DETAILED ACTION
Applicants claim amendments filed 1/19/2024 is acknowledged and entered into the record.
Accordingly, Claims 1-16 are pending and will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by June et al. (PgPub 2019/0367610, cited on IDS filed 1/19/2024).
The claims are drawn to a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising an extracellular domain (extracellular binding domain) comprising an antigen-binding domain; a transmembrane domain; and as an intracellular signaling domain comprising an intracellular domain of the receptor comprising a death domain. The claims are further drawn to a polynucleotide comprising a base sequence encoding said CAR, an expression vector comprising said polynucleotide and an immune cell expressing said CAR and a second CAR targeting an antigen expressed in a cancer cell and a method of treatment comprising administering said immune cell to a subject in need thereof.
June et al. teach chimeric antigen receptors (CAR) comprising an extracellular domain, a transmembrane domain and an intracellular domain, also referred to as a cytoplasmic domain. June et al. disclose the extracellular domain includes a CD8a hinge domain and a spacer domain (see paragraphs [0093], [0094, [0096]) and the transmembrane domain is derived from the α, β, or ζ chain of a T-cell receptor, CD28, CD3 epsilon, or CD45 (see paragraph [0107]). June et al. teach the extracellular domain contains an antigen targeting domain targeting tumor-associated antigens (TAA) which is not unique to a tumor cell and instead is also expressed on a normal cell (see paragraph [0101]). June et al. disclose several target antigens, however the preferred antigen binding domain portion of the CAR targets include EGFRvIII (see paragraph [0102]). June et al. teach the cytoplasmic domain of the CAR comprises a death domain of receptors such as TNFR1, p75NTR, DR3, DR4/TrailR1, DR5/TrailR2, and DR6 (see paragraph [0122]-[0126]). June et. disclose a single chain variable fragment (scFv) as the antigen binding domain (see paragraphs [0028] and [0117]). June et al. further disclose the feature wherein the T-cell expresses a plurality of CARs, and the plurality of CARs comprise an extracellular domain comprising antigen-binding domains that bind to different types of antigens (such as HER2), a transmembrane domain, and a cytoplasmic domain (see paragraphs [0019], [0096], [0105], [0117]). June et al. discloses a dual CAR where a T-cell is genetically modified to express an inhibitory CAR and a therapeutic tumor directed CAR and methods of treatment comprising administering the CAR to a subject in need thereof, (see paragraphs [0018] and [0039]). June et al. teach each and every limitation of the instant claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-16 are rejected.
No Claim is allowed.
/Meera Natarajan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643