Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al., US 20200128902 (Brown).
Regarding Claim 1.Brown discloses an augmented reality sports data analytics system comprising:
a computerized ocular device wearable by a first user, the computerized ocular device having a display screen configured to display a data set within a proximal field of view of the first user without fully obstructing a distal field of view of the first user (Fig 1, elem 118; Abstract, para 96, 105, 121. A coach can use wearable glasses to observe athletes in which the wearable glasses can be provided with information about the athlete. The wearable glasses provided augmented reality display to the user for providing data related to athletes wearing sensors.);
an athletic setting within the distal field of view of the first user, wherein at least one athlete is positioned within the athletic setting (Fig 4A-4B, 14A-14B);
at least one sensor in communication with the computerized ocular device, the at least one sensor sensing data corresponding to the at least one athlete (Abstract, para 96, 108-109, 158); and
a computerized data processing system in communication with the computerized ocular device and the at least one sensor, wherein the data sensed by the at least one sensor is processed by the computerized data processing system to produce analytical athletic data, wherein the analytical athletic data is populated into the data set on the display screen of the computerized ocular device (para 184, 189, 224. Data from sensors worn by the athletes that are related to the athletes are communicated to the ocular device.).
Regarding Claims 2, 9 Brown further discloses, wherein the at least one sensor is positioned on or in the athletic setting, the at least one athlete, or a sporting implement (para 96, 108-109, 158).
Regarding Claims 3, 10 Brown further discloses wherein the at least one sensor is at least one of: a visual sensor, a movement or position sensor, a proximity sensor, a thermal sensor, or a biometric sensor (para 162-168).
Regarding Claims 4, 11 Brown further discloses wherein the analytical athletic data further comprises at least one of: data about the at least one athlete, a sporting implement, a field of play within the athletic setting, an environmental condition which can affect a sporting event (Fig 4A-4B, Fig 14A-14B; Abstract, para 170. Physical performance data of the athletes and an athletic setting are captured for analysis.).
Regarding Claims 5, 12 Brown further discloses wherein the analytical athletic data corresponds to different athletes within an athletic team, whereby the data set visually provides a tile viewable on the display screen and corresponding to each of the different athletes (Fig 4A-4B, Fig 14A-14B; Abstract, para 121, 170).
Regarding Claims 6, 13 Brown further discloses wherein the first user is a coach of the at least one athlete, wherein the analytical athletic data further comprises at least one of: in-game management data or training and practice scenarios data (Abstract, para 121, 160. Coaches being able to observe athletes and their performance is interpreted as being useful for training purposes.).
Regarding Claims 7, 14 Brown further discloses wherein the coach can view the analytical athletic data on the display screen while viewing a field of play of the athletic setting on which the at least one athlete is located (Fig 14A-14B; Abstract, para 121, 170).
Regarding Claim 8.Brown discloses a method for augmented reality sports data analytics, the method comprising:
providing a computerized ocular device wearable by a first user, the computerized ocular device having a display screen configured to display a data set within a proximal field of view of the first user without fully obstructing a distal field of view of the first user (Fig 1, elem 118; Abstract, para 96, 105, 121. A coach can use wearable glasses to observe athletes in which the wearable glasses can be provided with information about the athlete. The wearable glasses provided augmented reality display to the user for providing data related to athletes wearing sensors.);
directing the distal field of view of the first user to an athletic setting, wherein at least one athlete is positioned within the athletic setting (Fig 4A-4B, 14A-14B);
sensing data with at least one sensor in communication with the computerized ocular device, wherein the data sensed corresponds to the at least one athlete (Abstract, para 96, 108-109, 158); and
processing the data sensed in a computerized data processing system in communication with the computerized ocular device and the at least one sensor, wherein the data sensed by the at least one sensor is processed by the computerized data processing system to produce analytical athletic data (Abstract, para 113, 164, 168, 184. Data sensed is processed by the ocular device.); and
populating the analytical athletic data into the data set on the display screen of the computerized ocular device, whereby the first user can visually identify the data set on the display screen (para 184, 189, 224. Data from sensors worn by the athletes that are related to the athletes are communicated to the ocular device.).
Regarding Claim 15 Brown further discloses method of claim 8, further comprising:
providing the at least one athlete with a second computerized ocular device wearable by the at least one athlete, the second computerized ocular device having a display screen configured to display a data set within a proximal field of view of the at least one athlete without fully obstructing a distal field of view of the at least one athlete (Fig 4B, 14B; Abstract, para 121, 171); and
sending at least one training exercise to the second computerized ocular device of the at least one athlete, wherein the at least one athlete visually sees a 3D model in the display screen of the second computerized ocular device, wherein the 3D model imitates an opponent of the at least one athlete (Fig 4B. The figure depicts two athletes wearing their respective augmented reality glasses.).
Conclusion
/JEFFREY K WONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3715