Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed May 29, 2026, has been entered. Claims 11-15 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-10, 16-18 are withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyksterhouse (US 2019/0127539), hereinafter, Dyksterhouse’539 in view of Batdorf et al. (US 5,511,965), as evidenced by Data sheet (Guide) of O-ring from R.L. Hudson & Company, further in view of Klink et al. (US 4,802,331) and McCowin (US 4,877,471).
Regarding claim 11, Dyksterhouse’539 discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, a method for manufacturing rope (ABSTRACT), comprising:
receiving a plurality of thermoplastic polymer or resin impregnated rovings (item 105 (from reel(s) 104) in Fig. 1 ([0037], lines 6-8));
combining the plurality of thermoplastic polymer or resin impregnated rovings into a combined roving (e.g., in an impregnation die 120 in Fig. 1 ([0037], lines 4-6));
tensioning the combined roving (item 109 in Fig. 1 ([0037], line 12));
heating the combined roving (e.g., in [0041], [0043]);
removing excess thermoplastic polymer or resin from a surface of the combined roving ([0042]);
chilling the combined roving while under tension ([0042]) using a chilling device (e.g., after exiting this slot, it immediately goes over one or more chill rollers that also contains a dimensional slot and the resin is cooled and the band becomes non-tacky, entering the pull rolls ([0084], lines 16-20)); and
wherein the removing excess thermoplastic polymer or resin from a surface of the combined roving is executed using an impregnation die (e.g., item 140 in Fig. 1 ([0044], line 4-6)).
However, Dyksterhouse’539 does not arrange a housing having/contacting an insert coupled with a locking mechanism to provide a sizing and shaping to the combined roving.
In the same field of endeavor, extrude having a variable outer diameter, Batdorf discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 2, 3, the extrudable material is normally forced through the aperture in the die 21 around the mandril 24. In Fig. 2, an “O” ring (26) with a second aperture therein 27 is placed behind the die and pressed against the die by means of a backing plate 23. Pressure against the backing plate in the direction of the die, that is, in the direction of extrusion, compresses the “O” ring to force the second aperture 27 closed. As the backing plate is moved away from the die, the “O” ring assumes its normal rest configuration and the aperture 27 opens (col. 2, lines 41-50).
Here, the die 21 is considered at least to provide one portion of the housing for the “O” ring 26 and the backing plate 23. The “O” ring 26 is considered as the insert to support the extrude. The backing plate 23 is considered to provide the mechanical support or the locking mechanism to the “O” ring for adjusting the opening and closing of the “O” ring. The opening and closing of the “O” ring are considered to provide the function of sizing and shaping of the extrude (col. 2, lines 50-54).
Thus, Batdorf discloses a housing, an insert having an inlet through the housing, and a first passage through the insert, the insert formed of an elastomer material (see the data sheet of O-ring in attached file from R.L. Hudson & Company) and sized and shaped to abut inner walls of the housing; and a mechanical locking mechanism configured to communicate physical pressure to the insert.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dyksterhouse’539 to incorporate the teachings of Batdorf to provide a housing having/contacting an insert coupled with a locking mechanism to provide a sizing and shaping to the combined roving. Doing so would be possible to have the extrude with a variable outer diameter, as recognized by Batdorf (col. 1, lines 44-52).
However, Dyksterhouse’539 does not tension the combined roving using a dead-head wheel downstream of the joining module and upstream of the oven.
In the same field of endeavor, fiber bulk strand roving, Klink discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the advance of the glass fibers 14 to the splitter 22 and the advance of the split strands 24 (comprising at least 50 glass fibers (col. 4, lines 5-10)) from the splitter 22 is accomplished by means of a driven pull wheel 30, a guide roll 26 and an idler roll 28 (col. 4, lines 16-20). Here, the idler roll 28 is considered as the dead head wheel for tensioning which can use either a stationary (‘dead shaft’) or rotating (‘live shaft’) mounting.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, impregnated multifilament band, McCowin discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1 and 2, each roller 44, 50 is journaled on a fixed steel shaft by means of conventional ball bearings to provide a long lasting and reliably performing roller assembly (col. 6, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Dyksterhouse’539 to tension the combined roving as Klink combing with McCowin teach that it is known to use the dead-head wheel downstream of the joining module and upstream of the oven for tensioning the combined roving. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 12, Dyksterhouse’539 does not arrange a housing having/contacting an insert coupled with a locking mechanism to provide a sizing and shaping to the combined roving. Batdorf discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 2, 3, for example, the hole of the backing plate and the hole of the “O” ring (or the flexible sleeve 31 (as shown in Fig. 3)) have to be in alignment to function properly (i.e., when adjusting the position(s) of the backing plate 23, e.g., the aperture 32 in the backing plate 23 (e.g., as shown in Fig. 3) has to be in alignment with the inner hole of the flexible sleeve 31).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dyksterhouse’539 to incorporate the teachings of Batdorf to provide that the hole of the backing plate and the hole of the “O” ring have to be in alignment to function properly. Doing so would be possible to have the extrude with a variable outer diameter, as recognized by Batdorf (col. 1, lines 44-52).
Regarding claim 13, Dyksterhouse’539 does not arrange a housing having/contacting an insert coupled with a locking mechanism to provide a mechanical connection to the housing. Batdorf discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, the flexible sleeve is held against the die by means of a baking plate 23 (col. 2, lines 59-60). Here, the contact portion of the die is considered as one portion of the housing. At least, the mechanical connection is established among the housing, the insert, and the locking mechanism.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dyksterhouse’539 to incorporate the teachings of Batdorf to provide that a housing having/contacting an insert coupled with a locking mechanism to provide a mechanical connection to the housing. Doing so would be possible to have the extrude with a variable outer diameter, as recognized by Batdorf (col. 1, lines 44-52).
Regarding claims 14, 15, Dyksterhouse’539 does not arrange a housing having/contacting an insert to provide a sizing and shaping to the combined roving. Batdorf discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 2, 3, the “O” ring (i.e., the insert) is deformable for opening or closing. As disclosed/evidenced by R.L. Hudson & Company (the data sheet of O ring is attached), “O” ring can be made of silicone-based material (e.g., silicone in page 2), plastic based material (e.g., Tetrafluoroethylene (Teflon) in page 2).
It would have been obvious to use the apparatus of Dyksterhouse’539 to have method for manufacturing rope as R.L. Hudson & Company teaches that it is known to have “O” ring being made of silicone-based material or plastic based material. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar device is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 5/29/2026 have been fully considered.
Terminal Disclaimer filed on 05/29/2026 has been approved. The double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments (as amended) with respect to claim(s) 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741