DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 19 January 2024 (including amendment filed simultaneously). Claims 1-15 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
03 October 2025
03 January 2025
01 April 2024
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Teyeb et al. (hereinafter Teyeb) (US 2024/0080722 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12, 14, and 15, Teyeb discloses an operation method of a remote user equipment (UE) (e.g., 201) in a wireless communication system (e.g., 100) { (see Figs. 2-9 & 12-17) }, the method comprising:
establishing, by the remote UE (e.g., 201), a sidelink (e.g., SL) connection with a relay UE (e.g., 811, 1411) { (see pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]), where the system provides link establishment };
transmitting, by the remote UE (e.g., 201), a sidelink (e.g., SL) signal to the relay UE (e.g., 811, 1411) { (see pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system provides link establishment };
performing, by the remote UE (e.g., 201), a measurement { (see pg. 12, [0152-0153]; ; Figs. 8-17), where the system provides measurement of link (see pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113])}; and
transmitting, by the remote UE (e.g., 201), a measurement report to the relay UE (e.g., 811, 1411), wherein the measurement report includes a measurement result for a Uu link and is transmitted to a base station (BS) (e.g., 1431) { (see pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system provide measurement (see pg. 13, [0161]) }; and
the measurement report on the Uu link is performed based on a measurement result of the SL (Side) link (e.g., SL) being less than a predetermined threshold { (see pg. 13, [0161]; pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system .
Regarding claim 2, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement report on the Uu link is related to switching to a direct link from an indirect link of the remote UE { (see pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system provide measurement (see pg. 13, [0161]) }.
Regarding claim 3, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the remote UE skips measurement on the Uu link until a measurement result of an SL link is less than a predetermined threshold { (see pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system provide measurement (see pg. 13, [0161]) }.
Regarding claim 4, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement is one of sidelink reference signals received power (SL-RSRP) or sidelink discovery reference signals received power (SD-RSRP) { (see pg. 15, [0176]; pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system provide measurement (see pg. 13, [0161]) }.
Regarding claim 5, Teyeb discloses thee method of claim 4, wherein the measurement report includes information on whether the measurement indicates any one of the SL-RSRP or the SD-RSRP { (see pg. 15, [0176]; pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system provide measurement (see pg. 13, [0161]) }.
Regarding claim 6, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the information on whether the measurement indicates any one of the SL-RSRP or the SD-RSRP is used to switch to a direct link from an indirect link of the remote UE or for relay reselection { (see pg. 15, [0176]; pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system provide measurement (see pg. 13, [0161]) }.
Regarding claim 7, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a measurement result of the SL link being less than a predetermined threshold is due to movement of the relay UE { (see pg. 15, [0176]; pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system provide measurement (see pg. 13, [0161]) }.
Regarding claim 8, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a period of the measurement report is related to signal strength of the SL link or a change in signal strength { (see pg. 17, [0191]; pg. 13, [0161]; pg. 12, [0152-0153]; pp. 9-10, [0114, 0112-113]; Figs. 8-17), where the system provide measurement) }.
Regarding claim 9, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 8, wherein, as the signal strength of the SL link is reduced or a change in the signal strength of the SL link is increased, the period of the measurement report is shortened { (see pg. 13, [0161]; pg. 12, [0152-0153]; Figs. 8-17) }.
Regarding claim 10, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the period of the measurement report is related to a speed of the remote UE or a relative speed of the remote UE and the relay UE { (see pg. 13, [0161]; pg. 12, [0152-0153]; Figs. 8-17) }.
Regarding claim 11, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 10, wherein, as the speed of the remote UE or the relative speed of the remote UE and the relay UE is increased, the period of the measurement report is shortened { (see pg. 13, [0161]; pg. 12, [0152-0153]; Figs. 8-17) }.
Regarding claim 13, Teyeb discloses the remote UE of claim 12, wherein the remote UE communicates with at least one of another UE, a UE related to an autonomous driving vehicle, a base station (BS), or a network { (see ) }.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (US 2024/0284542 A1) discloses control communication path.
Chang et al. (US 2024/0205993 A1) discloses relay user equipment (UE) radio resource control (RRC) connection status indicator.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
03 April 2026