as recited by claim 38 (Applicant’s response, page 5, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 34, Applicant argues claim 34 as amended now recites "wherein the refrigerated environment comprises a temperature range of 5.5°C-6.5°C." Etter's cited storage temperature of 4°C is outside the amended range of 5.5°C-6.5°C (Applicant’s response, page 5, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 41, Applicant argues Etter's uncapped tubes are not sealable containers and Etter uses activated charcoal as a separation medium to prevent pollen grain contact-not as a CO2 sequestration agent in a sealed environment. Applicant argues Examiner has not established that CO2 sequestration necessarily and inevitably results from Etter's disclosed use of charcoal in open containers (Applicant’s response, page 5, paragraph 3).
Regarding argument that claim 6 and 36 require carrier be applied to the pollen before the treated pollen is placed in the container, the argument was not found persuasive since Etter et al. discloses their method comprises adding pollen from maize tassels at stage of anthesis and mixing the pollen at 1:3 volume ratio with additive from Table 1 that include Spipernat, Perkasil etc. (i.e. carrier) and they were stored in filter capped centrifuge tubes in a sealed container wherein the sealed container is stored in growth camber at 30C which showed strong viability and flowability after 3 days compared to control (page 10, paragraph 0094 and 0098). Furthermore, prior claim limitation before amendment required the treated pollen as optional.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, it has been analyzed as 103 rejection and it would have been obvious to increase the size of the container and weight of the pollen based on the requirement of volume or weight of the pollen stored.
Regarding claim 20, Ettter paragraph 0072 discloses 15Kpa-150 kpa comprises the low atm.
Regarding claim 32, applicant does not show the centrifuge tube were not fabricated from glass test tube.
Regarding claim 34, Etter et al. discloses storing in temperature as low as 2-70C that double the germinability of pollen (page 1, paragraph 007). Etter et al. discloses the temperature may be maintained at least about 6oC (page8, paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 41, the term “sealable” would only mean capable of being sealed, Etter et al.’s tubes were capable of any kind of sealing.
Therefore, the anticipation rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Obvious over Etter et al. and further in view of Maeda et al. and Kaiping et al.
Claims 8, 11, 22-23, 25-26 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etter et al. and further in view of Maeda et al. (Japanese patent publication no: JPS63317039A, Publication date: 1988-12-26) (Previously presented) and further in view of Kaiping et al. ( Published: 2019, Journal: Journal of Physics: Conference Series 1347 (2019) 012121 IOP Publishing doi:10.1088/1742-6596/1347/1/012121).
Claims are drawn to a method of storing viable maize pollen by applying a carrier and placing the maize pollen or the treated maize pollen in sealable container for at least 1 day. The claims are further drawn wherein the carrier is stainless steel powder.
Regarding claim 6, Etter et al. teaches a method of storing viable maize pollen in a sealable container and storing at 4oC (i.e. refrigerated environment) for 24 hours or 1 day, see analysis above.
Regarding claim 8, Etter et al. teaches the control samples and sample mixtures were stored in filter capped 50 mL centrifuge tubes, the filter caps have a mesh element that allows passage of air without spilling the pollen); and (e) storing the product of step d) in a refrigerated environment (page 10, Paragraph 0095).
Etter et al. further teaches 100 ML containers (page 10, paragraph 0095, page 13, paragraph 0121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled in the art to put in larger size for example 100 ML containers since for example claims 2-5 teaches storing pollen and larger weight of pollen obviously would require larger size containers.
Regarding claim 11, Etter et al discloses collection 1.75 g or over 3 gms of fresh pollen (page 11, paragraph 0103).
Therefore, storing such an amount of pollen with the method stated on page 10, paragraph 0094 is within the skill of the art based on the requirements of pollen to be stored.
Regarding claims 22-23 and 25-26, it would have been obvious because the metallic powder would have been considered a design choice. Etter et al. teach that different additives were used to test for improved flowability of pollen for use in mechanical application of the pollen in a field setting at paragraph [0099]. Etter et al. states at paragraph [0068] that “Routine experimentation can be conducted in accordance with examples 4 and 5 to determine the best particle or particle blend for storage purposes”.
Maeda et al. teaches use of deoxidation agent to make vegetable or fruit fresh for example metal powder a ferrous compounds as iron (i.e. stain steel powder), ferrous oxide which absorb oxygen by reacting with oxygen and are oxygen scavengers to keep the vegetable and fruit fresh (page 2, paragraph 9).
Kaiping et al. teaches stainless steel powder of size on average of 10µm (page 3, Figure 3) which are considered of fine sized powder (page 2, paragraph 3). Therefor someone skilled in the art would find out the specific suitable size by routine experimentation to find such available fine sized powder to be useful in storing method.
According to section 2144.05 of the MPEP, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective date of filling of the invention from some teaching, suggestion and motivation from Etter et al. to use metallic powder for example stainless steel powder in the method of storing viable maize pollen to keep the maize pollen fresh longer as suggested by Maeda et al. that the ferrous metal powder or ferrous oxide (i.e. stainless steel powder) would keep the freshness of fruit, vegetable or flowers or the living cells such as pollens to be viable longer. Furthermore, such metal powder would have size of 10µm as such fine sized stainless steel powder were known in the art as taught by Kaiping et al.
Regarding claims 22 and 43, the claims would have been prima facie obvious over the teachings of Etter et al. who teach using an amorphous silica in page 10, Table 2 Sipernat ® 340 which has 20-micron average particle size. While Etter et al. do not teach crystalline silica, Sipernat ® 340 would have been considered a functional equivalent to the crystalline silica of instant claim 5.
Obvious over Etter et al. and further in view of Albertsen et al. and Gawthami et al.
Claims 6 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etter et al., and further in view of Gawthami et al. (Published: 2019, Publication: International Training on In Vitro and Cryopreservation Approaches for Conservation of PGR, ICAR-NBPGR, New Delhi, India).
Claims are drawn to a method of storing viable maize pollen by applying a carrier and placing the maize pollen or the treated maize pollen in sealable container for at least 1 day. The claims are further drawn wherein the container is aluminum tray.
Regarding claim 6, Etter et al. teaches a method of storing viable maize pollen in a sealable container and storing at 4oC (i.e. refrigerated environment) for 24 hours or 1 day, see analysis above.
Regarding claim 29, Etter et al. teaches “Chamber" is used herein to mean an enclosure suitable for containing and storing pollen (page 4, paragraph 0035). Etter et al. teaches chamber can vary in size and material of construction (page5, paragraph 0053).
Etter et al. does not teach suitable container comprise a aluminum tray.
Gowthami et al. teaches storing pollen in aluminum packets (page 54, 5) for example collected from Allium species inflorescence (page 55, first paragraph)
Thus, it would have been obvious before effective date of filling of invention from some teaching, suggestions and motivation of Etter et al. to place it in a chamber or enclosures for storing pollen and of further motivation from Gowthami et al. to use known method of using container of aluminum packets or tray in a refrigerated condition leading to predictable method of improving viability of maize pollen.
Obvious over Etter et al. and further in view of Albertsen et al.
Claims 6 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etter et al. and further in view of Albertsen et al. (US patent application Pub. No.: U.S. 2016/0010109, Pub. Date: Jan. 14, 2016).
Claims are drawn to a method of storing viable maize pollen by applying a carrier and placing the maize pollen or the treated maize pollen in sealable container for at least 1 day. The claims are further drawn wherein the maize pollen is transgenic maize pollen comprising even GA21 etc.
Regarding claim 6, Etter et al. teaches a method of storing viable maize pollen in a sealable container and storing at 4oC (i.e. refrigerated environment) for 24 hours or 1 day, see analysis above.
Regarding claim 58, it would have been obvious to modify the teachings of Etter et al. in view of Albertsen et al. who teach that before the effective filing date of the instant claims it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine events Bt11, GA21 and MIR162 in a corn plant (page 7, paragraph 0076). It would have been obvious that such corn plants would comprise the transgenes in the pollen, especially if the plant was homozygous for each of the transgenes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Etter nowhere discloses or suggests metallic powder as a separation compound for pollen storage and Maeda iron based compounds are fundamentally incompatible with Etter's requirements (Applicant’s response, page6, paragraphs 2-3). Applicant argues the Maeda’s iron contradicts Etter’s express requirement that solid particles be "non-reactive" so that "the pollen is essentially unaffected by the particles." See Etter, paragraph [0066]. Applicant argues a skilled artisan would not combine an oxygen-scavenging reactive metal powder with Etter's method that expressly requires nonreactive. Applicant argues the proposed modification would change Etter's principle of operation from physical separation using inert particles to chemical oxygen scavenging using reactive metals particles (Applicant’s response, page6, paragraphs 3).
Applicant argues Kiaping does not disclose a 10 μm average particle size as recited by claim 25. Applicant argues Kaiping discloses a "coarse-sized distribution range from 15 to 53 μm with a median diameter of 39.1 μm, and a fine-sized distribution range from 10 to 38 μm with a median diameter of 15.5 μm." See Kaiping, page 2. Neither the 39.1 μm nor the 15.5 μm median diameters disclosed by Kaiping correspond to the 111 0μm spherical on average" recited by claim 25 as amended (Applicant’s response, pages 6 and 7, last and first paragraphs).
Applicant argues Kaiping teaches away from using fine-sized powder for flowability applications. Applicant argues Kaiping expressly states that "the fine-sized alloy powder would result in the poor powder spreading uniformity" and that "fine-sized powder, with the large specific surface, is easy to bond with the coarse-sized powder wherein Etter, by contrast, requires good flowability for mechanical application of pollen. See Etter, paragraph [0099] (Applicant’s response, page 7, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 43, applicant argues Amorphous silica and crystalline silica (i.e. Ettter’s Sipemat® 340) are structurally distinct materials with different properties and Etter's 20-micron particle size differs from the 10-micrometer particle size recited by claim 43 as amended (Applicant’s response, page 7, paragraph 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 29, Gawthami does not disclose aluminum trays. Applicant argues Gawthami teaches cryopreservation in liquid nitrogen at - 196°C and not as recited in claim 34 with temperature of 5.5-6.5°C (Applicant’s response, page 7, last paragraph).
Regarding claims 6 and 58, Albertsen does not address pollen storage methods and therefore cannot cure Etter's failure to disclose the method of claim 6 as amended (Applicant’s response, page 8, paragraph 4).
Regarding argument on Etter nowhere discloses or suggests metallic powder as a separation compound for pollen storage, Etter et al. on claim 13-14 teaches any substance with larger than pollen grains and include varying sizes. Maeda et al. teaches use of deoxidation agent to make vegetable or fruit fresh for example metal powder a ferrous compounds as iron (i.e. stain steel powder), ferrous oxide which absorb oxygen by reacting with oxygen and are oxygen scavengers to keep the vegetable and fruit fresh (page 2, paragraph 9). Therefore, someone skilled in the art would use metal particles of varying size to store pollen. The varying sizes were shown by Kaiping.
Furthermore, aluminum tray were known to preserve the fresh tissue as pollen shown by Gawthami and Albertson showed the maize plant with transgenic events.
Therefore the rejection has been maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 6, 8, 11, 22-23, 25, 27, 34, 41, 43, and 58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 17, 5-6, 15, 32, 20, 36 and 38 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18861930 (Hereafter referenced as Application ‘930).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 6 and 36, Application ‘930 claims 1 and 2 recite method of storing viable maize pollen comprising collecting fresh pollen, applying carrier, placing the fresh pollen or maize pollen in a sealable container, sealing the container and storing the pollen which will be viable for at least 1 days.
Regarding claim 8, Application ‘930 claim 17 recite container size of 1250mL.
Regarding claim 11, Application ‘930 claim 3 recites amount of fresh pollen of maize is 2 grams to 1kg..
Regarding claims 22 and 43, Application ‘930 claims 5 and 6 recite the carrier is crystalline silica, talc etc. with size of average 10 nanometer.
Regarding claims 23 and 25, Application ‘930 claims 5 and 10 recite the carrier is a metallic oxide powder, a metallic powder with size of 10 micrometer.
Regarding claim 27, Application ‘930 claim 15 recite the pollen: carrier ration is 1:2o etc.
Regarding claim 34, Application ‘930 claim 32 recite the refrigerated environment comprise temperature of 5.50C-6.50C etc.
Regarding claim 41, Application ‘930 claim 20 recite the container comprise a CO2 sequestration agent for example charcoal etc.
Regarding claim 58, Application ‘930 claim 36 and 38 recite the maize pollen is transgenic maize pollen for event GA21 etc.
Claims 6, 20 and 63 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18861930 (Hereafter referenced as Application ‘930) and in view of Etter et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 6, Application ‘930 claim 1 recite method of storing viable maize pollen comprising collecting fresh pollen, applying carrier, placing the fresh pollen or maize pollen in a sealable container, sealing the container and storing the pollen which will be viable for at least 1 days.
Regarding claims 20 and 63, Application ‘930 does note teach preservation of pollen in specific atmospheric pressure.
Etter et al teaches preservation of pollen in atmospheric pressure of 15-150 kPa which comprise (o.3 atm = 30 kPA and 0.6 atm=60 kPA) (page 8, paragraph 0072).
Regarding claims 32 and 38, the glass centrifuge tubes taught by Etter et al. (page 10, Paragraph 0095) would have been fabricated from glass and tube would have some air oxygen content.
Furthermore, the glass centrifuge tubes were known in the art.
Claims 6 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18861930 (Hereafter referenced as Application ‘930) and in view of Maeda et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 6, Application ‘930 claim 1 recite method of storing viable maize pollen comprising collecting fresh pollen, applying carrier, placing the fresh pollen or maize pollen in a sealable container, sealing the container and storing the pollen which will be viable for at least 1 days.
Application ‘930 claim 5 recite the carrier is metallic powder.
Regarding claim 26, Application ‘930 does not teach metallic powder is a stainless steel powder of size 10µm.
Maeda et al. teaches use of deoxidation agent to make vegetable or fruit fresh for example by use of metal powder a ferrous compounds as iron (i.e. stain steel powder), ferrous oxide which absorb oxygen by reacting with oxygen and are oxygen scavengers to keep the vegetable and fruit fresh (page 2, paragraph 9).
Kaiping et al. teaches stainless steel powder of size on average of 10µm (page 3, Figure 3) which are considered of fine sized powder (page 2, paragraph 3). Therefor someone skilled in the art would find out the specific suitable size by routine experimentation as showed in example 5 to find such available fine sized powder to be useful in storing method.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use a stainless steel powder in the method of storing viable maize pollen to keep the maize pollen fresh longer as suggested by Maeda et al. in the method of storing of Application ‘930, that the ferrous metal powder or ferrous oxide (i.e. stainless steel powder) would keep the freshness of fruit, vegetable or flowers or the living cells such as pollens to be viable longer.
Claims 6 and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18861930 (Hereafter referenced as Application ‘930) and in view of Gowthami et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 6, Application ‘930 claim 1 recite method of storing viable maize pollen comprising collecting fresh pollen, applying carrier, placing the fresh pollen or maize pollen in a sealable container, sealing the container and storing the pollen which will be viable for at least 1 days.
Regarding claim 29, Application ‘930 does not teach the container is an aluminum tray.
Gowthami et al. teaches storing pollen in aluminum packets (page 54, 5) for example collected from Allium species inflorescence (page 55, first paragraph)
Thus, it would have been obvious before effective date of filling of invention from some teaching, suggestions and motivation in Application ‘930 to place it in a container for storing pollen and further motivation from Gowthami et al. to use known method of using container of aluminum packets or tray in refrigerated condition leading to predictable method of improving viability of maize pollen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Application '930 claim 1 recite "sealing the container with a breathable barrier" that allow gas exchange wherein the instant claim 6 recites sealable container. Applicant argues dependent claims 20, 38, and 41 recite features directed to reduced vessel pressure "between approximately 0.6 atm and 0.3 atm," a "starting oxygen content," and a "CO2 sequestration agent"-features that are incompatible with Application '930's breathable barrier approach and that distinguish the claimed methods (Applicant’s argument, page 9, first paragraph).
Regarding the rejection of claims 6, 20, and 63, applicant argues Etter teaches away from the reduced pressure conditions recited in claims 20 and 63 (Applicant’s argument, page 9, paragraph 2).
Regarding the rejection of claims 6 and 26 over Application '930 in view of Maeda, Applicant argues the Application '930 does not teach metallic powder is a stainless steel powder of size 10 μm and Kaiping does not disclose a 10 μm average particle size as recited by claim 25-Kaiping's disclosed median diameters are 39.1 μm and 15.5 μm. See Kaiping, page 2 63 (Applicant’s argument, page 9, paragraph 3).
Regarding the rejection of claims 6 and 29 over Application '930 in view of Gavvthami, Applicant argues Gawthami discloses aluminum packets and pouches for cryopreservation in liquid nitrogen at -196°C-not aluminum trays for refrigerated storage as recited by claim 29 (Applicant’s argument, page 9, second to last paragraph).
Regarding argument on Etter nowhere discloses or suggests metallic powder as a separation compound for pollen storage, Etter et al. on claim 13-14 teaches any substance with larger than pollen grains and include varying sizes. Maeda et al. teaches use of deoxidation agent to make vegetable or fruit fresh for example metal powder a ferrous compounds as iron (i.e. stain steel powder), ferrous oxide which absorb oxygen by reacting with oxygen and are oxygen scavengers to keep the vegetable and fruit fresh (page 2, paragraph 9). Therefore, someone skilled in the art would use metal particles of varying size to store pollen. The varying sizes were shown by Kaiping.
Furthermore, aluminum tray were known to preserve the fresh tissue as pollen shown by Gawthami and Albertson showed the maize plant with transgenic events.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Contact Information
/SANTOSH SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/DAVID H KRUSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663