CTNF 18/290,627 CTNF 102029 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Examiner Note It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification (“spec”) are to the published application US 2024/0339736-A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed 19JAN2024, 03FEB2025 and 27AUG2025 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2012/0114979 A1; “Kim”) . Regarding Claim 1 , Kim teaches an electrode assembly with a cathode/anode/separator provided in a cylindrical can (housing the electrode assembly) with an opening top (open upper end) and a safety vent coupled to the cap assembly at the opening top (open upper end of the battery can) (Abstract) (please refer to the below duplicated figure, Fig. 1). Kim teaches a connection plate 50 (an electrode tab ), one side of the top of which is connected to the safety vent 30 and the other side of the bottom of which is connected to the cathode of the electrode assembly 40 ([0011]). Kim teaches that the safety vent has a predetermined notch (Abstract); please refer to Fig. 6 of Kim below which shows how the first and second notches extend along in the circumferential direction. Kim teaches that the safety vent includes a central portion positioned radially inside the notch part and an outer peripheral portion positioned radially outside the notch part (please refer to Fig. 6 of Kim, below), and wherein the collection plate ( electrode tab ) is attached to a lower surface of the outer peripheral portion (please refer to Fig. 2 of Kim below). PNG media_image1.png 717 482 media_image1.png Greyscale [AltContent: textbox (100 – Cylindrical Battery 140 - Top Cap 150 – Center Pin 130 – Case 122 – Anode 123 – Separator 121 – Cathode 120 – Electrode Assembly)] Fig. 1 – General Cylindrical Battery (Vertical Sectional Perspective View), duplicated from Fig. 1 of Kim on Sheet 1 of 9 of Drawings [AltContent: textbox (Connection plate (electrode tab) attached to a lower surface of the outer peripheral portion)] [AltContent: textbox (Outer Peripheral Portion)] [AltContent: textbox (10 – Top Cap 20 - Current Interruptive Device 30 – Safety Vent 42 – Lead 40 – Electrode Assembly 50 – Connection Plate)] PNG media_image2.png 543 678 media_image2.png Greyscale [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: oval] [AltContent: arrow] Fig. 2 of Kim on Sheet 1 of 9 of Drawings [AltContent: textbox (Groove)] PNG media_image3.png 537 842 media_image3.png Greyscale [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (324 – First Notch 326 – Second Notch 320 – Safety Vent 322 – Central Pin)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (Outer Peripheral Portion )] [AltContent: textbox (Center Portion)] Fig. 6 of Kim on Sheet 3 of 9 of Drawings Regarding Claim 2 , Kim teaches that the safety vent has a thickness of 0.15 to 0.4 mm ([0043]). Kim teaches a battery fabricated where the thickness of the first notch was 0.1 mm and the thickness of the second notch was 0.06 mm ([0117]), where the safety vent has a thickness of 0.3 mm ([0112]). As a result, Kim teaches that the notch part is in the form of a groove (see Fig. 6 of Kim above) such that the safety vent has having a thickness at the notch part that is less than the thickness that of an adjacent region of the safety vent. Regarding Claim 3 , Kim teaches that the safety vent has an upper surface oriented away from the interior of the battery can, the upper surface of the safety vent being-is exposed to an outside of the secondary battery (please see Fig. 2 of Kim below). Kim teaches that there are through-holes in both the cap assembly ([[0064]) and the current interruptive device ([0021]) which ensures that the upper surface of the safety vent being-is exposed to an outside of the secondary battery. Regarding Claim 5 , Kim teaches that the cap assembly 300 has a structure in which a top cap 310 and safety vent 320 are adhered to the inside of a gasket 400 for air-tightness mounted on an upper beading member 210 of the cylindrical can 200 ([0084]) ( gasket positioned between the battery can and the safety vent, wherein the upper end of the battery can is crimped and joined to the safety vent while being bent in a direction towards the gasket, so as to form a crimping part in the battery can ) (please refer to the below Fig. 5 of Kim). [AltContent: textbox (Curling Part)] [AltContent: textbox (Crimping Part)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: oval] PNG media_image4.png 569 910 media_image4.png Greyscale [AltContent: textbox (Bent Part)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (400 – Gasket 324 – First Notch 326 – Second Notch 310 – Top Plate 210 – Upper Beading Member (part of crimping process) 320 – Safety Vent)] [AltContent: oval] [AltContent: oval] Sectional View of Cylindrical Battery, duplicated from Fig. 5 of Kim on Sheet 2 of 9 of Drawings) Regarding Claim 6 , Kim teaches the safety vent comprises a curling part defined by a radially outermost region of the outer peripheral portion that is bent (please see annotated Fig. 5 of Kim above for the curling part circled). Regarding Claim 7 , Kim teaches the gasket is positioned between the crimping part and the curling part (please see Fig. 5 of Kim above). Regarding Claim 8 , Kim teaches a bent part defined by a portion of the outer peripheral portion bent in an upward direction away from the interior of the battery can (please see Fig. 5 of Kim above). Regarding Claim 9 , Kim teaches that the safety vent has a thickness of 0.3 mm ([0112]). Kim teaches a battery fabricated where the thickness of the first notch was 0.1 mm and the thickness of the second notch was 0.06 mm in the safety vent ([0117]). As a result, Kim teaches that the thickness of the safety vent at the first notch part and second notch part is 33% and 20%, respectively, of the thickness of the safety vent in regions other than the notch part, which overlap the claimed range from 5% to 50%. Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP 2131.03 and Ex parte Lee , 31 USPQ2d 1105 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kim (US 2012/0114979 A1; “Kim”) in view of Kazutoshi (US 20170110699 A1; “Kazutoshi”) . Regarding Claims 4, 10 and 11, Kim teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 3 as discussed above. Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches the cathode of the electrode assembly 40 is connected through a lead 42, the connection plate 50, the safety vent 30 and the PTC element 20 in this order to the top cap 10 under normal operation conditions, to apply electricity ([0012]). Kim teaches the top cap 140 provided with an electrode terminal (an external electrical component) to the opening top of the case 130 ([0006]). Kim does not teach that the connection comprises a wire or at that it is specifically attached to the upper surface of the safety vent in of the central part portion. Kazutoshi teaches that the portion of the valving element 23 that is exposed to the outside may serve as a lead welding portion for establishing a connection to an external device. Because this exposed portion is formed to protrude toward the outside of the battery ( in the central portion ), the strength of the valving element 23 can be increased and the welding of a lead is facilitated. The lead may be a lead plate or a lead wire including aluminum or an aluminum alloy. In particular, a lead wire is preferably used ([0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Kim by incorporating a first external conductive wire for connection with an external electrical component in the central portion, as taught by Kazutoshi, attached to the upper surface of the safety vent. Kim and Kazutoshi each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to claimed invention (MPEP 2141.01(a)(I)). Kazutoshi cites a lead wire as a preferential external connection, with the motivation of establishing a connection to an external device ([0026]). Moreover, Kim teaches the electrical connection between these components ([0012]) but does not specify the structure behind the electrical connection. This provides the adequate motivation for incorporating these features readily known in the art. Regarding Claim 10, Kim teaches the cathode of the electrode assembly 40 is connected through a lead 42, the connection plate 50, the safety vent 30 and the PTC element 20 in this order to the top cap 10 under normal operation conditions, to apply electricity ([0012]). Kim teaches the top cap 140 provided with an electrode terminal (an external electrical component) to the opening top of the case 130 ([0006]). Kim teaches that the upper surface of the safety vent is oriented away from the interior of the battery can (please see Fig. 2 of Kim above). Kim does not teach that the connection comprises a wire or at that it is specifically attached to the upper surface of the safety vent in of the central part portion. Kim also does not teach that a second external conductive wire is attached to the battery can. Kazutoshi teaches that the portion of the valving element 23 that is exposed to the outside may serve as a lead welding portion for establishing a connection to an external device. Because this exposed portion is formed to protrude toward the outside of the battery ( in the central portion ), the strength of the valving element 23 can be increased and the welding of a lead is facilitated. The lead may be a lead plate or a lead wire including aluminum or an aluminum alloy. In particular, a lead wire is preferably used ([0026]). The wire is attached to the part 23 of the battery can (please refer to the below Fig. 1A of Kazutoshi for a depiction of where the wire is located). [AltContent: textbox (Wire Attached to Battery Can)] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image5.png 517 454 media_image5.png Greyscale Fig. 1A of Kazutoshi on Sheet 1 of 1 of Drawings It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Kim by incorporating a first external conductive wire and a second external conductive wire which electrically connect the secondary battery, wherein the first external conductive wire is attached to an upper surface of the safety vent in the central portion, the upper surface being oriented away from the interior of the battery can, and the second external conductive wire is attached to the battery can, as taught by Kazutoshi. Kim and Kazutoshi each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to claimed invention (MPEP 2141.01(a)(I)). Kazutoshi cites a lead wire as a preferential external connection, with the motivation of establishing a connection to an external device ([0026]). Moreover, Kim teaches the electrical connection between these components ([0012]) but does not specify the structure behind the electrical connection. This provides the adequate motivation for incorporating these features readily known in the art. Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches the cathode of the electrode assembly 40 is connected through a lead 42, the connection plate 50, the safety vent 30 and the PTC element 20 in this order to the top cap 10 under normal operation conditions, to apply electricity ([0012]). Kim teaches the top cap 140 provided with an electrode terminal (an external electrical component) to the opening top of the case 130 ([0006]). Kim teaches that the cap assembly 300 has a structure in which a top cap 310 and safety vent 320 are adhered to the inside of a gasket 400 for air-tightness mounted on an upper beading member 210 of the cylindrical can 200 ([0084]) ( the battery can and the safety vent are crimped and joined to one another so as to form a crimping part in the battery can ) (please refer to the above Fig. 5 of Kim). Kim does not teach that the second external conductive wire is joined to the crimping part. Kazutoshi teaches that the portion of the valving element 23 that is exposed to the outside may serve as a lead welding portion for establishing a connection to an external device. Because this exposed portion is formed to protrude toward the outside of the battery ( central portion ), the strength of the valving element 23 can be increased and the welding of a lead is facilitated. The lead may be a lead plate or a lead wire including aluminum or an aluminum alloy. In particular, a lead wire is preferably used ([0026]). The wire is attached to the part 23 of the battery can at the crimping portion (Abstract) (please refer to the below Fig. 1A of Kazutoshi for a depiction of [AltContent: textbox (Crimping Portion)] where the wire is located). [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: oval] [AltContent: textbox (Wire Attached to Crimping Portion)] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image5.png 517 454 media_image5.png Greyscale Fig. 1A of Kazutoshi on Sheet 1 of 1 of Drawings It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Kim by incorporating a second external conductive wire joined to the crimping part as taught by Kazutoshi. Kim and Kazutoshi each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to claimed invention (MPEP 2141.01(a)(I)). Kazutoshi cites a lead wire as a preferential external connection, with the motivation of establishing a connection to an external device ([0026]) at the crimping part (Abstract) which also strengthens the valving element. This provides the adequate motivation for incorporating these features readily known in the art. Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 20070117011 A1 to Myerberg - teaches a plug that serves as a terminal for connecting the device to an external connection ([0031]); teaches a nickel interface terminal (9) as an interface for connecting batteries together in packs ([0081]) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WILLIAM FADDOUL SAVAGE whose telephone number is (571)270-0315. The examiner can normally be reached 8a.m.-5p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aaron Austin can be reached at 571-272-8935. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WILLIAM FADDOUL SAVAGE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1782 /AARON AUSTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 2 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 3 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 4 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 5 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 6 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 7 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 8 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 9 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 10 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/290,627 Page 11 Art Unit: 1782