DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 20, the claimed “radio resource controle(RRC)” should read as “radio resource control (RRC)”.
Regarding claim 21, the claimed “supporting a pagingve” (line 5) should read as “supporting paging”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DHANDA et al. (US 2020/0245246 A1).
Regarding claims 16, 21, 26, 31, DHANDA discloses;
A method performed by a gNB-distributed unit (DU) of a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a gNB-central unit (CU) of the base station, signaling information for paging subgrouping of a user equipment (UE); and identifying a subgroup of the UE for the paging subgrouping, based on the signaling information; and transmitting the paging message to the UE which belongs in the subgroup, which is met by network 100 including a number of BS 110b, 110c, and 110d, communicating with UEs (para 0043-0044).
The network device (e.g., using communication unit 294, controller/processor 240/280/290, and/or the like) may provide, to a base station (e.g. BS 110), information identifying a set of WUS sub-groups for wakeup signaling by the base station (para 0082).
the base station (e.g., using controller/processor 240, transmit processor 220, TX MIMO processor 230, MOD 232, antenna 234, and/or the like) may provide system information (e.g., a system information block) that identifies the set of WUS sub-groups configured for the base station. This may conserve signaling resources that would otherwise be used to provide an MME-to-UE signaling of the set of WUS sub-groups, since the MME may cover many base stations that may be associated with different sets of WUS sub-groups. In some aspects, the system information identifies a mapping of a set of base station-level WUS sub-groups to a set of network device-level WUS sub-groups configured by a network device (para 0105).
Regarding claims 17, 22, DHANDA discloses;
the method of signaling information includes at least one of a subgroup ID corresponding to the subgroup of the UE, UE capability information supporting the paging subgrouping, and cell information indicating a last used cell of the UE, which is met by the base station (e.g., using controller/processor 240 and/or the like) may determine a mapping of a set of BS-level WUS sub-groups to a set of network device-level WUS sub-groups (e.g., MME-level WUS sub-groups). (para 0103).
the base station may optionally provide, to a UE, system information identifying the set of WUS sub-groups. For example, the base station (e.g., using controller/processor 240, transmit processor 220, TX MIMO processor 230, MOD 232, antenna 234, and/or the like) may provide system information (e.g., a system information block) that identifies the set of WUS sub-groups configured for the base station. This may conserve signaling resources that would otherwise be used to provide an MME-to-UE signaling of the set of WUS sub-groups, since the MME may cover many base stations that may be associated with different sets of WUS sub-groups. In some aspects, the system information identifies a mapping of a set of base station-level WUS sub-groups to a set of network device-level WUS sub-groups configured by a network device. (para 0105).
…the base station (e.g., using controller/processor 240, transmit processor 220, TX MIMO processor 230, MOD 232, antenna 234, and/or the like) may transmit the WUS on a WUS occasion associated with a selected base station-level WUS sub-group. The selected base station-level WUS sub-group may be selected from the two or more base station-level WUS sub-groups in accordance with the mapping. (para 0107).
Regarding claims 18, 23, 27, 28, 32, 33, DHANDA discloses;
the method of paging subgrouping includes UE ID based paging subgrouping, and the UE supports a paging early indication, and wherein identifying a subgroup of the UE further comprises determining a subgroup ID of the UE for the paging subgrouping, based on a UE ID of the UE and a total number of subgroups, which is met by signals 1108 may identify system information identifying a set of WUS sub-groups, information identifying an assignment of the UE to a WUS sub-group of the set of WUS sub-groups, a WUS on a WUS occasion associated with the WUS sub-group, a paging message, and/or the like. The reception module 1104 may provide data 1110 to the transmission/provision module 1106. Transmission/provision module 1106 may transmit or provide signals 1112 comprising an indication that the UE supports WUS sub-grouping, and/or the like. (para 0130).
Regarding claims 19, 24, 30, 35, DHANDA discloses;
the method of identifying, by the gNB-DU, that the UE accessing the gNB- DU in a random access procedure is a reduced capability UE; and transferring, to the gNB-CU, information indicating that the UE accessing the gNB- DU is the reduced capability UE, which is met by
the UE and the MME may perform a non-access stratum (NAS) security procedure as part of the RRC connection establishment procedure. In some aspects, the UE and the MME may perform a different type of security procedure, such as an access stratum security procedure. As shown by reference number 335, the MME may provide, to the UE and via the base station, a registration message or a registration update message, such as an attach accept message, a tracking area update accept message, a registration accept message, and/or the like. As further shown, the attach accept message or the tracking area update accept message may identify which WUS sub-group is assigned to the UE (e.g., which base station-level WUS sub-group identifier or MME-level WUS sub-group identifier is assigned to the UE). Thus, the MME may indicate the WUS sub-group to which the UE is assigned so that the UE can monitor the appropriate WUS occasion (para 0074).
Regarding claims 20, 25, DHANDA discloses;
the method of receiving, from the gNB-CU receiving the transferred information, a radio resource control (RRC) setup message by the gNB- DU, which is met by
FIG. 10 is a flow chart of a method 1000 of wireless communication. The method may be performed by a UE (e.g., the UE 120 of FIG. 1, the UE of FIG. 3, the apparatus 1102/1102′, and/or the like) (para 0122).
At 1010, the UE may optionally receive system information identifying a set of WUS sub-groups. For example, the UE (e.g., using antenna 252, DEMOD 254, MIMO detector 256, receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, and/or the like) may receive system information. The system information may identify a set of WUS sub-groups. In some aspects, the system information identifies a mapping of a set of base station-level WUS sub-groups to a set of network device-level WUS sub-groups configured by a network device (para 0123).
At 1020, the UE may provide, for a network device, an indication that the UE supports WUS sub-grouping. For example, the UE (e.g., using controller/processor 280, transmit processor 264, TX MIMO processor 266, MOD 254, antenna 252, and/or the like) may provide an indication that the UE supports WUS sub-grouping. The UE may provide the indication for a network device (e.g., to the network device and/or via another device such as a base station). In some aspects, the indication that the UE supports WUS sub-grouping is provided in an attach request message or a tracking area update request message (para 0124).
Regarding claims 29, 34, DHANDA discloses;
the UE receives the paging message in a last used cell of the UE, which is met by
the UE may determine that the paging message is directed to the UE (e.g., based at least in part on a UE identifier of the UE), and may perform an action accordingly. In some aspects, the UE may perform a packet-switched call, a circuit-switched call, an RRC connection activation procedure, and/or the like based at least in part on the paging occasion. (para 0078).
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689