This office action is in response to application filed on 02/21/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/18/2024 and 09/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Russian Federation on 09/03/2021 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-111, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US20220131730A1) (hereinafter "Liu") in view of Sun et al (US20190020522A1) (hereinafter "Sun") and Yang et al (US20210044372A1) (hereinafter "Yang").
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a method of receiving a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a time-domain signal including one or more orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols; and ([0185] Optionally, in an embodiment shown in FIG. 8, the transmit symbol is a DFT-s-OFDM symbol, and the processing on the first set to which the first sequence and the second sequence are mapped may include the following operations: performing frequency domain processing on the first set to obtain a frequency domain signal corresponding to the first set; performing IFFT on a frequency domain signal corresponding to the first set to obtain a time domain signal corresponding to the first set)
obtaining a frequency-domain signal by performing a fast Fourier transform (FFT) based on the time-domain signal ([0187] For example, the transmit symbol is a DFT-s-OFDM symbol. … An encoded bit stream is modulated to obtain a plurality of modulated symbols, where the modulated symbols may be referred to as complex-valued symbols. … Mapping operation is performed on the plurality of sets. ... DFT is performed on a signal after the mapping operation. M-point frequency domain elements obtained after DFT transform are mapped to M consecutive subcarriers (not shown in FIG. 13), and a transmitter inserts zero or maps a remaining signal to a subcarrier other than the M subcarriers. After subcarrier mapping, IFFT transform is performed on the frequency domain signal.),
wherein each OFDM symbol in the time-domain signal includes a data part ([0004] The cyclic prefix is a cyclic structure obtained by copying a segment of data at the back (or referred to as a tail) of a data symbol to the front (or referred to as a header) of the symbol.), a cyclic prefix (CP) part ([0187] A CP is added to a signal obtained after cyclic shift, and parallel/serial conversion (parallel/serial, P/S) is performed to finally obtain the DFT-s-OFDM symbol.), and a time domain reference signal (TDRS) part ([0091] A mapping operation on the first set includes: mapping a first sequence and a second sequence to the first set, where an end position to which the first sequence is mapped is a position of intercepting a CP in a first transmit symbol, and an end position to which the second sequence is mapped is an end position of the first transmit symbol. [0092] Optionally, a sequence mentioned in this embodiment of this application, for example, the first sequence, the second sequence, a third sequence, or a fourth sequence, may be a unique word (unique word, UW) sequence, an all-zero (zero tail, ZT) sequence (or referred to as a zero tail sequence), or the like. ZT may be considered as special UW, that is, UW including elements that are all 0. [0093] Optionally, the unique word sequence may be a modulated (including pi/2-binary phase shift keying (binary phase shift keying, BPSK), quadrature phase shift keying (quadrature phase shift keying, QPSK), 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (quadrature amplitude modulation, QAM), and 64QAM) pseudo-random sequence, or may be a modulated (including pi/2-BPSK, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM) information bit sequence, and the unique word sequence may further be a predefined sequence such as a ZC sequence.).
Liu fails to disclose a method of receiving a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the TDRS part includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a time-domain.
However, Sun discloses a method of receiving a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the TDRS part ([0008] phase tracking reference signal) includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a time-domain, and ([0008] Samples of a known sequence may be concatenated with data samples before transformation into a single-carrier waveform for transmission. A receiver receiving the waveform may treat symbols generated from the known sequence as a guard interval between data transmissions and as a phase tracking reference signal to determine changes in phase between transmissions. [0010] The method generally includes receiving a first orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) symbol as a single-carrier waveform in a first period, performing a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) on first time-domain samples of the first OFDM symbol to generate first frequency-domain samples, performing an inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT) on the first frequency-domain samples to generate a first series of data samples and first samples of a known sequence, and processing the first series of data samples to determine data. [0090] If fixed known samples in time domain are inserted in each symbol, then the phase of the samples across symbols may be compared to compute phase error.).
Liu and Sun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of single-carrier waveform generation for transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu with Sun to create a method of receiving a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the TDRS part includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a time-domain.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve spectral efficiency.
Liu fails to disclose a method of receiving a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the phase noise compensation is performed in a symbol level in the time-domain based on the TDRS part in each OFDM symbol.
However, Yang discloses a method of receiving a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the phase noise compensation is performed in a symbol level in the time-domain based on the TDRS part ([0041] phase tracking reference signal (PTRS)) in each OFDM symbol ([0041] A phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) is a training signal for estimating and compensating for phase distortion due to phase noise, Doppler effect, or a synchronization error. [0057] FIG. 5B illustrates a process for generating and processing an uplink signal according to DFT-s-OFDM. A base station may use a pre-DFT symbol allocation scheme for allocating a PTRS symbol in the time domain. The pre-DFT symbol allocation scheme refers to a method of inserting a PTRS symbol in chunks in a time-domain sample before DFT is performed on a scheduled RB region.).
Liu and Yang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of decoding data by compensating for phase noise in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu with Yang to create a method of receiving a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the phase noise compensation is performed in a symbol level in the time-domain based on the TDRS part in each OFDM symbol.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prevent deterioration in the performance of the received signal.
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses the method, wherein the TDRS part of each OFDM symbol includes one or more sub-parts which are apart from each other ([0100] The third sequence and the fourth sequence are mapped to the second set, and an end position to which the third sequence is mapped is a position of intercepting a CP in the second transmit symbol (namely, the second reference point). An end position to which the fourth sequence is mapped is an end position of the second set (namely, the first reference point). The second sequence and the third sequence are the same. [0101] For example, in this embodiment of this application, an example in which the sequence is UW is used for description. For brevity, the first sequence is denoted as UW1, the second sequence is denoted as UW2, the third sequence is denoted as UW3, and the fourth sequence is denoted as UW4. [0102] For example, a schematic diagram of a time domain structure of the first transmit symbol and the second transmit symbol is shown in FIG. 4. A symbol component UW2 of the first transmit symbol and a symbol component UW3 of the second transmit symbol are the same).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses a device for wireless communication, the device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and ([0039] According to a fifth aspect, a symbol processing apparatus is provided, and the apparatus includes a memory and a processor. The memory is configured to store instructions, the processor is configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory, and execution of the instructions stored in the memory enables the apparatus to perform the method provided in any one of the first aspect to the third aspect.)
a processor configured to perform operations by executing the instructions, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes ([0039] According to a fifth aspect, a symbol processing apparatus is provided, and the apparatus includes a memory and a processor. The memory is configured to store instructions, the processor is configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory, and execution of the instructions stored in the memory enables the apparatus to perform the method provided in any one of the first aspect to the third aspect.):
receiving a time-domain signal including one or more orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols ; and ([0185] Optionally, in an embodiment shown in FIG. 8, the transmit symbol is a DFT-s-OFDM symbol, and the processing on the first set to which the first sequence and the second sequence are mapped may include the following operations: performing frequency domain processing on the first set to obtain a frequency domain signal corresponding to the first set; performing IFFT on a frequency domain signal corresponding to the first set to obtain a time domain signal corresponding to the first set)
obtaining a frequency-domain signal by performing a fast Fourier transform (FFT) based on the time-domain signal ([0187] For example, the transmit symbol is a DFT-s-OFDM symbol. … An encoded bit stream is modulated to obtain a plurality of modulated symbols, where the modulated symbols may be referred to as complex-valued symbols. … Mapping operation is performed on the plurality of sets. ... DFT is performed on a signal after the mapping operation. M-point frequency domain elements obtained after DFT transform are mapped to M consecutive subcarriers (not shown in FIG. 13), and a transmitter inserts zero or maps a remaining signal to a subcarrier other than the M subcarriers. After subcarrier mapping, IFFT transform is performed on the frequency domain signal.),
wherein each OFDM symbol in the time-domain signal includes a data part ([0004] The cyclic prefix is a cyclic structure obtained by copying a segment of data at the back (or referred to as a tail) of a data symbol to the front (or referred to as a header) of the symbol.), a cyclic prefix (CP) part ([0187] A CP is added to a signal obtained after cyclic shift, and parallel/serial conversion (parallel/serial, P/S) is performed to finally obtain the DFT-s-OFDM symbol.), and a time domain reference signal (TDRS) part ([0091] A mapping operation on the first set includes: mapping a first sequence and a second sequence to the first set, where an end position to which the first sequence is mapped is a position of intercepting a CP in a first transmit symbol, and an end position to which the second sequence is mapped is an end position of the first transmit symbol. [0092] Optionally, a sequence mentioned in this embodiment of this application, for example, the first sequence, the second sequence, a third sequence, or a fourth sequence, may be a unique word (unique word, UW) sequence, an all-zero (zero tail, ZT) sequence (or referred to as a zero tail sequence), or the like. ZT may be considered as special UW, that is, UW including elements that are all 0. [0093] Optionally, the unique word sequence may be a modulated (including pi/2-binary phase shift keying (binary phase shift keying, BPSK), quadrature phase shift keying (quadrature phase shift keying, QPSK), 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (quadrature amplitude modulation, QAM), and 64QAM) pseudo-random sequence, or may be a modulated (including pi/2-BPSK, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM) information bit sequence, and the unique word sequence may further be a predefined sequence such as a ZC sequence.).
Liu fails to disclose a device for wireless communication, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes: wherein the TDRS part includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a time-domain.
However, Sun discloses a device for wireless communication, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes: wherein the TDRS part ([0008] phase tracking reference signal) includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a time-domain, and ([0008] Samples of a known sequence may be concatenated with data samples before transformation into a single-carrier waveform for transmission. A receiver receiving the waveform may treat symbols generated from the known sequence as a guard interval between data transmissions and as a phase tracking reference signal to determine changes in phase between transmissions. [0010] The method generally includes receiving a first orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) symbol as a single-carrier waveform in a first period, performing a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) on first time-domain samples of the first OFDM symbol to generate first frequency-domain samples, performing an inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT) on the first frequency-domain samples to generate a first series of data samples and first samples of a known sequence, and processing the first series of data samples to determine data. [0090] If fixed known samples in time domain are inserted in each symbol, then the phase of the samples across symbols may be compared to compute phase error.).
Liu and Sun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of single-carrier waveform generation for transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu with Sun to create a device for wireless communication, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes: wherein the TDRS part includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a time-domain.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve spectral efficiency.
Liu fails to disclose a device for wireless communication, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes: wherein the phase noise compensation is performed in a symbol level in the time-domain based on the TDRS part in each OFDM symbol.
However, Yang discloses a device for wireless communication, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes: wherein the phase noise compensation is performed in a symbol level in the time-domain based on the TDRS part ([0041] phase tracking reference signal (PTRS)) in each OFDM symbol ([0041] A phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) is a training signal for estimating and compensating for phase distortion due to phase noise, Doppler effect, or a synchronization error. [0057] FIG. 5B illustrates a process for generating and processing an uplink signal according to DFT-s-OFDM. A base station may use a pre-DFT symbol allocation scheme for allocating a PTRS symbol in the time domain. The pre-DFT symbol allocation scheme refers to a method of inserting a PTRS symbol in chunks in a time-domain sample before DFT is performed on a scheduled RB region.).
Liu and Yang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of decoding data by compensating for phase noise in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu with Yang to create a device for wireless communication, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes: wherein the phase noise compensation is performed in a symbol level in the time-domain based on the TDRS part in each OFDM symbol.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prevent deterioration in the performance of the received signal.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses a method of transmitting a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
generating a frequency-domain signal; and ([0185] Optionally, in an embodiment shown in FIG. 8, the transmit symbol is a DFT-s-OFDM symbol, and the processing on the first set to which the first sequence and the second sequence are mapped may include the following operations: performing frequency domain processing on the first set to obtain a frequency domain signal corresponding to the first set; performing IFFT on a frequency domain signal corresponding to the first set to obtain a time domain signal corresponding to the first set)
transmitting a time-domain signal including one or more orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols by performing an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) based on the frequency-domain signal ([0187] For example, the transmit symbol is a DFT-s-OFDM symbol. … An encoded bit stream is modulated to obtain a plurality of modulated symbols, where the modulated symbols may be referred to as complex-valued symbols. … Mapping operation is performed on the plurality of sets. ... DFT is performed on a signal after the mapping operation. M-point frequency domain elements obtained after DFT transform are mapped to M consecutive subcarriers (not shown in FIG. 13), and a transmitter inserts zero or maps a remaining signal to a subcarrier other than the M subcarriers. After subcarrier mapping, IFFT transform is performed on the frequency domain signal.),
wherein each OFDM symbol in the time-domain signal includes a data part ([0004] The cyclic prefix is a cyclic structure obtained by copying a segment of data at the back (or referred to as a tail) of a data symbol to the front (or referred to as a header) of the symbol.), a cyclic prefix (CP) part ([0187] A CP is added to a signal obtained after cyclic shift, and parallel/serial conversion (parallel/serial, P/S) is performed to finally obtain the DFT-s-OFDM symbol.), and a time domain reference signal (TDRS) part, and ([0091] A mapping operation on the first set includes: mapping a first sequence and a second sequence to the first set, where an end position to which the first sequence is mapped is a position of intercepting a CP in a first transmit symbol, and an end position to which the second sequence is mapped is an end position of the first transmit symbol. [0092] Optionally, a sequence mentioned in this embodiment of this application, for example, the first sequence, the second sequence, a third sequence, or a fourth sequence, may be a unique word (unique word, UW) sequence, an all-zero (zero tail, ZT) sequence (or referred to as a zero tail sequence), or the like. ZT may be considered as special UW, that is, UW including elements that are all 0. [0093] Optionally, the unique word sequence may be a modulated (including pi/2-binary phase shift keying (binary phase shift keying, BPSK), quadrature phase shift keying (quadrature phase shift keying, QPSK), 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (quadrature amplitude modulation, QAM), and 64QAM) pseudo-random sequence, or may be a modulated (including pi/2-BPSK, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM) information bit sequence, and the unique word sequence may further be a predefined sequence such as a ZC sequence.).
Liu fails to disclose a method of transmitting a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the TDRS part includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a symbol level in a time-domain.
However, Sun discloses a method of transmitting a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the TDRS part ([0008] phase tracking reference signal) includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a symbol level in a time-domain ([0008] Samples of a known sequence may be concatenated with data samples before transformation into a single-carrier waveform for transmission. A receiver receiving the waveform may treat symbols generated from the known sequence as a guard interval between data transmissions and as a phase tracking reference signal to determine changes in phase between transmissions. [0010] The method generally includes receiving a first orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) symbol as a single-carrier waveform in a first period, performing a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) on first time-domain samples of the first OFDM symbol to generate first frequency-domain samples, performing an inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT) on the first frequency-domain samples to generate a first series of data samples and first samples of a known sequence, and processing the first series of data samples to determine data. [0090] If fixed known samples in time domain are inserted in each symbol, then the phase of the samples across symbols may be compared to compute phase error.).
Liu and Sun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of single-carrier waveform generation for transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu with Sun to create a method of transmitting a signal by a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the TDRS part includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a symbol level in a time-domain.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve spectral efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses the method, wherein the TDRS part of each OFDM symbol includes one or more sub-parts which are apart from each other ([0100] The third sequence and the fourth sequence are mapped to the second set, and an end position to which the third sequence is mapped is a position of intercepting a CP in the second transmit symbol (namely, the second reference point). An end position to which the fourth sequence is mapped is an end position of the second set (namely, the first reference point). The second sequence and the third sequence are the same. [0101] For example, in this embodiment of this application, an example in which the sequence is UW is used for description. For brevity, the first sequence is denoted as UW1, the second sequence is denoted as UW2, the third sequence is denoted as UW3, and the fourth sequence is denoted as UW4. [0102] For example, a schematic diagram of a time domain structure of the first transmit symbol and the second transmit symbol is shown in FIG. 4. A symbol component UW2 of the first transmit symbol and a symbol component UW3 of the second transmit symbol are the same).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses a device for wireless communication, the device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and ([0039] According to a fifth aspect, a symbol processing apparatus is provided, and the apparatus includes a memory and a processor. The memory is configured to store instructions, the processor is configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory, and execution of the instructions stored in the memory enables the apparatus to perform the method provided in any one of the first aspect to the third aspect.)
a processor configured to perform operations by executing the instructions, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes ([0039] According to a fifth aspect, a symbol processing apparatus is provided, and the apparatus includes a memory and a processor. The memory is configured to store instructions, the processor is configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory, and execution of the instructions stored in the memory enables the apparatus to perform the method provided in any one of the first aspect to the third aspect.):
generating a frequency-domain signal; and ([0185] Optionally, in an embodiment shown in FIG. 8, the transmit symbol is a DFT-s-OFDM symbol, and the processing on the first set to which the first sequence and the second sequence are mapped may include the following operations: performing frequency domain processing on the first set to obtain a frequency domain signal corresponding to the first set; performing IFFT on a frequency domain signal corresponding to the first set to obtain a time domain signal corresponding to the first set)
transmitting a time-domain signal including one or more orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols by performing an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) based on the frequency-domain signal ([0187] For example, the transmit symbol is a DFT-s-OFDM symbol. … An encoded bit stream is modulated to obtain a plurality of modulated symbols, where the modulated symbols may be referred to as complex-valued symbols. … Mapping operation is performed on the plurality of sets. ... DFT is performed on a signal after the mapping operation. M-point frequency domain elements obtained after DFT transform are mapped to M consecutive subcarriers (not shown in FIG. 13), and a transmitter inserts zero or maps a remaining signal to a subcarrier other than the M subcarriers. After subcarrier mapping, IFFT transform is performed on the frequency domain signal.),
wherein each OFDM symbol in the time-domain signal includes a data part ([0004] The cyclic prefix is a cyclic structure obtained by copying a segment of data at the back (or referred to as a tail) of a data symbol to the front (or referred to as a header) of the symbol.), a cyclic prefix (CP) part ([0187] A CP is added to a signal obtained after cyclic shift, and parallel/serial conversion (parallel/serial, P/S) is performed to finally obtain the DFT-s-OFDM symbol.), and a time domain reference signal (TDRS) part, and ([0091] A mapping operation on the first set includes: mapping a first sequence and a second sequence to the first set, where an end position to which the first sequence is mapped is a position of intercepting a CP in a first transmit symbol, and an end position to which the second sequence is mapped is an end position of the first transmit symbol. [0092] Optionally, a sequence mentioned in this embodiment of this application, for example, the first sequence, the second sequence, a third sequence, or a fourth sequence, may be a unique word (unique word, UW) sequence, an all-zero (zero tail, ZT) sequence (or referred to as a zero tail sequence), or the like. ZT may be considered as special UW, that is, UW including elements that are all 0. [0093] Optionally, the unique word sequence may be a modulated (including pi/2-binary phase shift keying (binary phase shift keying, BPSK), quadrature phase shift keying (quadrature phase shift keying, QPSK), 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (quadrature amplitude modulation, QAM), and 64QAM) pseudo-random sequence, or may be a modulated (including pi/2-BPSK, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM) information bit sequence, and the unique word sequence may further be a predefined sequence such as a ZC sequence.).
Liu fails to disclose a device for wireless communication, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes: wherein the TDRS part includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a time-domain.
However, Sun discloses a device for wireless communication, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes: wherein the TDRS part ([0008] phase tracking reference signal) includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a symbol level in a time-domain ([0008] Samples of a known sequence may be concatenated with data samples before transformation into a single-carrier waveform for transmission. A receiver receiving the waveform may treat symbols generated from the known sequence as a guard interval between data transmissions and as a phase tracking reference signal to determine changes in phase between transmissions. [0010] The method generally includes receiving a first orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) symbol as a single-carrier waveform in a first period, performing a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) on first time-domain samples of the first OFDM symbol to generate first frequency-domain samples, performing an inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT) on the first frequency-domain samples to generate a first series of data samples and first samples of a known sequence, and processing the first series of data samples to determine data. [0090] If fixed known samples in time domain are inserted in each symbol, then the phase of the samples across symbols may be compared to compute phase error.).
Liu and Sun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of single-carrier waveform generation for transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu with Sun to create a device for wireless communication, wherein the operations performed by the processor includes: wherein the TDRS part includes a known sequence that is predefined for phase noise compensation in a time-domain.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve spectral efficiency.
Claims 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sun and Yang as applied to claims 1, 10, 11, or 20 above, and in further view of Vilaipornsawai et al (US20180124733A1) (hereinafter "Vilaipornsawai").
Regarding claim 2, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein information regarding a duration of the TDRS part is obtained through network signaling.
However, Vilaipornsawai discloses the method, wherein information regarding a duration of the TDRS part is obtained through network signaling ([0152] For example, in some embodiments, a UE is provided with inputs, such as, UE-ID, a seed (for pseudo random generator) which can be a group-specific or UE-specific seed signaled by RRC signaling, e.g. MAC CE enabled (between dynamic DCI and high level RRC signaling), NR cell ID (e.g. hypercell ID), a security key (for security), and a time instant (for time varying output parameters). Based on these inputs, the UE derives the tracking signal parameters and TF resource that have been assigned to it by the network. These include, for example: [0153] Tracking signal format, including CP/GT/BW [0154] ZC sequence related parameters, which can be time varying, e.g. [0155] Sequence length).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Vilaipornsawai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of symbol processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Vilaipornsawai to create the method, wherein information regarding a duration of the TDRS part is obtained through network signaling.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to resist channel multipath effects.
Regarding claim 3, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, discloses the method, wherein the information regarding the duration of the TDRS part indicates a ratio of the TDRS part and the CP part ([0095] Therefore, in this embodiment of this application, by mapping the sequence to the set, an original CP can be extended by using a sequence with a flexible length, such as UW or ZT, so that the CP can be flexibly extended, and flexible guard periods of different lengths can be configured for all users by adjusting the length of the sequence. [0202] Therefore, the CP can be extended by using a sequence, such as UW or ZT, with a flexible length, so that an inter-symbol guard period is flexibly configured.).
Regarding claim 4, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein the network signaling is downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, Vilaipornsawai discloses the method, wherein the network signaling is downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0152] For example, in some embodiments, a UE is provided with inputs, such as, UE-ID, a seed (for pseudo random generator) which can be a group-specific or UE-specific seed signaled by RRC signaling, e.g. MAC CE enabled (between dynamic DCI and high level RRC signaling), NR cell ID (e.g. hypercell ID), a security key (for security), and a time instant (for time varying output parameters). Based on these inputs, the UE derives the tracking signal parameters and TF resource that have been assigned to it by the network. These include, for example: [0153] Tracking signal format, including CP/GT/BW [0154] ZC sequence related parameters, which can be time varying, e.g. [0155] Sequence length).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Vilaipornsawai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of symbol processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Vilaipornsawai to create the method, wherein the network signaling is downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to resist channel multipath effects.
Regarding claim 12, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein information regarding a duration of the TDRS part is obtained through network signaling.
However, Vilaipornsawai discloses the method, wherein information regarding a duration of the TDRS part is obtained through network signaling ([0152] For example, in some embodiments, a UE is provided with inputs, such as, UE-ID, a seed (for pseudo random generator) which can be a group-specific or UE-specific seed signaled by RRC signaling, e.g. MAC CE enabled (between dynamic DCI and high level RRC signaling), NR cell ID (e.g. hypercell ID), a security key (for security), and a time instant (for time varying output parameters). Based on these inputs, the UE derives the tracking signal parameters and TF resource that have been assigned to it by the network. These include, for example: [0153] Tracking signal format, including CP/GT/BW [0154] ZC sequence related parameters, which can be time varying, e.g. [0155] Sequence length).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Vilaipornsawai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of symbol processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Vilaipornsawai to create the method, wherein information regarding a duration of the TDRS part is obtained through network signaling.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to resist channel multipath effects.
Regarding claim 13, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, discloses the method, wherein the information regarding the duration of the TDRS part indicates a ratio of the TDRS part and the CP part ([0095] Therefore, in this embodiment of this application, by mapping the sequence to the set, an original CP can be extended by using a sequence with a flexible length, such as UW or ZT, so that the CP can be flexibly extended, and flexible guard periods of different lengths can be configured for all users by adjusting the length of the sequence. [0202] Therefore, the CP can be extended by using a sequence, such as UW or ZT, with a flexible length, so that an inter-symbol guard period is flexibly configured.).
Regarding claim 14, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein the network signaling is downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, Vilaipornsawai discloses the method, wherein the network signaling is downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0152] For example, in some embodiments, a UE is provided with inputs, such as, UE-ID, a seed (for pseudo random generator) which can be a group-specific or UE-specific seed signaled by RRC signaling, e.g. MAC CE enabled (between dynamic DCI and high level RRC signaling), NR cell ID (e.g. hypercell ID), a security key (for security), and a time instant (for time varying output parameters). Based on these inputs, the UE derives the tracking signal parameters and TF resource that have been assigned to it by the network. These include, for example: [0153] Tracking signal format, including CP/GT/BW [0154] ZC sequence related parameters, which can be time varying, e.g. [0155] Sequence length).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Vilaipornsawai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of symbol processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Vilaipornsawai to create the method, wherein the network signaling is downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to resist channel multipath effects.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Sun and Yang as applied to claims 1, 10, 11, or 20 above, and in further view of Zhang et al (WO2020102481A1) (hereinafter "Zhang").
Regarding claim 5, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein the TDRS part and the CP part are configured to share a fixed time duration in each OFDM symbol.
However, Zhang discloses the method, wherein the TDRS part and the CP part are configured to share a fixed time duration in each OFDM symbol ([0018] In current implementations, Cyclic Prefix (CP) or unique word (UW) or Guard Interval (Gl) is utilized between orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, to compensate for the different propagation delays, thereby enabling to avoid inter-symbol interference during multi beam operation. In some embodiments, the Cyclic Prefix (CP), the unique word (UW) and the Guard Interval (Gl) refers to a time interval provided between OFDM symbols. The terms the Cyclic Prefix (CP), the unique word (UW) and the Guard Interval (Gl) may be used interchangeably and all of them have the same meaning. In current implementations, a length of the Cyclic Prefix (CP), the unique word (UW) or the Guard Interval (Gl) is predefined (e.g., 10% of the symbol width).).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam management in new radio systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Zhang to create the method, wherein the TDRS part and the CP part are configured to share a fixed time duration in each OFDM symbol.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to compensate for interference that may occur between signals/channels.
Regarding claim 15, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein the TDRS part and the CP part are configured to share a fixed time duration in each OFDM symbol.
However, Zhang discloses the method, wherein the TDRS part and the CP part are configured to share a fixed time duration in each OFDM symbol ([0018] In current implementations, Cyclic Prefix (CP) or unique word (UW) or Guard Interval (Gl) is utilized between orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, to compensate for the different propagation delays, thereby enabling to avoid inter-symbol interference during multi beam operation. In some embodiments, the Cyclic Prefix (CP), the unique word (UW) and the Guard Interval (Gl) refers to a time interval provided between OFDM symbols. The terms the Cyclic Prefix (CP), the unique word (UW) and the Guard Interval (Gl) may be used interchangeably and all of them have the same meaning. In current implementations, a length of the Cyclic Prefix (CP), the unique word (UW) or the Guard Interval (Gl) is predefined (e.g., 10% of the symbol width).).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam management in new radio systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Zhang to create the method, wherein the TDRS part and the CP part are configured to share a fixed time duration in each OFDM symbol.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to compensate for interference that may occur between signals/channels.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Sun and Yang as applied to claims 1, 10, 11, or 20 above, and in further view of Matsuoka et al (US20110033012A1) (hereinafter "Matsuoka").
Regarding claim 6, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein the fixed time duration is identical to a CP duration of a CP-OFDM symbol in which the TDRS part is not configured.
However, Matsuoka discloses the method, wherein the fixed time duration is identical to a CP duration of a CP-OFDM symbol in which the TDRS part is not configured ([0035] On the other hand, depending on a radio system, there is a case where a specific known pattern is periodically inserted, which is formed in such a manner that a cyclic prefix and a cyclic postfix, each of which is formed by cyclically extending a specific code sequence (such as, for example, PN sequence), are respectively inserted before and after the specific code sequence (hereinafter, such known pattern or known pattern signal is expressed as unique word). Here, in the unique word, the same code sequence is included in the cyclic prefix and the end region of the PN sequence, while the same code sequence is included in the cyclic postfix and the starting region of the PN sequence).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Matsuoka are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of configuring a frame with a specific known pattern signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Matsuoka to create the method, wherein the fixed time duration is identical to a CP duration of a CP-OFDM symbol in which the TDRS part is not configured.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce overheads due to an excessively long cyclic prefix.
Regarding claim 16, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein the fixed time duration is identical to a CP duration of a CP-OFDM symbol in which the TDRS part is not configured.
However, Matsuoka discloses the method, wherein the fixed time duration is identical to a CP duration of a CP-OFDM symbol in which the TDRS part is not configured ([0035] On the other hand, depending on a radio system, there is a case where a specific known pattern is periodically inserted, which is formed in such a manner that a cyclic prefix and a cyclic postfix, each of which is formed by cyclically extending a specific code sequence (such as, for example, PN sequence), are respectively inserted before and after the specific code sequence (hereinafter, such known pattern or known pattern signal is expressed as unique word). Here, in the unique word, the same code sequence is included in the cyclic prefix and the end region of the PN sequence, while the same code sequence is included in the cyclic postfix and the starting region of the PN sequence).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Matsuoka are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring a frame with a specific known pattern signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Matsuoka to create the method, wherein the fixed time duration is identical to a CP duration of a CP-OFDM symbol in which the TDRS part is not configured.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce overheads due to an excessively long cyclic prefix.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sun and Yang as applied to claims 1, 10, 11, or 20 above, and in further view of Hasegawa et al (US20250081142A1) (hereinafter "Hasegawa").
Regarding claim 7, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein both the TDRS part and the data part are included in a FFT window for performing the FFT.
However, Hasegawa discloses the method, wherein both the TDRS part and the data part are included in a FFT window for performing the FFT ([0239] The unique word based DFTsOFDM may be generated by inserting unique words (UW) in the PRS before the Digital Fourier Transform (DFT) operation.).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel estimation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Hasegawa to create the method, wherein both the TDRS part and the data part are included in a FFT window for performing the FFT.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to eliminate inter-symbol interference.
Regarding claim 17, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein both the TDRS part and the data part are included in a FFT window for performing the FFT.
However, Hasegawa discloses the method, wherein both the TDRS part and the data part are included in a FFT window for performing the FFT ([0239] The unique word based DFTsOFDM may be generated by inserting unique words (UW) in the PRS before the Digital Fourier Transform (DFT) operation.).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Hasegawa are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel estimation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Hasegawa to create the method, wherein both the TDRS part and the data part are included in a FFT window for performing the FFT.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to eliminate inter-symbol interference.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sun and Yang as applied to claims 1, 10, 11, or 20 above, and in further view of Li et al (US20210014694A1) (hereinafter "Li").
Regarding claim 9, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein the device performs the FFT by assuming that data puncturing or data rate-matching has been performed for the TDRS part.
However, Li discloses the method, wherein the device performs the FFT by assuming that data puncturing or data rate-matching has been performed for the TDRS part ([0098] Information bits, such as DCI bits or data bits 410, are encoded by encoder 420, rate matched to assigned time/frequency resources by rate matcher 430 and modulated by modulator 440. Subsequently, modulated encoded symbols and DMRS or CSI-RS 450 are mapped to SCs 460 by SC mapping unit 465, an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) is performed by filter 470, a cyclic prefix (CP) is added by CP insertion unit 480, and a resulting signal is filtered by filter 490 and transmitted by a radio frequency (RF) unit 495.).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor encoding processes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Li to create the method, wherein the device performs the FFT by assuming that data puncturing or data rate-matching has been performed for the TDRS part.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce FFT processing time.
Regarding claim 19, Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, fails to disclose the method, wherein the device performs the FFT by assuming that data puncturing or data rate-matching has been performed for the TDRS part.
However, Li discloses the method, wherein the device performs the FFT by assuming that data puncturing or data rate-matching has been performed for the TDRS part ([0098] Information bits, such as DCI bits or data bits 410, are encoded by encoder 420, rate matched to assigned time/frequency resources by rate matcher 430 and modulated by modulator 440. Subsequently, modulated encoded symbols and DMRS or CSI-RS 450 are mapped to SCs 460 by SC mapping unit 465, an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) is performed by filter 470, a cyclic prefix (CP) is added by CP insertion unit 480, and a resulting signal is filtered by filter 490 and transmitted by a radio frequency (RF) unit 495.).
Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of encoding processes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Liu, as modified by Sun and Yang, with Li to create the method, wherein the device performs the FFT by assuming that data puncturing or data rate-matching has been performed for the TDRS part.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce FFT processing time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hu et al (WO2020211578A1) discloses a reference signal transmission method comprising determining a time domain continuous signal of a time domain symbol according to a Zadoff-Chu sequence.
Soltani et al (US20220408289A1) discloses phase noise profile signaling for a single carrier waveform.
Nam et al (US20180359069A1) discloses methods for utilizing null resource elements to facilitate dynamic and bursty inter-cell interference measurements in a wireless network.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419