Election/Restrictions
The arguments by the applicant, see Remark’s pages 9-11, in regards to the restriction dated 18 February 2026 have been found persuasive. Therefore, the restriction has been withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202110895728.5, filed on 5 August 2021 AD.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8 July 2024 AD and 15 January 2025 AD were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 March 2026 AD in regards to prior art references Wang et al. (US 20240049098 A1) or Wang and Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US 20230397080 A1) or Parichehrehteroujeni and the teachings of the claims have been fully considered and they are partially persuasive.
Wang teaches performing Dual Active Protocol Stack or DAPS handover, handing over from a first network node to a second network node, recording a successful handover report and recording a user equipment or UE identity or ID in the successful handover report if the first network node is subjected to a radio link failure or RLF and transmitting a generated RLF report and successful handover report to a network device. In addition to disclosing performing Dual Active Protocol Stack or DAPS handover, handing over from a first network node to a second network node, recording a successful handover report and recording a user equipment or UE identity or ID in the successful handover report if the first network node is subjected to a radio link failure or RLF and transmitting a generated RLF report and successful handover report to a network device, Wang teaches transmitting a successful handover report with an RLF report in a single message. In paragraph 0110, Wang explicitly teaches the successful handover report containing an identifier for the terminal device or a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier or C-RNTI.
(See Wang paragraph 0110, …the identifier may be a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI). Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the identifier of the terminal device 120 from the successful handover report.)
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach two radio link failures or RLFs during DAPS handover. Wang explicitly teaches a single RLF during DAPS handover as stated in paragraph 0075 of Wang.
Parichehrehteroujeni teaches a second network node obtaining an RLF report from another network node and a UE reconnects to the other network node after the UE successfully performed DAPS handover and subjected to a RLF. In addition to disclosing a second network node obtaining an RLF report from another network node and a UE reconnects to the other network node after the UE successfully performed DAPS handover and subjected to a RLF, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches obtaining a RLF report through a second interface message and obtaining a successful handover report through a third interface message. In paragraphs 0077 and 0090, Parichehrehteroujeni states,
[0077]For the RLF report generated by the UE, the contents of the RLF report have been enhanced with more details in the subsequent releases. The measurements included in the RLF measurement report based on the latest New Radio (NR) Radio Resource Control (RRC) specification TS 38.331 v16.2.0 are:…
[0090] 13) C-RNTI used in the previous serving cell.
In other words, the RLF report contains the C-RNTI. Specification 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 titled, “Radio Resource Control (RRC) Protocol Specification”, states in clause 4.4 page 31 paragraph 4,
Establishment/modification/suspension/resumption/release of RRC connection, including e.g. assignment/modification of UE identity (C-RNTI, fullI-RNTI, etc.),…
According to 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0, the C-RNTI consists of the UE ID. Therefore, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches the RLF report carries a UE ID. On the other hand, Parichehrehteroujeni fails to explicitly disclose a UE identity in a successful handover report.
Claim 2 fails to explicitly state two failures. Claim 2 states “…successful handover reports are generated after the UE has successfully performed Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) handover and the RLF reports are generated after the UE is subjected to an RLF after the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover”. In other words, claim 2 states a single RLF failure after successfully performing DAPS handover and fails to explicitly state a second RLF failure before performing DAPS handover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the second interface message and the third interface message". Claims 1 and 3, fail to possesses a corresponding “second interface message and the third interface message”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240049098 A1) or Wang in view of Chang et al. (US 20230362774 A1) or Chang.
Claim 1
Wang teaches,
(Currently Amended) A report processing method for a User Equipment (UE), comprising: performing Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) handover, and handing over from a first network node to a second network node;
(See Wang paragraph 0074, ...with reference to FIG. 1A, it is assumed that the handover of the terminal device 120 from the cell 115 to the cell 135 is a DAPS handover.)
recording a successful handover report and recording a UE Identity (ID) in the successful handover report when the first network node is subjected to a Radio Link Failure (RLF);
(See Wang paragraph 0075, ...it may be desirable for the terminal device 120 to trigger the successful handover report in response to the source RLF during the DAPS handover. To this end, in some embodiments, a triggering condition of the third type may be that an RLF on the source cell 115 is detected by the terminal device 120 in case of the DAPS handover (for example, any DAPS bearer is configured).)
Shows the UE triggering a successful handover report in response to a radio link failure or RLF on the source cell 115
(See Wang paragraph 0110, the terminal device 120 can collect an identifier of the terminal device 120 in the source cell 115. For example, the identifier may be a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI). Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the identifier of the terminal device 120 from the successful handover report.)
Shows the successful handover report containing a UE identity of a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier or C-RNTI
…transmitting the generated RLF report and successful handover report to a network device.
(See Wang paragraph 0076, Through such a triggering condition regarding the RLF on the source cell 115 in the DAPS handover, the terminal device 120 can be triggered to collect the information related to the DAPS handover and report the collected information to the source network device 110 via the target network device 120 or another serving network device of the terminal device 120.)
Shows the terminal transmitting the successful handover report to the source network device through a target network device
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
…recording a RLF report when the second network node is subjected to the RLF and the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover, wherein the RLF report carries the UE ID;…
Nevertheless, Chang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…recording a RLF report when the second network node is subjected to the RLF and the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover, wherein the RLF report carries the UE ID;…
(See Chang paragraph 0042, ...the UE performs a handover procedure from a cell A to a cell B. Within a very short period of time following the successful handover to the cell B, an RLF occurs at the cell B, and the UE sets and stores relevant information of the RLF, i.e., an RLF report.)
Shows the UE records a RLF report when cell B experiences RLF and the UE successfully performed a handover
(See Chang paragraph 0042, On the basis of the information of the RLF report in the existing mechanism, the network side cannot determine which type of handover procedure (e.g., the legacy handover, CHO, or DAPS)...)
Shows the handover may consist of DAPS
(See Chang paragraph 0012, ...the RLF report may further comprise: a failed cell identity set to a cell identity of a cell where the RLF is detected; a connection failure type (connectionFailureType) information element set to rlf; and a UE identity C-RNTI set to a C-RNTI used by the UE in a primary cell.)
Shows the RLF report contains the UE identity
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the performing Dual Active Protocol Stack or DAPS handover, handing over from a first network node to a second network node, recording a successful handover report and recording a user equipment or UE identity or ID in the successful handover report or SHR if the first network node is subject to a radio link failure or RLF and transmitting the generated RLF report and successful handover report to a network device as disclosed by Wang with the recording a RLF report if the second network node is subject to the RLF and the UE successfully performed the DPAS handover with the RLF report carrying the UE ID as disclosed by Chang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of steps required to recover after a RLF during DAPS handover).
Claim 11
Wang teaches,
(Currently Amended) A User Equipment (UE),
(See Wang paragraph 0169, The device 900 can be considered as a further embodiment of the network device 110 and the terminal device 120 as shown in FIG. 1.)
comprising a memory (See Wang FIG. 9 [920] [memory]), a transceiver (See Wang FIG. 9 [940] [transmitter and receiver]) and a processor (See Wang FIG. 9 [910] [processor]),
wherein the memory is configured to store therein a computer program, and
(See Wang paragraph 0170, The memory 920 stores at least a part of a program 930.)
the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor,
(See Wang paragraph 0170, …a suitable transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 940 coupled to the processor 910,…)
Shows the transmitter and receiver couples to the processor
(See Wang paragraph 0170, The TX/RX 940 is for bidirectional communications. The TX/RX 940 has at least one antenna to facilitate communication,…)
Shows the transmitter and receiver receives and transmits
wherein the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to implement the report processing method according to claim 1.
(See Wang paragraph 0171, The program 930 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 910, enable the device 900 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure, as discussed herein with reference to any of FIGS. 14 to 19.)
Wang teaches limitations of claim 11 as stated in claim 1. However, Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 11 as stated in claim 1. Nevertheless, Chang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 11 as stated in claim 1. The motivation to combine Wang and Chang in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 22
Wang teaches,
(Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing herein a computer program, wherein the computer program is used to be executed by a computer to implement the report processing method according to claim 1.
(See Wang paragraph 0175, …one computer program product tangibly stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The computer program product includes computer-executable instructions, such as those included in program modules, being executed in a device on a target real or virtual processor, to carry out the process or method as described above with reference to any of FIGS. 2 and 5 to 8.)
Wang teaches limitations of claim 22 as stated in claim 1. However, Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 22 as stated in claim 1. Nevertheless, Chang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 22 as stated in claim 1. The motivation to combine Wang and Chang in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 2, 8, 12, 17, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240049098 A1) or Wang in view of Chang et al. (US 20230362774 A1) or Chang in further view of Ryden et al. (US 20230388817 A1) or Ryden.
Claim 2
Wang teaches,
…determining the RLF report and the successful handover report that have an association relationship;
(See Wang paragraph 0094, ...upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the indication of the MCG RLF or the RLF report of the MCG from the successful handover report.)
analyzing a cause for an RLF or a cause for a handover failure in accordance with the determined RLF report and successful handover report that have the association relationship;…
(See Wang paragraph 0088, ...the first type of information may include a value of a counter for counting the number of LBT failures. Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can determine the value of the counter from the successful handover report. Accordingly, the network device 110 can determine the severity of the LBT failures when the handover is performed, for example, how many times the LBT has failed, and thus can evaluate the degree of congestion in the unlicensed bands.)
…the successful handover reports carry the UE IDs;
(See Wang paragraph 0110, ...the identifier may be a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI). Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the identifier of the terminal device 120 from the successful handover report.)
the successful handover reports are generated after the UE has successfully performed Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) handover, and…
(See Wang paragraph 0046, ...the terminal device 120 can generate a successful handover report if the handover from the source cell 115 to the target cell 135 is successful.)
Shows the UE generating a successful handover report if the handover consists of successful
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
(Currently Amended) A report processing method for a first network node, comprising: obtaining Radio Link Failure (RLF) reports and successful handover reports;…
…wherein the obtaining the RLF reports and the successful handover reports comprises:
obtaining the RLF reports and the successful handover reports transmitted by a User Equipment (UE);
Nevertheless, Ryden, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) A report processing method for a first network node, comprising: obtaining Radio Link Failure (RLF) reports and successful handover reports;
(See Ryden paragraph 0104, ...the network node decides (e.g., in step 600 of FIG. 6) when to activate intelligent RRM reporting and thus when to request intelligent RRM reporting capabilities based on network information. This network information may include any one or more of the following examples:...)
Shows the network node collecting information from the UE
(See Ryden paragraph 0109, ...for example an excessive reception of Radio Link Failure (RLF) Reports from UEs indicating mobility failures or failures during the addition of new cells in multi connectivity, or reception of Successful Handover Reports, indicating the sub-optimal execution of mobility procedures)
Shows the collection of multiple RLF reports and successful handover reports
…wherein the obtaining the RLF reports and the successful handover reports comprises:
obtaining the RLF reports and the successful handover reports transmitted by a User Equipment (UE);
(See Ryden paragraph 0104, ...the network node decides (e.g., in step 600 of FIG. 6) when to activate intelligent RRM reporting and thus when to request intelligent RRM reporting capabilities based on network information. This network information may include any one or more of the following examples:...)
Shows the network node collecting information from the UE
(See Ryden paragraph 0109, ...for example an excessive reception of Radio Link Failure (RLF) Reports from UEs indicating mobility failures or failures during the addition of new cells in multi connectivity, or reception of Successful Handover Reports, indicating the sub-optimal execution of mobility procedures)
Shows the collection of multiple RLF reports and successful handover reports
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the performing Dual Active Protocol Stack or DAPS handover, handing over from a first network node to a second network node, recording a successful handover report and recording a user equipment or UE identity or ID in the successful handover report or SHR if the first network node is subject to a radio link failure or RLF and transmitting the generated RLF report and successful handover report to a network device as disclosed by Wang with collecting multiple RLF reports and successful handover reports as disclosed by Ryden to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to decrease the number of base stations required to process RLF reports and successful handover reports).
Wang also fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the RLF reports carry UE IDs, and…
…the RLF reports are generated after the UE is subjected to an RLF after the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover.
Nevertheless, Chang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the RLF reports carry UE IDs, and…
(See Chang paragraph 0012, ...the RLF report may further comprise: a failed cell identity set to a cell identity of a cell where the RLF is detected; a connection failure type (connectionFailureType) information element set to rlf; and a UE identity C-RNTI set to a C-RNTI used by the UE in a primary cell.)
Shows the RLF report contains the UE identity
…the RLF reports are generated after the UE is subjected to an RLF after the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover.
(See Chang paragraph 0042, ...the UE performs a handover procedure from a cell A to a cell B. Within a very short period of time following the successful handover to the cell B, an RLF occurs at the cell B, and the UE sets and stores relevant information of the RLF, i.e., an RLF report.)
Shows the UE records a RLF report when cell B experiences RLF and the UE successfully performed a handover
(See Chang paragraph 0042, On the basis of the information of the RLF report in the existing mechanism, the network side cannot determine which type of handover procedure (e.g., the legacy handover, CHO, or DAPS)...)
Shows the handover may consist of DAPS
The motivation to combine Wang and Chang in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8
Wang teaches,
…transmitting an RLF report and a successful handover report that have an association relationship to a first network node,
(See Wang paragraph 0076, Through such a triggering condition regarding the RLF on the source cell 115 in the DAPS handover, the terminal device 120 can be triggered to collect the information related to the DAPS handover and report the collected information to the source network device 110 via the target network device 120...)
Shows the target network device transmitting a DAPS handover and RLF report to the source network device through the target network device
(See Wang paragraph 0094, ...upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the indication of the MCG RLF or the RLF report of the MCG from the successful handover report.)
Shows the terminal device transmitting the successful handover report to network device 110 with the associated RLF report
to enable the first network node to analyze a cause for an RLF or a cause for a handover failure in accordance with the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship;…
(See Wang paragraph 0088, ...the first type of information may include a value of a counter for counting the number of LBT failures. Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can determine the value of the counter from the successful handover report. Accordingly, the network device 110 can determine the severity of the LBT failures when the handover is performed, for example, how many times the LBT has failed, and thus can evaluate the degree of congestion in the unlicensed bands.)
…wherein the successful handover reports are generated after the UE has successfully performed Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) handover,
(See Wang paragraph 0046, ...the terminal device 120 can generate a successful handover report if the handover from the source cell 115 to the target cell 135 is successful.)
Shows the UE generating a successful handover report if the handover consists of successful
the successful handover reports carry UE IDs, and…
(See Wang paragraph 0110, ...the identifier may be a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI). Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the identifier of the terminal device 120 from the successful handover report.)
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
(Currently Amended) A report processing method for a second network node, comprising:
obtaining Radio Link Failure (RLF) reports and successful handover reports;…
…wherein the obtaining the successful handover reports comprises:
receiving the successful handover reports transmitted by a User Equipment (UE),…
Nevertheless, Ryden, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) A report processing method for a second network node, comprising:
obtaining Radio Link Failure (RLF) reports and successful handover reports;…
(See Ryden paragraph 0104, ...the network node decides (e.g., in step 600 of FIG. 6) when to activate intelligent RRM reporting and thus when to request intelligent RRM reporting capabilities based on network information. This network information may include any one or more of the following examples:...)
Shows the network node collecting information from the UE
(See Ryden paragraph 0109, ...for example an excessive reception of Radio Link Failure (RLF) Reports from UEs indicating mobility failures or failures during the addition of new cells in multi connectivity, or reception of Successful Handover Reports, indicating the sub-optimal execution of mobility procedures)
Shows the collection of multiple RLF reports and successful handover reports
…wherein the obtaining the successful handover reports comprises:
receiving the successful handover reports transmitted by a User Equipment (UE),…
(See Ryden paragraph 0104, ...the network node decides (e.g., in step 600 of FIG. 6) when to activate intelligent RRM reporting and thus when to request intelligent RRM reporting capabilities based on network information. This network information may include any one or more of the following examples:...)
Shows the network node collecting information from the UE
(See Ryden paragraph 0109, ...for example an excessive reception of Radio Link Failure (RLF) Reports from UEs indicating mobility failures or failures during the addition of new cells in multi connectivity, or reception of Successful Handover Reports, indicating the sub-optimal execution of mobility procedures)
Shows the collection of multiple RLF reports and successful handover reports
The motivation to combine Wang and Ryden in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
…the RLF reports carry the UE IDs;
the RLF reports are generated after the UE is subjected to an RLF after the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover.
Nevertheless, Chang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the RLF reports carry the UE IDs;
(See Chang paragraph 0012, ...the RLF report may further comprise: a failed cell identity set to a cell identity of a cell where the RLF is detected; a connection failure type (connectionFailureType) information element set to rlf; and a UE identity C-RNTI set to a C-RNTI used by the UE in a primary cell.)
Shows the RLF report contains the UE identity
the RLF reports are generated after the UE is subjected to an RLF after the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover.
(See Chang paragraph 0042, ...the UE performs a handover procedure from a cell A to a cell B. Within a very short period of time following the successful handover to the cell B, an RLF occurs at the cell B, and the UE sets and stores relevant information of the RLF, i.e., an RLF report.)
Shows the UE records a RLF report when cell B experiences RLF and the UE successfully performed a handover
(See Chang paragraph 0042, On the basis of the information of the RLF report in the existing mechanism, the network side cannot determine which type of handover procedure (e.g., the legacy handover, CHO, or DAPS)...)
Shows the handover may consist of DAPS
The motivation to combine Wang and Chang in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12
Wang teaches,
(Previously presented) A network node, the network node being a first network node and
(See Wang paragraph 0169, The device 900 can be considered as a further embodiment of the network device 110 and the terminal device 120 as shown in FIG. 1.)
comprising a memory (See Wang FIG. 9 [920] [memory]), a transceiver (See Wang FIG. 9 [940] [transmitter and receiver]) and a processor (See Wang FIG. 9 [910] [processor]),
wherein the memory is configured to store therein a computer program, and
(See Wang paragraph 0170, The memory 920 stores at least a part of a program 930.)
the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor,
(See Wang paragraph 0170, …a suitable transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 940 coupled to the processor 910,…)
Shows the transmitter and receiver couples to the processor
(See Wang paragraph 0170, The TX/RX 940 is for bidirectional communications. The TX/RX 940 has at least one antenna to facilitate communication,…)
Shows the transmitter and receiver receives and transmits
wherein the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to implement the report processing method according to claim 2.
(See Wang paragraph 0171, The program 930 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 910, enable the device 900 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure, as discussed herein with reference to any of FIGS. 14 to 19.)
Wang teaches limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. However, Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. Nevertheless, Ryden and Chang, in the same field of endeavor, teach limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, and Ryden in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 17
Wang teaches,
(Previously presented) A network node, the network node being a second network node
(See Wang paragraph 0043, …the terminal device 120 may be leaving the cell 115 of the network device 110 and entering into a cell 135 of a network device 130,…)
Shows the second network node of network device 130
and comprising a memory (See Wang FIG. 9 [920] [memory]), a transceiver (See Wang FIG. 9 [940] [transmitter and receiver]) and a processor (See Wang FIG. 9 [910] [processor]),
wherein the memory is configured to store therein a computer program, and
(See Wang paragraph 0170, The memory 920 stores at least a part of a program 930.)
the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor,
(See Wang paragraph 0170, …a suitable transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 940 coupled to the processor 910,…)
Shows the transmitter and receiver couples to the processor
(See Wang paragraph 0170, The TX/RX 940 is for bidirectional communications. The TX/RX 940 has at least one antenna to facilitate communication,…)
Shows the transmitter and receiver receives and transmits
wherein the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to implement the report processing method according to claim 8.
(See Wang paragraph 0171, The program 930 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 910, enable the device 900 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure, as discussed herein with reference to any of FIGS. 14 to 19.)
Wang teaches limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 8. However, Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 8. Nevertheless, Ryden and Chang, in the same field of endeavor, teach limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 8. The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, and Ryden in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 23
Wang teaches,
(Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing herein a computer program, wherein the computer program is used to be executed by a computer to implement the report processing method according to claim 2.
(See Wang paragraph 0175, …one computer program product tangibly stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The computer program product includes computer-executable instructions, such as those included in program modules, being executed in a device on a target real or virtual processor, to carry out the process or method as described above with reference to any of FIGS. 2 and 5 to 8.)
Wang teaches limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 2. However, Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 2. Nevertheless, Ryden and Chang, in the same field of endeavor, teach limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, and Ryden in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240049098 A1) or Wang in view of Chang et al. (US 20230362774 A1) or Chang in further view of Ryden et al. (US 20230388817 A1) or Ryden in further view of Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US 20230397080 A1) or Parichehrehteroujeni.
Claim 3
Wang teaches,
…receiving, through first interface messages, RLF reports and successful handover reports transmitted by a second network node,
(See Wang paragraph 0046, The availability of the successful handover report may be indicated by a message (for example, a Handover Complete message, such as RRCReconfigurationComplete) transmitted from the terminal device 120 to the target network device 130 over radio resource control (RRC) layer.)
Shows the successful handover report indicated by a message
(See Wang paragraph 0046, ...the target network device 130 may then forward the successful handover report to the source network device 110 to indicate failures experienced during a successful handover event.)
Shows the target network device transmitting the successful handover report to the source network device
(See Wang paragraph 0094, ...the terminal device 120 can store all or part information in the stored RLF-report variable to the successful handover report variable and then clear the RLF-report variable. Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the indication of the MCG RLF or the RLF report of the MCG from the successful handover report.)
Shows the successful handover report includes the RLF report
wherein the second network node is a node after the UE has performed DAPS handover, the first network node is a node before the UE performs the DAPS handover,…
(See Wang paragraph 0046, ...the terminal device 120 can generate a successful handover report if the handover from the source cell 115 to the target cell 135 is successful.)
Shows the first network node as the source cell and the second network node as the target cell
…wherein the determining the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship comprises:
determining an RLF report and a successful handover report transmitted in one of the first interface messages as the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship.
(See Wang paragraph 0094, Additionally or alternatively, the second type of information can include an indication of an MCG RLF or a RLF report of the MCG. For example, the terminal device 120 can store all or part information in the stored RLF-report variable to the successful handover report variable and then clear the RLF-report variable. Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the indication of the MCG RLF or the RLF report of the MCG from the successful handover report.)
Shows the successful handover report may include the RLF report in single message
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
(Currently Amended) The report processing method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining the RLF reports and the successful handover reports comprises:…
Nevertheless, Ryden, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The report processing method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining the RLF reports and the successful handover reports comprises:…
(See Ryden paragraph 0104, ...the network node decides (e.g., in step 600 of FIG. 6) when to activate intelligent RRM reporting and thus when to request intelligent RRM reporting capabilities based on network information. This network information may include any one or more of the following examples:...)
Shows the network node collecting information from the UE
(See Ryden paragraph 0109, ...for example an excessive reception of Radio Link Failure (RLF) Reports from UEs indicating mobility failures or failures during the addition of new cells in multi connectivity, or reception of Successful Handover Reports, indicating the sub-optimal execution of mobility procedures)
Shows the collection of multiple RLF reports and successful handover reports
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
…the RLF report is obtained by the second network node from another network node, and the other network node is a network node to which the UE is reconnected after the UE is subjected to the RLF, wherein the UE is subjected to the RLF after the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover,…
Nevertheless, Parichehrehteroujeni, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the RLF report is obtained by the second network node from another network node, and
(See Parichehrehteroujeni paragraph 0203, The RLF report may then be transmitted from Cell C to Cell B, and then form Cell B to Cell A.)
the other network node is a network node to which the UE is reconnected after the UE is subjected to the RLF, wherein the UE is subjected to the RLF after the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover,…
(See Parichehrehteroujeni paragraph 0203, If a wireless device performs a successful handover from Cell A to Cell B, fails after a successful HO at Cell B, and re-establishes a connection to Cell C, the wireless device logs as part of RLF report the PCell identity included in the last RRC Reconfiguration which conveyed reconfigurationWithSync command (e.g. Cell A).)
Shows the wireless device reconnects to Cell C and the wireless device experiences the RLF after successful handover from Cell A to Cell B
(See Parichehrehteroujeni paragraph 0204, ...considering the current set of information provided as part of RLF report for detection of Too Early HO and HO to Wrong cell, it is not possible for a RAN node (analyzing the content of the RLF report) to detect whether the HO was, for example, a normal handover, a CHO handover, a DAPS handover, or a DAPS handover combined with CHO handover.)
Shows the handover consists of a DAPS handover
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the performing Dual Active Protocol Stack or DAPS handover, handing over from a first network node to a second network node, recording a successful handover report and recording a user equipment or UE identity or ID in the successful handover report or SHR if the first network node is subject to a radio link failure or RLF and transmitting the generated RLF report and successful handover report to a network device as disclosed by Wang with obtaining an RLF Report by a second network node from another network node and the UE reconnects to the other network node after the UE successfully performed DAPS handover and subject to an RLF as disclosed by Parichehrehteroujeni to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of encountering another RLF during DAPS handover).
Claim 13 (Currently Amended)
Wang teaches limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. However, Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. Nevertheless, Ryden and Parichehrehteroujeni, in the same field of endeavor, teach limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, Ryden and Parichehrehteroujeni in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claims 4, 10, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240049098 A1) or Wang in view of Chang et al. (US 20230362774 A1) or Chang in further view of Ryden et al. (US 20230388817 A1) or Ryden in further view of Olofsson et al. (US 20160037397 A1) or Olofsson.
Claim 4
Wang teaches,
…are carried in the one of the first interface messages,…
(See Wang paragraph 0094, Additionally or alternatively, the second type of information can include an indication of an MCG RLF or a RLF report of the MCG. For example, the terminal device 120 can store all or part information in the stored RLF-report variable to the successful handover report variable and then clear the RLF-report variable. Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the indication of the MCG RLF or the RLF report of the MCG from the successful handover report.)
Shows the successful handover report may include the RLF report in single message
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
(Original) The report processing method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the RLF report and the successful handover report transmitted in the one of the first interface messages as the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship comprises:
…when RLF reports and successful handover reports generated by different UEs…
Nevertheless, Ryden, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Original) The report processing method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the RLF report and the successful handover report transmitted in the one of the first interface messages as the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship comprises:
…when RLF reports and successful handover reports generated by different UEs…
(See Ryden paragraph 0109, ...for example an excessive reception of Radio Link Failure (RLF) Reports from UEs indicating mobility failures or failures during the addition of new cells in multi connectivity, or reception of Successful Handover Reports, indicating the sub-optimal execution of mobility procedures)
Shows the collection of multiple RLF reports and successful handover reports from different UEs
The motivation to combine Wang and Ryden in the dependent claims consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
…determining an RLF report and a successful handover report generated by a same UE as the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship.
Nevertheless, Olofsson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…determining an RLF report and a successful handover report generated by a same UE as the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship.
(See Olofsson paragraph 0060, ...the UE provides the CRNTI and shortMAC-I used in the eNB B (but carried in the RLF report) to the eNB C which sends this in a RLF Indication message to the eNB B. The eNB B retrieves information for this UE, and includes for example the CRNTI used in cell A together with the time the handover from the eNB A to the eNB B occurred (as a timestamp or the elapsed time since this handover occurred) in the Handover Report to cell A. This provides enough information for the eNB A to retrieve the context of this specific UE.)
Shows the eNB B identifying an RLF report and generating a handover report by the same UE
(See Olofsson paragraph 0053, …the eNB B retrieves the UE specific information and includes part of this retrieved information in the Handover Report, thereby enabling the receiving eNB A to retrieve the stored UE specific information valid in the scope of the eNB A.)
Shows the eNB B retrieving the UE specific information and including the information in the handover report
(See Olofsson paragraph 0054, As mentioned above, example of information that could be stored in eNB B and in eNB A after handover preparation is: cell radio network temporary identifier (CRNTI) for the mobile station used by the first network control node,…)
Shows the UE specific information includes a CRNTI or UE ID
Shows the handover report utilizes the same UE ID as the RLF report
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the performing Dual Active Protocol Stack or DAPS handover, handing over from a first network node to a second network node, recording a successful handover report and recording a user equipment or UE identity or ID in the successful handover report or SHR if the first network node is subject to a radio link failure or RLF and transmitting the generated RLF report and successful handover report to a network device as disclosed by Wang with determining an RLF report and a successful handover report generated by a same UE as the RLF report and the successful handover report with the association relationship as disclosed by Olofsson to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of identifying radio link failures during DAPS handover).
Claim 10
Wang teaches,
…transmitting the identified RLF report and successful handover report that have the association relationship to the first network node.
(See Wang paragraph 0094, ...upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the indication of the MCG RLF or the RLF report of the MCG from the successful handover report.)
Shows the successful handover report transmitted with a RLF report
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
(Previously presented) The report processing method according to claim 8, wherein the transmitting the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship to the first network node comprises:
identifying the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship, the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship being generated by a same UE;…
Nevertheless, Olofsson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Previously presented) The report processing method according to claim 8, wherein the transmitting the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship to the first network node comprises:
identifying the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship, the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship being generated by a same UE;…
(See Olofsson paragraph 0053, …the eNB B retrieves the UE specific information and includes part of this retrieved information in the Handover Report, thereby enabling the receiving eNB A to retrieve the stored UE specific information valid in the scope of the eNB A.)
Shows the eNB B retrieving the UE specific information and including the information in the handover report
(See Olofsson paragraph 0054, As mentioned above, example of information that could be stored in eNB B and in eNB A after handover preparation is: cell radio network temporary identifier (CRNTI) for the mobile station used by the first network control node,…)
Shows the UE specific information includes a CRNTI or UE ID
Shows the handover report utilizes the same UE ID as the RLF report
The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, Ryden, and Olofsson in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 4.
Claim 14
Wang teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. However, Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. Nevertheless, Ryden and Olofsson, in the same field of endeavor, teach limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, Ryden, and Olofsson in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 4.
Claim 18
Wang teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 10. However, Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 10. Nevertheless, Olofsson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 10. The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, Ryden, and Olofsson in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 4.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240049098 A1) or Wang in view of Chang et al. (US 20230362774 A1) or Chang in further view of Ryden et al. (US 20230388817 A1) or Ryden in further view of Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US 20230397080 A1) or Parichehrehteroujeni in further view of Olofsson et al. (US 20160037397 A1) or Olofsson.
Claim 5
Wang teaches,
…determining a successful handover report corresponding to a second UE ID in accordance with the second UE ID carried in the third interface message;
(See Wang paragraph 0110, the terminal device 120 can collect an identifier of the terminal device 120 in the source cell 115. For example, the identifier may be a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI). Therefore, upon receiving the successful handover report provided by the terminal device 120, the network device 110 can obtain the identifier of the terminal device 120 from the successful handover report.)
Shows the successful handover report containing a UE identity of a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier or C-RNTI
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
…obtaining the RLF reports through a second interface message,
…in the second interface message, and…
and obtaining the successful handover reports through a third interface message,…
Nevertheless, Parichehrehteroujeni, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
obtaining the RLF reports through a second interface message,…
…in the second interface message, and…
(See Parichehrehteroujeni paragraph 0138, ...the RLF report is logged and, once the wireless device selects a cell and succeeds with a reestablishment, it includes an indication that it has an RLF report available in the RRC Reestablishment Complete message, to make the target cell aware of that availability. Then, upon receiving an UEInformationRequest message with a flag “rlf-ReportReq-r16” the UE shall include the RLF report (stored in a UE variable VarRLF-Report, as described above) in an UEInformationResponse message and send the RLF report to the network.)
Shows the network receiving RLF reports through a second interface message
(See Parichehrehteroujeni paragraph 0260, When the network receives the RLF report, the network may transmit the RLF report to the source base station of the successful handover.)
Shows the network transmitting the RLF report to the source base station
and obtaining the successful handover reports through a third interface message,…
(See Parichehrehteroujeni paragraph 0158, The availability of a Successful Handover Report may be indicated by the Handover Complete message (RRCReconfigurationComplete) transmitted from wireless device to the target NG-RAN node over RRC.)
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
(Original) The report processing method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining the RLF reports and the successful handover reports comprises: …
Nevertheless, Ryden, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Original) The report processing method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining the RLF reports and the successful handover reports comprises: …
(See Ryden paragraph 0109, ...for example an excessive reception of Radio Link Failure (RLF) Reports from UEs indicating mobility failures or failures during the addition of new cells in multi connectivity, or reception of Successful Handover Reports, indicating the sub-optimal execution of mobility procedures)
Shows the collection of multiple RLF reports and successful handover reports
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the determining the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship comprises:
determining an RLF report corresponding to a first UE ID in accordance with the first UE ID carried…
…when the first UE ID is the same as the second UE ID, determining the RLF report corresponding to the first UE ID and the successful handover report corresponding to the second UE ID as the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship.
Nevertheless, Olofsson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the determining the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship comprises:
determining an RLF report corresponding to a first UE ID in accordance with the first UE ID carried…
(See Olofsson paragraph 0045, ...RLF Report transmitted from the mobile station to a network control node of the cellular wireless communication system. Preferably, the report comprises a CRNTI and/or a ShortMAC-I for the mobile station used by the second network control node to determine the at least one mobile identity indicator.)
Shows the CRNTI or UE ID included in the RLF report
…when the first UE ID is the same as the second UE ID, determining the RLF report corresponding to the first UE ID and the successful handover report corresponding to the second UE ID as the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship.
(See Olofsson paragraph 0060, ...the UE provides the CRNTI and shortMAC-I used in the eNB B (but carried in the RLF report) to the eNB C which sends this in a RLF Indication message to the eNB B. The eNB B retrieves information for this UE, and includes for example the CRNTI used in cell A together with the time the handover from the eNB A to the eNB B occurred (as a timestamp or the elapsed time since this handover occurred) in the Handover Report to cell A. This provides enough information for the eNB A to retrieve the context of this specific UE.)
Shows the eNB B identifying an RLF report and generating a handover report by the same UE with the same UE ID
(See Olofsson paragraph 0053, …the eNB B retrieves the UE specific information and includes part of this retrieved information in the Handover Report, thereby enabling the receiving eNB A to retrieve the stored UE specific information valid in the scope of the eNB A.)
Shows the eNB B retrieving the UE specific information and including the information in the handover report
(See Olofsson paragraph 0054, As mentioned above, example of information that could be stored in eNB B and in eNB A after handover preparation is: cell radio network temporary identifier (CRNTI) for the mobile station used by the first network control node,…)
Shows the UE specific information includes a CRNTI or UE ID
Shows the handover report utilizes the same UE ID as the RLF report
Claim 15
Wang teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. However, Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. Nevertheless, Ryden, Parichehrehteroujeni, and Olofsson, in the same field of endeavor, teach limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, Ryden and Parichehrehteroujeni, and Olofsson in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 4.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240049098 A1) or Wang in view of Chang et al. (US 20230362774 A1) or Chang in further view of Ryden et al. (US 20230388817 A1) or Ryden in further view of Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US 20230397080 A1) or Parichehrehteroujeni.
Claim 6
Wang teaches,
(Previously presented) The report processing method according to claim 3, wherein the first interface message,… …message are each at least one of a failure indication message, a handover report message, an access and mobility indication message, or a specific message.
(See Wang paragraph 0046, The availability of the successful handover report may be indicated by a message (for example, a Handover Complete message, such as RRCReconfigurationComplete) transmitted from the terminal device 120 to the target network device 130 over radio resource control (RRC) layer.)
Shows the successful handover report indicated by a specific message
However, Wang fails to explicitly teach,
…the second interface message and the third interface…
Nevertheless, Parichehrehteroujeni, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the second interface message and the third interface…
(See Parichehrehteroujeni paragraph 0138, ...the RLF report is logged and, once the wireless device selects a cell and succeeds with a reestablishment, it includes an indication that it has an RLF report available in the RRC Reestablishment Complete message, to make the target cell aware of that availability. Then, upon receiving an UEInformationRequest message with a flag “rlf-ReportReq-r16” the UE shall include the RLF report (stored in a UE variable VarRLF-Report, as described above) in an UEInformationResponse message and send the RLF report to the network.)
Shows the network receiving RLF reports through a specific message
(See Parichehrehteroujeni paragraph 0158, The availability of a Successful Handover Report may be indicated by the Handover Complete message (RRCReconfigurationComplete) transmitted from wireless device to the target NG-RAN node over RRC.)
The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, Ryden, and Parichehrehteroujeni in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 4.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240049098 A1) or Wang in view of Chang et al. (US 20230362774 A1) or Chang in further view of Ryden et al. (US 20230388817 A1) or Ryden in further view of Olofsson et al. (US 20160037397 A1) or Olofsson.
Claim 7
Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. Nevertheless, Ryden, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the RLF reports…
...the successful handover reports,…
(See Ryden paragraph 0109, ...for example an excessive reception of Radio Link Failure (RLF) Reports from UEs indicating mobility failures or failures during the addition of new cells in multi connectivity, or reception of Successful Handover Reports, indicating the sub-optimal execution of mobility procedures)
Shows the collection of multiple RLF reports and successful handover reports
Olofsson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
(Currently Amended) The report processing method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship comprises:
determining, in accordance with the UE IDs carried in… …and the UE IDs carried in…
(See Olofsson paragraph 0056, Note however that due to the delayed transmission of the RLF report from idle mode (up to 48 hours after the RLF event itself) and since the CRNTI is only unique in one cell during a given time, there may be a need to add some more information to distinguish between different UEs using the same CRNTI at different times.)
Shows the need for globally unique UE IDs to distinguish between different UEs for RLF reports
(See Olofsson paragraph 0042, ...the mobile identity indicator is embedded in a Handover Report message transmitted from the second network control node (node B) to the first network control node (node A).)
Shows a mobile identity indicator embedded in a handover report
(See Olofsson paragraph 0043, The mobile identity indicator of the present invention should have information content which makes it possible for a network control node to identify a specific mobile station. The inventors have recognized the following existing information content bearers suitable for this task: CRNTI for the mobile station used by the first network control node...)
Shows the mobile identity indicator may consist of a CRNTI or UE ID
an RLF report and a successful handover report carrying a same UE ID as the RLF report and the successful handover report that have the association relationship.
(See Olofsson paragraph 0055, There have however been discussions to include the CRNTI in the RLF Report. Provided that enough information is included so that the eNB B can retrieve stored information about the UE, the eNB B can perform the same actions as indicated above to allow the eNB A to identify which UE an incoming Handover Report message is related to.)
Shows the CRNTI or UE ID included in a RLF report
(See Olofsson paragraph 0053, ...when a RLF triggers the transmission of a RLF Indication message from the eNB C to the eNB B, the eNB B retrieves the UE specific information and includes part of this retrieved information in the Handover Report, thereby enabling the receiving eNB A to retrieve the stored UE specific information valid in the scope of the eNB A.)
Shows the transmitted handover report includes the same UE ID as in the RLF report
(See Olofsson paragraph 0054, ...example of information that could be stored in eNB B and in eNB A after handover preparation is: cell radio network temporary identifier (CRNTI) for the mobile station used by the first network control node,...)
Shows the CRNTI stored in eNB B and included in the handover report transmitted to eNB A
The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, Ryden, and Olofsson in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 4.
Claim 16
Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 7. Nevertheless, Ryden and Olofsson, in the same field of endeavor, teach limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, Ryden, and Olofsson in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 4.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240049098 A1) or Wang in view of Chang et al. (US 20230362774 A1) or Chang in further view of Ryden et al. (US 20230388817 A1) or Ryden in further view of Ramachandra et al. (US 20230388204 A1) or Ramachandra.
Claim 9
Wang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 9. Nevertheless, Ramachandra, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The report processing method according to claim 8, wherein the obtaining the RLF reports comprises:
receiving the RLF reports transmitted by another network node,
(See Ramachandra paragraph 0199, ...existing mechanisms can be used by RAN nodes to forward RLF reports received from UEs to other RAN nodes.)
Shows radio access network nodes or RAN nodes forwarding RLF reports received from UEs to other RAN nodes
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the performing Dual Active Protocol Stack or DAPS handover, handing over from a first network node to a second network node, recording a successful handover report and recording a user equipment or UE identity or ID in the successful handover report or SHR if the first network node is subject to a radio link failure or RLF and transmitting the generated RLF report and successful handover report to a network device as disclosed by Wang with receiving RLF reports transmitted by another network node as disclosed by Ramachandra to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of transmitting the RLF reports to the correct base station).
Chang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the other network node is a network node to which the UE is reconnected after the UE is subjected to the RLF after the UE has successfully performed the DAPS handover.
(See Chang paragraph 0042, the UE performs a handover procedure from a cell A to a cell B. Within a very short period of time following the successful handover to the cell B, an RLF occurs at the cell B, and the UE sets and stores relevant information of the RLF, i.e., an RLF report. After the RLF, the UE recovers the link connection to the network side via RRC connection re-establishment or RRC connection establishment or other methods. The UE indicates to the network side that an available RLF report is stored thereon. At a certain time later, the network side transmits an RLF report request to the UE via an RRC message, requesting the UE to report the stored RLF report.)
Shows the UE establishing a connection with the network side after successful handover from cell A to cell B and after a RLF
(See Chang paragraph 0042, Thus, in one scenario, when the network side (e.g., the cell A or the cell B) acquires the RLF report, the network side may have discarded the UE context information.)
Shows the network side as cell A or cell B
(See Chang paragraph 0042, ...the network side cannot determine which type of handover procedure (e.g., the legacy handover, CHO, or DAPS) is the previous handover associated with the RLF report, which may result in incorrect handover parameter adjustment.)
Shows the handover may consist of a DAPS handover
The motivation to combine Wang, Chang, Ryden in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al. (US 20220124519 A1) or Xu teaches conditional handover or CHO with receiving a radio link failure or RLF report from a user equipment or UE and detecting the reason for the RLF.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414