DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2023 and 01/21/2026 are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 2, 5, 7, 21, 24, and 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With respect to claim 2, the phrase “preferably comprising a second axis sensor” renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is not apparent whether the second axis sensor is a required element of the claim or merely optional subject matter. Claims must positively recite the metes and bounds of the invention. Applicant should amend claim 2 to either affirmatively require the second axis sensor or delete the optional language. With respect to claim 5, the phrase “the first sensor preferably is an optical sensor” renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is not apparent whether the optical-sensor feature is required by the claim. Applicant should amend the claim to positively recite the feature if intended to be required, or remove the optional/preferential language. With respect to claim 7, the phrase “preferably comprising at least one additional sensor” renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is not apparent whether the additional sensor is required. Applicant should amend the claim to clearly state whether the additional sensor is part of the claimed invention. With respect to claim 21, the claim recites receiving input signals from “the first axis sensor (31a) and the second axis sensor (31b)” without proper antecedent basis. Claim 21 depends from claim 19, which recites only a first sensor. It is therefore unclear whether claim 21 is intended to require only the first sensor of claim 19, or instead the first axis sensor and second axis sensor associated with the two-axis embodiment. If applicant intends to claim the two-axis embodiment, claim 21 should be amended to depend from claim 20 and/or rewritten to provide proper antecedent basis. With respect to claim 22, the phrase “the determined combined angular position” lacks proper antecedent basis because claim 22 depends from claim 19, which recites determining an angular position, but not a combined angular position. In addition, the phrases “optionally determining” and “optionally, sending” render the scope of the claim uncertain because it is unclear whether those recited steps are required. Applicant should amend the claim to positively recite the steps that are intended to be required and to provide proper antecedent basis for “combined angular position,” such as by depending from claim 20 if appropriate. With respect to claim 24, the phrase “optionally also determining” renders the scope of the claim uncertain because it is unclear whether the recited determination is required by the claim. Applicant should amend the claim to affirmatively recite the step if it is intended to be part of the claimed method, or remove the optional language. With respect to claim 26, the phrase “optionally, sending” renders the scope of the claim uncertain because it is unclear whether the sending step is required by the claim. Applicant should amend the claim to clearly recite whether the step is mandatory. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Claim limitation “pivoting means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In claim 22, the function is applying the correction to bring the front part of the coupler into a suitable coupling position. In claim 26, the function is applying the correction to bring the front part of the coupler and/or the front part of the second coupler into a suitable coupling position in relation to each other. The specification refers generally to a “pivoting means” in connection with applying a correction, for example at paragraphs [0045], [0047], [0140], and [0141], but does not disclose definite corresponding structure for performing the claimed function. No specific actuator, motor, hydraulic arrangement, mechanical linkage, or other structure is identified and linked to the claimed function. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. REFERENCES USED Reference 1: Homann, DE 10 2015 122 863 A1 Reference 2: Zhang et al., US 2018/0162423 A1 Reference 3: Sprave et al., US 8,091,717 B2 Reference 4: CN 209382010 U Reference 5: DE 24 19 184 A1 Reference 6: CA 2901176 A1 Reference 7: US 5,841,132 A Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1. ──────── Claim 18 Method for determining an angular position of a front part of a coupler, comprising providing (1001) a coupler (10, 10′, 10″) comprising a front part (11) for coupling to another coupler, a rear part (12) for mounting on an end of a car of a railway vehicle, and also comprising a rotatable joint (20), wherein the rotatable joint (20) comprises a first portion (21, 23) and a second portion (22, 24), said first portion (21, 23) being rotatably attached to the second portion (22, 24), wherein the first portion (21, 24) of the joint (20) is attached to the front part (11) and the second portion (22, 24) of the joint (20) is attached to the rear part (12) so that the front part (11) of the coupler (10, 10′, 10″) is able to rotate in relation to the rear part (12), providing (1002) a first sensor (31) arranged in connection with one of the first portion (11) and the second portion (12), and measuring or detecting (1003), by the first sensor, a parameter indicative of an angular position of the first portion (21, 23) of the joint (20) in relation to the second portion (22, 24) of the joint (20). ANALYSIS Reference 1 discloses an articulated coupling arrangement for a railway vehicle in which coupling shaft 1 is movably connected relative to vehicle-side bearing block 4. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, coupling shaft 1 corresponds to the claimed front part and bearing block 4 corresponds to the claimed rear part mounted on the railway vehicle. Reference 1 further discloses a jointed connection between the movable coupling-side portion and the vehicle-side portion, and expressly discloses a detection arrangement disposed in connection with the respective joint portions. In one embodiment, light emitter 3 is arranged on coupling shaft 1 and optical position sensor 5 is arranged on bearing block 4; in another embodiment, magnet G is arranged on one portion and sensors S1, S2, S3 are arranged on the other portion. In each case, the known sensor arrangement measures a parameter indicative of the extent and direction of relative movement of coupling shaft 1 with respect to bearing block 4. Thus, Reference 1 discloses providing the coupler structure, providing a first sensor in connection with one of the joint portions, and measuring or detecting a parameter indicative of the angular position of one portion of the joint in relation to the other. ──────── Claim 19 Method according to claim 18, further comprising providing (1004) processing circuitry (40) operatively connected to the first sensor (31) for receiving signals from the first sensor (31), receiving (1005), in processing circuitry (40), at least one input signal from the first sensor (31) indicative of an angular position of the first portion (21, 23) of the joint in relation to the second portion (22, 24) of the joint, and determining (1006), based on said at least one input signal, an angular position of the front part (11) of the coupler in relation to the rear part (12) of the coupler. ANALYSIS Reference 1 further discloses processing circuitry in the form of an evaluation unit that receives the sensor output and determines the relative movement of the coupling-side component relative to the vehicle-side component. More specifically, the optical receiver captures the light pattern as a data set, and the evaluation unit compares that data set with reference data to infer the extent and direction of movement of coupling shaft 1 relative to bearing block 4. That disclosure meets the recited providing of processing circuitry operatively connected to the sensor, receiving at least one input signal from the sensor indicative of relative angular position, and determining the angular position of the front part relative to the rear part from that input. Reference 1 therefore discloses every limitation of claim 19. ──────── Claim 21 Method according to claim 19, further comprising receiving (1018), in processing circuitry, from either the first sensor (31) or the first axis sensor (31 a) and the second axis sensor (31 b), input signals indicative of an angular position at a plurality of time instances, and determining (1019), in processing circuitry, either an angular position or a combined angular position of the front part (11) of the coupler over time based on said input signals. ANALYSIS Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, and at least as to the expressly recited first-sensor branch of the claim, Reference 1 discloses this subject matter. Reference 1 teaches that the receiver can record the detected pattern continuously or at predetermined times or events, and that the captured data are evaluated to determine the extent and direction of movement of the movable coupling-side part relative to the fixed vehicle-side part. Continuous or repeated acquisition at predetermined times corresponds to receiving input signals at a plurality of time instances, and evaluation of those repeated data sets yields the angular position or movement over time. Reference 1 also ties that repeated movement determination to condition monitoring and wear evaluation, further confirming time-based determination. Claim 21 is therefore anticipated by Reference 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3 and further in view of Reference 2. ──────── Claim 1 Coupler with an angular position detection assembly for determining an angular position of a front part of the coupler, wherein the coupler (10, 10′, 10″) comprises: a front part (11) for coupling to another coupler, a rear part (12) for mounting on an end of a car of a railway vehicle, a rotatable joint (20) comprising a first portion (21, 23) and a second portion (22, 24), said first portion being rotatably attached to the second portion, wherein the first portion (21, 23) of the joint is attached to the front part (11) and the second portion (22, 24) of the joint is attached to the rear part (12) so that the front part (11) of the coupler (10, 10′, 10″) is able to rotate in relation to the rear part (12), and wherein the angular position detection assembly (30) comprises a first sensor (31) arranged in connection with one of the first portion (21,23) and the second portion (22, 24) and configured to detect or measure a parameter indicative of an angular position of the first portion (21, 23) in relation to the second portion (22, 24), and a transmitter (32) configured to receive signals from the first sensor and further configured to transmit said signals to processing circuitry for determining the angular position of the front part of the coupler in relation to the rear part of the coupler. ANALYSIS Reference 3 discloses the claimed coupler architecture. Reference 3 teaches a central buffer coupling 1 having coupling head 2, coupling shaft 3, and bearing block 4 attachable to the front face of a car body. Reference 3 further teaches that coupling shaft 3 includes front shaft component 5 supporting coupling head 2 and rear shaft component 6 coupled to bearing block 4, with front shaft component 5 and rear shaft component 6 pivotable relative to one another about rotational axis Z defined by connecting pin 7. Thus, Reference 3 teaches the claimed front part for coupling to another coupler, the claimed rear part for mounting on a railway vehicle, and a rotatable joint comprising first and second portions attached respectively to the front and rear parts so that the front part can rotate relative to the rear part. Reference 1 teaches applying a sensor arrangement at such an articulated coupling interface. Specifically, Reference 1 teaches a first sensing arrangement using light emitter 3 and optical position sensor 5, and an alternative sensing arrangement using magnet G and sensors S1, S2, S3, arranged respectively on opposite coupling portions to detect the extent and direction of relative movement between the movable coupling shaft 1 and the fixed bearing block 4. That sensor output is indicative of the angular or relative position of one joint portion with respect to the other. Applying that sensor arrangement to the articulated coupler structure of Reference 3 would have yielded the claimed first sensor arranged in connection with one of the first and second portions and configured to detect or measure a parameter indicative of the angular position of the first portion relative to the second portion. Reference 2 teaches the claimed transmitter and processing path. Reference 2 discloses sensors 101 mounted on or integrated with a train coupler, a data acquisition unit 102 configured to receive sensor signals, a processing unit 103, and communication functionality including communication module 208 for wired or wireless transfer of sensor data to the processing circuitry. Accordingly, Reference 2 teaches a transmitter configured to receive signals from the first sensor and transmit those signals to processing circuitry for determining coupler condition or position. Combining Reference 2 with References 1 and 3 therefore renders the full subject matter of claim 1 obvious. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine these teachings because Reference 3 supplies the articulated railway coupler structure, Reference 1 expressly teaches sensing relative movement at the coupling articulation to determine movement extent and direction, and Reference 2 expressly teaches moving coupler-mounted sensor data through a data-acquisition and communication path to processing circuitry. The combination would have predictably yielded a coupler capable of sensing and transmitting articulation information for angle determination, monitoring, and control, while using each known element for its known purpose. ──────── Claim 4 Coupler with an angular position detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the joint (20) comprises a joint head and a pivot pin arranged in a holder (25), the joint head being arranged on the pivot pin to rotate about a first axis (A) and one of the joint head and the pivot pin forming the first portion (21) of the joint (20) and the other of the joint head and the pivot pin forming the second portion (22) of the joint (20), and wherein the first sensor (31) is arranged in connection with one of the joint head and the pivot pin and configured to detect or measure a rotation about the first axis (A) of the joint head in relation to the pivot pin. ANALYSIS Reference 3 teaches a single-axis pivot-pin coupler joint corresponding to the claimed joint-head/pivot-pin/holder arrangement. The front shaft component 5 and rear shaft component 6 are connected by connecting pin 7 and rotate relative to one another about rotational axis Z. Bearing block 4 and the rear-side fork structure support the joint, thereby corresponding to the claimed holder-side support. In functional terms, the front coupling-side portion of Reference 3 corresponds to the claimed joint head arranged on a pivot pin to rotate about a first axis, while the pivot pin 7 and rear-side support correspond to the claimed pivot pin and holder arrangement. Reference 1 teaches arranging the first sensor in connection with one of the two joint portions and measuring the relative movement of the movable portion with respect to the fixed portion. When that known sensing is applied to the pivot-pin articulation of Reference 3, the resulting sensor necessarily detects or measures the rotation of the front coupling-side portion relative to the pivot pin about the first axis. Reference 2 again provides the signal-transfer and processing architecture required by base claim 1. Thus, claim 4 would have been obvious. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement the relative-motion sensing of Reference 1 at the actual pivot-pin joint of Reference 3 because both references concern articulated railway couplers and because the pivot axis is the most direct location at which to determine the angular position of the front coupling-side structure relative to the rear vehicle-side structure. Reference 2 provides the routine signal-handling path for the sensed data. ──────── Claim 6 Coupler with an angular position detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the angular position detection assembly comprises a curved surface mounted on one of the first portion (21, 23) and the second portion (22, 24), and wherein the first sensor (31) is mounted on the other of the first and second portion, and wherein the curved surface is arranged so that a distance between the first sensor and a closest point on the curved surface in a radial direction varies when the first portion rotates in relation to the second portion, said radial direction being a direction that is perpendicular to a rotational axis of the joint, and wherein further the first sensor is configured to detect or measure a distance from the first sensor to the curved surface. ANALYSIS Reference 3 teaches cam disc 21 mounted about rotational axis Z and fixed relative to connecting pin 7, with that cam disc presenting a curved profile that changes position relative to the opposite shaft component as the front and rear shaft components articulate. Reference 1 teaches non-contact sensing arrangements positioned on one coupling portion relative to a target on the other portion, including optical, magnetic, capacitive, and inductive approaches, to detect the extent and direction of relative movement. A person of ordinary skill would have understood that one straightforward way to implement the known non-contact sensing of Reference 1 on the pivoting coupler of Reference 3 is to position the sensor on one joint portion and use the curved profile of cam disc 21 on the opposite portion as the target. In that arrangement, the radial distance between the sensor and the nearest point on the curved surface changes as the joint rotates, and that changing distance is measured as a parameter indicative of angular position. Reference 2 supplies the known transmitter and processing path required by claim 1. The combined teachings therefore render claim 6 obvious. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the already-present cam disc 21 of Reference 3 as a durable measurement target for the non-contact sensor of Reference 1 because the cam disc provides a geometrically defined, robust curved surface whose relative radial spacing varies predictably with articulation. That design choice would have simplified packaging and exploited an existing coupler component without changing the known function of any element. Reference 2 would then handle transmission of the measured signal to processing circuitry. ──────── Claim 7 Coupler with an angular position detection assembly according to claim 4, wherein the angular position detection assembly comprises a curved surface mounted on one of the first portion (21, 23) and the second portion (22, 24), the first sensor (31) is mounted on the other of the first and second portion, the curved surface is arranged so that a distance between the first sensor and a closest point on the curved surface in a radial direction varies when the first portion rotates in relation to the second portion, said radial direction being a direction that is perpendicular to a rotational axis of the joint, the first sensor is configured to detect or measure a distance from the first sensor to the curved surface, the curved surface forms an edge (35) of a cam disk (33) that is fixedly mounted on the pivot pin (22), the first sensor is mounted on a structure connected to the joint head (21) and facing the edge (35) of the cam disk (33), and preferably comprising at least one additional sensor (31′) that is/are mounted on said structure facing the edge (35) of the cam disk (33), said at least one additional sensor (31′) being at a distance from the first sensor (31) in a circumferential direction around the pivot pin (22). ANALYSIS References 1, 3, and 2 collectively render claim 7 obvious. Reference 3 expressly teaches cam disc 21 fixed relative to connecting pin 7 at the pivot between front shaft component 5 and rear shaft component 6. That disclosure corresponds to a curved surface forming an edge of a cam disk fixedly mounted on a pivot pin. Reference 3 also shows the cam disc disposed adjacent to structure on the opposite joint portion, which makes the disc edge available as a sensing target from the front-component side. Reference 1 teaches mounting a sensor on one component facing a target on the other component so as to determine relative movement. Applying that teaching to the specific cam-disc structure of Reference 3 would have yielded a first sensor mounted on structure connected to the joint-head/front-component side and facing the edge of the cam disc on the pivot-pin side, with the sensor measuring the changing radial distance to the disc edge as articulation occurs. As to the final “preferably” clause, Reference 1 additionally teaches multiple spaced sensors S1, S2, S3 on one side of the joint for position determination. Thus, to the extent the optional additional-sensor language is treated as limiting, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide at least one additional sensor spaced circumferentially from the first sensor to increase detectable range, robustness, or accuracy. Reference 2 supplies the data-acquisition and signal-transmission architecture. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to mount one or more sensors on the joint-head/front-component side of Reference 3 facing the rotating edge of cam disc 21 because Reference 1 already teaches non-contact sensing of relative joint movement and also teaches using multiple spatially separated sensors for improved positional determination. Providing more than one circumferentially spaced sensor around the pivot would have been a predictable design choice to improve angular range, redundancy, and precision while preserving a compact pivot-area layout. ──────── Claim 17 Angular position detection system for a railway coupler, the angular position detection system comprising a coupler with an angular position detection assembly according to claim 1, processing circuitry (40) operatively connected to the transmitter of the first sensor (31) of the angular position detection assembly (30) for receiving at least one signal indicative of the detected or measured parameter, and wherein the processing circuitry (40) is further configured to receive, from the first sensor (31), at least one input signal indicative of an angular position of the first portion (21, 23) of the joint (20) in relation to the second portion (22, 24) of the joint (20), and determine, based on said at least one input signal, an angular position of the front part (11) of the coupler (10, 10′, 10″) in relation to the rear part (12) of the coupler (10, 10′, 10″). ANALYSIS Claim 17 is rendered obvious by the same combination applied to claim 1. Reference 3 teaches the articulated railway coupler. Reference 1 teaches a sensor arrangement whose output is indicative of the relative angular movement of the coupling-side portion with respect to the vehicle-side portion, and further teaches evaluation of the sensor data to infer movement extent and direction. Reference 2 expressly teaches processing circuitry in the form of processing unit 103 operatively connected to data acquisition unit 102 and coupler-mounted sensors 101, with communication functionality for receiving the sensor signal. The combination therefore teaches a system comprising the coupler of claim 1 together with processing circuitry operatively connected to the transmitter/data-acquisition path for receiving the sensor signal and determining the angular position of the front part relative to the rear part. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE The same rationale stated for claim 1 applies here, with the added point that Reference 2 expressly addresses the very problem of moving coupler-mounted sensor information to processing circuitry for evaluation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the articulated coupler of References 1 and 3 with the processing architecture of Reference 2 so the measured articulation data could be automatically evaluated during coupling operations or service. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3 and further in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 4. ──────── Claim 2 Coupler with an angular position detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the joint (20) is an elastomer spring joint, the first sensor (31) is a first axis sensor (31 a) configured to detect or measure a parameter indicative of an angular position in a plane of rotation that is perpendicular to a first axis (A), and preferably comprising a second axis sensor (31 b) that is configured to detect or measure a parameter indicative of an angular position in a plane of rotation that is perpendicular to a second axis (B). ANALYSIS Reference 1 itself teaches an elastomer spring joint arrangement for a railway coupling, with coupling shaft 1 movable relative to bearing block 4 through elastomer elements and with movement detectable about multiple axes, including X, Y, and Z directions and torsional movement. Thus, the “joint is an elastomer spring joint” limitation is directly taught by Reference 1. Reference 1 also teaches sensing motion components along different axes using its optical and alternative multi-sensor arrangements. Reference 2 supplies the transmitter and processing path required by claim 1. Reference 3 supplies the broader articulated railway-coupler context. Reference 4 further teaches determining railway-coupler angular deviation in different pivoting situations, including horizontal and vertical conditions, by use of angle-sensing arrangements associated with the coupler and the railway vehicle. In view of References 1 and 4, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the first sensor as a first-axis sensor for one plane of rotation perpendicular to a first axis, and, to the extent the “preferably” language is treated as limiting, to further provide a second-axis sensor for a perpendicular second axis. That is a straightforward implementation of the multi-axis sensing expressly contemplated by Reference 1 and the horizontal/vertical coupler-angle measurement taught by Reference 4. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use separate axis-specific sensing for orthogonal planes in an elastomer spring joint because Reference 1 already recognizes multi-axis movement at such a joint, and Reference 4 teaches the practical railway-coupler benefit of determining angular deviation in different planes. Separating the measurements into first-axis and second-axis channels would have been a predictable engineering choice that simplifies processing and improves resolution for each plane of motion. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3 and further in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 7. ──────── Claim 5 Coupler with an angular position detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first sensor (31) is configured to detect at least one marker on a marking surface, wherein the first sensor is arranged on one of the first portion (21, 23) and the second portion (22, 24) and the marking surface is a surface on the other of the first and second portion, said marking surface being arranged to face the first sensor, and wherein further the first sensor preferably is an optical sensor. ANALYSIS Reference 1 teaches non-contact optical sensing at an articulated coupling interface, but not in the more specific marked-surface form recited in claim 5. Reference 7 supplies that more specific optical implementation. Reference 7 teaches first and second coaxial discs mounted on respective rotating members and having slots or slits formed therein that define marks or spaces of a modulation pattern. Reference 7 further teaches a light source directing light through the slot pattern onto an array of photodetectors, with a data processor determining relative displacement from the positions of the slot edges. Thus, Reference 7 teaches a sensor configured to detect at least one marker on a marking surface facing the sensor and expressly teaches an optical sensor arrangement. A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to implement the non-contact relative-angle detection of Reference 1, in the articulated railway coupler of References 1 and 3 and with the signal path of Reference 2, using the optical marked-surface approach of Reference 7. Doing so would have yielded a first sensor on one joint portion and a marked surface on the other joint portion facing the sensor. To the extent the final “preferably” clause is treated as limiting, Reference 7 expressly teaches the optical-sensor implementation. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to substitute the optical marked-surface/slot-pattern sensing of Reference 7 for the more general non-contact position sensing of Reference 1 because Reference 7 provides a known, precise optical technique for determining relative rotational position between rotatable members. Applying that known optical encoding approach to the coupler articulation of References 1 and 3 would have predictably yielded a compact and high-resolution optical position detector compatible with the data-handling architecture of Reference 2. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3 and further in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 5. ──────── Claim 9 Coupler with an angular position detection assembly according to claim 4, wherein the coupler further comprises at least one centering device (50) that is arranged in connection with the joint head (21), said at least one centering device comprising a contact element (51) that is biased towards the pivot pin (22) in a radial direction of the pivot pin (22), wherein the contact element (51) is at a variable distance from a center of the pivot pin (22) depending on an angular position of the pivot pin (22) in relation to the joint head (21), and wherein the first sensor (31) of the angular position detection assembly (30) is configured to detect or measure a parameter that is indicative of a radial position of the contact element (51). ANALYSIS Reference 3 provides the articulated pivot-pin coupler joint of claim 4, and References 1 and 2 provide the joint sensing and sensor-output handling of the base claim set. Reference 5 teaches a railway-coupler center-reset device in which support rollers 7a and 7b are arranged concentrically to the axis of rotation 1, and a spring-loaded movable member or stamp 8 is acted on by return spring 10. As the coupling rotates away from center, the spring-biased stamp/contact arrangement shifts relative to the rotational center through interaction with the support rollers. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, that teaching corresponds to a centering device arranged in connection with the articulated coupling and comprising a contact element biased toward the joint axis in a radial direction, with the radial position of that spring-biased contact arrangement varying as a function of angular position. Reference 2 teaches that coupler-mounted sensors 101 may include position and displacement sensors, with the resulting signals received and processed by data acquisition unit 102 and processing unit 103. In view of Reference 2, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to instrument the spring-biased contact arrangement of Reference 5 so that the sensor output indicates the radial position of the contact element, and to use that parameter as an indicator of joint angular position in the articulated coupler environment of References 1 and 3. The resulting combination meets the limitations of claim 9. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to instrument the spring-biased center-reset structure of Reference 5 because that structure already moves as the coupling departs from center, making its radial position a natural surrogate for angular position. Reference 1 teaches the benefit of sensing relative coupler movement at the articulation, and Reference 2 teaches the use of position/displacement sensing and signal processing on railway couplers. Measuring the radial position of the existing centering contact arrangement would have been a predictable way to derive angle information while leveraging an already present coupler component. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 4. ──────── Claim 20 Method according to claim 19, further comprising providing (1007) at least two sensors that comprise at least one first axis sensor (31 a) and at least one second axis sensor (31 b), measuring or detecting (1008), by said first axis sensor (31 a), a parameter indicative of an angular position of the first portion in a plane of rotation that is perpendicular to a first axis (A), measuring or detecting (1009), by said second axis sensor (31 b), a parameter indicative of an angular position of the first portion (21, 23) in a plane of rotation that is perpendicular to a second axis (B), said second axis (B) being perpendicular to the first axis (A), receiving (1010), in processing circuitry, at least one first input signal from the first axis sensor (31 a) and at least one second input signal from the second axis sensor (31 b), wherein said first and second input signals are indicative of the measured or detected parameter from the first axis sensor (31 a) and the second axis sensor (31 b), and determining (1011), in processing circuitry, based on said at least one first input signal and said at least one second input signal, a combined angular position in relation to the first and the second axes (A, B) of rotation of the front part (11) of the coupler in relation to the rear part (12) of the coupler. ANALYSIS Reference 1 teaches multi-axis detection of relative movement between the coupling-side portion and the vehicle-side portion and further teaches embodiments using multiple spaced sensors S1, S2, S3 for 3D positional determination. Reference 4 further teaches coupler-angle determination in different pivot planes, including horizontal and vertical conditions, and explains the use of angle-sensing arrangements to calculate the relative angular position of the coupler mechanism. In view of these teachings, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement the method of Reference 1 with at least two axis-specific sensor channels, one for a first rotational plane and one for a perpendicular second rotational plane, and then receive the corresponding first and second sensor inputs in processing circuitry to determine a combined angular position of the front part relative to the rear part. That is a routine and predictable extension of the multi-axis sensing expressly suggested by Reference 1 and the railway-coupler horizontal/vertical angle determination taught by Reference 4. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to separate the known multi-axis motion information into orthogonal axis-specific measurements because doing so simplifies signal interpretation, supports combined angular-state determination, and directly addresses the operational need to know both horizontal and vertical coupler alignment. Reference 1 provides the multi-axis sensing concept, and Reference 4 shows the practical value of distinguishing coupler angle in different planes. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 6. ──────── Claim 22 Method according to claim 19, further comprising determining (1021), in processing circuitry, based on the determined angular position or the determined combined angular position, if the front part (11) of the coupler is in a suitable coupling position, optionally determining (1022), in processing circuitry, a correction of an angular position of the front part (11) of the coupler if the front part of the coupler is not in a suitable coupling position, and optionally, sending at least one output signal causing a pivoting means of the coupler to apply said correction to bring the front part (11) of the coupler into a suitable coupling position. ANALYSIS Reference 1 teaches determining the angular position of a coupler-side component relative to a vehicle-side component from sensor data. Reference 6 teaches an automated coupler positioning device 40 for railway coupler 10, including coupler anchor 12, coupler mechanism 14, controller 43, and pneumatic cylinders 42a and 42b. Reference 6 expressly teaches that coupler mechanism 14 is pivotable in a horizontal plane between an on-center position and an off-center position, and that automated coupler positioning device 40 automatically positions an uncoupled coupler for coupling with an adjacent railway car coupler. Reference 6 further teaches controller-based control of the pneumatic cylinders and reorientation of the coupler back to an on-center position or to another desired position. It would therefore have been obvious to use the directly sensed angular position information of Reference 1 as the input to the automated positioning control of Reference 6 so that the processing circuitry determines whether the front part is in a suitable coupling position and, if not, determines and commands a corrective pivoting operation. To the extent the “optionally” recited correction and output-signal steps are treated as limiting, Reference 6 expressly teaches controller-driven actuation of pneumatic cylinders to reposition the coupler mechanism. MOTIVATION TO COMBINE The motivation to combine is direct. Reference 1 provides actual coupler-joint angular information, while Reference 6 provides an automated coupler-positioning device intended to place the coupler in a coupling-suitable position on straight or curved track. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to drive the known positioning actuators of Reference 6 using the actual coupler angle determined by Reference 1 because that would predictably improve alignment accuracy and reduce the need for manual positioning. Claims 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 6 and further in view of Reference 2. ──────── Claim 24 Method according to claim 22, further comprising receiving (1023), in processing circuitry, at least one second coupler input signal indicative of an angular position of a front part of a second coupler, determining (1024), in processing circuitry, if the front part of the second coupler is in a suitable coupling position based on said second coupler input signal, and optionally also determining, in processing circuitry, if the coupler and the second coupler are in a suitable coupling position in relation to each other. ANALYSIS Reference 6 is expressly concerned with aligning the coupler of a first railway car for coupling with the coupler of an adjacent railway car. Reference 6 identifies the coupling problem created by horizontal offsets between adjacent couplers and teaches automatic positioning to facilitate coupling of adjacent railway cars. Reference 1 supplies sensor-based determination of coupler angular position. Reference 2 teaches a coupler sensor system with communication architecture, including sensors 101, data acquisition unit 102, processing unit 103, and communication module 208, and teaches wired or wireless transfer of coupler-related data among sensors, acquisition units, processing units, and remote nodes. In view of these teachings, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective