DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4 of claim 7, it is believed “rail” should be changed to --rails--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prothery et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0097537) in view of Kitagawa et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0031701).
Regarding claim 7, Prothery et al. disclose a truck vehicle 1, comprising: a pair of side rails 6 extending in a vehicle longitudinal direction X (see Paragraph 35); a battery pack 30, wherein electric power for driving the truck vehicle 1 is suppliable by the battery pack 30 and wherein the battery pack 30 extends outward beyond the pair of side rails 6 in a vehicle width direction below the pair of side rails 6 (see Figure 6; Paragraphs 37 and 54); a battery bracket 40 covering at least an end of the battery pack in the vehicle width direction; a frame bracket 51 supporting the battery bracket 40 from the pair of side rails 6 via an elastic member 55 (see Figures 2-4; Paragraph 50). Figure 6 shows that the battery pack 30 is mounted on either side of the pair of side rails 6, extending outward beyond the pair of side rails 6 in the vehicle width direction (see Paragraph 54).
Prothery et al. fail to disclose an object detection unit, wherein an object on a lateral side of the truck vehicle is detectable by the object detection unit; and a detection unit support bracket supporting the object detection unit; wherein the detection unit support bracket is disposed at an end of the battery bracket in the vehicle width direction and supports the object detection unit such that the object detection unit is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction with respect to an end surface of the battery bracket in the vehicle width direction.
Kitagawa et al. disclose a vehicle 12 having an object detection unit 68, wherein an object on a lateral side of the vehicle 12 is detectable by the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 49); and a detection unit support bracket 4 supporting the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 2-7; Paragraph 37); wherein the detection unit support bracket 4 is disposed at an end 30 of the vehicle 12 in a vehicle width direction Y and supports the object detection unit 68 such that the object detection unit 68 is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction Y with respect to the end surface 32 of the vehicle 12 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 54). The object detection unit 68 is protected in the event of a light collision (see Paragraph 58) and the object detection unit 68 provides surrounding information of the vehicle 12 for driving assistance (see Paragraphs 2, 4, and 49-50). The attachment part of the sensor is not limited to a high rigidity member and increases flexibility of the attachment position so that the sensor can be arranged in a part and direction suitable for detecting the surrounding information of the vehicle (see Paragraphs 7 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the truck vehicle of Prothery et al. with an object detection unit, wherein an object on a lateral side of the truck vehicle is detectable by the object detection unit, with a reasonable expectation of success, to assist a driver and avoid collisions in an area of the vehicle otherwise not seen by the driver, as taught by Kitagawa et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to support the object detection unit of Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al., with a detection unit support bracket, wherein the detection unit support bracket is disposed at an end of the battery bracket in the vehicle width direction and supports the object detection unit such that the object detection unit is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction with respect to an end surface of the battery bracket in the vehicle width direction, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a means of positioning the object detection unit on an outermost portion of the vehicle with an attachment means having flexibility and allowing the object detection unit to detect the surrounding information of the vehicle while also protecting the object detection unit in a light collision, as taught by Kitagawa et al..
Regarding claim 8, Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, disclose the truck vehicle according to claim 7.
Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, fails to disclose the detection unit support bracket supports the object detection unit such that the object detection unit is disposed in an outside region in the vehicle width direction with respect to the frame bracket.
Kitagawa et al. disclose a vehicle 12 having an object detection unit 68, wherein an object on a lateral side of the vehicle 12 is detectable by the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 49); and a detection unit support bracket 4 supporting the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 2-7; Paragraph 37); wherein the detection unit support bracket 4 is disposed at an end 30 of the vehicle 12 in a vehicle width direction Y and supports the object detection unit 68 such that the object detection unit 68 is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction Y with respect to the end surface 32 of the vehicle 12 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 54). The object detection unit 68 is protected in the event of a light collision (see Paragraph 58) and the object detection unit 68 provides surrounding information of the vehicle 12 for driving assistance (see Paragraphs 2, 4, and 49-50). The attachment part of the sensor is not limited to a high rigidity member and increases flexibility of the attachment position so that the sensor can be arranged in a part and direction suitable for detecting the surrounding information of the vehicle (see Paragraphs 7 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the detection unit support bracket of Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, such that the object detection unit is disposed in an outside region in the vehicle width direction with respect to the frame bracket, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the object detection unit to detect surrounding information of the vehicle in the outside region of the vehicle, as taught by Kitagawa et al..
Regarding claim 11, Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, disclose the truck vehicle according to claim 7, having another vehicle member 31, 32 in the vehicle width direction Y (see Figures 2-5 and annotated Figure 2 above; Paragraph 44).
Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, fails to disclose the detection unit support bracket supports the object detection unit such that an outer side surface of the object detection unit in the vehicle width direction is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction with respect to a side surface of the vehicle member and mounted on a same side in the vehicle width direction as the object detection unit.
Kitagawa et al. disclose a vehicle 12 having an object detection unit 68, wherein an object on a lateral side of the vehicle 12 is detectable by the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 49); and a detection unit support bracket 4 supporting the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 2-7; Paragraph 37); wherein the detection unit support bracket 4 is disposed at an end 30 of the vehicle 12 in a vehicle width direction Y and supports the object detection unit 68 such that the object detection unit 68 is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction Y with respect to the end surface 32 of the vehicle 12 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 54). The object detection unit 68 is protected in the event of a light collision (see Paragraph 58) and the object detection unit 68 provides surrounding information of the vehicle 12 for driving assistance (see Paragraphs 2, 4, and 49-50). The attachment part of the sensor is not limited to a high rigidity member and increases flexibility of the attachment position so that the sensor can be arranged in a part and direction suitable for detecting the surrounding information of the vehicle (see Paragraphs 7 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the detection unit support bracket of Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, such that an outer side surface of the object detection unit in the vehicle width direction is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction with respect to a side surface of the vehicle member and mounted on a same side in the vehicle width direction as the object detection unit., with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the object detection unit to detect surrounding information of the vehicle in the outside region of the vehicle while being supported by the vehicle member, as taught by Kitagawa et al..
Claims 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loacker (US PG Pub 2021/0094400) in view of Kitagawa et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0031701).
Regarding claim 7, Loacker discloses a truck vehicle 1, comprising: a pair of side rails 9 extending in a vehicle longitudinal direction X (see Paragraph 43); a battery pack 4, wherein electric power for driving the truck vehicle 1 is suppliable by the battery pack 4 and wherein the battery pack 4 extends outward beyond the pair of side rails 9 in a vehicle width direction Y below the pair of side rails 9 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 43); a battery bracket 5 covering at least an end of the battery pack 4 in the vehicle width direction Y (see Figures 2-4 and annotated Figure 4 below: Paragraph 45); a frame bracket 7, 8 supporting the battery bracket 5 from the pair of side rails 6 via an elastic member 17 (see Figures 2-4; Paragraph 45).
Loacker fails to disclose an object detection unit, wherein an object on a lateral side of the truck vehicle is detectable by the object detection unit; and a detection unit support bracket supporting the object detection unit; wherein the detection unit support bracket is disposed at an end of the battery bracket in the vehicle width direction and supports the object detection unit such that the object detection unit is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction with respect to an end surface of the battery bracket in the vehicle width direction.
Kitagawa et al. disclose a vehicle 12 having an object detection unit 68, wherein an object on a lateral side of the vehicle 12 is detectable by the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 49); and a detection unit support bracket 4 supporting the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 2-7; Paragraph 37); wherein the detection unit support bracket 4 is disposed at an end 30 of the vehicle 12 in a vehicle width direction Y and supports the object detection unit 68 such that the object detection unit 68 is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction Y with respect to the end surface 32 of the vehicle 12 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 54). The object detection unit 68 is protected in the event of a light collision (see Paragraph 58) and the object detection unit 68 provides surrounding information of the vehicle 12 for driving assistance (see Paragraphs 2, 4, and 49-50). The attachment part of the sensor is not limited to a high rigidity member and increases flexibility of the attachment position so that the sensor can be arranged in a part and direction suitable for detecting the surrounding information of the vehicle (see Paragraphs 7 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the truck vehicle of Loacker with an object detection unit, wherein an object on a lateral side of the truck vehicle is detectable by the object detection unit, with a reasonable expectation of success, to assist a driver and avoid collisions in an area of the vehicle otherwise not seen by the driver, as taught by Kitagawa et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to support the object detection unit of Loacker, as modified by Kitagawa et al., with a detection unit support bracket, wherein the detection unit support bracket is disposed at an end of the battery bracket in the vehicle width direction and supports the object detection unit such that the object detection unit is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction with respect to an end surface of the battery bracket in the vehicle width direction, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a means of positioning the object detection unit on an outermost portion of the vehicle with an attachment means having flexibility and allowing the object detection unit to detect the surrounding information of the vehicle while also protecting the object detection unit in a light collision, as taught by Kitagawa et al..
Regarding claim 8, Loacker, as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, discloses the truck vehicle according to claim 7.
Loacker, as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, fails to disclose the detection unit support bracket supports the object detection unit such that the object detection unit is disposed in an outside region in the vehicle width direction with respect to the frame bracket.
Kitagawa et al. disclose a vehicle 12 having an object detection unit 68, wherein an object on a lateral side of the vehicle 12 is detectable by the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 49); and a detection unit support bracket 4 supporting the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 2-7; Paragraph 37); wherein the detection unit support bracket 4 is disposed at an end 30 of the vehicle 12 in a vehicle width direction Y and supports the object detection unit 68 such that the object detection unit 68 is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction Y with respect to the end surface 32 of the vehicle 12 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 54). The object detection unit 68 is protected in the event of a light collision (see Paragraph 58) and the object detection unit 68 provides surrounding information of the vehicle 12 for driving assistance (see Paragraphs 2, 4, and 49-50). The attachment part of the sensor is not limited to a high rigidity member and increases flexibility of the attachment position so that the sensor can be arranged in a part and direction suitable for detecting the surrounding information of the vehicle (see Paragraphs 7 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the detection unit support bracket of Loacker, as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, such that the object detection unit is disposed in an outside region in the vehicle width direction with respect to the frame bracket, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the object detection unit to detect surrounding information of the vehicle in the outside region of the vehicle, as taught by Kitagawa et al..
Regarding claim 11, Loacker, as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, discloses the truck vehicle according to claim 7, having another vehicle member 10 in the vehicle width direction (see Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 45 and 47).
Loacker, as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, fails to disclose the detection unit support bracket supports the object detection unit such that an outer side surface of the object detection unit in the vehicle width direction is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction with respect to a side surface of the vehicle member and mounted on a same side in the vehicle width direction as the object detection unit.
Kitagawa et al. disclose a vehicle 12 having an object detection unit 68, wherein an object on a lateral side of the vehicle 12 is detectable by the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 49); and a detection unit support bracket 4 supporting the object detection unit 68 (see Figures 2-7; Paragraph 37); wherein the detection unit support bracket 4 is disposed at an end 30 of the vehicle 12 in a vehicle width direction Y and supports the object detection unit 68 such that the object detection unit 68 is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction Y with respect to the end surface 32 of the vehicle 12 (see Figures 1-7; Paragraph 54). The object detection unit 68 is protected in the event of a light collision (see Paragraph 58) and the object detection unit 68 provides surrounding information of the vehicle 12 for driving assistance (see Paragraphs 2, 4, and 49-50). The attachment part of the sensor is not limited to a high rigidity member and increases flexibility of the attachment position so that the sensor can be arranged in a part and direction suitable for detecting the surrounding information of the vehicle (see Paragraphs 7 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the detection unit support bracket of Loacker, as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, such that an outer side surface of the object detection unit in the vehicle width direction is positioned on an outer side in the vehicle width direction with respect to a side surface of the vehicle member and mounted on a same side in the vehicle width direction as the object detection unit., with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the object detection unit to detect surrounding information of the vehicle in the outside region of the vehicle while being supported by the vehicle member, as taught by Kitagawa et al..
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, in view of Al Rasheed et al. (US Pat 10,518,702).
Regarding claim 9, Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, disclose the truck vehicle according to claim 7. The battery pack 30 is attached to the pair of side rails 6 by the first and second brackets 31, 32 (see Figure 2 and 6, annotated Figure 2 above; Paragraphs 44 and 54).
Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, fail to disclose the detection unit support bracket supports the object detection unit such that a center of gravity of the object detection unit is positioned higher than a lower end of the pair of side rails in a vehicle height direction.
Al Rasheed et al. disclose a truck vehicle 100 having an object detection unit 116 that has a specific vehicle angle that is impacted by the height and location of the camera on the trailer (see Col. 4, lines 32-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the detection unit support bracket such that it supports the object detection unit such that a center of gravity of the object detection unit is positioned higher than a lower end of the pair of side rails in a vehicle height direction, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the object detection unit remains unobstructed and ensures the widest possible range of view, as taught by Al Rasheed et al..
Regarding claim 10, Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, disclose the truck vehicle according to claim 7.
Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, fail to disclose the detection unit support bracket supports the object detection unit such that the object detection unit is positioned higher than an upper surface of the battery bracket in a vehicle height direction.
Al Rasheed et al. disclose a truck vehicle 100 having an object detection unit 116 that has a specific vehicle angle that is impacted by the height and location of the camera on the trailer (see Col. 4, lines 32-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the detection unit support bracket such that it supports the object detection unit such that the object detection unit is positioned higher than an upper surface of the battery bracket in a vehicle height direction, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the object detection unit remains unobstructed and ensures the widest possible range of view, as taught by Al Rasheed et al..
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, in view of Smithline (US Pat 5,734,336).
Regarding claim 12, Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, disclose the truck vehicle 1 according to claim 7, wherein: the battery pack 30 includes a plurality of battery packs 30 disposed in the vehicle longitudinal direction Y between wheel bases 7 of the truck vehicle 1 (see Figures 1 and 6; Paragraph 54).
Prothery et al., as modified by Kitagawa et al. twice, fail to disclose the object detection unit is disposed on the battery bracket for a foremost battery pack among the plurality of battery packs via the detection unit support bracket.
Smithline discloses a truck vehicle having an object detection unit 34 disposed on a side of the vehicle 12 to detect the presence of objects in a blind spot; the object detection unit 34 is positioned in a forward portion of the trailer 16 and a rear portion of the cab 14 at a location that allows the object detection unit 34 to provide information about objects in the blind spot on a lateral side of the vehicle 12 (see Figure 1A; Col. 4, lines 26-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the object detection unit on the foremost battery pack among the plurality of battery packs via the detection unit support bracket, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the object detection unit has a full and wide range of view in a blind spot of the vehicle, as taught by Smithline.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kumagai (US PG Pub 2024/0286480) discloses a truck vehicle having a pair of side rails, a battery pack, a battery bracket, an object detection unit, and a detection unit support bracket. McKibben et al. (US Pat 11,926,207) discloses a truck vehicle having a pair of side rails, a battery pack and a battery bracket. Hendriks et al. (US Pat 11,932,098) disclose a truck vehicle having a pair of side rails, a battery pack, and a battery bracket. Sjoholm (US Pat 11,685,268) discloses a truck vehicle having a pair of side rails, a battery pack, and a battery bracket. Matori et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0063509) disclose a vehicle having an object detection unit with a detection unit support bracket. Borghi et al. (US Pat 11,124,076) disclose a truck vehicle having a pair of side rails, a battery pack having a plurality of batteries, a battery bracket, and a frame bracket. Serizawa et al. (WO 2021/172386) disclose a truck vehicle having an object detection unit and a detection unit support bracket. Shen et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0261211) disclose an object detection unit and a detection unit support bracket. Horiuchi et al. (US Pat 10,793,095) disclose an object detection unit and a detection unit support bracket.
/VERONICA M CONDO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612