Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 28, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-19 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 6 and 7, of Applicant’s response, Applicant appears to argue that Schein does not teach “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts” and control signaling based on “the pattern in data bursts and/or the shape of the data bursts” of amended independent claims 1, 10, and 19. In particular, the Applicant argues that “[t]he utilization of a pattern of data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts is not disclosed in Schein. Schein analyzes traffic patterns of uplink data, determines a new uplink size, and then requests the new grant size. The request is not based on any pattern of data bursts and is instead based on determined new uplink size. The subscriber does not inform the BS of burst pattern and instead informs the BS that a grant of a specific size is requested.” Examiner disagrees.
Schein teaches “a wireless subscriber [i.e., wireless device] analyz[es] traffic patterns [i.e., a pattern in data bursts] of uplink data,” and “selects a new grant size based on the analyzed traffic patterns.” (See ¶ [0031]). (Emphasis added). Since a new grant size is selected based on traffic patterns, changes to traffic patterns can result in different grant sizes being selected. Therefore, these different grant sizes do indicate information about their corresponding traffic patterns. Accordingly, the selected grant size is information indicative of at least a pattern in data bursts under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the amended independent claims.
Schein further teaches “the subscriber request[s] the new grant size by signaling the new grant size to the BS” and the BS transmits the UL grant (i.e., control signaling) based on the requested grant size (i.e., information indicative of at least a pattern in data bursts). (See ¶¶ [0031] and [0032]). Accordingly, Schein teaches transmitting to the network node/receiving from the wireless device “information indicative of at least a pattern in data bursts” and receiving from the network node/transmitting to the wireless device control signaling based on information indicative of the pattern in data bursts. Thus, Schein teaches all of the limitations of amended independent claims 1, 10, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schein (U.S. Publication No. 2010/008242).
Regarding claim 1, Schein teaches “[a] method, performed by a wireless device, for uplink transmission of a data burst to a network node, the method comprising: - transmitting, to the network node, information indicative of a burst type” (see ¶¶ [0013] and [0022], FIGS. 1 and 2; base station (i.e., network node) wirelessly communicates with subscribers, which are devices (i.e., wireless devices); a subscriber (i.e., a wireless device) requests a grant size (i.e., transmits information indicative of a burst type) [NOTE: paragraph [0051] of the specification of the present application describes “[i]n one or more examples, a burst type may include a data size information, such as size information”]; thus, a wireless device, transmits, to the network node, information indicative of a burst type),
Schein further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts” (see ¶ [0031]; subscriber (the wireless device) analyzes traffic patterns of uplink data, and selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns; since a new grant size is selected based on traffic patterns, changes to traffic patterns can result in different grant sizes being selected; therefore, different grant sizes do indicate information about their corresponding traffic patterns; thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts); and
Schein further teaches “receiving, from the network node, control signalling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission based on the pattern in data bursts and/or of the shape of the data bursts” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0025], and [0032]; the base station (the network node) schedules (i.e., control signaling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission) the uplink data burst and the subscriber (the mobile device) receives UL grants (i.e., control signaling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission) from BS (the network node) in the form of an uplink transmission schedule that includes uplink burst allocations; and the BS transmits the UL grant (control signaling) based on the requested grant size (information indicative of at least a pattern in data bursts); thus, receiving control signalling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission based on the pattern in data bursts and/or of the shape of the data bursts).
Regarding claim 3, Schein teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “updating, based on a change in traffic conditions and/or in radio conditions, the information indicative of the burst type” (see ¶¶ [0031] and [0037]; subscriber (the wireless device) measures the number of packets per unit time and the total number of bytes delivered per unit time (i.e., the wireless device measures traffic conditions), and adapts to changes in the incoming traffic (i.e., based on a change in traffic conditions) by updating the measurement value, and signaling the computed result to the BS; this accommodates time-variation in the quasi-static traffic, and traffic streams multiplexed with different packet sizes and different packet inter-arrival periods; therefore, updating the measurement value and signaling it to the BS affects future traffic pattern; thus, by updating the measurement value, and signaling the computed result to the BS, the wireless device updates the information indicative of the burst type, and this update is based on a change in traffic conditions).
Regarding claim 4, Schein teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises time information related to the data burst and wherein the time information is indicative of a periodicity of the data burst and/or of an order of the data burst” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0037]; grant size (i.e., the information indicative of the burst type) can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst); uplink bursts are associated with time intervals (i.e., periodicity of the data burst); therefore, the number of slots of the grant size and the associated time intervals are indicative of a periodicity of the data burst; furthermore, information signaled to the BS can accommodate time-variation in the quasi-static traffic, and traffic streams multiplexed with different packet sizes and different packet inter-arrival periods; thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises time information related to the data burst and wherein the time information is indicative of a periodicity of the data burst and/or of an order of the data burst).
Regarding claim 5, Schein teaches the method of claim 4, and further teaches “wherein the time information is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0031]; the time intervals can be dependent upon the Quality of Service (QoS) required by the application of the data packets; subscriber (the wireless device) selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns, and since grant size can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst), it is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node).
Regarding claim 6, Schein teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises size information of the data burst and wherein the size information of the data burst comprises a statistical parameter indicative of a size of the data burst and/or a change in the size of the data burst” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0031]; grant size (the information indicative of the burst type) can be defined by an uplink burst size (i.e., comprises size information of the data burst), and specified by number of slots (i.e., a statistical parameter); subscriber (the wireless device) selects a new grant size based on the analyzed traffic patterns (i.e., change in the size of the data burst); thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises size information of the data burst and wherein the size information of the data burst comprises a statistical parameter indicative of a size of the data burst and/or a change in the size of the data burst).
Regarding claim 7, Schein teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “transmitting, to the network node, an indicator indicative of a property of the data burst for uplink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0031]; grant size is requested by a subscriber, the BS adjusts the uplink burst accordingly; size is a property of the data burst for uplink transmission, and the grant size ; subscriber (the wireless device) requests the new grant size by signaling the new grant size to the BS (i.e., transmitting to the network node); thus, transmitting an indicator indicative of a property of the data burst for uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 8, Schein teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission is based on the burst type” (see ¶ [0022]; the base station schedules (i.e., control signaling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission) the uplink data burst to include a number of bytes as determined by the grant size (i.e., is based on the burst type) requested by the subscriber).
Regarding claim 9, Schein teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission comprises control signalling indicative of a configured grant” (see ¶ [0023]; UL grants (i.e., control signalling indicative of a configured grant) from an upstream BS, typically in the form of an uplink transmission schedule that includes uplink burst allocations).
Regarding claim 10, Schein teaches “[a] method, performed by a network node, for resource allocation of a data burst in uplink transmission from a wireless device, the method comprising: - receiving, from the wireless device, information indicative of a burst type” (see ¶¶ [0013] and [0022], FIGS. 1 and 2; base station (i.e., network node) wirelessly communicates with subscribers, which are devices (i.e., wireless devices); a subscriber (i.e., a wireless device) requests a grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) [NOTE: paragraph [0051] of the specification of the present application describes “[i]n one or more examples, a burst type may include a data size information, such as size information”]; thus, receiving, from the wireless device, information indicative of a burst type),
Schein further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts” (see ¶ [0031]; subscriber (the wireless device) analyzes traffic patterns of uplink data, and selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns; since a new grant size is selected based on traffic patterns, changes to traffic patterns can result in different grant sizes being selected; therefore, different grant sizes do indicate information about their corresponding traffic patterns; thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts); and
Schein further teaches “transmitting, to the wireless device, based on the information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts, control signalling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0025], and [0031]; the base station (the network node) schedules (i.e., control signaling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission) the uplink data burst and the subscriber (the mobile device) receives UL grants (i.e., control signaling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission) from BS (the network node) in the form of an uplink transmission schedule that includes uplink burst allocations; and the BS transmits the UL grant (control signaling) based on the requested grant size (information indicative of at least a pattern in data bursts); thus, transmitting, based on the information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts, control signalling indicative of an allocation of a configured resource for uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 11, Schein teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “pre-configuring, based on the burst type, a grant and/or a grant type for the uplink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0023]; base station (the network node) schedules the uplink data burst to include a number of bytes as determined by the grant size requested by the subscriber (i.e., based on the burst type); base station also configures an unsolicited grant interval, or UGI, the UGI is associated with the uplink data burst; UGI is preconfigured; thus, the network node preconfigures a grant and/or a grant type for the uplink transmission based on the burst type).
Regarding claim 12, Schein teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission comprises control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0023]; base station (the network node) schedules the uplink data burst to include a number of bytes as determined by the grant size requested by the subscriber base station also configures an unsolicited grant interval, or UGI, the UGI is associated with the uplink data burst; UGI is preconfigured; thus, the control signalling indicative of the allocation of the configured resource for uplink transmission comprises control signalling indicative of a pre-configured grant).
Regarding claim 14, Schein teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises time information related to the data burst and wherein the time information is indicative of a periodicity of the data burst and/or of an order the data burst” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0037]; grant size (i.e., the information indicative of the burst type) can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst); uplink bursts are associated with time intervals (i.e., periodicity of the data burst); therefore, the number of slots of the grant size and the associated time intervals are indicative of a periodicity of the data burst; furthermore, information signaled to the BS can accommodate time-variation in the quasi-static traffic, and traffic streams multiplexed with different packet sizes and different packet inter-arrival periods; thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises time information related to the data burst and wherein the time information is indicative of a periodicity of the data burst and/or of an order of the data burst).
Regarding claim 15, Schein teaches the method of claim 14, and further teaches “wherein the time information is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0031]; the time intervals can be dependent upon the Quality of Service (QoS) required by the application of the data packets; subscriber (the wireless device) selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns, and since grant size can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst), it is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node).
Regarding claim 16, Schein teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises size information of the data burst and/or priority information between burst types and/or data packets” (see ¶ [0022]; grant size (the information indicative of the burst type) can be defined by an uplink burst size (i.e., comprises size information of the data burst); the information indicative of the burst type comprises size information of the data burst).
Regarding claim 17, Schein teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “receiving, from the wireless device, an indicator indicative of a property of the data burst for uplink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0022] and [0031]; grant size requested by a subscriber (i.e., receiving, from the wireless device, an indicator indicative of a property), the BS adjusts the uplink burst accordingly; size is a property of the data burst for uplink transmission, and the grant size ; subscriber (the wireless device) requests the new grant size by signaling the new grant size to the BS (i.e., receiving from the wireless device); thus, receiving, from the wireless device, an indicator indicative of a property of the data burst for uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 18, Schein teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “determining, based on the indicator, the allocation of the configured resource” (see ¶¶ [0022]; the base station schedules the uplink data burst to include a number of bytes as determined by the grant size (i.e., indicator) requested by the subscriber (i.e., determining, based on the indicator, the allocation of the configured resource)).
Regarding claim 19, Schein teaches “[a] method, performed by a wireless device, for uplink transmission of a data burst to a network node, wherein the data burst comprises a plurality of data packets, the method comprising: - transmitting, to the network node, control information indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of an allocation of a configured resource at the network node” (see ¶¶ [0022], [0023], and [0031]; a grant size (i.e., control information) is requested (i.e., transmitted) by a subscriber (i.e., wireless device), the BS adjusts the uplink burst accordingly (i.e., transmitted, to the network node, control information); grant size can be specified by the number of slots (i.e., a time adjustment parameter) allocated (i.e., configured resource at the network node) within an uplink burst by the BS multiplied by the number of bytes that are included within each slot; an uplink data burst occurs once every four uplink sub-frames, wherein the time duration of a frame (uplink sub-frame and downlink sub-frame) is 5 milliseconds; the time intervals can be dependent upon the Quality of Service (QoS) required by the application of the data packets; subscriber (the wireless device) selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns, and since grant size can be specified by the number of slots allocated (i.e., time information related to the data burst), it is indicative of a time adjustment parameter for adjusting a timing of the allocation of the configured resource at the network node),
Schein further teaches “wherein the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts and/or of a shape of the data bursts” (see ¶ [0031]; subscriber (the wireless device) analyzes traffic patterns of uplink data, and selects a new grant size (i.e., information indicative of a burst type) based on the analyzed traffic patterns; since a new grant size is selected based on traffic patterns, changes to traffic patterns can result in different grant sizes being selected; therefore, different grant sizes do indicate information about their corresponding traffic patterns; thus, the information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of the burst type comprises information indicative of a pattern in data bursts).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475