Status of Claims
In the amendment filed on September 24th, 2026, claims 1, 3, 9 and 11 have been amended, claim 8 has been cancelled and no new claim has been added. Therefore, claims 1-7, 9-15 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The applicant has respectfully amended the independent claims 1 and 11 to read as follows “A wireless oral scanning system comprising: a wireless oral scanner configured to scan an oral cavity to acquire image data; a communication hub configured to receive the image data transmitted from the wireless oral scanner; a processing device which is connected to the communication hub and is configured to display the image data received by the communication hub; and a pairer which is disposed in at least one of the wireless oral scanner or the communication hub and is configured to connect the wireless oral scanner and the communication hub to each other, wherein the wireless oral scanner includes a light projector configured, after a connection between the wireless scanner and the communication hub is established, to emit red light for one unit time to acquire a color of the oral cavity, green light for one unit time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, and blue light for one unit time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, wherein the light projector is further configured to emit the blue light for (N-1) unit time to acquire a shape of the oral cavity, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 2, wherein the wireless oral scanner and the communication hub further comprise communication modules for data communication, respectively, and wherein the communication modules are configured to exchange unique information of the wireless oral scanner and unique information of the communication hub with each other, by the communication module of the wireless oral scanner transmitting the unique information of the wireless oral scanner to the communication module of the communication hub and the communication module of the communication hub transmitting the unique information of the communication hub to the communication module of the wireless oral scanner, to cause the wireless oral scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other.”
As well as, “A wireless oral scanning method comprising: sensing a pairer disposed in at least one of a wireless oral scanner or a communication hub by a pairing sensor disposed in the other one of the wireless oral scanner and the communication hub, in which no pairer is disposed; according to the sensing of the pairer by the pairing sensor, exchanging unique information of the wireless oral scanner and unique information of the communication hub with each other, by communication module of the wireless oral scanner transmitting the unique information of the wireless oral scanner to a communication module of the communication hub and the communication module of the communication hub transmitting the unique information of the communication hub to the communication module of the wireless oral scanner which are provided in the wireless oral scanner and the communication hub, respectively, and performing data communication; according to the exchanging of the unique information of the wireless oral scanner and the unique information of the communication hub, causing the wireless oral scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other; scanning an oral cavity by emitting red light for one unit time to acquire a color of the oral cavity, green light for one unit time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, and blue light for one time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, wherein the light projector is further configured to emit the blue light for (N-1) unit time to acquire a shape of the oral cavity, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 2 by a light projector included in the wireless oral scanner, after a connection between the wireless oral scanner and the communication hub is established; acquiring image data by scanning the oral cavity; and receiving the image data transmitted from the wireless oral scanner by the communication hub and displaying the image data by a processing device connected to the communication hub.”
The amended limitations “to emit red light for one unit time to acquire a color of the oral cavity, green light for one unit time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, and blue light for one unit time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, wherein the light projector is further configured to emit the blue light for (N-1) unit time to acquire a shape of the oral cavity,” are not supported in the specifications.
The specifications read as follows “To enable the wireless scanner 10 and the communication hub 20 to be communicatively connected to each other, the wireless scanner 10 may enter into a "pairing mode." The "pairing mode" is contrasted with a "scan mode," and the wireless scanner 10 having entered into the "pairing mode" may emit light having a form distinguished from that of light emitted toward an object, so as to acquire image data of the object in the "scan mode." For example, the light projector 40a may emit one red light, one green light, and multiple blue lights. More specifically, in the "scan mode," the light projector 40a may emit, toward the object, the red light for one unit time, emit the green light for one unit time, and emit the blue light for N unit time. In this case, N may be an integer equal to or greater than 2. The wireless scanner 10 may emit each of the red light, green light, and blue light for one unit time to acquire a color of the object, and may emit the blue light for (N-1) unit time to acquire the shape of the object. However, the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto, and the wireless scanner may obtain the color and the shape of the object by emitting a white light by combining the red light, the green light, and the blue light. In addition, the wireless scanner 10 may emit a structure light having at least one pattern toward the object to acquire the shape of the object.”[P-52]
Here, “More specifically, in the "scan mode," the light projector 40a may emit, toward the object, the red light for one unit time, emit the green light for one unit time, and emit the blue light for N unit time. In this case, N may be an integer equal to or greater than 2. The wireless scanner 10 may emit each of the red light, green light, and blue light for one unit time to acquire a color of the object, and may emit the blue light for (N-1) unit time to acquire the shape of the object” is predicated on an object and not an oral cavity. An object is a broader limitation than an oral cavity. Dependent claims 2-7, 9, 10, 12-15 are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucharczyk et al. (US 20220133445 A1) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 20190191132 A1), Pesach et al. (WO 2019207588 A2) and Nonaka (US 20130329860 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kucharczyk teaches an oral wireless scanning system comprising a wireless scanner configured to scan an object to acquire image data (Paragraphs 22, 25,32 55), i.e.
The present invention may provide a method and system for providing feedback during intraoral scanning by images or light patterns projected onto an object such teeth. The invention may therefore enable intraoral scanning in which a display/monitoring screen may not be needed and wherein unsuccessful registrations gaps/holes may be corrected by informing a user to repeat scans at corresponding locations in the intra-oral cavity.[P-22]
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50[P-25]
The invention may include producing and updating a 3D model through a scanning process by a user moving an intraoral camera head 30 over a location (e.g. a tooth surface 28). The scan may begin as shown in Step S100 wherein a memory of a computer system 100 may store a volume of the intra-oral cavity 52 as an empty volume which may be subsequently updated as scanning progresses. After placing the intra-oral camera head 30 over the tooth surface in Step S200, a projector 10 of the intra-oral camera 32 may project an initial default projection image over a region of the intra-oral cavity 52, to show that image data have not been acquired yet for processing. [P-32]
The computer system 100 also may include a communications interface 146 that enables software and data to be transferred between the computer system 100 and external devices. Such an interface may include a modem, a network interface (e.g., an Ethernet card or an IEEE 802.11 wireless LAN interface), a communications port (e.g., a Universal Serial Bus (“USB”) port or a FireWire® port), a Personal Computer Memory Card International Association (“PCMCIA”) interface, Bluetooth®, and the like. Software and data transferred via the communications interface 146 may be in the form of signals, which may be electronic, electromagnetic, optical or another type of signal that may be capable of being transmitted and/or received by the communications interface 146. Signals may be provided to the communications interface 146 via a communications path 148 (e.g., a channel). The communications path 148 may carry signals and may be implemented using wire or cable, fiber optics, a telephone line, a cellular link, a radio-frequency (“RF”) link, or the like. The communications interface 146 may be used to transfer software or data or other information between the computer system 100 and a remote server or cloud-based storage [P-55]
Though the wireless component of the scanner is not explicitly disclosed in Kucharczyk’s teaching, however, by Kucharczyk teaching the intraoral camera may be electrically paired with a separate projector, with the said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor, and further elaborating the computer system communicates using wireless communication protocols with external devices( which may include the projector and the scanner) (Paragraphs 25, 55, see above), then it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the scanner would have to be wirelessly compatible in order to communication with the computer processor and in turn the projector.
The wireless scanning (via the cited communication interface) in Kucharczyk is done/captured by an intraoral camera, to which the scanned area has an image is projected on thereafter. Kucharczyk then teaches a communication hub configured to receive the image data transmitted from the wireless scanner; the communication hub in this case being a controller/processor (Paragraph 25), i.e.
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50 [P-25]
Kucharczyk teaches a processing device which is connected to the communication hub and is configured to display the image data received by the communication hub; the processing device in this disclosure being a projector (Paragraph 25), i.e.
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50 [P-25]
A pairer which is disposed in at least one of the wireless scanner or the communication hub and is configured to connect the wireless scanner and the communication hub to each other (Paragraph 25), i.e.
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50 [P-25]
Kucharczyk further fails to teach the wireless oral scanner includes a light projector configured, after a connection between the wireless scanner and the communication hub is established, to emit red light for one unit time, green light for one unit time, and blue light for N unit times, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 2.
Kobayashi on the other hand teaches the wireless scanner includes a light projector configured, after a connection between the wireless scanner and the communication hub is established, to emit red light for one unit time, green light for one unit time, and blue light for N unit times, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 2. (Paragraph 113, 116, 117)
FIG. 14 is a view illustrating an outline of one example of the control example of the light
sources 150 according to the present sixth embodiment. A control for the light
sources 150 illustrated in FIG. 14 is an example in which an emitting period for mixed color (white (W)
in the example of FIG. 14) is added into the example according to the third embodiment described
above (FIG. 5). As illustrated in FIG. 14, for example, in a video display mode #2, white (W) is inserted
between red (R) and green (G) and between green (G) and blue (B), and setting of a combination of a
lighting ratio and a current value per unit time is set to a desired relationship [P-113]
FIG. 16 is a view illustrating an outline of one example of the control example of the light
sources 150 according to the present sixth embodiment. A control for the light
sources 150 illustrated in FIG. 16 is an example in which an emitting period for mixed color
(white (W) in the example of FIG. 15) is added into the example according to the fifth
embodiment described above (FIG. 7). As illustrated in FIG. 16, for example, in a normal
light source control mode of a case where an OSD exists on a screen by turning the OSD
ON, white (W) is inserted between red (R) and green (G) and between green (G) and blue (B),
and setting of a combination of a lighting ratio and a current value per unit time is set to a
desired relationship. Controls other than the addition of the emitting period for the mixed
color are similar to the controls that have already been explained in the fifth embodiment.
Therefore, their explanation will be omitted. By providing the emitting period for the mixed
color in this manner, it is possible to provide the projection video display apparatus in
which the maximum brightness of projected video is larger (brighter) while obtaining the
effects according to the fifth embodiment.[P-116]
As explained above, according to the projection video display apparatus 100 of the present
embodiment, by adding the mixed color generated by mixing red (R), green (G) and blue (B)
to the lighting ratios per the unit of time (Δt) in addition to red (R), green (G) and blue (B), it
is possible to make the maximum brightness of the projected video larger (or brighter) in a
case where the input video is bright video while securing darkness of the projected video in
a case where the input video is dark video.[P-117]
Here, we see a projector system to which the radiated reb, green, and blue time units are set to a desirable ratio, illustrating their customizable configuration, an thereby, by obviousness being able to be set/configured at red light for one unit time, green light for one unit time, and blue light for N unit times, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 2.
Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date to combine Kobayashi’s teaching with Kucharczyk’s teaching in order to effectively configure a desired output configuration of the projector component.
Kucharczyk modified fails to teach emitting red light for one unit time to acquire a color of the oral cavity, green light for one unit time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, and blue light for one time to acquire the color of the oral cavity
Pesach teaches a light projector emitting red light for one unit time to acquire a color of the oral cavity, green light for one unit time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, and blue light for one time to acquire the color of the oral cavity(Page 23, lines 25-32; Page 49, lines 17-20; Page 50, line 31-Page 51, line 6; Page 67, lines 3-11)
Another possible usage of unstructured lighting is detecting cues of, depth discontinuities in the scene, which define the borders of the smooth patches. In another example, the image obtained under unstructured lighting is used for natural coloring of the scene. In another example, the image obtained under unstructured lighting is used for evaluating reflection characteristics of the different materials and/or structures in the scene. In some embodiment, the unstructured lighting is white. Alternatively or additionally, reflection characteristics of the different materials and/or structures in the scene are evaluated at the different spectral regions and/or multiple spectral regions, for example RGB[Pg 23, lines 25-32]
In some embodiments, different colors and/or the difference in properties for different wavelengths may differentiate between features (e.g. gums, teeth, restorations) and/or between healthy areas and/or unhealthy areas (for example by detecting the presence of a biofilm and/or a change in geometry (for example reduction of bone mass).[Pg 49, lines 17-20]
In some embodiments, an image may be used to determine a local florescence of a tooth. Optionally, an image of a referential pattern is used also for gathering local florescence of the tooth. Florescence may be interpreted to identify the presence of organic materials and/or tooth decay. The florescence is obtained, for example, by measuring the amount of light emitted at a different wavelength than the light projected onto a dental feature (e.g. a tooth). For example, light at higher wavelengths emitted from a blue illuminated area, such as strip 173 in FIG. 17. To get accurate estimation of the concentration of the material that emits the florescence (e.g. plaque) light, the effects of ambient and/or absorption and/or scattering and/or distance and/or angle of both the absorbed and the emitted light can be compensated, for example, as described herein above.[Pg 50, line 31-Pg 51, line 6]
In some embodiments, for example as shown in Fig. 6G a large area light source 630 is used in conjunction with one or more fluorescent (e.g. phosphor) materials 631 that changes the light source wavelength to another wavelength, for example as the phosphors used in LEDs.In some embodiments, for example as illustrated in Fig. 6H, a large area light source 632 is used with transparent, opaque and/or fluorescent phosphors are used to produce regions with the color of the light source, dark areas and/or other colored areas. For example a blue LED 632 may be used with transparent stripes 636 (e.g. to produce a blue pattern object) and/or green 634 and/or red 633 phosphors (to produce other colored pattern objects) and/or opaque regions 636 (to produce dark pattern objects).[Pg 67, lines 3-11]
Here, we see Pesach teach a light projector emitting red light, a green light, and blue a light all to acquire distinct colors of a tooth including its decay, i.e. oral cavity
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date to combine Kobayashi modified’s teaching with Pesach’s teaching in order to effectively distinguish components of a tooth including its decay.
Furthermore, Kucharczyk modified fails to explicitly teach by the communication module of the wireless oral scanner transmitting the unique information of the wireless oral scanner to the communication module of the communication hub and the communication module of the communication hub transmitting the unique information of the communication hub to the communication module of the wireless oral scanner,
Nonaka on the other hand teaches the communication module of the wireless oral scanner transmitting the unique information of the wireless oral scanner to the communication module of the communication hub and the communication module of the communication hub transmitting the unique information of the communication hub to the communication module of the wireless oral scanner (Paragraphs 35-38)
Next, upon the operator 13 disposing the x-ray tube 4 to align with the image-receiving face of the x-ray sensor 1 as shown in "process 2" in FIG. 2 (F303), the identification information is transmitted from the identification information intermediating unit 14 carried by the operator 13 to the second identification information communication unit 8 disposed in the vicinity of the x-ray tube 4 (F304). Here again, communication between the identification information intermediating unit 14 and the second identification information communication 8 unit is performed by the operator 13 approaching, or coming in contact with, the x-ray tube 4, and no other operations are required. The second identification information communication unit 8 transfers the received identification information to the wireless master device 7 (F305).[P-35]
Then, as shown in "process 3" in FIG. 2, the wireless slave device 3 within the x-ray sensor 1 makes a wireless connection information request, to which the same identification information as the information that was transmitted to the identification information intermediating unit 14 is added (S306, connection request transmission process). At this point, the wireless slave device 3 cannot recognize the presence of the wireless master device 7, and therefore, the request is broadcast. Also, although this process is performed after the identification information communication via the identification information intermediating unit 14 (F302), in practice, it may alternatively be performed immediately after the wireless slave device is activated.[P-36]
Further, as shown in "process 4" in FIG. 2, the wireless master device 7 that received the wireless connection information request verifies if the identification information added to the request matches the identification information that was received and acquired from the second identification information communication unit 8 (F307). If these pieces of identification information match, the wireless master device 7 transmits the wireless connection information to the wireless slave device 3 that transmitted the request (F308, connection information transmission process). The wireless connection information to be transmitted here is information of an SSID, an authentication method, an encryption type, an encryption key, and the like, which are needed to be set identically between the wireless master device 7 and the wireless slave device 3. On the other hand, if these pieces of identification information do not match as a result of verification, the wireless connection information is not transmitted. Upon receiving the wireless connection information from the wireless master device 7, the wireless slave device 3 sets the received wireless connection information therein (F309).[P-37]
As a result, wireless communication is established between the wireless slave device 3 and the wireless master device 7 as shown in "process 5" in FIG. 2, and thereafter, exchange of the x-ray synchronization signal between the x-ray sensor 1 and the x-ray control device 5 and transmission and receipt of an operation control signal and image data between the x-ray sensor 1 and the image processing apparatus 10 are possible, and these devices function as an X-ray imaging system. (F310).[P-38]
Here, we see the communication module of the wireless oral scanner (Slave device) transmitting the unique information of the wireless oral scanner to the communication module of the communication hub and the communication module of the communication hub (Master device) transmitting the unique information of the communication hub to the communication module of the wireless oral scanner.
As a result, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date to combine Nonaka’s teaching with Kucharczyk modified’s teaching in order to enable an inexpensive, yet secure process of transmitting scanned oral data from one device to another.
In regards to claim 4, Kucharczyk modified teaches the pairer is a light projector configured to emit a predetermined light pattern from inside of the wireless scanner to outside of the wireless scanner (Paragraphs 32; Figure 6), i.e.
The invention may include producing and updating a 3D model through a scanning process by a user moving an intraoral camera head 30 over a location (e.g. a tooth surface 28). The scan may begin as shown in Step S100 wherein a memory of a computer system 100 may store a volume of the intra-oral cavity 52 as an empty volume which may be subsequently updated as scanning progresses. After placing the intra-oral camera head 30 over the tooth surface in Step S200, a projector 10 of the intra-oral camera 32 may project an initial default projection image over a region of the intra-oral cavity 52, to show that image data have not been acquired yet for processing. [P-32]
wherein the communication hub comprises a pattern sensor which senses the light pattern wherein the pattern sensor is configured to sense the light pattern to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other (Paragraph 35; Figure 6), i.e.
As shown in Step 300, the inner rays 24 of the illumination beam may be substantially reflected off the current measurement surface 54 towards an image sensor 18 of the intra-oral camera 32 for further processing. Herein, 3D coordinates of the current measurement surface 54 may be extracted in Step S400 to determine if all or part of the current measurement surface 54 has been previously registered (Step S500). If the current measurement surface 54 or any portion of the current measurement surface has not been previously acquired, the corresponding new 3D data (e.g. xyz coordinates) of unregistered portions may be stored by determining if the new 3D data and/or accumulated 3D data are sufficient according to one or more predetermined recording criteria/conditions (Step S600) said predetermined recording criteria including for example, whether or not the new 3D data and/or accumulated 3D data have a desired predetermined resolution, predetermined noise level, predetermined 3D point density, and/or inconsistencies between individual optical 3D measurements. If the predetermined recording criteria is satisfied, the new 3D data may be stored in an image stack for post processing or the 3D data may be used to create a real-time 3D reconstruction of the intraoral cavity as shown in Step S800. The outer region 42 of the projection image 48 corresponding to the new 3D data may then be updated in Step S1000 to relay to the user when the intra-oral camera 32 camera position changes to a new measurement surface that the previous measurement surface has been sufficiently recorded according to predetermined recording criteria. Herein, a need to constantly look at a monitor to track the progress of an ongoing intra-oral scan and make necessary adjustments may be eliminated or substantially eliminated as a visual feedback for the user may be shown in the vicinity of the intra-oral surfaces being scanned. [P-35]
Kucharczyk teaches the communication hub comprises a pattern sensor which senses the light pattern wherein the pattern sensor is configured to sense the light pattern to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other; the light pattern used by the scanning procedure by the intraoral camera is received processed and paired with the projector, such that based on the scanned data the projector may superimpose an image adequately based on the data scanned from the scanning procedure.
In regards to claim 9, Kucharczyk teaches the processing device is configured to generate a three-dimensional model of the object on the basis of the image data transmitted from the communication hub, and wherein the processing device is configured to display at least one of the image data or the three-dimensional model (Paragraphs 24, 33), i.e.
The projector may illuminate a 3D measuring field as well as surfaces outside the measuring field. Herein, information about already acquired/scanned surfaces, surfaces not yet acquired as well as other 3D measurement information (such as scan-body registration) may be visually superimposed by using a projected pattern or color onto surfaces outside the measuring field. In this way the user can control the scan process while looking into the mouth of the patient. Said projection may be dynamic, wherein an illumination beam 20 from the projector 10 may be controlled to produce said one or more projection images 48 at preferably predetermined time intervals and wherein at least a part of the illumination beam 20 may be reflected into a monitoring beam 50 for 3D measurement. [P-24]
the projector 10 may be configured to provide a successful registration feedback signifying a successful registration of the current measurement surface 54 and a non-successful registration feedback signifying a non-successful registration of the current measurement surface 54 e.g. a blue colored rectangle or striped pattern for 3D measurement (the inner region 44 of the projection image 48, FIG. 5, which also corresponds to a current measurement surface 54) may be inside a larger red colored rectangle (outer region 42 of the projection image 48 corresponding to other surfaces 56 of the cavity), the red colored rectangle signifying a non-successful registration of intra-oral surfaces on which said feedback is projected. Upon any successful registration, corresponding surfaces 46 of the successful registration in the outer region 42 may receive a successful registration feedback, e.g. green light, signifying that said corresponding surfaces of the successful registration 46 have been successfully registered. [P-33]
Claim(s) 2, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucharczyk et al. (US 20220133445 A1) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 20190191132 A1), Pesach et al. (WO 2019207588 A2) and Nonaka (US 20130329860 A1), applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Lee et al. (US 20160307539 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Kucharczyk modified teaches the pairer is a light projector configured to emit a predetermined form of light from inside of the wireless scanner to outside of the wireless scanner (Paragraphs 24, 25; Figure 1), i.e.
FIG. 1 illustrates a block diagram of a light guidance system 101 comprising at least one projector 10 having a light source 12, at least one image sensor 18 (e.g. a 3D image sensor) and a computer system 100 with at least one computer processor 122 (FIG. 7). The projector 10 and image sensor 18 may be in communication with the computer system 100. The projector 10 may be a projector housed within a camera such as an intraoral camera 32. Alternatively, the projector 10 may be a separate projector such as a digital light projector outside the intra-oral camera 32. Projectors 10 may work on a principle of filtering a light source 12 based on an image to be displayed. A lens may then be used to transfer the image to a surface on which the image may be displayed. Different kinds of projectors may be used, including Digital Light Processing (DLP) projectors which may be based on Digital Micromirror Device (DMD) technology wherein an array of microscopic mirrors may be configured to tilt either toward the light source 12 in the projector 10 or away from it in order to create a light or dark pixel on a projection surface. Other kinds of projectors may include Light Emitting Diode (LED) projectors, Laser projectors, Liquid Crystal on Silicon (LCoS) projectors and Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) projectors. One or more projectors 10 may be used for projecting one or more projection images 48 (FIG. 5) on a surface such as a tooth surface 28 (FIG. 4) and may be constructed and operated in accordance with at least one exemplary embodiment herein. The projector may illuminate a 3D measuring field as well as surfaces outside the measuring field. Herein, information about already acquired/scanned surfaces, surfaces not yet acquired as well as other 3D measurement information (such as scan-body registration) may be visually superimposed by using a projected pattern or color onto surfaces outside the measuring field. In this way the user can control the scan process while looking into the mouth of the patient. Said projection may be dynamic, wherein an illumination beam 20 from the projector 10 may be controlled to produce said one or more projection images 48 at preferably predetermined time intervals and wherein at least a part of the illumination beam 20 may be reflected into a monitoring beam 50 for 3D measurement. [P-25]
Kucharczyk fails to teach the communication hub comprises an illuminance sensor which senses the light, and wherein the illuminance sensor configured to sense at least one of a brightness of the light or a color change of the light to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other.
Lee on the other hand teaches the communication hub comprises an illuminance sensor which senses the light, and wherein the illuminance sensor configured to sense at least one of a brightness of the light or a color change of the light to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other (Paragraphs 4, 12), i.e.
a device having a display; n terminals; and a server configured to connect the device having a display with the n terminals, wherein the server provides an ID to the device having a display according to an access request from the device, wherein the device having a display calculates a brightness value change pattern corresponding to the ID, and outputs the pattern to the display, and wherein each of the n terminals detects the pattern output to the display using a proximity sensor and a light sensor, then recognizes the ID, transmits the ID to the server, and requests for access. [P-4]
the purpose of the present invention, as embodied and broadly described herein, there is also provided a mobile terminal, including: a proximity sensor configured to sense a proximity degree with a device having a display; a light sensor configured to sense a brightness value change pattern output to the display; and a controller configured to recognize an ID corresponding to the sensed brightness value change pattern, to transmit the recognized ID to a server, and to request for access, wherein the device having a display requests to the server for access to thus be provided with the ID, calculates a brightness value change pattern corresponding to the ID, and outputs the pattern to the display, and wherein the server connects the device having a display with the mobile terminal according to the access request from the controller. [P-12]
In other words, after the sensor senses a brightness the sensed ID corresponding to the brightness is then transmitted to a communication paring hub, to which there after sends the ID corresponding to the brightness to the display device such that the brightness is accounted for. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine Lee’s teaching with Kucharczyk modified’s teaching in order to optimize the transmission and display of detail of the scanned image brightness configuration.
In regards to claim 3, Kucharcyzk modified teaches the light projector is configured to emit light having a form different from light emitted when scanning the object (Paragraphs 29, 33, Kucharcyzk), i.e.
the intra-oral camera 32 may be configured so that the reflected monitoring beam 50 for 3D measurement includes all or substantially all portions of the illumination beam 20 that are configured for 3D measurement. Further portions of the illumination beam 20 configured for 3D measurement (inner rays of the illumination beam 24) may be configured to be structured illumination patterns and/or may be modulated before illumination. By using various structured illumination patterns, 3D surface profiles of tooth surfaces 28 may be measured. Moreover, by modulating with a predetermined frequency, only signals corresponding to that frequency may be detected by the image sensor 18 for further processing. [P-29]
the projector 10 may be configured to provide a successful registration feedback signifying a successful registration of the current measurement surface 54 and a non-successful registration feedback signifying a non-successful registration of the current measurement surface 54 e.g. a blue colored rectangle or striped pattern for 3D measurement (the inner region 44 of the projection image 48, FIG. 5, which also corresponds to a current measurement surface 54) may be inside a larger red colored rectangle (outer region 42 of the projection image 48 corresponding to other surfaces 56 of the cavity), the red colored rectangle signifying a non-successful registration of intra-oral surfaces on which said feedback is projected. Upon any successful registration, corresponding surfaces 46 of the successful registration in the outer region 42 may receive a successful registration feedback, e.g. green light, signifying that said corresponding surfaces of the successful registration 46 have been successfully registered. In an embodiment herein, the outer region 42 may receive an initial non-successful registration feedback signifying that scanning has not begun. Of course other implementations of the shapes and/or colors of the different components of the projection image 48 may be realized without departing from the scope of the invention.[P-33]
The projector emits color coded light frequencies for the purpose of display, as opposed to the scanning process that emits reflected modulated light for the purpose of measurement.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucharczyk et al. (US 20220133445 A1) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 20190191132 A1), Pesach et al. (WO 2019207588 A2) and Nonaka (US 20130329860 A1), applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Mincher (US 8913955 B1)
In regards to claim 5, Kucharczyk modified teaches the pairer is a magnetic unit configured to generate a predetermined magnetic field, wherein one of the wireless scanner and the communication hub comprises a magnetic sensor configured to sense the magnetic field generated from the magnetic unit (Paragraphs 25, 55),
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50[P-25]
The computer system 100 also may include a communications interface 146 that enables software and data to be transferred between the computer system 100 and external devices. Such an interface may include a modem, a network interface (e.g., an Ethernet card or an IEEE 802.11 wireless LAN interface), a communications port (e.g., a Universal Serial Bus (“USB”) port or a FireWire® port), a Personal Computer Memory Card International Association (“PCMCIA”) interface, Bluetooth®, and the like. Software and data transferred via the communications interface 146 may be in the form of signals, which may be electronic, electromagnetic, optical or another type of signal that may be capable of being transmitted and/or received by the communications interface 146. Signals may be provided to the communications interface 146 via a communications path 148 (e.g., a channel). The communications path 148 may carry signals and may be implemented using wire or cable, fiber optics, a telephone line, a cellular link, a radio-frequency (“RF”) link, or the like. The communications interface 146 may be used to transfer software or data or other information between the computer system 100 and a remote server or cloud-based storage [P-55]
Kucharczyk teaches the pairing of the scanner device and projector being done by a controller/processing device which communicates between the components using electromagnetic methods including RF frequencies.
However, Kucharczyk fails to specifically disclose the magnetic sensor causes the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other on the basis of a change in the magnetic field generated by the magnetic unit. Mincher on the other hand teaches a pairing method of devices, such that when the two devices are brought together in complementary fashion, the magnetic field from the first device is detected by the magnetic sensor in the second device, and vice versa. Upon detection, of the magnetic field by the magnetic sensor the pairing process is initiated within each of the devices. In other implementations other techniques may be used to determine proximity and initiate the pairing process. Infrared signals, acoustic signals, capacitive proximity sensors, radio frequency identification tags, near field communication devices, and so forth may be used to determine proximity of the two devices to one another. Instead of a user pressing various buttons to start the pairing process, the user places the devices near one another, such as placing the second device atop the first device. The first and second devices may have physically complementary shapes such that at least a portion of one may rest or nest within another. For example, the first device may have a declivity or recess within which the second device may sit. The magnets and magnetic sensors may be arranged such that when placed in the recess, the magnetic sensors detect the corresponding magnetic field from a magnetic in the other device and, based on that detection, may initiate the pairing process. (Column 2, lines 1-29).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Mincher and Kucharcyzk modified’s teaching in order that one may utilize the inexpensive method of magnetic pairing such that the magnetic sensor causes the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other on the basis of a change in the magnetic field generated by the magnetic unit.
In regards to claim 6, Kucharcyzk modified does not explicitly teach the pairer is a near-field communication unit configured to generate a predetermined RF signal, wherein one of the wireless scanner and the communication hub comprises a near-field communication sensor configured to sense the RF signal generated from the near-field communication unit, and wherein the near-field communication sensor causes the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other on the basis of the RF signal generated by the near-field communication unit (Paragraphs 25, 55), i.e.
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50[P-25]
The computer system 100 also may include a communications interface 146 that enables software and data to be transferred between the computer system 100 and external devices. Such an interface may include a modem, a network interface (e.g., an Ethernet card or an IEEE 802.11 wireless LAN interface), a communications port (e.g., a Universal Serial Bus (“USB”) port or a FireWire® port), a Personal Computer Memory Card International Association (“PCMCIA”) interface, Bluetooth®, and the like. Software and data transferred via the communications interface 146 may be in the form of signals, which may be electronic, electromagnetic, optical or another type of signal that may be capable of being transmitted and/or received by the communications interface 146. Signals may be provided to the communications interface 146 via a communications path 148 (e.g., a channel). The communications path 148 may carry signals and may be implemented using wire or cable, fiber optics, a telephone line, a cellular link, a radio-frequency (“RF”) link, or the like. The communications interface 146 may be used to transfer software or data or other information between the computer system 100 and a remote server or cloud-based storage [P-55]
In other words, Kucharczyk teaches intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122. Kucharczyk further elaborates the communicative method/interface to which the controller/computer utilizes Bluetooth protocol or RF link to transmit the signals to external devices (which may include the camera and the projector), and thereby be using in communication protocols related to pairing the external devices(as described above). Hence by using near-field communication protocol (Bluetooth or RF link),
Mincher also teaches the pairing of devices using a near-field communication sensor configured to sense the RF signal generated from the near-field communication unit, and wherein the near-field communication sensor causes the wireless device and the communication dev ice to be paired with each other on the basis of the RF signal generated by the near-field communication unit (Column 2, lines 10-29; Column 4, lines 46-55), i.e.
Upon detection, of the magnetic field by the magnetic sensor the pairing process is initiated within each of the devices. In other implementations other techniques may be used to determine proximity and initiate the pairing process. Infrared signals, acoustic signals, capacitive proximity sensors, radio frequency identification tags, near field communication devices, and so forth may be used to determine proximity of the two devices to one another. Instead of a user pressing various buttons to start the pairing process, the user places the devices near one another, such as placing the second device atop the first device. The first and second devices may have physically complementary shapes such that at least a portion of one may rest or nest within another. [Col 2, ln 10-29]
The pairing module 124 is configured to initiate a pairing process or procedure based at least in part upon receiving a signal. The pairing process comprises establishment of a wireless communication link between two or more devices. The pairing module 124 may be configured to establish frequencies for communication, exchange encryption information, and so forth. Once the pairing process is complete, other modules in the device may communicate using the communication link. [Col 4, ln 46-55],
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Mincher and Kucharcyzk modified’s teaching in order that one may utilize the inexpensive method of magnetic pairing such that the magnetic sensor causes the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other on the basis of a change in the magnetic field generated by the magnetic unit.
In regards to claim 10, Kucharczyk modified fails to teach at least one of the wireless scanner or the communication hub further comprises a pairing switching which is pressed in one direction to generate a predetermined pairing signal. Mincher on the other hand teaches a pairing switching which is pressed in one direction to generate a predetermined pairing signal (Column 1, lines 55-67), i.e.
To establish a communication link between two devices it may be necessary to initiate some sort of setup procedure or "pairing" so the devices recognize one another and can be configured to exchange data with one another. For example, with Bluetooth the user typically has to initiate a pairing process by pressing a particular button, initiating a command, and so forth. This manual intervention may be inconvenient for a user, resulting in an undesired user experience. For example, the pairing initiation buttons may be concealed [Col 1, ln 55-67]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Mincher and Kucharcyzk modified’s teaching in order that one may utilize the inexpensive effective method of actuating the pairing procedure.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucharczyk et al. (US 20220133445 A1) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 20190191132 A1), Pesach et al. (WO 2019207588 A2) and Nonaka (US 20130329860 A1), applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Holoubek (US 20050273356 A1).
In regards to claim 7, Kucharczyk modified fails to teach the pairer is an identifier attached to the communication hub, and wherein the wireless scanner is configured to acquire an image of the identifier to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other. Holoubek on the other hand teaches a scanner device that is paired with an external device using a pairing means that comprises an identifier attached to the extended device that is in turn scanned by the scanning device to generate an image associated with the identifier, which is thereafter used to match and pair the scanning device with the external device (Claim 18), i.e.
A system for processing a photograph, comprising: a first scanner device for scanning an identifier and a picture side of the photograph; a second scanner device for scanning the identifier and a back side of the photograph; and a control program operative on a microprocessor in electrical communication with the first and second scanner devices, said control program being operative to pair the scanned picture side of the photograph with the scanned identifier into a first database and pair the scanned back side of the photograph with the scanned identifier into a second database, the control program being further operative to: merge the picture side from the first database and the back side from the second database to create an image by matching the identifier associated with the picture and back side, the image containing the picture and back side of the photograph. [Cl 18]
and therefore if applicable to the wireless scanner is configured to acquire an image of the identifier to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine Holoubek’s teaching with Kucharczyk modified’s teaching in order to enable a cost effective method of pairing devices accordingly.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucharczyk et al. (US 20220133445 A1) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 20190191132 A1), Pesach et al. (WO 2019207588 A2) and Nonaka (US 20130329860 A1), applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Troy et al. (US 20160318625 A1).
In regards to claim 8, Kucharczyk modified fails to explicitly teach wireless scanner and the communication hub further comprise communication modules for data communication, respectively, and wherein the communication modules are configured to exchange unique information of the wireless scanner and unique information of the communication hub with each other to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other. Troy on the other hand teaches a method for pairing devices that includes the exchange of unique identifier information to pair the devices through RFID protocol (Paragraphs 4, 16), i.e.
The method includes identifying a selected control unit from the plurality of control units that will control a selected object from the plurality of objects, placing a hand-held scanner in close proximity to a first machine-readable tag on the selected control unit to acquire a first unique ID for only the selected control unit, placing the hand-held scanner in close proximity to a second machine-readable tag on the selected object to acquire a second unique ID for only the selected object, and associating the first unique ID with the second unique ID to pair the selected control unit with the selected object. [P-4]
to perform the pairing method, user 202 positions scanner 100 such that scanner detects control unit 201 on an associated seat 204. For an RFID scanner, this involves positioning scanner 100 such that the strongest RF signal detected by scanner 100 is a signal from control unit 201 of seat 204. For an optical (e.g., barcode or QR code) scanner 100, this involves directing a beam or view direction of scanner 100 such that scanner 100 reads an optical label on control unit 201 of seat 204. Once control unit 201 is scanned to acquire a unique ID, scanner 100 may give an indication (e.g., a visual, audio, or tactile alert) to user 202 to confirm control 201 has been scanned. [P-16]
Hence, Troy’s device pairing protocol is applicable to the communication modules are configured to exchange unique information of the wireless scanner and unique information of the communication hub with each other to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine Troy’s teaching with Kucharczyk modified’s teaching in order to enable a cost effective method of pairing devices accordingly
Claim(s) 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucharczyk et al. (US 20220133445 A1) in view of Troy et al. (US 20160318625 A1), Holoubek (US 20050273356 A1), Kobayashi et al. (US 20190191132 A1), Pesach et al. (WO 2019207588 A2) and Nonaka (US 20130329860 A1).
In regards to claim 11, Kucharczyk teaches a wireless scanning system comprising a wireless oral scanner configured to scan an object to acquire image data (Paragraphs 22, 25,32 55), i.e.
The present invention may provide a method and system for providing feedback during intraoral scanning by images or light patterns projected onto an object such teeth. The invention may therefore enable intraoral scanning in which a display/monitoring screen may not be needed and wherein unsuccessful registrations gaps/holes may be corrected by informing a user to repeat scans at corresponding locations in the intra-oral cavity.[P-22]
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50[P-25]
The invention may include producing and updating a 3D model through a scanning process by a user moving an intraoral camera head 30 over a location (e.g. a tooth surface 28). The scan may begin as shown in Step S100 wherein a memory of a computer system 100 may store a volume of the intra-oral cavity 52 as an empty volume which may be subsequently updated as scanning progresses. After placing the intra-oral camera head 30 over the tooth surface in Step S200, a projector 10 of the intra-oral camera 32 may project an initial default projection image over a region of the intra-oral cavity 52, to show that image data have not been acquired yet for processing. [P-32]
The computer system 100 also may include a communications interface 146 that enables software and data to be transferred between the computer system 100 and external devices. Such an interface may include a modem, a network interface (e.g., an Ethernet card or an IEEE 802.11 wireless LAN interface), a communications port (e.g., a Universal Serial Bus (“USB”) port or a FireWire® port), a Personal Computer Memory Card International Association (“PCMCIA”) interface, Bluetooth®, and the like. Software and data transferred via the communications interface 146 may be in the form of signals, which may be electronic, electromagnetic, optical or another type of signal that may be capable of being transmitted and/or received by the communications interface 146. Signals may be provided to the communications interface 146 via a communications path 148 (e.g., a channel). The communications path 148 may carry signals and may be implemented using wire or cable, fiber optics, a telephone line, a cellular link, a radio-frequency (“RF”) link, or the like. The communications interface 146 may be used to transfer software or data or other information between the computer system 100 and a remote server or cloud-based storage [P-55]
Though the wireless component of the scanner is not explicitly disclosed in Kucharczyk’s teaching, however, by Kucharczyk teaching the intraoral camera may be electrically paired with a separate projector, with the said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor, and further elaborating the computer system communicates using wireless communication protocols with external devices (which may include the projector and the scanner) (Paragraphs 25, 55, see above), then it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the scanner would have to be wirelessly compatible in order to communication with the computer processor and in turn the projector.
The wireless scanning (via the cited communication interface) in Kucharczyk is done/captured by an intraoral camera, to which the scanned area has an image is projected on thereafter. Kucharczyk then teaches a communication hub configured to receive the image data transmitted from the wireless scanner; the communication hub in this case being a controller/processor (Paragraph 25), i.e.
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50 [P-25]
Kucharczyk teaches a processing device which is connected to the communication hub and is configured to display the image data received by the communication hub; the processing device in this disclosure being a projector (Paragraph 25), i.e.
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50 [P-25]
A pairer which is disposed in at least one of the wireless scanner or the communication hub and is configured to connect the wireless oral scanner and the communication hub to each other (Paragraph 25), i.e.
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50 [P-25]
Kucharczyk fails to explicitly teach wireless oral scanner and the communication hub further comprise communication modules for data communication, respectively, and wherein the communication modules are configured to exchange unique information of the wireless scanner and unique information of the communication hub with each other to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other. Troy on the other hand teaches a method for pairing devices that includes the exchange of unique identifier information to pair the devices through RFID protocol (Paragraphs 4, 16), i.e.
The method includes identifying a selected control unit from the plurality of control units that will control a selected object from the plurality of objects, placing a hand-held scanner in close proximity to a first machine-readable tag on the selected control unit to acquire a first unique ID for only the selected control unit, placing the hand-held scanner in close proximity to a second machine-readable tag on the selected object to acquire a second unique ID for only the selected object, and associating the first unique ID with the second unique ID to pair the selected control unit with the selected object. [P-4]
to perform the pairing method, user 202 positions scanner 100 such that scanner detects control unit 201 on an associated seat 204. For an RFID scanner, this involves positioning scanner 100 such that the strongest RF signal detected by scanner 100 is a signal from control unit 201 of seat 204. For an optical (e.g., barcode or QR code) scanner 100, this involves directing a beam or view direction of scanner 100 such that scanner 100 reads an optical label on control unit 201 of seat 204. Once control unit 201 is scanned to acquire a unique ID, scanner 100 may give an indication (e.g., a visual, audio, or tactile alert) to user 202 to confirm control 201 has been scanned. [P-16]
Hence, Troy’s device pairing protocol is applicable to the communication modules are configured to exchange unique information of the wireless scanner and unique information of the communication hub with each other to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine Troy’s teaching with Kucharczyk’s teaching in order to enable a cost effective method of pairing devices accordingly.
Kucharczyk fails to teach the pairer is an identifier attached to the communication hub, and wherein the wireless scanner is configured to acquire an image of the identifier to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other. Holoubek on the other hand teaches a scanner device that is paired with an external device using a pairing means that comprises an identifier attached to the extended device that is in turn scanned by the scanning device to generate an image associated with the identifier, which is thereafter used to match and pair the scanning device with the external device (Claim 18), i.e.
A system for processing a photograph, comprising: a first scanner device for scanning an identifier and a picture side of the photograph; a second scanner device for scanning the identifier and a back side of the photograph; and a control program operative on a microprocessor in electrical communication with the first and second scanner devices, said control program being operative to pair the scanned picture side of the photograph with the scanned identifier into a first database and pair the scanned back side of the photograph with the scanned identifier into a second database, the control program being further operative to: merge the picture side from the first database and the back side from the second database to create an image by matching the identifier associated with the picture and back side, the image containing the picture and back side of the photograph. [Cl-18]
and therefore if applicable to the wireless scanner is configured to acquire an image of the identifier to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine Holoubek’s teaching with Kucharczyk’s teaching in order to enable a cost effective method of pairing devices accordingly.
Kucharczyk further fails to teach the wireless scanner includes a light projector configured, after a connection between the wireless scanner and the communication hub is established, to emit red light for one unit time, green light for one unit time, and blue light for N unit times, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 2.
Kobayashi on the other hand teaches the wireless scanner includes a light projector configured, after a connection between the wireless scanner and the communication hub is established, to emit red light for one unit time, green light for one unit time, and blue light for N unit times, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 2. (Paragraph 113, 116, 117)
FIG. 14 is a view illustrating an outline of one example of the control example of the light
sources 150 according to the present sixth embodiment. A control for the light
sources 150 illustrated in FIG. 14 is an example in which an emitting period for mixed color (white (W)
in the example of FIG. 14) is added into the example according to the third embodiment described
above (FIG. 5). As illustrated in FIG. 14, for example, in a video display mode #2, white (W) is inserted
between red (R) and green (G) and between green (G) and blue (B), and setting of a combination of a
lighting ratio and a current value per unit time is set to a desired relationship [P-113]
FIG. 16 is a view illustrating an outline of one example of the control example of the light
sources 150 according to the present sixth embodiment. A control for the light
sources 150 illustrated in FIG. 16 is an example in which an emitting period for mixed color
(white (W) in the example of FIG. 15) is added into the example according to the fifth
embodiment described above (FIG. 7). As illustrated in FIG. 16, for example, in a normal
light source control mode of a case where an OSD exists on a screen by turning the OSD
ON, white (W) is inserted between red (R) and green (G) and between green (G) and blue (B),
and setting of a combination of a lighting ratio and a current value per unit time is set to a
desired relationship. Controls other than the addition of the emitting period for the mixed
color are similar to the controls that have already been explained in the fifth embodiment.
Therefore, their explanation will be omitted. By providing the emitting period for the mixed
color in this manner, it is possible to provide the projection video display apparatus in
which the maximum brightness of projected video is larger (brighter) while obtaining the
effects according to the fifth embodiment.[P-116]
As explained above, according to the projection video display apparatus 100 of the present
embodiment, by adding the mixed color generated by mixing red (R), green (G) and blue (B)
to the lighting ratios per the unit of time (Δt) in addition to red (R), green (G) and blue (B), it
is possible to make the maximum brightness of the projected video larger (or brighter) in a
case where the input video is bright video while securing darkness of the projected video in
a case where the input video is dark video.[P-117]
Here, we see a projector system to which the radiated reb, green, and blue time units are set to a desirable ratio, illustrating their customizable configuration, an thereby, by obviousness being able to be set/configured at red light for one unit time, green light for one unit time, and blue light for N unit times, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 2.
Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date to combine Kobayashi’s teaching with Kucharcyzk’s teaching in order to effectively configure a desired output configuration of the projector component.
Kucharczyk modified fails to teach emitting red light for one unit time to acquire a color of the oral cavity, green light for one unit time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, and blue light for one time to acquire the color of the oral cavity
Pesach teaches a light projector emitting red light for one unit time to acquire a color of the oral cavity, green light for one unit time to acquire the color of the oral cavity, and blue light for one time to acquire the color of the oral cavity(Page 23, lines 25-32; Page 49, lines 17-20; Page 50, line 31-Page 51, line 6; Page 67, lines 3-11)
Another possible usage of unstructured lighting is detecting cues of, depth discontinuities in the scene, which define the borders of the smooth patches. In another example, the image obtained under unstructured lighting is used for natural coloring of the scene. In another example, the image obtained under unstructured lighting is used for evaluating reflection characteristics of the different materials and/or structures in the scene. In some embodiment, the unstructured lighting is white. Alternatively or additionally, reflection characteristics of the different materials and/or structures in the scene are evaluated at the different spectral regions and/or multiple spectral regions, for example RGB[Pg 23, lines 25-32]
In some embodiments, different colors and/or the difference in properties for different wavelengths may differentiate between features (e.g. gums, teeth, restorations) and/or between healthy areas and/or unhealthy areas (for example by detecting the presence of a biofilm and/or a change in geometry (for example reduction of bone mass).[Pg 49, lines 17-20]
In some embodiments, an image may be used to determine a local florescence of a tooth. Optionally, an image of a referential pattern is used also for gathering local florescence of the tooth. Florescence may be interpreted to identify the presence of organic materials and/or tooth decay. The florescence is obtained, for example, by measuring the amount of light emitted at a different wavelength than the light projected onto a dental feature (e.g. a tooth). For example, light at higher wavelengths emitted from a blue illuminated area, such as strip 173 in FIG. 17. To get accurate estimation of the concentration of the material that emits the florescence (e.g. plaque) light, the effects of ambient and/or absorption and/or scattering and/or distance and/or angle of both the absorbed and the emitted light can be compensated, for example, as described herein above.[Pg 50, line 31-Pg 51, line 6]
In some embodiments, for example as shown in Fig. 6G a large area light source 630 is used in conjunction with one or more fluorescent (e.g. phosphor) materials 631 that changes the light source wavelength to another wavelength, for example as the phosphors used in LEDs.In some embodiments, for example as illustrated in Fig. 6H, a large area light source 632 is used with transparent, opaque and/or fluorescent phosphors are used to produce regions with the color of the light source, dark areas and/or other colored areas. For example a blue LED 632 may be used with transparent stripes 636 (e.g. to produce a blue pattern object) and/or green 634 and/or red 633 phosphors (to produce other colored pattern objects) and/or opaque regions 636 (to produce dark pattern objects).[Pg 67, lines 3-11]
Here, we see Pesach teach a light projector emitting red light, a green light, and blue a light all to acquire distinct colors of a tooth including its decay, i.e. oral cavity
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date to combine Kobayashi modified’s teaching with Pesach’s teaching in order to effectively distinguish components of a tooth including its decay.
Furthermore, Kucharczyk modified fails to explicitly teach by the communication module of the wireless oral scanner transmitting the unique information of the wireless oral scanner to the communication module of the communication hub and the communication module of the communication hub transmitting the unique information of the communication hub to the communication module of the wireless oral scanner,
Nonaka on the other hand teaches the communication module of the wireless oral scanner transmitting the unique information of the wireless oral scanner to the communication module of the communication hub and the communication module of the communication hub transmitting the unique information of the communication hub to the communication module of the wireless oral scanner (Paragraphs 35-38)
Next, upon the operator 13 disposing the x-ray tube 4 to align with the image-receiving face of the x-ray sensor 1 as shown in "process 2" in FIG. 2 (F303), the identification information is transmitted from the identification information intermediating unit 14 carried by the operator 13 to the second identification information communication unit 8 disposed in the vicinity of the x-ray tube 4 (F304). Here again, communication between the identification information intermediating unit 14 and the second identification information communication 8 unit is performed by the operator 13 approaching, or coming in contact with, the x-ray tube 4, and no other operations are required. The second identification information communication unit 8 transfers the received identification information to the wireless master device 7 (F305).[P-35]
Then, as shown in "process 3" in FIG. 2, the wireless slave device 3 within the x-ray sensor 1 makes a wireless connection information request, to which the same identification information as the information that was transmitted to the identification information intermediating unit 14 is added (S306, connection request transmission process). At this point, the wireless slave device 3 cannot recognize the presence of the wireless master device 7, and therefore, the request is broadcast. Also, although this process is performed after the identification information communication via the identification information intermediating unit 14 (F302), in practice, it may alternatively be performed immediately after the wireless slave device is activated.[P-36]
Further, as shown in "process 4" in FIG. 2, the wireless master device 7 that received the wireless connection information request verifies if the identification information added to the request matches the identification information that was received and acquired from the second identification information communication unit 8 (F307). If these pieces of identification information match, the wireless master device 7 transmits the wireless connection information to the wireless slave device 3 that transmitted the request (F308, connection information transmission process). The wireless connection information to be transmitted here is information of an SSID, an authentication method, an encryption type, an encryption key, and the like, which are needed to be set identically between the wireless master device 7 and the wireless slave device 3. On the other hand, if these pieces of identification information do not match as a result of verification, the wireless connection information is not transmitted. Upon receiving the wireless connection information from the wireless master device 7, the wireless slave device 3 sets the received wireless connection information therein (F309).[P-37]
As a result, wireless communication is established between the wireless slave device 3 and the wireless master device 7 as shown in "process 5" in FIG. 2, and thereafter, exchange of the x-ray synchronization signal between the x-ray sensor 1 and the x-ray control device 5 and transmission and receipt of an operation control signal and image data between the x-ray sensor 1 and the image processing apparatus 10 are possible, and these devices function as an X-ray imaging system. (F310).[P-38]
Here, we see the communication module of the wireless oral scanner (Slave device) transmitting the unique information of the wireless oral scanner to the communication module of the communication hub and the communication module of the communication hub (Master device) transmitting the unique information of the communication hub to the communication module of the wireless oral scanner.
As a result, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date to combine Nonaka’s teaching with Kucharczyk modified’s teaching in order to enable an inexpensive, yet secure process of transmitting scanned oral data from one device to another.
In regards to claim 15, Kucharczyk modified teaches the processing device is configured to generate a three-dimensional model of the object on the basis of the image data transmitted from the communication hub, and wherein the processing device is configured to display at least one of the image data or the three-dimensional model (Paragraphs 24, 33), i.e.
The projector may illuminate a 3D measuring field as well as surfaces outside the measuring field. Herein, information about already acquired/scanned surfaces, surfaces not yet acquired as well as other 3D measurement information (such as scan-body registration) may be visually superimposed by using a projected pattern or color onto surfaces outside the measuring field. In this way the user can control the scan process while looking into the mouth of the patient. Said projection may be dynamic, wherein an illumination beam 20 from the projector 10 may be controlled to produce said one or more projection images 48 at preferably predetermined time intervals and wherein at least a part of the illumination beam 20 may be reflected into a monitoring beam 50 for 3D measurement.
the projector 10 may be configured to provide a successful registration feedback signifying a successful registration of the current measurement surface 54 and a non-successful registration feedback signifying a non-successful registration of the current measurement surface 54 e.g. a blue colored rectangle or striped pattern for 3D measurement (the inner region 44 of the projection image 48, FIG. 5, which also corresponds to a current measurement surface 54) may be inside a larger red colored rectangle (outer region 42 of the projection image 48 corresponding to other surfaces 56 of the cavity), the red colored rectangle signifying a non-successful registration of intra-oral surfaces on which said feedback is projected. Upon any successful registration, corresponding surfaces 46 of the successful registration in the outer region 42 may receive a successful registration feedback, e.g. green light, signifying that said corresponding surfaces of the successful registration 46 have been successfully registered.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucharczyk et al. (US 20220133445 A1) in view of Troy et al. (US 20160318625 A1), Holoubek (US 20050273356 A1), Kobayashi et al. (US 20190191132 A1), Pesach et al. (WO 2019207588 A2) and Nonaka (US 20130329860 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20160307539 A1).
In regards to claim 12, Kucharczyk modified teaches the pairer is a light projector configured to emit a predetermined form of light from inside of the wireless scanner to outside of the wireless scanner (Paragraphs 24, 25; Figure 1, Kucharczyk), i.e.
FIG. 1 illustrates a block diagram of a light guidance system 101 comprising at least one projector 10 having a light source 12, at least one image sensor 18 (e.g. a 3D image sensor) and a computer system 100 with at least one computer processor 122 (FIG. 7). The projector 10 and image sensor 18 may be in communication with the computer system 100. The projector 10 may be a projector housed within a camera such as an intraoral camera 32. Alternatively, the projector 10 may be a separate projector such as a digital light projector outside the intra-oral camera 32. Projectors 10 may work on a principle of filtering a light source 12 based on an image to be displayed. A lens may then be used to transfer the image to a surface on which the image may be displayed. Different kinds of projectors may be used, including Digital Light Processing (DLP) projectors which may be based on Digital Micromirror Device (DMD) technology wherein an array of microscopic mirrors may be configured to tilt either toward the light source 12 in the projector 10 or away from it in order to create a light or dark pixel on a projection surface. Other kinds of projectors may include Light Emitting Diode (LED) projectors, Laser projectors, Liquid Crystal on Silicon (LCoS) projectors and Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) projectors. One or more projectors 10 may be used for projecting one or more projection images 48 (FIG. 5) on a surface such as a tooth surface 28 (FIG. 4) and may be constructed and operated in accordance with at least one exemplary embodiment herein. The projector may illuminate a 3D measuring field as well as surfaces outside the measuring field. Herein, information about already acquired/scanned surfaces, surfaces not yet acquired as well as other 3D measurement information (such as scan-body registration) may be visually superimposed by using a projected pattern or color onto surfaces outside the measuring field. In this way the user can control the scan process while looking into the mouth of the patient. Said projection may be dynamic, wherein an illumination beam 20 from the projector 10 may be controlled to produce said one or more projection images 48 at preferably predetermined time intervals and wherein at least a part of the illumination beam 20 may be reflected into a monitoring beam 50 for 3D measurement. [P-25]
Kucharczyk fails to teach the communication hub comprises an illuminance sensor which senses the light, and wherein the illuminance sensor configured to sense at least one of a brightness of the light or a color change of the light to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other. Lee on the other hand teaches the communication hub comprises an illuminance sensor which senses the light, and wherein the illuminance sensor configured to sense at least one of a brightness of the light or a color change of the light to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other (Paragraphs 4, 12), i.e.
a device having a display; n terminals; and a server configured to connect the device having a display with the n terminals, wherein the server provides an ID to the device having a display according to an access request from the device, wherein the device having a display calculates a brightness value change pattern corresponding to the ID, and outputs the pattern to the display, and wherein each of the n terminals detects the pattern output to the display using a proximity sensor and a light sensor, then recognizes the ID, transmits the ID to the server, and requests for access. [P-4]
the purpose of the present invention, as embodied and broadly described herein, there is also provided a mobile terminal, including: a proximity sensor configured to sense a proximity degree with a device having a display; a light sensor configured to sense a brightness value change pattern output to the display; and a controller configured to recognize an ID corresponding to the sensed brightness value change pattern, to transmit the recognized ID to a server, and to request for access, wherein the device having a display requests to the server for access to thus be provided with the ID, calculates a brightness value change pattern corresponding to the ID, and outputs the pattern to the display, and wherein the server connects the device having a display with the mobile terminal according to the access request from the controller. [P-12]
In other words, after the sensor senses a brightness the sensed ID corresponding to the brightness is then transmitted to a communication paring hub, to which there after sends the ID corresponding to the brightness to the display device such that the brightness is accounted for. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine Lee’s teaching with Kucharczyk’s teaching in order to optimize the transmission and display of detail of the scanned image brightness configuration.
In regards to claim 13, Kucharczyk modified teaches the pairer is a light projector configured to emit a predetermined light pattern from inside of the wireless scanner to outside of the wireless scanner (Paragraphs 32; Figure 6, Kucharczyk), i.e.
The invention may include producing and updating a 3D model through a scanning process by a user moving an intraoral camera head 30 over a location (e.g. a tooth surface 28). The scan may begin as shown in Step S100 wherein a memory of a computer system 100 may store a volume of the intra-oral cavity 52 as an empty volume which may be subsequently updated as scanning progresses. After placing the intra-oral camera head 30 over the tooth surface in Step S200, a projector 10 of the intra-oral camera 32 may project an initial default projection image over a region of the intra-oral cavity 52, to show that image data have not been acquired yet for processing. [P-32]
wherein the communication hub comprises a pattern sensor which senses the light pattern wherein the pattern sensor is configured to sense the light pattern to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other (Paragraph 35; Figure 6), i.e.
As shown in Step 300, the inner rays 24 of the illumination beam may be substantially reflected off the current measurement surface 54 towards an image sensor 18 of the intra-oral camera 32 for further processing. Herein, 3D coordinates of the current measurement surface 54 may be extracted in Step S400 to determine if all or part of the current measurement surface 54 has been previously registered (Step S500). If the current measurement surface 54 or any portion of the current measurement surface has not been previously acquired, the corresponding new 3D data (e.g. xyz coordinates) of unregistered portions may be stored by determining if the new 3D data and/or accumulated 3D data are sufficient according to one or more predetermined recording criteria/conditions (Step S600) said predetermined recording criteria including for example, whether or not the new 3D data and/or accumulated 3D data have a desired predetermined resolution, predetermined noise level, predetermined 3D point density, and/or inconsistencies between individual optical 3D measurements. If the predetermined recording criteria is satisfied, the new 3D data may be stored in an image stack for post processing or the 3D data may be used to create a real-time 3D reconstruction of the intraoral cavity as shown in Step S800. The outer region 42 of the projection image 48 corresponding to the new 3D data may then be updated in Step S1000 to relay to the user when the intra-oral camera 32 camera position changes to a new measurement surface that the previous measurement surface has been sufficiently recorded according to predetermined recording criteria. Herein, a need to constantly look at a monitor to track the progress of an ongoing intra-oral scan and make necessary adjustments may be eliminated or substantially eliminated as a visual feedback for the user may be shown in the vicinity of the intra-oral surfaces being scanned. [P-35]
Kucharczyk teaches the communication hub comprises a pattern sensor which senses the light pattern wherein the pattern sensor is configured to sense the light pattern to cause the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other; the light pattern used by the scanning procedure by the intraoral camera is received processed and paired with the projector, such that based on the scanned data the projector may superimpose an image adequately based on the data scanned from the scanning procedure.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucharczyk et al. (US 20220133445 A1) in view of Troy et al. (US 20160318625 A1), Holoubek (US 20050273356 A1), Kobayashi et al. (US 20190191132 A1), Pesach et al. (WO 2019207588 A2) and Nonaka (US 20130329860 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Mincher (US 8913955 B1).
In regards to claim 14, Kucharczyk modified teaches the pairer is a magnetic unit configured to generate a predetermined magnetic field, wherein one of the wireless scanner and the communication hub comprises a magnetic sensor configured to sense the magnetic field generated from the magnetic unit (Paragraphs 25, 55, Kucharczyk),
A shape of the inner region 44 and/or outer region 42 may be pre-determined, for example, square, rectangle, circle etc. In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention as shown in FIG. 2, an intraoral camera 32 may be electrically paired with a separate projector 10a with the projector 10a projecting at least a portion of projection image 48 on a tooth surface 28 for user feedback. The intra-oral camera 32 itself may also have a projector 10 for projecting at least another portion of the projection image 48 for 3D measurement. Said pairing may be achieved by using a common controller such as a computer processor 122 to simultaneously control illumination of the tooth surface 28 by the illumination beam 20 from the projector 10a and intra-oral camera 32 and recording of the reflected monitoring beam 50[P-25]
The computer system 100 also may include a communications interface 146 that enables software and data to be transferred between the computer system 100 and external devices. Such an interface may include a modem, a network interface (e.g., an Ethernet card or an IEEE 802.11 wireless LAN interface), a communications port (e.g., a Universal Serial Bus (“USB”) port or a FireWire® port), a Personal Computer Memory Card International Association (“PCMCIA”) interface, Bluetooth®, and the like. Software and data transferred via the communications interface 146 may be in the form of signals, which may be electronic, electromagnetic, optical or another type of signal that may be capable of being transmitted and/or received by the communications interface 146. Signals may be provided to the communications interface 146 via a communications path 148 (e.g., a channel). The communications path 148 may carry signals and may be implemented using wire or cable, fiber optics, a telephone line, a cellular link, a radio-frequency (“RF”) link, or the like. The communications interface 146 may be used to transfer software or data or other information between the computer system 100 and a remote server or cloud-based storage [P-55]
Kucharczyk teaches the pairing of the scanner device and projector being done by a controller/processing device which communicates between the components using electromagnetic methods including RF frequencies.
However, Kucharczyk fails to specifically disclose the magnetic sensor causes the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other on the basis of a change in the magnetic field generated by the magnetic unit. Mincher on the other hand teaches a pairing method of devices, such that when the two devices are brought together in complementary fashion, the magnetic field from the first device is detected by the magnetic sensor in the second device, and vice versa. Upon detection, of the magnetic field by the magnetic sensor the pairing process is initiated within each of the devices. In other implementations other techniques may be used to determine proximity and initiate the pairing process. Infrared signals, acoustic signals, capacitive proximity sensors, radio frequency identification tags, near field communication devices, and so forth may be used to determine proximity of the two devices to one another. Instead of a user pressing various buttons to start the pairing process, the user places the devices near one another, such as placing the second device atop the first device. The first and second devices may have physically complementary shapes such that at least a portion of one may rest or nest within another. For example, the first device may have a declivity or recess within which the second device may sit. The magnets and magnetic sensors may be arranged such that when placed in the recess, the magnetic sensors detect the corresponding magnetic field from a magnetic in the other device and, based on that detection, may initiate the pairing process. (Column 2, lines 1-29). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Mincher and Kucharcyzk modified’s teaching in order that one may utilize the inexpensive method of magnetic pairing such that the magnetic sensor causes the wireless scanner and the communication hub to be paired with each other on the basis of a change in the magnetic field generated by the magnetic unit.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicant’s amended claims and has addressed them above under new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686