Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because they include reference characters in parentheses. Use of references characters in the claim language makes it unclear if the structures referenced by the characters should be directly imported into the claim or if the broader terms used in the claim should be used.
Further, regarding claim 1, the phrase “a corresponding track unit” should be and is interpreted as “[[a]]the corresponding track unit”
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “wherein said at least one connecting pin … identifies a rotation around said axis of rotation” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “identifies” in relation to the connecting pin and the axis of rotation.
Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(2) as being anticipated by US 11,091,358 B1 to Ourada.
Regarding claim 1, Ourada discloses a tracked undercarriage (10) for operating machines (Figs. 21, 27-28 & Abstract) comprising:
a main frame (150) defining a first longitudinal direction (X) (Annotated Fig. 8 & col 8 lns 21-28);
a track unit (60) mounted on each of two opposite sides of said main frame (150) and arranged parallel to said first longitudinal direction (X) (Annotated Fig. 8 & col 8 lns 21-28), each track unit (60) comprising a structure (300) and at least one track (60) mounted on said structure (300) (Figs. 27-29 & col 10 lns 34-50); and
a sliding frame (A) mounted on each of said two opposite sides of said main frame (150) (Annotated Fig. 28 depicts the section A includes a variety of parts enabling the sliding as discussed below),
wherein said sliding frame (A) comprises:
a longitudinal member (B) arranged parallel to said first longitudinal direction (X) and interposed between said main frame (150) and a corresponding track unit (60) (Annotated Figs. 8 and 28 noting that as depicted, the section B includes a longitudinal dimension that is parallel to X of Annotated Fig. 8);
first constraining means (163,167), for slidingly constraining said longitudinal member (B) to said main frame (150), said first constraining means (163,167) being configured to enable said longitudinal member (B) to translate with respect to said main frame (150) in a second translation direction (Y), orthogonal to said longitudinal direction (X) (Annotated Figs. 8 and 28, Fig. 27 & col 9 lns 28-44.);
second constraining means (310), for rotatably securing the structure (300) of the corresponding track unit (60) to a corresponding longitudinal member (B), said second constraining means (310) being configured to enable said track unit (60) to rotate with respect to said longitudinal member (B) around an axis of rotation (317), orthogonal to said longitudinal direction (X) (Annotated Fig. 8, Figs. 21-22, 29-31 & col 11 lns 51-61, col 12 ln 48 – col 13 ln 2);
translation means (133A/B), configured to cause a sliding of said longitudinal member (B) with respect to said main frame (150) in said second translation direction (Y) (Annotated Figs. 8 and 28, Fig. 27 & col 9 lns 29-53 and col 17 lns 55-65 disclose the extendable axles are driven in the Y direction by hydraulic cylinders. Examiner notes, that although col 9 states cylinders 250 control the axles, it is unclear based on their disclosed positioning in Figs. 27-28 how they could be horizontally driven, and thus the call out of cylinders 250 is interpreted as being a typographical error. In light of this apparent error, cylinders 133 from the alternative embodiment are interpreted as being the disclosed cylinders for driving axles 163/167.); and
rotation means (330), configured to cause a rotation of said track unit (60) with respect to said longitudinal member (B) around said rotation axis (317) (Annotated Fig. 8, Figs. 21-22, 29-31 & col 11 lns 51-61, col 12 ln 48 – col 13 ln 2).
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Ourada further discloses wherein said first constraining means (163,167) of each sliding frame (A) comprise at least one beam (163,167) placed parallel to said second translation direction (Y) and slidably housed in a guide or seat (160,165) made in said main frame (150) (Annotated Figs. 8 and 28, Fig. 27 & col 9 lns 28-44).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 2, Ourada further discloses wherein said first constraining means (163,167) of each sliding frame (A) comprise at least two of said beams (163 // 137 & 167 // 137B) parallel to each other (Annotated Figs. 8 and 28, Fig. 27 & col 9 lns 29-53 and col 17 lns 55-65 see above rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 2, Ourada further discloses wherein said translation means (133A/B) comprise at least one hydraulic cylinder (133A/B) acting on said sliding frame (A), extension or contraction of said sliding frame (A) causing a corresponding translation of the sliding frame (A) with respect to the main frame (150) (Annotated Figs. 8 and 28, Fig. 27 & col 9 lns 29-53 and col 17 lns 55-65).
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 1, Ourada further discloses wherein said second constraining means (310) comprise at least one connecting pin (310) between said longitudinal member (B) and said structure (300) of a respective track unit (60), and wherein said at least one connecting pin (310) is placed orthogonally to said first longitudinal direction (X) and identifies a rotation around said axis of rotation (Y) of said track unit (60) with respect to said sliding frame (A) (Annotated Fig. 8, Figs. 21-22, 29-31 & col 11 lns 51-61, col 12 ln 48 – col 13 ln 2).
Regarding claim 9, depending on claim 8, Ourada further discloses wherein the at least one connecting pin comprises two coaxial pins (310) of said two opposing sliding frames (200, 300) (Annotated Fig. 8, Figs. 21-22, 29-31 & col 11 lns 51-61, col 12 ln 48 – col 13 ln 2 disclose each track 60 includes axle 310).
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 5, Ourada further discloses wherein said rotation means (330) comprise at least one hydraulic cylinder (330) hinged between a fixed point (B) integral with said longitudinal member (B) and at least one fixed point (334) integral with said structure (300) of the track unit (60), and wherein rotation axes of hinges of said at least one hydraulic cylinder (330) are parallel to said axis of rotation (Y) (Annotated Fig. 8, Figs. 21-22, 29-31, and 33 & col 11 lns 51-61, col 12 ln 48 – col 13 ln 2).
Regarding claim 11, depending on claim 5, Ourada further discloses wherein said at least one hydraulic cylinder (330) of each sliding frame (A) is controlled by a hydraulic circuit which controls an operation of said at least one hydraulic cylinder (330) selectively, independently and/or simultaneously with said hydraulic cylinder (510) of another sliding frame (300, 200) of said tracked undercarriage (Fig. 34 & col 15 lns 7-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ourada in view of US 8,662,216 B2 to Roucka.
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 5, Ourada does not appear to disclose wherein said at least one hydraulic cylinder (133A/B) is of a double-acting type.
Roucka teaches that it was old and well known in the art of horizontally adjustable tracked vehicles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a hydraulic cylinder (110) is of a double-acting type (Figs. 3-4 & col 3 ln 50 – col 4 ln 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of horizontally adjustable tracked vehicles before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydraulic cylinders of the horizontally adjustable tracked vehicle disclosed by Ourada to double-acting type as taught by Roucka in order to enable the cylinders to operate in both directions requiring less cylinders than if using single acting, e.g., see Roucka col 7 lns 50-61, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611