Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 28, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-19 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-12, and 14-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schein (U.S. Publication No. 2010/008242) in view of Zou et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0284241).
Regarding claim 1, Schein teaches “[a] method, performed by a wireless device, for uplink transmission of a data burst to a network node, the method comprising: - transmitting, to the network node, information indicative of a burst type” (see ¶¶ [0013] and [0022], FIGS. 1 and 2; base station (i.e., network node) wirelessly communicates with subscribers, which are devices (i.e., wireless devices); a subscriber (i.e., a wireless device) requests a grant size (i.e., transmits information indicative of a burst type) [NOTE: paragraph [0051] of the specification of the present application describes “[i]n one or more examples, a burst type may include a data size information, such as size information”]; thus, a wireless device, transmits, to the network node, information indicative of a burst type),
Schein further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts” (see ¶ [0031]; subscriber (the wireless device) analyzes traffic patterns of uplink data, and selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns; since a new grant size is selected based on traffic patterns, changes to traffic patterns can result in different grant sizes being selected; therefore, different grant sizes do indicate information about their corresponding traffic patterns; thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts); and
Schein further teaches “receiving, from the network node, control signalling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission based on the pattern in data bursts and/or of the shape of the data bursts” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0025], and [0032]; the base station (the network node) schedules (i.e., control signaling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission) the uplink data burst and the subscriber (the mobile device) receives UL grants (i.e., control signaling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission) from BS (the network node) in the form of an uplink transmission schedule that includes uplink burst allocations; and the BS transmits the UL grant (control signaling) based on the requested grant size (information indicative of at least a pattern in data bursts); thus, receiving control signalling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission based on the pattern in data bursts and/or of the shape of the data bursts).
While Schein teaches “the control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource,” as explained above, it does not explicitly disclose “control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant type, and wherein the preconfigured grant type is configured by the network node based on the information indicative of the burst type” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Zou teaches “control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant type, and wherein the preconfigured grant type is configured by the network node based on the information indicative of the burst type” (see ¶ [0155]; gNB (network node) can reserve/schedule resources for a UE according to the minimum data burst volume (e.g., using configured grants) (i.e., pre-configured grant type); the gNB reserving/scheduling resources using configured grants inherently teaches control signaling indicating pre-configured grant type; therefore Zou teaches control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant type, and wherein the preconfigured grant type is configured by the network node based on the information indicative of the burst type). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Schien to incorporate the teachings of Zou to have control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant type that is configured by the network node based on the information indicative of the burst type. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve meeting QoS requirements (see ¶ [0095] of Zou).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “updating, based on a change in traffic conditions and/or in radio conditions, the information indicative of the burst type” (see ¶¶ [0031] and [0037]; subscriber (the wireless device) measures the number of packets per unit time and the total number of bytes delivered per unit time (i.e., the wireless device measures traffic conditions), and adapts to changes in the incoming traffic (i.e., based on a change in traffic conditions) by updating the measurement value, and signaling the computed result to the BS; this accommodates time-variation in the quasi-static traffic, and traffic streams multiplexed with different packet sizes and different packet inter-arrival periods; therefore, updating the measurement value and signaling it to the BS affects future traffic pattern; thus, by updating the measurement value, and signaling the computed result to the BS, the wireless device updates the information indicative of the burst type, and this update is based on a change in traffic conditions).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises time information related to the data burst and wherein the time information is indicative of a periodicity of the data burst and/or of an order of the data burst” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0037]; grant size (i.e., the information indicative of the burst type) can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst); uplink bursts are associated with time intervals (i.e., periodicity of the data burst); therefore, the number of slots of the grant size and the associated time intervals are indicative of a periodicity of the data burst; furthermore, information signaled to the BS can accommodate time-variation in the quasi-static traffic, and traffic streams multiplexed with different packet sizes and different packet inter-arrival periods; thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises time information related to the data burst and wherein the time information is indicative of a periodicity of the data burst and/or of an order of the data burst).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 4, and further teaches “wherein the time information is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0031]; the time intervals can be dependent upon the Quality of Service (QoS) required by the application of the data packets; subscriber (the wireless device) selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns, and since grant size can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst), it is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises size information of the data burst and wherein the size information of the data burst comprises a statistical parameter indicative of a size of the data burst and/or a change in the size of the data burst” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0031]; grant size (the information indicative of the burst type) can be defined by an uplink burst size (i.e., comprises size information of the data burst), and specified by number of slots (i.e., a statistical parameter); subscriber (the wireless device) selects a new grant size based on the analyzed traffic patterns (i.e., change in the size of the data burst); thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises size information of the data burst and wherein the size information of the data burst comprises a statistical parameter indicative of a size of the data burst and/or a change in the size of the data burst).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “transmitting, to the network node, an indicator indicative of a property of the data burst for uplink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0031]; grant size is requested by a subscriber, the BS adjusts the uplink burst accordingly; size is a property of the data burst for uplink transmission, and the grant size ; subscriber (the wireless device) requests the new grant size by signaling the new grant size to the BS (i.e., transmitting to the network node); thus, transmitting an indicator indicative of a property of the data burst for uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission is based on the burst type” (see ¶ [0022]; the base station schedules (i.e., control signaling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission) the uplink data burst to include a number of bytes as determined by the grant size (i.e., is based on the burst type) requested by the subscriber).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission comprises control signalling indicative of a configured grant” (see ¶ [0023]; UL grants (i.e., control signalling indicative of a configured grant) from an upstream BS, typically in the form of an uplink transmission schedule that includes uplink burst allocations).
Regarding claim 10, Schein teaches “[a] method, performed by a network node, for resource allocation of a data burst in uplink transmission from a wireless device, the method comprising: - receiving, from the wireless device, information indicative of a burst type” (see ¶¶ [0013] and [0022], FIGS. 1 and 2; base station (i.e., network node) wirelessly communicates with subscribers, which are devices (i.e., wireless devices); a subscriber (i.e., a wireless device) requests a grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) [NOTE: paragraph [0051] of the specification of the present application describes “[i]n one or more examples, a burst type may include a data size information, such as size information”]; thus, receiving, from the wireless device, information indicative of a burst type),
Schein further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts” (see ¶ [0031]; subscriber (the wireless device) analyzes traffic patterns of uplink data, and selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns; since a new grant size is selected based on traffic patterns, changes to traffic patterns can result in different grant sizes being selected; therefore, different grant sizes do indicate information about their corresponding traffic patterns; thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts); and
Schein further teaches “transmitting, to the wireless device, based on the information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts, control signalling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0025], and [0031]; the base station (the network node) schedules (i.e., control signaling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission) the uplink data burst and the subscriber (the mobile device) receives UL grants (i.e., control signaling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission) from BS (the network node) in the form of an uplink transmission schedule that includes uplink burst allocations; and the BS transmits the UL grant (control signaling) based on the requested grant size (information indicative of at least a pattern in data bursts); thus, transmitting, based on the information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts, control signalling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission).
While Schein teaches “the control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource,” as explained above, it does not explicitly disclose “control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant type, and wherein the preconfigured grant type is configured by the network node based on the information indicative of the burst type” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Zou teaches “control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant type, and wherein the preconfigured grant type is configured by the network node based on the information indicative of the burst type” (see ¶ [0155]; gNB (network node) can reserve/schedule resources for a UE according to the minimum data burst volume (e.g., using configured grants) (i.e., pre-configured grant type); the gNB reserving/scheduling resources using configured grants inherently teaches control signaling indicating pre-configured grant type; therefore Zou teaches control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant type, and wherein the preconfigured grant type is configured by the network node based on the information indicative of the burst type). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Schien to incorporate the teachings of Zou to have control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant type that is configured by the network node based on the information indicative of the burst type. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve meeting QoS requirements (see ¶ [0095] of Zou).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “pre-configuring, based on the burst type, a grant and/or a grant type for the uplink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0023]; base station (the network node) schedules the uplink data burst to include a number of bytes as determined by the grant size requested by the subscriber (i.e., based on the burst type); base station also configures an unsolicited grant interval, or UGI, the UGI is associated with the uplink data burst; UGI is preconfigured; thus, the network node preconfigures a grant and/or a grant type for the uplink transmission based on the burst type).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission comprises control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0023]; base station (the network node) schedules the uplink data burst to include a number of bytes as determined by the grant size requested by the subscriber base station also configures an unsolicited grant interval, or UGI, the UGI is associated with the uplink data burst; UGI is preconfigured; thus, the control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission comprises control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises time information related to the data burst and wherein the time information is indicative of a periodicity of the data burst and/or of an order the data burst” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0037]; grant size (i.e., the information indicative of the burst type) can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst); uplink bursts are associated with time intervals (i.e., periodicity of the data burst); therefore, the number of slots of the grant size and the associated time intervals are indicative of a periodicity of the data burst; furthermore, information signaled to the BS can accommodate time-variation in the quasi-static traffic, and traffic streams multiplexed with different packet sizes and different packet inter-arrival periods; thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises time information related to the data burst and wherein the time information is indicative of a periodicity of the data burst and/or of an order of the data burst).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 14, and further teaches “wherein the time information is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0031]; the time intervals can be dependent upon the Quality of Service (QoS) required by the application of the data packets; subscriber (the wireless device) selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns, and since grant size can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst), it is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises size information of the data burst and/or priority information between burst types and/or data packets” (see ¶ [0022]; grant size (the information indicative of the burst type) can be defined by an uplink burst size (i.e., comprises size information of the data burst); the information indicative of the burst type comprises size information of the data burst).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “receiving, from the wireless device, an indicator indicative of a property of the data burst for uplink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0031]; grant size requested by a subscriber (i.e., receiving, from the wireless device, an indicator indicative of a property), the BS adjusts the uplink burst accordingly; size is a property of the data burst for uplink transmission, and the grant size ; subscriber (the wireless device) requests the new grant size by signaling the new grant size to the BS (i.e., receiving from the wireless device); thus, receiving, from the wireless device, an indicator indicative of a property of the data burst for uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Schein and Zou teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “determining, based on the indicator, the allocation of the configured resource” (see ¶¶ [0022]; the base station schedules the uplink data burst to include a number of bytes as determined by the grant size (i.e., indicator) requested by the subscriber (i.e., determining, based on the indicator, the allocation of the configured resource)).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schein (U.S. Publication No. 2010/008242) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0232605).
Regarding claim 19, Schein teaches “[a] method, performed by a wireless device, for uplink transmission of a data burst to a network node, wherein the data burst comprises a plurality of data packets, the method comprising: - transmitting, to the network node, control information indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of an allocation of a configured resource at the network node” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0031]; a grant size (i.e., control information) is requested (i.e., transmitted) by a subscriber (i.e., wireless device), the BS adjusts the uplink burst accordingly (i.e., transmitted, to the network node, control information); grant size can be specified by the number of slots (i.e., a time adjustment parameter) allocated (i.e., configured resource at the network node) within an uplink burst by the BS multiplied by the number of bytes that are included within each slot; an uplink data burst occurs once every four uplink sub-frames, wherein the time duration of a frame (uplink sub-frame and downlink sub-frame) is 5 milliseconds; the time intervals can be dependent upon the Quality of Service (QoS) required by the application of the data packets; subscriber (the wireless device) selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns, and since grant size can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst), it is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node).
Schein does not explicitly disclose “wherein the time adjustment parameter is indicative of a temporal offset between a data burst pattern of the wireless device and the allocation of the configured resource” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Kim teaches “wherein the time adjustment parameter is indicative of a temporal offset between a data burst pattern of the wireless device and the allocation of the configured resource” (see ¶ [0085]; UE may in some cases, transmit uplink scheduling information (i.e., control signalling) to the base station that may allow for efficient allocation of uplink resources; the uplink scheduling information (control signalling) may include, for example, UAI related to an uplink traffic pattern for an XR session; in some cases, the UAI may indicate one or more of a periodicity of uplink traffic, a data size for uplink traffic for each time period associated with the XR session, an offset between uplink traffic and a packet arrival (i.e., temporal offset between a data burst pattern of the wireless device and the allocation of the configured resource); Kim teaches the time adjustment parameter is indicative of a temporal offset between a data burst pattern of the wireless device and the allocation of the configured resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Schien to incorporate the teachings of Kim to include a time adjustment parameter is indicative of a temporal offset between a data burst pattern of the wireless device and the allocation of the configured resource. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve efficiency in allocation of uplink resources (see ¶ [0085] of Kim).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Turtinen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0168749) teaches timing adjustment with configured grant.
Manolakos et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0165971) teaches timing offset from configured grant.
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475