DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s claim limitations are given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), consistent with the specification. The meaning of a claim term is interpreted by looking at how those terms are described, explained and used in the specification. In this case, the claim limitation “base portion” is being interpreted as including a plurality of plates and supporting stands consistent with applicant’s disclosed invention.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: cushion operating portion in claim 1; cover operating portion in claim 1; fastening portion in claim 2; grip portion in claim 3, coupling portion in claim 3; lifting portion in claim 3; transfer portion in claim 10; and support portion in claim 10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a cushion operating portion may be the combination of a cushion placing stand and a fastening portion and equivalents thereof ([0010]). Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a cover operating portion may be the combination of a cover placing stand, a transfer portion; a lifting portion; a support portion and a holder and equivalents thereof ([0019]). Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a fastening portion may be the combination of a grip portion; a coupling portion and a lifting portion and equivalents thereof ([0012]). Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a grip portion may be the combination of a first bar formed with a first groove and a second bar with a second groove facing the first groove and equivalents thereof ([0104]). Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a coupling portion may be the combination of a drive portion and guide portion that may be the combination of a first guide rail and a second guide rail and equivalents thereof ([0112], [0123] and [0124]). Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a lifting portion may be a gear, a cam, or link operated by pneumatic, hydraulic or electric cylinder and equivalents thereof ([0120] and [0121]). Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a transfer portion may be the combination of a pair of second frames coupled to a plate; a plurality of shafts coupled in parallel between the second frames and a second table coupled to the shafts and capable of reciprocating between the second frames and equivalents thereof ([0167]). Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a support portion may be the combination of a cylinder coupled to a plurality of frames that are coupled to a plurality of supporting stands and a second plurality of frames and supporting stands ([0181]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osada (JP 08-010473 A) as provided by (JP, 08-010473,A(1996)) as an English language equivalent.
Claim 1:
Osada discloses a vehicle seat assembly device comprising:
a base portion (20) (figs. 1-3, [0019]);
a cushion operating portion (80) coupled to one side of the base portion (20), configured to allow a seat cushion (2 and 12) formed with a plurality of first through holes to be disposed, and configured to couple a seat cover (1 and 11) to the seat cushion (2 and 12) (figs. 21 and 22, [0019] and [0041] – [0042]); and
a cover operating portion (60) coupled to another side of the base portion (20), configured to allow the seat cover (1 and 11) to be disposed, and configured to transfer the seat cover (1 and 11) onto the seat cushion (2 and 12),
wherein the cushion operating portion (80) includes a cushion placing stand (21) that is coupled to the base portion (20) and configured to allow a wire and the seat cushion (2 and 12) to be disposed (figs. 21 and 22, [0019], [0023] and [0036]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the vehicle seat assembly device according to claim 1, wherein the cushion operating portion includes a fastening portion that is coupled to the base portion, configured to lower a clip coupled to a suspender of the seat cover to the first through hole, and configured to fix the clip to the wire located below the seat cushion. Instead, Osada discloses a cover operating portion including a fastening portion coupled to the base portion and configured to fix a seat cover clip to a wire located below the seat cushion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ormachea et al. (US 2007/0028435 A1) discloses a device for securing trim to a seat. Tillner (US 2002/0108222 A1) discloses a method for installing a seat cover and a seat cover installation device.
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726