Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,8-10,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230269712A1) in view of Mozaffari et al. (US20240195591A1)(hereinafter (Mo).
Regarding Claim 1, He teaches, A method performed by a user equipment (UE) to perform uplink transmission in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to a first initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) for a reduced capability (RedCap) UE; and [225]- According to a seventh approach, a set of redcap-specific initial UL BWPs may be explicitly configured in a system information block (e.g. SIB1), (=receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to a first initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) for a reduced capability (RedCap) UEs) limiting the BW to a value up to the BW supported by redcap devices (BWRedcap). Also see [195]- From the perspective of scheduling complexity and resource utilization it may be beneficial to have the same initial operating DL and UL BWP parameters for redcap UEs and non-redcap UEs.
transmitting, to the base station, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) on the first initial uplink BWP using a PUCCH resource set provided by second configuration information related to a PUCCH resource for the RedCap UE,
[202]- A separate physical resource block (PRB) Offset (Δoffset Redcap) for frequency hopping (FH) may be explicitly configured in the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)(= PUCCH resource set provided by second configuration information related to a PUCCH resource for the RedCap UE)
[203]- during an initial access procedure, the frequency hopping (FH) is always enabled and the resource block (RB) for PUCCH is distributed at the edges of the initial UL BWP to provide frequency diversity. In the time domain(=transmitting, to the base station, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) on the first initial uplink BWP)
He does not teach, wherein information related to disabling frequency hopping for the first PUCCH transmission is received from the base station together with the second configuration information.
Mo teaches, wherein information related to disabling frequency hopping for the first PUCCH transmission is received from the base station together with the second configuration information.
Fig 15 and [167]- At step 1502, the wireless device receives configuration information to be utilized to communicate with a base station, the configuration information including information indicating whether frequency hopping, associated with transmission of control information via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), is enabled or disabled.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of He, wherein information related to disabling frequency hopping for the first PUCCH transmission is received from the base station together with the second configuration information as taught by Yuan to add performance based on additional CSI fields for different TRP capabilities.
Regarding Claim 2, He teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: based on third configuration information related to dedicated PUCCH resources being received from the base station, a second PUCCH is transmitted to the base station based on the third configuration information.[202]- A common resource information element (common resource IE) in the System Information Block (SIB; e.g. SIB1) may be explicitly configured with the following restriction:N BWP size−2Δoffset Redcap≤BWRedcap.
As seen in FIG. 6 , the resources for transmissions by the redcap device are bounded by the separately configured PRB offset Δoffset Redcap.
Regarding Claim 3, He teaches, The method of claim 2, wherein: the first PUCCH is transmitted to the base station based on the second configuration information until the third configuration information is received during an initial access procedure.[214]- : Presently, in an initial access procedure the PUCCH resource is determined by using a combination of the PUCCH Resource Indictor (PRI) IE of a DCI 0_0 that schedules a Msg4,(=second cfg) if the UE provides HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission in response to detecting a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception(=third cfg) or a semi persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release, the UE determines a PUCCH resource.
Regarding Claim 4, He teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: based on a size of a maximum UL BWP supported by the UE being smaller than a size of a second initial uplink BWP, the first configuration information is received from the base station. [5]- with the initial uplink BWP having a bandwidth (BW) that is larger than a maximum BW supported by the device and is smaller than or equal to a maximum BW supported by the second device.
Regarding Claim 5, He teaches,The method of claim 4, wherein: the first configuration information is received from the base station through a system information block type 1 (SIB 1). [225]- According to a seventh approach, a set of redcap-specific initial UL BWPs may be explicitly configured in a system information block (e.g. SIB1),
Regarding Claim 6, He does not teach, The method of claim 5, wherein: the SIB 1 includes fourth configuration information related to a PUCCH resource set to be used in the second initial uplink BWP.
Mo teaches,The method of claim 5, wherein: the SIB 1 includes fourth configuration information related to a PUCCH resource set to be used in the second initial uplink BWP. [168] At step 1604, the wireless device transmits, by selectively utilizing frequency hopping, control information via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) based on the first size of the first initial BWP and the second size of the second initial BWP or based on the first location of the first initial BWP and the second location of the second initial BWP.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of He, The method of claim 5, wherein: the SIB 1 includes fourth configuration information related to a PUCCH resource set to be used in the second initial uplink BWP as taught by Yuan to add performance based on additional CSI fields for different TRP capabilities.
Regarding Claim 8, He teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: based on a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field included in downlink control information (DCI) and a control channel element (CCE) index corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including the DCI, the first PUCCH is transmitted to the base station using a specific PUCCH resource among a plurality of PUCCH resources included in the PUCCH resource set. [214]- Presently, in an initial access procedure the PUCCH resource is determined by using a combination of the PUCCH Resource Indictor (PRI) IE of a DCI 0_0 that schedules a Msg4, where NCCE is a number of CCEs in a CORESET of a PDCCH reception with the DCI format, as described in Clause 10.1, nCCE,0 is the index of a first CCE for the PDCCH reception, and ΔPRI is a value of the PUCCH resource indicator field in DCI format.
Regarding Claim 9, He teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: the UE is a UE with RedCap. FIG. 6 shows a simplified diagram illustrating default physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource configuration specific to a reduced capability (redcap) device, according to some embodiments;
Regarding Claim 10, He teaches, A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a base station through the at least one transceiver, first configuration information related to a first initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) for a reduced capability (RedCap) UE; and [225]- According to a seventh approach, a set of redcap-specific initial UL BWPs may be explicitly configured in a system information block (e.g. SIB1), (=receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to a first initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) for a reduced capability (RedCap) UEs) limiting the BW to a value up to the BW supported by redcap devices (BWRedcap). Also see [195]- From the perspective of scheduling complexity and resource utilization it may be beneficial to have the same initial operating DL and UL BWP parameters for redcap UEs and non-redcap UEs.
transmit, to the base station through the at least one transceiver, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) from the first initial uplink BWP using a PUCCH resource set provided by second configuration information related to a PUCCH resource for the RedCap UE
[202]- A separate physical resource block (PRB) Offset (Δoffset Redcap) for frequency hopping (FH) may be explicitly configured in the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)(= PUCCH resource set provided by second configuration information related to a PUCCH resource for the RedCap UE)
[203]- during an initial access procedure, the frequency hopping (FH) is always enabled and the resource block (RB) for PUCCH is distributed at the edges of the initial UL BWP to provide frequency diversity. In the time domain(=transmitting, to the base station, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) on the first initial uplink BWP)
He does not teach, wherein information related to disabling frequency hopping for the first PUCCH transmission is received from the base station together with the second configuration information.
Mo teaches, wherein information related to disabling frequency hopping for the first PUCCH transmission is received from the base station together with the second configuration information. information. Fig 15 and [167]- At step 1502, the wireless device receives configuration information to be utilized to communicate with a base station, the configuration information including information indicating whether frequency hopping, associated with transmission of control information via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), is enabled or disabled.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of He, wherein information related to disabling frequency hopping for the first PUCCH transmission is received from the base station together with the second configuration information as taught by Yuan to add performance based on additional CSI fields for different TRP capabilities.
Regarding Claim 12, He teaches, A base station performing uplink reception in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE) through the at least one transceiver, first configuration information related to a first initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) for a reduced capability (RedCap) UE; and [225]- According to a seventh approach, a set of redcap-specific initial UL BWPs may be explicitly configured in a system information block (e.g. SIB1), (=receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to a first initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) for a reduced capability (RedCap) UEs) limiting the BW to a value up to the BW supported by redcap devices (BWRedcap). Also see [195]- From the perspective of scheduling complexity and resource utilization it may be beneficial to have the same initial operating DL and UL BWP parameters for redcap UEs and non-redcap UEs.
receive, from the UE through the at least one transceiver, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) from the first initial uplink BWP using a PUCCH resource set provided by second configuration information related to a PUCCH resource for the RedCap UE,
[202]- A separate physical resource block (PRB) Offset (Δoffset Redcap) for frequency hopping (FH) may be explicitly configured in the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)(= PUCCH resource set provided by second configuration information related to a PUCCH resource for the RedCap UE)
[203]- during an initial access procedure, the frequency hopping (FH) is always enabled and the resource block (RB) for PUCCH is distributed at the edges of the initial UL BWP to provide frequency diversity. In the time domain(=transmitting, to the base station, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) on the first initial uplink BWP)
He does not teach, wherein information related to disabling frequency hopping for the first PUCCH transmission is transmitted to the UE together with the second configuration information.
Mo teaches, wherein information related to disabling frequency hopping for the first PUCCH transmission is transmitted to the UE together with the second configuration information. Fig 15 and [167]- At step 1502, the wireless device receives configuration information to be utilized to communicate with a base station, the configuration information including information indicating whether frequency hopping, associated with transmission of control information via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), is enabled or disabled.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of He, wherein information related to disabling frequency hopping for the first PUCCH transmission is transmitted to the UE together with the second configuration information as taught by Yuan to add performance based on additional CSI fields for different TRP capabilities.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230269712A1) in view of Mozaffari et al. (US20240195591A1)(hereinafter (Mo”) in further view of Desai et al. (US20240188122A1)
Regarding Claim 7, He in view of Mo does not teach, he method of claim 5, wherein: fifth configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) for the RedCap UE is received from the base station.
Desai teaches, The method of claim 5, wherein: fifth configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) for the RedCap UE is received from the base station.[176]- After receiving the PSDCH carrying Msg4 and the scheduling PDCCH that schedules this PDSCH in step 4, 1204, the UE transmits the PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK (indicating ACK/NACK) for Msg4.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of He in view of Mo, The method of claim 5, wherein: fifth configuration information related to a random access channel (RACH) for the RedCap UE is received from the base station as taught by Yuan to add performance based on additional CSI fields for different TRP capabilities.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478