DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed June 04, 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 22, 25, 40, 55, and 56 are pending.
Response to Amendment(s)
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 22, 25, 40, 55, and 56 are pending. Drawing objections have been overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 22, 25, 40, 55, and 56 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C 101 as not being directed to eligible subject matter based on the grounds set out in detail below:
Independent Claims 1 and 10:
Eligibility Step 1 (does the subject matter fall within a statutory category?):
Independent claims 1 and 10 fall within the statutory category of method.
Eligibility Step 2A-1 (does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?): Independent claims 1 and 10 (claim 1 being representative) claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim elements which set forth the abstract idea in the independent claims (claim 1 being representative) is:
A method for treating Parkinson's disease in a subject, the method comprising:
(a) detecting the level of one or more Parkinson's Disease biomarkers in a biological sample from the subject, wherein the first marker is ethyl malonic acid (EMA)
And wherein the biological sample is blood, serum, or plasma;
(b) comparing the level of the first marker in the biological sample with a first predetermined threshold value, wherein an increased level of the first marker as compared to the first predetermined threshold value indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject.
And (c) administering a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor to the subject when the level of the first marker indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject.
This abstract idea is “certain methods of organizing human activity” as it is following rules and instructions to determine various treatments for Parkinson’s disease in a subject (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II)
Eligibility Step 2A-2 (does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?): For Independent claims 1 and 10 judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Independent claims 1 and 10 recite no additional elements therefore are purely considered the abstract idea.
Eligibility Step 2B (Does the claim amount to significantly more?): The independent claims do not include additional elements therefore purely the abstract idea and therefore do not provide significantly more. The claims are patent ineligible.
Dependent Claims 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 16, 22, 25, 40, 55, and 56:
Eligibility Step 1 (does the subject matter fall within a statutory category?): The dependent claims 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 16, 22, 25, 40, 55, and 56 fall within the statutory category of method.
Eligibility Step 2A-1 (does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?): Dependent claims 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 16, 22, 25, 40, 55, and 56 claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims continue to limit the independent claim 1 and 10 abstract idea by (1) further limiting the types of data and how the data is collected and (2) further limiting a generic administration of treatment. Therefore, the dependent claims inherit the same abstract idea which is “certain methods of organizing human activity” as it is following rules and instructions to determine various treatments for Parkinson’s disease in a subject (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II)
Eligibility Step 2A-2 (does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?): For claims 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 16, 22, 25, 40, 55, and 56 this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The dependent claims recite no additional elements and thus are purely considered the abstract idea.
Accordingly, the dependent claims as a whole do not integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.04(d)(1).
Eligibility Step 2B (Does the claim amount to significantly more?): The dependent claims do not include additional elements therefore are purely considered the abstract idea and do not provide significantly more. The claims are patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 25, 40, 55, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over HATTORI et. al (hereinafter HATTORI) (JP6820545B2) in view of Juárez-Flores et. al (hereinafter Juárez-Flores) (Juárez-Flores DL, Ezquerra M, Gonzàlez-Casacuberta Ï, Ormazabal A, Morén C, Tolosa E, Fucho R, Guitart-Mampel M, Casado M, Valldeoriola F, de la Torre-Lara J, Muñoz E, Tobías E, Compta Y, García-García FJ, García-Ruiz C, Fernandez-Checa JC, Martí MJ, Grau JM, Cardellach F, Artuch R, Fernández-Santiago R, Garrabou G. Disrupted Mitochondrial and Metabolic Plasticity Underlie Comorbidity between Age-Related and Degenerative Disorders as Parkinson Disease and Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus. Antioxidants (Basel). 2020 Oct 30;9(11):1063. doi: 10.3390/antiox9111063. PMID: 33143119; PMCID: PMC7693963.) and in view of Alken et. al (hereinafter Alken) (US20220062268A1)
As per claim 1, HATTORI teaches:
A method for treating Parkinson's disease in a subject, the method comprising: (page 1 paragraph 1 discloses, “The present invention relates to a method for determining the severity of Parkinson's disease and a determination reagent.” And page 2 discloses, “Therefore, by measuring the blood concentration of the marker of the present invention, it is possible to diagnose PD from Yar stage II in PD, and early treatment can be started.”)
(a) detecting the level of one or more Parkinson's Disease biomarkers in a biological sample from the subject, …[…]…and wherein the biological sample is blood, serum, or plasma; (page 1 para. 3 and 4 discloses, “An object of the present invention is to provide a biomarker capable of diagnosing the severity from an early stage by a simple test. Therefore, the present inventor focused on polyamines and their biotransforms among the components in blood, and searched for components that can be differentiated between PD and other neurodegenerative diseases. In the PD group, N8-acetylspermidine was used. Was found to be significantly higher. Furthermore, the relationship between PD severity and N8-acetylspermidine, the relationship between acetylase activation by mutations at the genomic DNA level and PD severity, and demyelinating changes and N8-acetyl in PD diseased brains. As a result of examining the relationship with markers such as spermidine, it was found that the concentration of a component selected from N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine and N-acetylputrecin in blood has a correlation with PD severity, and the present invention has been developed.” And see page 2 para. 6 and 7 discloses, “The blood sample may be any blood sample collected from the subject, but plasma is preferable from the viewpoint of convenience. Examples of means for measuring the concentration of N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine or N-acetylptresin in a blood sample include capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry, liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry, and other known means. Of these, capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry and liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry are more preferable because they are quantitative and can be measured by a general-purpose device.” / examiner notes blood is the biological sample taken)
…[….]…in the biological sample…[…]…((page 1 para. 3 and 4 discloses, “An object of the present invention is to provide a biomarker capable of diagnosing the severity from an early stage by a simple test. Therefore, the present inventor focused on polyamines and their biotransforms among the components in blood, and searched for components that can be differentiated between PD and other neurodegenerative diseases. In the PD group, N8-acetylspermidine was used. Was found to be significantly higher. Furthermore, the relationship between PD severity and N8-acetylspermidine, the relationship between acetylase activation by mutations at the genomic DNA level and PD severity, and demyelinating changes and N8-acetyl in PD diseased brains. As a result of examining the relationship with markers such as spermidine, it was found that the concentration of a component selected from N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine and N-acetylputrecin in blood has a correlation with PD severity, and the present invention has been developed.” And see page 2 para. 6 and 7 discloses, “The blood sample may be any blood sample collected from the subject, but plasma is preferable from the viewpoint of convenience. Examples of means for measuring the concentration of N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine or N-acetylptresin in a blood sample include capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry, liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry, and other known means. Of these, capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry and liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry are more preferable because they are quantitative and can be measured by a general-purpose device.” / examiner notes blood is the biological sample taken)
However, HATTORI does not explicitly teach:
…[…]…wherein the first marker is ethyl malonic acid (EMA)…[…]…
(b) comparing the level of the first marker ….[…]….with a first predetermined threshold value, wherein an increased level of the first marker as compared to the first predetermined threshold value indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject.
And (c) administering a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor to the subject when the level of the first marker indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject.
However, Juárez-Flores does teach:
…[…]…wherein the first marker is ethyl malonic acid (EMA)…[…]… (see figure 1 where biomarker is measured and see page 5 section results discloses, “At standard glucose concentration (5 mM), classical biomarkers of mitochondrial diseases such as lactic acid, and the main components of the Krebs’s cycle (citric, malic, succinic, and 2OH-glutaric acid), tended to increase in iPD samples. Similar trends were observed in the metabolites derived from Kreb’s cycle related to amino acid or fatty acid metabolism (as ethylmalonic or glutaric acid) and the biomarkers from free fatty acid _-oxidation (including adipic, suberic, and sebacic dicarboxylic acids).”)
(b) comparing the level of the first marker ….[…]….with a first predetermined threshold value, wherein an increased level of the first marker as compared to the first predetermined threshold value indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject. (page 5 discloses, “Organic acids related to mitochondrial energetic metabolism were increased in iPD patients, suggesting the deregulation of the intermediary metabolism (Figure 1). At standard glucose concentration (5 mM), classical biomarkers of mitochondrial diseases such as lactic acid, and the main components of the Krebs’s cycle (citric, malic, succinic, and 2OH-glutaric acid), tended to increase in iPD samples. Similar trends were observed in the metabolites derived from Kreb’s cycle related to amino acid or fatty acid metabolism (as ethylmalonic or glutaric acid) and the biomarkers from free fatty acid _-oxidation (including adipic, suberic, and sebacic dicarboxylic acids). The accumulation of all these metabolites is frequently associated with MRC dysfunction and, specifically the increase in lactic acid levels, with the activation of anaerobic glycolysis in detriment of MRC function. A high glucose concentration (25 mM) further accentuated such trends, as observed by the significant increase of citric, suberic, and sebacic acids (p = 0.01, p = 0.03, and p = 0.03, respectively). Such an increment suggests a worsened phenotype for iPD-fibroblasts in high-glucose conditions.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings with Juárez-Flores’ teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, all the markers of the present invention are acetylated metabolites of polyamines, and these polyamine acetylated metabolites correlate with PD severity, suggesting that acetylase activity is involved in PD disease progression (see page 3 para. 3 for example), therefore Juárez-Flores’ ethylmalonic acid could have been combined with the method to provide additional metabolic markers for the diagnosis of PD as high levels of this metabolite can indicate a metabolic disorder and metabolic disorder is strongly linked with PD patients and HATTORI already discloses in order to investigate the significance of changes in polyamine metabolism in PD, the autophagy-inducing effects of putrescine, spermidine, spermine and their acetylated derivatives belonging to the polyamine metabolic pathway can be examined improving the quality data to indicate severity or individualized care for patients.
However, Flores also does not teach:
And (c) administering a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor to the subject when the level of…[…]… indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject.
However, Alken does teach:
And (c) administering a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor to the subject when the level of …[…]…indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject. (abstract discloses, “Disclosed is a pharmaceutical composition comprising i) a dopamine agonist and ii) a L-DOPA derivative in combination in form of a liquid preparation. The pharmaceutical composition is used for the treatment of Parkinson's disease, restless leg syndrome, dystonia, for inhibiting prolactin secretion, for stimulating the release of growth hormones, for the treatment of neurological symptoms of chronic manganese intoxication, oamyotrophic lateral sclerosis, and multiple system atrophy.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings and Juárez-Flores’ teachings with Alken’s teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, dopamine neurodegeneration is involved in PD disease progression (see page 1) and Juárez-Flores’ teaches dopamine decreases in PD patients in higher severity PD (see page 2), therefore, it would be obvious to combine with Alken as Alken teaches a dopamine replacement therapy which would improve the progression of Parkinson’s disease and improve overall patient care.
As per claim 2, HATTORI teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising detecting the level of a second marker in the biological sample from the subject, wherein the second marker is N-acetyl putrescine (NAP); (page 2 discloses, “The relationship between blood N8-acetylspermidine concentration and PD (Parkinson's disease) is shown (Cohort 1). The relationship between blood N8-acetylspermidine concentration and PD severity (Yar stage) is shown (Cohort 1). The relationship between blood N8-acetylspermidine concentration and PD severity (UPDRS-III) is shown (Cohort 1). The relationship between blood N8-acetylspermidine concentration and PD severity (Yar stage) is shown (Cohort 2). The polyamine metabolic pathway in PD is shown. The relationship between blood N-acetylputrescine concentration and N1-acetylspermidine concentration and PD severity is shown (Cohort 2). Shown are spermidine and spermidine and their acetylated forms. It shows the autophagy-inducing activity of the polyamine acetylated product. The results of N8-acetylspermidine and RD (radial diffusivity) correlation analysis (whole brain analysis) are shown. The relationship between N8-acetylspermidine and RD is shown. The marker for determining PD severity of the present invention is a component selected from N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine and N-acetylputrescine.”)
and comparing the level of the second marker in the biological sample with a second predetermined threshold value, wherein an increased level of the second marker as compared to the second predetermined threshold value indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject. ( page 3 discloses, “To evaluate the universality of this change, control: 25 people, PD: 50 people (Hoehn and Yahr stage (see Table 1, hereinafter Yar stage) I degree: 13 people, II degree: 12 people, III degree: 13 people , IV degree: 12 people) (This cohort (Table 4) is referred to as "cohort 2") evaluated polyamine metabolites, and N8-AcSPD was significantly increased in the PD group (according to Wilcoxon test). It was confirmed that it was present (Table 5).”)
As per claim 8, HATTORI further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the subject is suspected of having or being at risk of having Parkinson's disease. (page 2 para. 2 discloses, “According to the present invention, the severity of Parkinson's disease can be easily determined from stage II of the Yar stage by simply measuring the concentrations of N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine and N-acetylputrescine in the blood. In addition, cerebral demyelinating changes in Parkinson's disease patients can also be determined.”/ examiner notes that the severity of the Parkinson’s disease is disclosed as being reviewed therefore the subject necessarily has PD.”)
As per claim 9, HATTORI does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising comparing the level of the first marker and/or the level of the second marker in the biological sample with that in a control sample, wherein the biological sample is a sample obtained at a later time point than the control sample, the control sample being an earlier-in-time biological sample obtained from the subject, or wherein the control sample is a Parkinson's disease-positive biological sample that is obtained from a subject with Parkinson's disease.
However, Flores does teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising comparing the level of the first marker and/or the level of the second marker in the biological sample with that in a control sample, wherein the biological sample is a sample obtained at a later time point than the control sample, the control sample being an earlier-in-time biological sample obtained from the subject, or wherein the control sample is a Parkinson's disease-positive biological sample that is obtained from a subject with Parkinson's disease. (see figure 1 and see page 5 discloses, “Organic acids related to mitochondrial energetic metabolism were increased in iPD patients, suggesting the deregulation of the intermediary metabolism (Figure 1). At standard glucose concentration (5 mM), classical biomarkers of mitochondrial diseases such as lactic acid, and the main components of the Krebs’s cycle (citric, malic, succinic, and 2OH-glutaric acid), tended to increase in iPD samples. Similar trends were observed in the metabolites derived from Kreb’s cycle related to amino acid or fatty acid metabolism (as ethylmalonic or glutaric acid) and the biomarkers from free fatty acid -oxidation (including adipic, suberic, and sebacic dicarboxylic acids). The accumulation of all these metabolites is frequently associated with MRC dysfunction and, specifically the increase in lactic acid levels, with the activation of anaerobic glycolysis in detriment of MRC function. A high glucose concentration (25 mM) further accentuated such trends, as observed by the significant increase of citric, suberic, and sebacic acids (p = 0.01, p = 0.03, and p = 0.03, respectively). Such an increment suggests a worsened phenotype for iPD-fibroblasts in high-glucose conditions.” /(the claim recites “or” between the series of elements. Per MPEP § 2143.03, Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings with Juárez-Flores’ teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, all the markers of the present invention are acetylated metabolites of polyamines, and these polyamine acetylated metabolites correlate with PD severity, suggesting that acetylase activity is involved in PD disease progression (see page 3 para. 3 for example), therefore Juárez-Flores’ ethylmalonic acid could have been combined with the method of to provide additional metabolic markers for the diagnosis of PD as high levels of this metabolite can indicate a metabolic disorder and metabolic disorder is strongly linked with PD patients and HATTORI already discloses in order to investigate the significance of changes in polyamine metabolism in PD, the autophagy-inducing effects of putrescine, spermidine, spermine and their acetylated derivatives belonging to the polyamine metabolic pathway can be examined improving the quality data to indicate severity or individualized care for patients.
As per claim 10, HATTORI teaches:
A method for treating Parkinson's disease in a subject, the method comprising: (page 1 paragraph 1 discloses, “The present invention relates to a method for determining the severity of Parkinson's disease and a determination reagent.” And page 2 discloses, “Therefore, by measuring the blood concentration of the marker of the present invention, it is possible to diagnose PD from Yar stage II in PD, and early treatment can be started.”)
…[…]…in a first biological sample obtained at a first time from a subject having Parkinson's disease,…[…]…; (page 1 para. 3 and 4 discloses, “An object of the present invention is to provide a biomarker capable of diagnosing the severity from an early stage by a simple test. Therefore, the present inventor focused on polyamines and their biotransforms among the components in blood, and searched for components that can be differentiated between PD and other neurodegenerative diseases. In the PD group, N8-acetylspermidine was used. Was found to be significantly higher. Furthermore, the relationship between PD severity and N8-acetylspermidine, the relationship between acetylase activation by mutations at the genomic DNA level and PD severity, and demyelinating changes and N8-acetyl in PD diseased brains. As a result of examining the relationship with markers such as spermidine, it was found that the concentration of a component selected from N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine and N-acetylputrecin in blood has a correlation with PD severity, and the present invention has been developed.” And see page 2 para. 6 and 7 discloses, “The blood sample may be any blood sample collected from the subject, but plasma is preferable from the viewpoint of convenience. Examples of means for measuring the concentration of N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine or N-acetylptresin in a blood sample include capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry, liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry, and other known means. Of these, capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry and liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry are more preferable because they are quantitative and can be measured by a general-purpose device.” / examiner notes blood is the biological sample taken)
…[…]…in a second biological sample obtained from the subject at a second time, wherein the second time is later in time than the first time;…[…]… (see Fig. 1 and see fig. 3 and see page 1 para. 3 and 4 discloses, “An object of the present invention is to provide a biomarker capable of diagnosing the severity from an early stage by a simple test. Therefore, the present inventor focused on polyamines and their biotransforms among the components in blood, and searched for components that can be differentiated between PD and other neurodegenerative diseases. In the PD group, N8-acetylspermidine was used. Was found to be significantly higher. Furthermore, the relationship between PD severity and N8-acetylspermidine, the relationship between acetylase activation by mutations at the genomic DNA level and PD severity, and demyelinating changes and N8-acetyl in PD diseased brains. As a result of examining the relationship with markers such as spermidine, it was found that the concentration of a component selected from N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine and N-acetylputrecin in blood has a correlation with PD severity, and the present invention has been developed.” And see page 4 para. 2 discloses, “Example 3 The position of N8-AcSPD in the polyamine metabolic pathway is shown in FIG. As shown in the figure in both cohorts 1 and 2, N8-AcSPD increased in the PD group, but the concentrations of putrescine, spermidine (SPD), and spermine (SPM) did not change. Therefore, these compounds due to acetylation were not observed. We speculated that modification would play an important role, and examined changes in N-Acetylputrescine (measurable in cohort 1) and N1-AcSPD (measurable in cohort 2) in each disease, as well as their correlation with PD severity. As shown in FIG. 6, both acetylase compound concentrations correlate with PD severity (by analysis of variance) and also positively correlate with N8-AcSPD concentration, indicating that changes in acetylase activity are involved in disease progression. Was suggested.” / examiner notes there are more than one cohort of subjects therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would understand multiple blood samples taken at subsequent times)
and (d) selecting a treatment for Parkinson's disease for the subject or administering a treatment for Parkinson's disease to the subject when an increased level of the first marker in the second biological sample compared to the first biological sample indicates presence or progression of Parkinson's disease in the subject, wherein the treatment is a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor, wherein the first and second biological samples are blood, serum or plasma.
…[….]…in the biological sample…[…]… marker in the first biological sample with that in the second biological sample,…[…]…((page 1 para. 3 and 4 discloses, “An object of the present invention is to provide a biomarker capable of diagnosing the severity from an early stage by a simple test. Therefore, the present inventor focused on polyamines and their biotransforms among the components in blood, and searched for components that can be differentiated between PD and other neurodegenerative diseases. In the PD group, N8-acetylspermidine was used. Was found to be significantly higher. Furthermore, the relationship between PD severity and N8-acetylspermidine, the relationship between acetylase activation by mutations at the genomic DNA level and PD severity, and demyelinating changes and N8-acetyl in PD diseased brains. As a result of examining the relationship with markers such as spermidine, it was found that the concentration of a component selected from N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine and N-acetylputrecin in blood has a correlation with PD severity, and the present invention has been developed.” And see page 2 para. 6 and 7 discloses, “The blood sample may be any blood sample collected from the subject, but plasma is preferable from the viewpoint of convenience. Examples of means for measuring the concentration of N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine or N-acetylptresin in a blood sample include capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry, liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry, and other known means. Of these, capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry and liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry are more preferable because they are quantitative and can be measured by a general-purpose device.” / examiner notes blood is the biological sample taken)
However, HATTORI does not explicitly teach:
(a) detecting the level of a first marker …[…]…wherein the first marker is EMA;
(b) detecting the level of the first marker …[…]…
( c) comparing the level of the first …[…]…wherein a change in the level of the first marker indicates a change in Parkinson's disease status or stage in the subject.
and (d) selecting a treatment for Parkinson's disease for the subject or administering a treatment for Parkinson's disease to the subject when an increased level of the first marker in the second biological sample compared to the first biological sample indicates presence or progression of Parkinson's disease in the subject, wherein the treatment is a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor, wherein the first and second biological samples are blood, serum or plasma.
However, Juárez-Flores does teach:
(a) detecting the level of a first marker …[…]…wherein the first marker is EMA; (see figure 1 where biomarker is measured and see page 5 section results discloses, “At standard glucose concentration (5 mM), classical biomarkers of mitochondrial diseases such as lactic acid, and the main components of the Krebs’s cycle (citric, malic, succinic, and 2OH-glutaric acid), tended to increase in iPD samples. Similar trends were observed in the metabolites derived from Kreb’s cycle related to amino acid or fatty acid metabolism (as ethylmalonic or glutaric acid) and the biomarkers from free fatty acid _-oxidation (including adipic, suberic, and sebacic dicarboxylic acids).”)
(b) detecting the level of the first marker …[…]…(see figure 1 where biomarker is measured and see page 5 section results discloses, “At standard glucose concentration (5 mM), classical biomarkers of mitochondrial diseases such as lactic acid, and the main components of the Krebs’s cycle (citric, malic, succinic, and 2OH-glutaric acid), tended to increase in iPD samples. Similar trends were observed in the metabolites derived from Kreb’s cycle related to amino acid or fatty acid metabolism (as ethylmalonic or glutaric acid) and the biomarkers from free fatty acid _-oxidation (including adipic, suberic, and sebacic dicarboxylic acids).”)
(c) comparing the level of the first marker …[…]…wherein a change in the level of the first marker indicates a change in Parkinson's disease status or stage in the subject. (see figure 1 where EMA where biomarker is measured and see page 5 section results discloses, “At standard glucose concentration (5 mM), classical biomarkers of mitochondrial diseases such as lactic acid, and the main components of the Krebs’s cycle (citric, malic, succinic, and 2OH-glutaric acid), tended to increase in iPD samples. Similar trends were observed in the metabolites derived from Kreb’s cycle related to amino acid or fatty acid metabolism (as ethylmalonic or glutaric acid) and the biomarkers from free fatty acid _-oxidation (including adipic, suberic, and sebacic dicarboxylic acids).”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings with Juárez-Flores’ teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, all the markers of the present invention are acetylated metabolites of polyamines, and these polyamine acetylated metabolites correlate with PD severity, suggesting that acetylase activity is involved in PD disease progression (see page 3 para. 3 for example), therefore Juárez-Flores’ ethylmalonic acid could have been combined with the method to provide additional metabolic markers for the diagnosis of PD as high levels of this metabolite can indicate a metabolic disorder and metabolic disorder is strongly linked with PD patients and HATTORI already discloses in order to investigate the significance of changes in polyamine metabolism in PD, the autophagy-inducing effects of putrescine, spermidine, spermine and their acetylated derivatives belonging to the polyamine metabolic pathway can be examined improving the quality data to indicate severity or individualized care for patients.
However, Flores also does not teach:
and (d) selecting a treatment for Parkinson's disease for the subject or administering a treatment for Parkinson's disease to the subject when an increased level of the first marker in the second biological sample compared to the first biological sample indicates presence or progression of Parkinson's disease in the subject, wherein the treatment is a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor, wherein the first and second biological samples are blood, serum or plasma.
However, Alken does teach:
and (d) selecting a treatment for Parkinson's disease for the subject or administering a treatment for Parkinson's disease to the subject when an increased level of the first marker in the second biological sample compared to the first biological sample indicates presence or progression of Parkinson's disease in the subject, wherein the treatment is a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor, wherein the first and second biological samples are blood, serum or plasma. (abstract discloses, “Disclosed is a pharmaceutical composition comprising i) a dopamine agonist and ii) a L-DOPA derivative in combination in form of a liquid preparation. The pharmaceutical composition is used for the treatment of Parkinson's disease, restless leg syndrome, dystonia, for inhibiting prolactin secretion, for stimulating the release of growth hormones, for the treatment of neurological symptoms of chronic manganese intoxication, oamyotrophic lateral sclerosis, and multiple system atrophy.” / the claim recites “or” between the series of elements. Per MPEP § 2143.03, Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings and Juárez-Flores’ teachings with Alken’s teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, dopamine neurodegeneration is involved in PD disease progression (see page 1) and Juárez-Flores’ teaches dopamine decreases in PD patients in higher severity PD (see page 2), therefore, it would be obvious to combine with Alken as Alken teaches a dopamine replacement therapy which would improve the progression of Parkinson’s disease and improve overall patient care.
As per claim 11, HATTORI further teaches:
The method of claim 10, further comprising detecting the level of a second marker in the first biological sample, wherein the second marker is NAP; (page 2 discloses, “The relationship between blood N8-acetylspermidine concentration and PD (Parkinson's disease) is shown (Cohort 1). The relationship between blood N8-acetylspermidine concentration and PD severity (Yar stage) is shown (Cohort 1). The relationship between blood N8-acetylspermidine concentration and PD severity (UPDRS-III) is shown (Cohort 1). The relationship between blood N8-acetylspermidine concentration and PD severity (Yar stage) is shown (Cohort 2). The polyamine metabolic pathway in PD is shown. The relationship between blood N-acetylputrescine concentration and N1-acetylspermidine concentration and PD severity is shown (Cohort 2). Shown are spermidine and spermidine and their acetylated forms. It shows the autophagy-inducing activity of the polyamine acetylated product. The results of N8-acetylspermidine and RD (radial diffusivity) correlation analysis (whole brain analysis) are shown. The relationship between N8-acetylspermidine and RD is shown. The marker for determining PD severity of the present invention is a component selected from N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine and N-acetylputrescine.”)
detecting the level of the second marker in the second biological sample; and comparing the level of the second marker in the first biological sample with that in the second biological sample, wherein a change in the level of the second marker indicates a change in Parkinson's disease status or stage in the subject. ( page 3 discloses, “To evaluate the universality of this change, control: 25 people, PD: 50 people (Hoehn and Yahr stage (see Table 1, hereinafter Yar stage) I degree: 13 people, II degree: 12 people, III degree: 13 people , IV degree: 12 people) (This cohort (Table 4) is referred to as "cohort 2") evaluated polyamine metabolites, and N8-AcSPD was significantly increased in the PD group (according to Wilcoxon test). It was confirmed that it was present (Table 5).”)
However, Juárez-Flores does teach:
The method of claim 10, further comprising detecting the level of a second marker in the first biological sample, wherein the second marker is EMA or NAP, and wherein the first marker and the second marker are different markers; detecting the level of the second marker in the second biological sample; and comparing the level of the second marker in the first biological sample with that in the second biological sample, wherein a change in the level of the second marker indicates a change in Parkinson's disease status or stage in the subject. (page 5 para. 3 discloses, “Measurement of organic acid and amino acid levels in iPD-fibroblasts showed unbalanced metabolic fluxes related to mitochondrial function. Organic acids related to mitochondrial energetic metabolism were increased in iPD patients, suggesting the deregulation of the intermediary metabolism (Figure 1). At standard glucose concentration (5 mM), classical biomarkers of mitochondrial diseases such as lactic acid, and the main components of the Krebs’s cycle (citric, malic, succinic, and 2OH-glutaric acid), tended to increase in iPD samples. Similar trends were observed in the metabolites derived from Kreb’s cycle related to amino acid or fatty acid metabolism (as ethylmalonic or glutaric acid) and the biomarkers from free fatty acid β-oxidation (including adipic, suberic, and sebacic dicarboxylic acids). The accumulation of all these metabolites is frequently associated with MRC dysfunction and, specifically the increase in lactic acid levels, with the activation of anaerobic glycolysis in detriment of MRC function. A high glucose concentration (25 mM) further accentuated such trends, as observed by the significant increase of citric, suberic, and sebacic acids (p = 0.01, p = 0.03, and p = 0.03, respectively). Such an increment suggests a worsened phenotype for iPD-fibroblasts in high-glucose conditions. The accumulation of all these metabolites feeding mitochondrial metabolism is frequently associated with mitochondrial dysfunction, specifically the increase in lactic acid levels, with the activation of anaerobic glycolysis in detriment of mitochondrial function.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings with Juárez-Flores’ teachings for the same reasons given for claim 2.
As per claim 25, HATTORI teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein the stage of Parkinson's disease is based on the Hoehn-Yahr scale 0, scale 1, scale 1.5, scale 2, scale 2.5, scale 3, scale 4, or scale 5. (page 2 paras. 8 and 9 discloses, “Concentrations of N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine or N-acetylputrescine in blood samples are significantly higher in PD patients and higher in proportion to the severity of PD patients. Here, the severity of PD is determined by the Hoehn and Yahr stage, which is widely known as the severity classification of PD, and UPDRS (Unified Palladium's Disease Racing Scale), which is a quantitative evaluation of PD movement disorders. (UPDRS-III), but the marker of the present invention can evaluate the severity of both Yar stage and UPDRS-III. The PD severity classification of the Yar stage is shown below. The blood concentration of the marker used in the present invention is significantly increased in II to IV among Yar stages I to IV with non-PD patients, and further increases as the severity of the Yar stage progresses. .. The blood concentration of the marker used in the present invention also correlates with the severity of UPDRS-III. Therefore, by measuring the blood concentration of the marker of the present invention, it is possible to diagnose PD from Yar stage II in PD, and early treatment can be started.”)
As per claim 40, HATTORI teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the level of the first marker and/or the level of the second marker are determined using immunoassay, ELISA, mass spectrometry, or liquid chromatography with tandem mass spectrometry. (page 2 para. 6 and 7 discloses, “The blood sample may be any blood sample collected from the subject, but plasma is preferable from the viewpoint of convenience. Examples of means for measuring the concentration of N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine or N-acetylptresin in a blood sample include capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry, liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry, and other known means. Of these, capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry and liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry are more preferable because they are quantitative and can be measured by a general-purpose device.”)
As per claims 55 and similarly claim 56, HATTORI and Flores do not teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor is selected from the group consisting of L-DOPA, selegiline rasagiline, and amantadine.
However, Alken does teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor is selected from the group consisting of L-DOPA, selegiline rasagiline, and amantadine. (abstract discloses, “Disclosed is a pharmaceutical composition comprising i) a dopamine agonist and ii) a L-DOPA derivative in combination in form of a liquid preparation. The pharmaceutical composition is used for the treatment of Parkinson's disease, restless leg syndrome, dystonia, for inhibiting prolactin secretion, for stimulating the release of growth hormones, for the treatment of neurological symptoms of chronic manganese intoxication, oamyotrophic lateral sclerosis, and multiple system atrophy.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings and Juárez-Flores’ teachings with Alken’s teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, dopamine neurodegeneration is involved in PD disease progression (see page 1) and Juárez-Flores’ teaches dopamine decreases in PD patients in higher severity PD (see page 2), therefore, it would be obvious to combine with Alken as Alken teaches a dopamine replacement therapy which would improve the progression of Parkinson’s disease and improve overall patient care.
Claims 3, 4, 12, 13, 16, and 22 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HATTORI et. al (hereinafter HATTORI) (JP6820545B2) in view of Juárez-Flores et. al (hereinafter Juárez-Flores) (Juárez-Flores DL, Ezquerra M, Gonzàlez-Casacuberta Ï, Ormazabal A, Morén C, Tolosa E, Fucho R, Guitart-Mampel M, Casado M, Valldeoriola F, de la Torre-Lara J, Muñoz E, Tobías E, Compta Y, García-García FJ, García-Ruiz C, Fernandez-Checa JC, Martí MJ, Grau JM, Cardellach F, Artuch R, Fernández-Santiago R, Garrabou G. Disrupted Mitochondrial and Metabolic Plasticity Underlie Comorbidity between Age-Related and Degenerative Disorders as Parkinson Disease and Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus. Antioxidants (Basel). 2020 Oct 30;9(11):1063. doi: 10.3390/antiox9111063. PMID: 33143119; PMCID: PMC7693963.) and in view of Alken et. al (hereinafter Alken) (US20220062268A1) and in even further view of MIDDLETON et. al (hereinafter MIDDLETON) (US20220042099A1)
As per claim 3, HATTORI, Flores, and Alken do not teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising determining the subject's performance on an anxiety test, a sleep test, a smell test, or any combination thereof, wherein an impaired performance on the anxiety test, the sleep test, the smell test, or any combination thereof indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject.
However, MIDDLETON does teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising determining the subject's performance on an anxiety test, a sleep test, a smell test, or any combination thereof, wherein an impaired performance on the anxiety test, the sleep test, the smell test, or any combination thereof indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject. ([0061] discloses, “The final functional domain that we evaluated in our subjects was chemosensory in nature ( smell and taste ) , where our PD cohort scored much worse than the healthy control subjects ( Table 3 ) . While not considered pathognomonic , decreased olfaction and taste has been well - documented in PD , including early stages of the disease.” And see [0041] discloses, “ All PD subjects were evaluated using Part III of the MDS - UPDRS by a movement disorder specialist or trained Ph.D. - level evaluator …[…]… All subjects then completed a detailed sensory , motor , cognitive , and balance assessment that included : ( 1 ) 12 - item Modified Brief Smell Identification Test ( mBSIT ) ;”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings and Flores teachings as previously cited and Alken’s teachings as previously cited with MIDDLETON’s teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, UPDRS-motor section and Yahr scale testing (see e.g. page 1 para. 7 and page 8 para. 1-3) which includes some behavior and mood questionnaire testing, therefore it would be obvious to combine with MIDDLETON’s additional BSIT testing as it would improve the pool of data to properly diagnose severity or presence of PD and properly treat the disease with a specific individualized care plan.
As per claim 4, HATTORI, Flores, and Alken do not teach:
The method of claim 3, wherein impaired performance on the anxiety test is indicated where the anxiety test yields a HADsDTotal score of 8 or above, impaired performance on the sleep test is indicated where the sleep test indicates the presence of REM sleep behavior disorder or impaired performance on the smell test is indicated where the smell test yields a BsitTotal score of 6 or below.
However, MIDDLETON does teach:
The method of claim 3, wherein impaired performance on the anxiety test is indicated where the anxiety test yields a HADsDTotal score of 8 or above, impaired performance on the sleep test is indicated where the sleep test indicates the presence of REM sleep behavior disorder or impaired performance on the smell test is indicated where the smell test yields a BsitTotal score of 6 or below. (see table 3 and see [0061] discloses, “The final functional domain that we evaluated in our subjects was chemosensory in nature ( smell and taste ) , where our PD cohort scored much worse than the healthy control subjects ( Table 3 ) . While not considered pathognomonic , decreased olfaction and taste has been well - documented in PD , including early stages of the disease . Notably , similar decreases in chemosensory function have also been consistently found in subjects with Alzheimer's disease , or a history of mild traumatic brain injury ( MTBI ) . Thus , our findings are consistent with the literature on early stage PD and suggest that these measures may represent useful screening tools , when used in combination with other assessments , for identifying subjects at risk for neurodegenerative disease in general.” And see [0050] discloses, “Chemosensory Scores . PD subjects showed highly significant decreased performance in measures of both taste and smell ( Table 3 ).” / examiner notes it is obvious if the decreased performance is seen at the 7.42 scoring of smell than it is also decreased when below this number)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s, Flores, and Alken’s teachings with MIDDLETON’s teachings, for the same reasons given above for claim 3.
As per claim 12, HATTORI, Flores, and Alken do not teach:
The method of claim 10, further comprising determining the subject's performance on an anxiety test, a sleep test, a smell test, or any combination thereof at the first time point and at the second time point; and comparing the subject's performance on the anxiety test, the sleep test, the smell test or any combination thereof at the first time point with that at the second time point; wherein a change in performance on the anxiety test, the sleep test, the smell test, or any combination thereof between the first time point and the second time point indicates a change in Parkinson's disease status or stage in the subject.
However, MIDDLETON does teach:
The method of claim 10, further comprising determining the subject's performance on an anxiety test, a sleep test, a smell test, or any combination thereof at the first time point and at the second time point; and comparing the subject's performance on the anxiety test, the sleep test, the smell test or any combination thereof at the first time point with that at the second time point; wherein a change in performance on the anxiety test, the sleep test, the smell test, or any combination thereof between the first time point and the second time point indicates a change in Parkinson's disease status or stage in the subject. (see table 3 and see [0061] discloses, “The final functional domain that we evaluated in our subjects was chemosensory in nature ( smell and taste ) , where our PD cohort scored much worse than the healthy control subjects ( Table 3 ) . While not considered pathognomonic , decreased olfaction and taste has been well - documented in PD , including early stages of the disease . Notably , similar decreases in chemosensory function have also been consistently found in subjects with Alzheimer's disease , or a history of mild traumatic brain injury ( MTBI ) . Thus , our findings are consistent with the literature on early stage PD and suggest that these measures may represent useful screening tools , when used in combination with other assessments , for identifying subjects at risk for neurodegenerative disease in general.” And see [0050] discloses, “Chemosensory Scores . PD subjects showed highly significant decreased performance in measures of both taste and smell ( Table 3 ).” / examiner notes it is obvious if the decreased performance is seen at the 7.42 scoring of smell than it is also decreased when below this number)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings, Flores' teachings, and Alken's teachings as previously cited with MIDDLETON’s teachings, for the same reasons given above for claim 3.
As per claim 13, HATTORI, Flores, and Alken do not teach:
The method of claim 12, wherein impaired performance on the anxiety test is indicated where the anxiety test yields a HADsDTotal score of 8 or above, impaired performance on the sleep test is indicated where the sleep test indicates the presence of REM sleep behavior disorder, or impaired performance on the smell test is indicated where the smell test yields a BsitTotal score of 6 or below.
However, MIDDLETON does teach:
The method of claim 12, wherein impaired performance on the anxiety test is indicated where the anxiety test yields a HADsDTotal score of 8 or above, impaired performance on the sleep test is indicated where the sleep test indicates the presence of REM sleep behavior disorder, or impaired performance on the smell test is indicated where the smell test yields a BsitTotal score of 6 or below. (see table 3 and see [0061] discloses, “The final functional domain that we evaluated in our subjects was chemosensory in nature ( smell and taste ) , where our PD cohort scored much worse than the healthy control subjects ( Table 3 ) . While not considered pathognomonic , decreased olfaction and taste has been well - documented in PD , including early stages of the disease . Notably , similar decreases in chemosensory function have also been consistently found in subjects with Alzheimer's disease , or a history of mild traumatic brain injury ( MTBI ) . Thus , our findings are consistent with the literature on early stage PD and suggest that these measures may represent useful screening tools , when used in combination with other assessments , for identifying subjects at risk for neurodegenerative disease in general.” And see [0050] discloses, “Chemosensory Scores . PD subjects showed highly significant decreased performance in measures of both taste and smell ( Table 3 ).” / examiner notes it is obvious if the decreased performance is seen at the 7.42 scoring of smell than it is also decreased when below this number)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings, Flores teachings, and Alken's teachings as previously cited with MIDDLETON’s teachings, for the same reasons given above for claim 3.
As per claim 16, HATTORI, Flores, and Alken do not teach:
The method of claim 10, wherein the subject is actively treated for Parkinson's disease prior to obtaining the second sample, or wherein the subject is not actively treated for Parkinson's disease prior to obtaining the second sample.
However, MIDDLETON does teach:
The method of claim 10, wherein the subject is actively treated for Parkinson's disease prior to obtaining the second sample, or wherein the subject is not actively treated for Parkinson's disease prior to obtaining the second sample. ([0037] discloses, “Thus , once a subject has been determined to be an at risk patient and / or having Parkinson's disease , the subject is treated to reduce and / or attenuate further progression of the disease . Various medications and treatments are known in the art and include Carbidopa levodopa , Dopamine agonists such pramipexole , ropinirole , rotigotine , and apomorphine , MAO B inhibitors such as selegiline , rasagiline and safinamide , Catechol O - methyltransferase ( COMT ) inhibi tors such as entacapone , anticholinergic medications such as benztropine and trihexyphenidyl , Amantadine , deep brain stimulation , other surgical interventions , prescribed diet and exercise programs.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings, Flores teachings, and Alken's teachings as previously cited with MIDDLETON’s teachings, for the same reasons given above for claim 3.
As per claim 22, HATTORI, Flores, and Alken do not teach:
The method of claim 12, further comprising: withholding an active treatment of the Parkinson's disease in the subject based on non-progression of the Parkinson's disease in the subject.
However, MIDDLETON does teach:
The method of claim 12, further comprising: withholding an active treatment of the Parkinson's disease in the subject based on non-progression of the Parkinson's disease in the subject. ([0037] discloses, “Thus , once a subject has been determined to be an at risk patient and / or having Parkinson's disease , the subject is treated to reduce and / or attenuate further progression of the disease . Various medications and treatments are known in the art and include Carbidopa levodopa , Dopamine ago nists such pramipexole , ropinirole , rotigotine , and apomor phine , MAO B inhibitors such as selegiline , rasagiline and safinamide , Catechol O - methyltransferase ( COMT ) inhibi tors such as entacapone , anticholinergic medications such as benztropine and trihexyphenidyl , Amantadine , deep brain stimulation , other surgical interventions , prescribed diet and exercise programs.” / examiner interprets this as a negative limitation where it is necessarily that if a person has no progression or risk of Parkinson’s treatment is not given)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings, Flores teachings, and Alken's teachings as previously cited with MIDDLETON’s teachings, for the same reasons given above for claim 3.
Response to Arguments Regarding 35 U.S.C § 101 Rejection
The applicant argues on pages 1-3 of the submitted remarks that the claims under 35 U.S.C § 101 are eligible for the following: Claims 1-4, 7-13, 16, 18, 22, 25, 40, and 44 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C § 101 as allegedly not being directed to eligible subject matter. The Examiner is of the opinion that "[i]independent claims 1 and 10 (claim 1 being representative) claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more" (page 3 of the Office Action), and "[t]he dependent claims do not include additional elements therefore are purely considered the abstract idea and do not provide significantly more" (page 5 of the Office Action).
As an initial matter, claim 18 has been cancelled, thereby rendering the rejection moot as it pertains to this claim. With respect to the remaining claims, Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection and submits that the claims, as amended, are directed to patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
The 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG) indicates that: [i]n Prong Two, examiners should evaluate whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. When the exception is so integrated, then the claim is not directed to a judicial exception (Step 2A: NO) and is eligible. This concludes the eligibility analysis. 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54 (Jan. 7, 2019).
In the context of revised Step 2A, the following exemplary considerations are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the exception into a practical application: ... an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. Id. at 55.
Claim 1 and claims dependent therefrom, as amended, are directed to a method of treating Parkinson's disease, comprising administering a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor to the subject when the level of the first marker indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject.
Claim 10 and claims dependent therefrom, as amended, are directed to a method of treating Parkinson's disease, comprising selecting a treatment for Parkinson's disease for the subject or administering a treatment for Parkinson's disease to the subject when an increased level of the first marker in the second biological sample compared to the first biological sample indicates presence or progression of Parkinson's disease in the subject, wherein the treatment is a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor.
Applicant submits that the claimed methods include an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment for Parkinson's disease. Specifically, the claims include administration or selection of a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor as a treatment, which is a therapeutic treatment that is specific for Parkinson's disease (see, e.g., "Background" at pages 1-2, pages 30-31). Therefore, claim 1, 10, and claims dependent therefrom integrate an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. Therefore, the claims, taken as a whole, are not directed to a judicial exception (Step 2A: NO) and are eligible. Further analysis under Step 2B is not required. 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54 (Jan. 7, 2019).
For at least the foregoing reasons, claims 1, 10 and claims dependent therefrom, as a whole, amount to significantly more than the alleged exception itself and, thus, are patent eligible. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the foregoing rejection is respectfully requested.
Examiner appreciates applicant’s arguments but does not find them persuasive. The MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) states A claim reciting a judicial exception is not directed to the judicial exception if it also recites additional element(s) demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. One way to demonstrate such integration is when the additional elements apply or use the recited judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. The application or use of the judicial exception in this manner meaningfully limits the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter. Such claims are eligible at Step 2A, because they are not "directed to" the recited judicial exception.
The particular treatment or prophylaxis consideration originated as part of the other meaningful limitations consideration discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e) and shares the same legal basis in Supreme Court jurisprudence as that consideration. However, recent jurisprudence has provided additional guidance that is especially relevant to only a subset of claims, thus warranting the elevation of the particular treatment or prophylaxis consideration to become a stand-alone consideration in the Step 2A Prong Two analysis. Vanda Pharm. Inc. v. West-Ward Pharm. Int’l Ltd., 887 F.3d 1117, 126 USPQ2d 1266 (Fed. Cir. 2018). The claims in Vanda recited a method of treating a patient having schizophrenia with iloperidone, a drug known to cause QTc prolongation (a disruption of the heart’s normal rhythm that can lead to serious health problems) in patients having a particular genotype associated with poor drug metabolism. 887 F.3d at 1121, 126 USPQ2d at 1269-70. In particular, the claims recited steps of: (1) performing a genotyping assay to determine if a patient has a genotype associated with poor drug metabolism; and (2) administering iloperidone to the patient in a dose range that depends on the patient’s genotype. Id. Although Vanda’s claims recited a law of nature (the naturally occurring relationship between the patient’s genotype and the risk of QTc prolongation) like the claims in Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012), the Federal Circuit distinguished them from the Mayo claims based on the differences in the administration steps. In particular, the court explained that Mayo’s step of administering a drug to a patient was performed in order to gather data about the recited laws of nature, and this step was thus ancillary to the overall diagnostic focus of the claims. 887 F.3d at 1134-35, 126 USPQ2d at 1280. In contrast, Vanda’s claims used the recited law of nature to more safely treat the patients with the drug, thereby reducing the patient’s risk of QTc prolongation. 887 F.3d at 1135, 126 USPQ2d at 1280. Accordingly, the court held Vanda’s claims eligible at the first part of the Alice/Mayo test (Step 2A) because the claims were not "directed to" the recited judicial exception. 887 F.3d at 1136, 126 USPQ2d at 1281.
Examples of "treatment" and prophylaxis" limitations encompass limitations that treat or prevent a disease or medical condition, including, e.g., acupuncture, administration of medication, dialysis, organ transplants, phototherapy, physiotherapy, radiation therapy, surgery, and the like. For example, an immunization step that integrates an abstract idea into a specific process of immunizing that lowers the risk that immunized patients will later develop chronic immune-mediated diseases is considered to be a particular prophylaxis limitation that practically applies the abstract idea. See, e.g., Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1066–68, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1500-01 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Examiners should keep in mind that in order to qualify as a "treatment" or "prophylaxis" limitation for purposes of this consideration, the claim limitation in question must affirmatively recite an action that effects a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. An example of such a limitation is a step of "administering amazonic acid to a patient" or a step of "administering a course of plasmapheresis to a patient." If the limitation does not actually provide a treatment or prophylaxis, e.g., it is merely an intended use of the claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the "treatment or prophylaxis" consideration. For example, a step of "prescribing a topical steroid to a patient with eczema" is not a positive limitation because it does not require that the steroid actually be used by or on the patient, and a recitation that a claimed product is a "pharmaceutical composition" or that a "feed dispenser is operable to dispense a mineral supplement" are not affirmative limitations because they are merely indicating how the claimed invention might be used.
When determining whether a claim applies or uses a recited judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, the following factors are relevant.
a. The Particularity Or Generality Of The Treatment Or Prophylaxis
The treatment or prophylaxis limitation must be "particular," i.e., specifically identified so that it does not encompass all applications of the judicial exception(s). For example, consider a claim that recites mentally analyzing information to identify if a patient has a genotype associated with poor metabolism of beta blocker medications. This falls within the mental process grouping of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP § 2106.04(a). The claim also recites "administering a lower than normal dosage of a beta blocker medication to a patient identified as having the poor metabolizer genotype." This administration step is particular, and it integrates the mental analysis step into a practical application. Conversely, consider a claim that recites the same abstract idea and "administering a suitable medication to a patient." This administration step is not particular, and is instead merely instructions to "apply" the exception in a generic way. Thus, the administration step does not integrate the mental analysis step into a practical application.
Examiner notes the claims as recited do not limit the scope of the claim to an affirmatively recited particular treatment or prophylaxis rather the claim recites “or” between the series of elements. Per MPEP § 2143.03, Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. This leaves the treatments recited to a high level of generality with nominal connection to the particular analysis steps of the claims. Further the instant application specification recites on page 2 discloses background on the claimed recited treatments in which have been used normally in the past, thus further confirming examiners position of the generality of the treatments recited vs affirmative particular treatment with more than a nominal relationship to the specific limitations of analysis in the claims.
Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection.
Response to Arguments Regarding 35 U.S.C § 102/103 Rejection
The applicant argues on pages 3-7 of the submitted remarks Claims 1, 8, 9, 10, 25, 40, and 44 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as allegedly being anticipated by Hattori et al. (JP6820545B2, hereinafter "Hattori").
Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection on the ground that the cited reference does not teach each and every element of the claimed invention. For a prior art reference to anticipate a claimed invention, the prior art reference must teach each and every element of the claimed invention. Lewmar Marine v. Barient 827 F.2d 744, 3 USPQ2d 1766 (Fed. Cir. 1987).
Claim 1 and claims dependent therefrom, as amended, are directed to a method for treating Parkinson's disease in a subject, the method comprising: (a) detecting the level of one or more Parkinson's Disease biomarkers in a biological sample from the subject, wherein the first marker is ethyl malonic acid (EMA) and wherein the biological sample is blood, serum, or plasma; (b) comparing the level of the first marker in the biological sample with a first predetermined threshold value, wherein an increased level of the first marker as compared to the first predetermined threshold value indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject; and (c) administering a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor when the level of the first marker indicates the presence of Parkinson's disease in the subject.
Claim 10, and claims dependent therefrom, as amended, are directed to a method for treating Parkinson's disease in a subject, the method comprising: (a) detecting the level of a first marker in a first biological sample obtained at a first time from a subject having Parkinson's disease, wherein the first marker is EMA; (b) detecting the level of the first marker in a second biological sample obtained from the subject at a second time, wherein the second time is later in time than the first time; (c) comparing the level of the first marker in the first biological sample with that in the second biological sample, wherein a change in the level of the first marker indicates a change in Parkinson's disease status or stage in the subject; and (d) selecting a treatment for Parkinson's disease for the subject or administering a treatment for Parkinson's disease to the subject when an increased level of the first marker in the second biological sample compared to the first biological sample indicates presence or progression of Parkinson's disease in the subject, wherein the treatment is a dopamine replacement medication, dopamine agonist medication, antiparkinsonian drug, or monoamine oxidase B inhibitor, wherein the first and second biological samples are blood, serum or plasma.
Hattori teaches a method for determining the severity of Parkinson's disease using a marker selected from N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine, and N-acetylputrescine. However, Hattori is silent regarding ethyl malonic acid (EMA) as a biomarker of Parkinson's disease, as required by the claims. Therefore, Hattori does not teach each and every element of the claimed invention.
Accordingly, the claims are not anticipated by Hattori. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of this rejection.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant further argues Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C § 103 as follows:
Claims 2 and 11 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Hattori in view of Juarez-Flores et al. (hereinafter "Juarez-Flores") (Juarez-Flores et al, "Disrupted Mitochondrial and Metabolic Plasticity Underlie Comorbidity between Age-Related and Degenerative Disorders as Parkinson Disease and Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus. Antioxidants (Basel). 2020 Oct 30;9(11):1063). The Examiner is of the opinion that [i]t would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI's teachings with Juarez-Flores' teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, all the markers of the present invention are acetylated metabolites of polyamines, and these polyamine acetylated metabolites correlate with PD severity, suggesting that acetylase activity is involved in PD disease progression (see page 3 para. 3 for example), therefore Juarez-Flores' ethylmalonic acid could have been combined with the method of to provide additional metabolic markers for the diagnosis of PD as high levels of this metabolite can indicate a metabolic disorder and metabolic disorder is strongly linked with PD patients and HATTORI already discloses in order to investigate the significance of changes in polyamine metabolism in PD, the autophagy-inducing effects of putrescine, spermidine, spermine and their acetylated derivatives belonging to the polyamine metabolic pathway can be examined improving the quality data to indicate severity or individualized care for patients. Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection on the ground that the cited references do not teach each and every element of the claimed invention. To support a prima facie conclusion of obviousness, the prior art must disclose or suggest all the limitations of the claimed invention. See In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1582, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1034 (Fed. Cir. 1994); see also Abbott Labs. v. Sandoz, Inc., 544 F.3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2008) ("[t]he KSR opinion .. did not mention or affect the requirement that each and every claim limitation be found present in the combination of the prior art references before the analysis proceeds."). Claim 2 requires and incorporates all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 11 requires and incorporates all the limitations of claim 10. Independent claims 1, 10, and claims dependent therefrom require that the first marker is EMA, and the biological sample(s) is blood, serum or plasma. As discussed above, Hattori is silent regarding EMA, much less using the level of EMA in blood, serum or plasma as a biomarker for Parkinson's disease. Juarez-Flores fails to cure the deficiency of Hattori. Juarez-Flores discloses measuring organic acid and amino acid levels in fibroblasts isolated from patients having idiopathic Parkinson's disease. Specifically, isolated fibroblasts were cultured in vitro, exposed to a 'pre-diabetogenic' high glucose (HG) environment or to a normoglycemic environment, and intracellular levels of organic acids were determined from fibroblast cell pellets. (see section "2.2. Fibroblast Culture" at page 3). However, Juarez-Flores only concerns intracellular mitochondrial activity and does not examine levels of any metabolites in the fibroblasts' culture media. Juarez-Flores does not teach or suggest anything about EMA levels in blood, serum or plasma, as required by the present claims.
Clearly, Hattori and Juarez-Flores, each alone or in combination, do not teach each and every element of the claimed invention. Thus, the Examiner has failed to establish a prima facie case of obviousness based on the cited references.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of this rejection.
Examiner appreciates applicant’s arguments but does not find them persuasive. Hattori teaches biological samples of blood see (page 1 para. 3 and 4 discloses, “An object of the present invention is to provide a biomarker capable of diagnosing the severity from an early stage by a simple test. Therefore, the present inventor focused on polyamines and their biotransforms among the components in blood, and searched for components that can be differentiated between PD and other neurodegenerative diseases. In the PD group, N8-acetylspermidine was used. Was found to be significantly higher. Furthermore, the relationship between PD severity and N8-acetylspermidine, the relationship between acetylase activation by mutations at the genomic DNA level and PD severity, and demyelinating changes and N8-acetyl in PD diseased brains. As a result of examining the relationship with markers such as spermidine, it was found that the concentration of a component selected from N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine and N-acetylputrecin in blood has a correlation with PD severity, and the present invention has been developed.” And see page 2 para. 6 and 7 discloses, “The blood sample may be any blood sample collected from the subject, but plasma is preferable from the viewpoint of convenience. Examples of means for measuring the concentration of N8-acetylspermidine, N1-acetylspermidine or N-acetylptresin in a blood sample include capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry, liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry, and other known means. Of these, capillary electrophoresis / mass spectrometry and liquid chromatography / mass spectrometry are more preferable because they are quantitative and can be measured by a general-purpose device.” / examiner notes blood is the biological sample taken. This in combination with the EMA biomarker in Juarez-Flores disclosed by the following: see figure 1 where biomarker is measured and see page 5 section results discloses, “At standard glucose concentration (5 mM), classical biomarkers of mitochondrial diseases such as lactic acid, and the main components of the Krebs’s cycle (citric, malic, succinic, and 2OH-glutaric acid), tended to increase in iPD samples. Similar trends were observed in the metabolites derived from Kreb’s cycle related to amino acid or fatty acid metabolism (as ethylmalonic or glutaric acid) and the biomarkers from free fatty acid _-oxidation (including adipic, suberic, and sebacic dicarboxylic acids).” Is what examiner combines to teach the aforementioned limitations. In response to applicant's argument the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Therefore, examiner notes, HATTORI clearly takes blood samples from cohorts and Flores clearly takes a biomarker sample of EMA as illustrated by figure 1 therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI’s teachings with Juárez-Flores’ teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, all the markers of the present invention are acetylated metabolites of polyamines, and these polyamine acetylated metabolites correlate with PD severity, suggesting that acetylase activity is involved in PD disease progression (see page 3 para. 3 for example), therefore Juárez-Flores’ ethylmalonic acid could have been combined with the method to provide additional metabolic markers for the diagnosis of PD as high levels of this metabolite can indicate a metabolic disorder and metabolic disorder is strongly linked with PD patients and HATTORI already discloses in order to investigate the significance of changes in polyamine metabolism in PD, the autophagy-inducing effects of putrescine, spermidine, spermine and their acetylated derivatives belonging to the polyamine metabolic pathway can be examined improving the quality data to indicate severity or individualized care for patients.
Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection.
Claims 3, 4, 7, 12, 13, 16, 18, and 22 have been rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Hattori et al. in view of Middleton et al. (US20220042099A1 hereinafter "Middleton"). The Examiner is of the opinion that [i]t would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HATTORI's teachings with MIDDLETON's teachings, the motivation being HATTORI discloses, UPDRS-motor section and Yahr scale testing (see e.g. page 1 para. 7 and page 8 para. 1-3) which includes some behavior and mood questionnaire testing, therefore it would be obvious to combine with MIDDLETON's additional BSIT testing as it would improve the pool of data to properly diagnose severity or presence of PD and properly treat the disease with a specific individualized care plan. Without acquiescing to the rejection and solely in the interest of expediting prosecution, claim 18 has been cancelled, thereby rendering the rejection moot as it pertain to this claim. With respect to the remaining claims, Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection on the ground that the cited references do not teach each and every element of the claimed invention. The standard for obviousness is stated above.
Examiner notes applicant’s argument is conclusory but In response to applicant's argument the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claims 3, 4, and 7 require and incorporate all of the limitations of claim 1. Claims 12, 13, 16 and 22 require and incorporate all of the limitations of claim 10. Independent claims 1, 10, and claims dependent therefrom require that the first marker is EMA, and the biological sample(s) is blood, serum or plasma. As discussed above, Hattori is silent regarding EMA. Middleton fails to cure the deficiency of Hattori.
Middleton discloses a method for diagnosing Parkinson's disease by detecting miRNAs and microbial RNAs in saliva. However, similar to Hattori, Middleton is silent regarding EMA, much less using the level of EMA in blood, serum or plasma as a biomarker for Parkinson's disease. Clearly, Hattori and Middleton, each alone or in combination, do not teach each and every element of the claimed invention. Thus, the Examiner has failed to establish a prima facie case of obviousness based on the cited references. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of this rejection.
Examiner notes applicant’s argument have been considered in regards to the limitation regarding “EMA” but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Further argument by applicant is conclusory but in response to applicant's argument the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection.
Prior Art not cited but made of record
Saiki S, Sasazawa Y, Fujimaki M, Kamagata K, Kaga N, Taka H, Li Y, Souma S, Hatano T, Imamichi Y, Furuya N, Mori A, Oji Y, Ueno SI, Nojiri S, Miura Y, Ueno T, Funayama M, Aoki S, Hattori N. A metabolic profile of polyamines in Parkinson disease: A promising biomarker. Ann Neurol. 2019 Aug;86(2):251-263. doi: 10.1002/ana.25516. Epub 2019 Jul 1. PMID: 31155745; PMCID: PMC6772170.
Aging is the highest risk factor for Parkinson disease (PD). Under physiological conditions, spermidine and spermine experimentally enhance longevity via autophagy induction. Accordingly, we evaluated the ability of each polyamine metabolite to act as an age-related, diagnostic, and severity-associated PD biomarker.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY ELIZABETH EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 3687
/KATHERINE KOLOSOWSKI-GAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687