DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Currently, claims 13-18 are pending in the application. Claims 13-14 are amended. Claims 1-12 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 1.
Response to Arguments / Amendments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are rendered moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 & 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Both claims 13 & 14 “the objected is tracked based on the loss value ” appear to be typo error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220301229, hereinafter Zhang ) in view of Lee et al. (US 20210350245, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 13 Zhang discloses a method of receiving point cloud data ([0030]), the method comprising:
receiving a bitstream containing point cloud data ([0030] a point cloud decoding method, including parsing a bitstream to obtain a syntax element, where the syntax element includes an index of a normal axis of a to-be-decoded patch in a to-be-decoded point cloud and information used to indicate description information of a bounding box size of the to-be-decoded point cloud); and
decoding the point cloud data ([0030], point cloud decoder parsing, and reconstructing geometry information of the to-be-decoded point cloud based on tangent axes and bitangent axes of one or more patches in the to-be-decoded point cloud, where the one or more patches include the to-be-decoded patch and geometry information of a point cloud refers in three-dimensional space),
wherein points of the point cloud data in a bounding box are represented based on a length of an axis for the bounding box and a length of a point for time ([0013], FIG. 6A, FIG. 8A, a point cloud with description information of the bounding box size that reflects a posture of the point cloud in three-dimensional space, such as, information about whether the point cloud is vertical or horizontal in the three-dimensional space; [0012], two pieces of information ( patch granularity & description information of the bounding box size of the to-be-encoded point cloud is frame level) & are encoded into the bitstream at different times),
wherein an object for the points is detected by a plane of a bounding box including the point cloud data and a value for positions of the points and a size of the bounding box ([0018], point cloud includes the size relationship among the side lengths of the bounding box of the to-be-encoded point cloud, when the normal axis of the to-be-encoded patch is different from the coordinate axis on which the longest side of the bounding box of the to-be-encoded point cloud is located).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the decoding the point cloud data includes: transforming the point cloud data based on source coordinates, generating a loss value based on a difference between the transformed point cloud data and the point cloud data and wherein the objected is tracked based on the loss value.
Lee teaches does not explicitly disclose wherein the decoding the point cloud data includes: transforming the point cloud data based on source coordinates ([0049], FIG. 3 , perform a 3D-to-2D point cloud transformation), generating a loss value based on a difference between the transformed point cloud data and the point cloud data ([0051], the mean square error (MSE) between an input image and a reconstructed image may be used as a loss function; [0052], FIG. 4, S430 step trains a 3D autoencoder and a chamfer distance between an input point and a reconstructed point used as a loss function; [0053], the chamfer distance is suitable for a loss function in a 3D point cloud and is calculated by Eq. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of transforming the point cloud data based on source coordinates as taught by Lee ([0051]) into transforming of the point cloud data system of Zhang so as to provide an autoencoder capable of reconstructing a 3D point cloud, reducing the amount of storage space used, and reducing computational complexity compared to the structure employing a conventional fully connected layer (Lee, [0012]).
Regarding Claim 14, Apparatus claim 14 of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 13, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same as used above.
Regarding Claim 15 Zhang in view of Lee discloses the device of claim 14, Zhang discloses wherein the object is tracked by applying the value to the plane ([[0013], projected pictures of patches are closely arranged in an occupancy map of the point cloud, that is, there are a relatively small quantity of empty pixels in the occupancy map of the point cloud).
Regarding Claim 17 Zhang in view of Lee discloses the device of claim 14, Zhang discloses wherein the value is derived based on an error between geometry data of the point cloud data and transformed geometry data ([0030], determining a tangent axis of to-be-decoded patch and a bitangent axis of the to-be-decoded patch based on the index of the normal axis of the to-be-decoded patch and the information used to indicate the description information of the bounding box size of the to-be-decoded point cloud that are obtained through parsing, and reconstructing geometry information of the to-be-decoded point cloud based on tangent axes and bitangent axes of one or more patches in the to-be-decoded point cloud, where the one or more patches include the to-be-decoded patch. The method may be performed by a point cloud decoder. Geometry information of a point cloud refers to coordinates of a point in the point cloud (for example, each point in the point cloud) in three-dimensional space.
Regarding Claim 18 Zhang in view of Lee discloses the device of claim 14, Zhang discloses wherein the value is derived based on the positions, predicted positions, an orientation angle, and a width, a height, and a length including the points ([0030], Geometry information of a point cloud refers to coordinates of a point in the point cloud (for example, each point in the point cloud) in three-dimensional space; [0032] The description information of the bounding box size of the to-be-decoded point cloud may include the size relationship among the side lengths of the bounding box of the to-be-decoded point cloud, or the coordinate axis on which the longest side of the bounding box of the to-be-decoded point cloud is located).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220301229, hereinafter Zhang ) in view of Lee et al. (US 20210350245, hereinafter Lee) and Zakharchenko et al. (US 20210217202, hereinafter Zakharchenko).
Regarding Claim 16 Zhang in view of Lee discloses the device of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the bounding box is obtained based on a field of view.
Zakharchenko teaches wherein the bounding box is obtained based on a field of view ([0144], FIG. 15, view the 3-D patch bounding box 1504 from the side opposite to the projection plane 1508 (e.g., side 1505), then the V-PCC encoder would determine that when the attribute points included in the patch 3-D bounding box 1504 were projected onto the projection plane 1508, that projection would exhibit a maximum area over projecting onto other sides of the point cloud 3-D bounding box 1502.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings OF bounding box is obtained based on a field of view as taught by Zakharchenko ([0144]) into transforming of the point cloud data system of Zhang & Lee since frames of patches of motion refinement data can be used for encoding reduce the overall transmission bandwidth and properly decode and receive the message and hence signaling increases the overall signaling overhead of the coding process and reduces the efficiency of the compression (Zakharchenko, [0083]).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487