DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 have been cancelled; Claims 16-30 remains for examination, wherein claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 18-19, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: the “CO2” in the instant claims should be amended as “CO2” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 21-27, and 29-30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Szego et al (US-PG-pub 2018/0155191 A1, listed in IDS filed on 12/07/2023, updated as US 10,351,423 B2, thereafter PG’191).
Regarding claim 16, PG’191 teaches a manufacturing process be used in the direct reduction of minerals, in particular iron ores, in the synthesis of products such as methanol and/or derivatives thereof (Figs.1-3, Abstract, par.[0001], and examples of PG’191), which reads on the manufacturing method of direct reduced iron by gas reducing iron ore as claimed in the instant claim. PG’191 teaches obtain stream (exhausted gaseous stream) through the flow line (74) (Figs.1-3, and par.[0047] of PG’191) and PG’191 specify that the CO2 from the gaseous mixture be treated in a step (90), by means, for example, of membrane processes or process of the Pressure Swing Adsorption (PSA) type, thus producing a fuel gas poor in CO2 (line (91) and a stream (92) rich in CO2 which can be joined again with the recycling (82) and sent to the process object of the invention. (Figs.1-3, and par.[0052] of PG’191), which reads on the steps of capturing the top reducing gas and dividing reduced CO2 into CO2-poor and CO2-rich stream as claimed in the instant claim. PG’191 specify operation the syngas (12) for converting, in particular CO2 and H2O, into reducing gas and carbon. (par.[0049] of PG’191) and PG’191 teaches feeding he CO2-rich stream to alkanol production step (Figs.1-3, and par.[0028]-[0031] of PG’191). Since PG’191 teaches all of the essential manufacturing process as claimed in the instant claim, claim 16 is anticipated by PG’191.
Regarding claims 17-18, PG’191 teaches the alkanol products (line (23) in Fig.1 of PG’191) and CO2-poor stream (line (91) in Fig.1 of PG’191) reinjected into the direct reducing furnace ((70) in PG’191).
Regarding claim 21, PG’191 specify apply H2 in the alkanol production step (par.[0029] of PG’191).
Regarding claim 22, PG’191 specify a product alkanol product being a gas which is mixed with the reduction gas before its injection into the furnace ((50) of Figs.1-3 of PG’191).
Regarding claim 23, PG’191 specify a product alkanol product being a liquid (par.[0045]-[0047] of PG’191).
Regarding claims 24-25, PG’191 teaches feeding the a product alkanol product through line (15) or line (62) back to the furnace (Figs.1-3 of PG’191), which read son the claimed limitation as claimed in the instant claims.
Regarding claims 26-27, PG’191 teaches applying the reduced gaseous mixture for the synthesis of other chemical products of interest, such as methanol and/or derivatives thereof (par.[0052] of PG’191), which reads on the claimed limitation as claimed in the instant c a for the synthesis of other chemical products of interest, such as methanol and/or derivatives thereof claims.
Regarding claim 29, PG’191 specify that it can be conveniently used as fuel gas (line 91) for feeding the burner (61), used for heating the equipment (60) before the recycling reducing gas supply to the reducing furnace (par.[0052] and Figs.1-3 of PG’191),
Regarding claim 30, PG’191 teaches feeding he CO2-rich stream to alkanol production step (12) (Figs.1-3, and par.[0028]-[0031] of PG’191), which reads on the claimed alkanol production unit as claimed in the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’191 in view of Huntington et al (CN 105008806 A, with on-line translation, thereafter CN’806).
Regarding claims 19-20, PG’191 teaches that the CO2 from the gaseous mixture be treated in a step (90), by means, for example, of membrane processes or process of the Pressure Swing Adsorption (PSA) type, thus producing a fuel gas poor in CO2 (line (91) and a stream (92) rich in CO2 which can be joined again with the recycling (82) and sent to the process object of the invention. (Figs.1-3, and par.[0052] of PG’191). PG’191 does not specify the CO2 amount in the stream or rich-CO2 and poor-CO2 steam. However adjusting CO2 amount in the stream is a well-known technique as demonstrated by CN’806. CN’806 teaches a combustion chamber system and a recycle provided by exhaust gas (EGR) exhaust (Abstract, par.[0044] of CN’806). CN’806 teaches adjusting the purity of CO2 in the stream with enriched CO2 stream with 80, 85, 90, 95, 96, 97, 98, or 99 % and less purity CO2 with 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 15, 20 % (par.[0044] of CN’806). Therefore, it would have be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the well-known technique, that is adjusting CO2 amount in the stream, as demonstrated by CN’806 in the process of PG’191 in order to obtain the desired CO2 streams.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’191 in view of Kruger (US-PG-pub 2021/0123110 A1, listed in IDS filed on 12/07/2023, thereafter PG’110).
PG’191 teaches applying the reduced gaseous mixture for the synthesis of other chemical products of interest, such as methanol and/or derivatives thereof (par.[0052] of PG’191). PG’191 does not specify the ethanol as claimed in the instant claim. PG’110 teaches a manufacturing process of operating a furnace gas conduit system for a furnace gas quantity stream that comprises nitrogen, carbon monoxide, and carbon dioxide. (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’110). PG’110 teaches preparation of ethanol from the furnace gas (cl.28 and par.[0111] of PG’110). Therefore, it would have be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include ethanol as alkanol product as demonstrated by PG’110 in the process of PG’191 since both PG’110 and PG’191 teaches the same process of treating furnace gas as claimed throughout whole disclosing range.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 15-28 of copending application No. 18/290,078, (US-PG-Pub 2024/0263260 A1).
Regarding claims 16-28, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because the Claims 15-28 of copending application No. 18/290,078, (US-PG-Pub 2024/0263260 A1) teaches a manufacturing process of direct reduced iron by applying at least part of capturing reducing gas including CO2-rich as reducing gas as claimed in the instant claims. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims in view of the Claims 15-28 of copending application No. 18/290,078, (US-PG-Pub 2024/0263260 A1).
This a provisional obvious-type double patenting rejection since the conflict claims in the copending application has not in fact been patented.
Claims 16-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 13-24 of copending application No. 18/559901 (US-PG-Pub 2024/0263259 A1).
Regarding claims 16-28, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because the Claims 13-24 of copending application No. 18/559901 (US-PG-Pub 2024/0263259 A1) teaches a manufacturing process of direct reduced iron by applying at least part of capturing reducing gas including CO2-rich as reducing gas as claimed in the instant claims. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims in view of the Claims 13-24 of copending application No. 18/559901 (US-PG-Pub 2024/0263259 A1).
This a provisional obvious-type double patenting rejection since the conflict claims in the copending application has not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734