DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, and species A.1 asthma, B.21 N,N-dimethyl-1-nonanamine in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4 and 17-19 are being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2010/0137733 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches:
4. A method of selecting a subject (e.g., 125) for treatment with a therapeutic agent or composition for a cardiorespiratory disease, the method comprising:
detecting the presence of one or more cardiorespiratory disease-VOC biomarkers in a sample of exhaled air (e.g., 130) from the subject (see ¶ 0046, 0051, 0053+),
wherein the presence of one or more of the VOC biomarkers in the sample suggests the subject has a cardiorespiratory disease (see ¶ 0045-0046, 0051+), and
selecting the subject for treatment with a therapeutic agent or composition for the cardiorespiratory disease (see ¶ 0059, 0066-0067+).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches: 17. The method according to claim 4, wherein the subject is experiencing breathlessness (e.g., asthma ¶ 0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2010/0137733 A1) in view of Wilde et al. (Journal of Chromatography A, 1594 (2019) 160–172).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches: 18. The method according to claim 4, wherein a gas chromatography coupled with mass spectrometry is used to detect the presence of the one or more VOC biomarkers in the sample (e.g., GC/MS ¶ 0050-0051). However, Wang does not explicitly teach: a two-dimensional gas chromatography.
Wilde teaches: analysis of exhaled breath VOCs by a two-dimensional gas chromatography (Abstract, 1. Introduction+).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use Wilde’s two-dimensional gas chromatography technique to detect Wang’s exhaled VOC biomarkers for the purpose of optimizing comprehensive clinical exhaled breath VOC analysis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches various VOC biomarkers selected from the group of 4-methyloctane, 2,4-dimethylheptane, isopropanol, toluene, isoprene, alkane, acetic acid, acetone, 2,6,11-trimethyl dodecane, 3,7-dimethyl undecane, 2,3-dimethyl heptane or a combination thereof (¶ 0051).
However, the prior art fail to teach or fairly suggest the Applicants’ claimed method according to claim 4, wherein the one or more cardiorespiratory disease-VOC biomarkers is N,N-dimethyl-1-nonanamine.
Conclusion
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1795