DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of claims
Claims 1-11, 13-21 are pending. Examiner notes the cancellation of claims 12, 22-25.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 14, 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4 of claim 1, the reference characters “(10, 12, 14)” should be deleted.
There are two commas at the end of line 17 in claim 1; one of them should be deleted.
The limitation “first structural member” in lines 27-28, 31, 35 of claim 1 should read --first
In line 7 of claim 4, the limitation “the inner engagement surface” should read --the inner
The limitation “first structural member” in lines 11-12 of claim 4 should read --first
In line 9 of claim 14, a space should appear between the semi-colon and “a free end”. Further, Examiner suggests changing the semi-colon to a comma.
In line 3 of claim 19, the limitation “the outer surface” should be corrected to read --the outer engagement surface-- as such is how the limitation is defined.
In line 4 of claim 19, the limitation “the first feature” should be corrected to read --the first locking feature-- as such is how the limitation is defined.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites that the engagement sleeve comprises “a plurality of engagement members”. Claim 1, of which claim 14 depends from, already recites that the engagement sleeve includes “an engagement member” in lines 14-15 of claim 1. It is unclear if the plurality of engagement members of claim 14 are intended to further define the engagement member of claim 1 and be identical to the engagement member of claim 1, or if these are additional engagement members that are different from that defined in claim 1. For the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that the plurality of engagement members are further defining of the engagement member of claim 1.
If Examiner’s interpretation is Applicant’s intention, Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to define that the engagement sleeve comprises “at least one engagement member” and amending claim 14 to recite that “the at least one engagement member comprises a plurality of engagement members”. Otherwise, Examiner suggests Applicant clearly define how the engagement members of claim 14 are different from that of claim 1, and perhaps rename the limitation so as to avoid confusion within the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the first locking feature is provided on an outer surface of the core element, between the section of the radially outer engagement surface which engages with the radially inner surface of the engagement member and the trailing edge end of the core element” in lines 3-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “the section of the radially outer engagement surface” and “the radially inner surface”. Further, Applicant appears to be defining an outer surface of the core element within the claim, however, an outer engagement surface of the core element has already been defined in line 5 of claim 1. It is unclear if this is a separate outer surface of the core element in addition to the outer engagement surface or not. For the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that the outer surface defined in claim 15 is referring to the outer engagement surface of the core element and that the locking feature is provided on a section of said surface which engages the inner surface of the engagement member. Further, Examiner will interpret that the radially inner surface of the engagement member is referring to the inner surface of the engagement member.
Claim 15 further recites “the second locking feature is provided on the inner surface of the engagement sleeve, between the radially inner engagement surface of the engagement member and the trailing edge end of the engagement sleeve”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “the inner surface of the engagement sleeve” and “the radially inner engagement surface of the engagement member”. Examiner does recognize, however, that an inner surface of the engagement member is defined in line 15 of claim 1. As such, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that the second locking feature is provided on the on the engagement sleeve, between the inner surface of the engagement member and the trailing edge end. Thus, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret claim 15 as reading the following:
“A connector assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein:
the first locking feature is provided on the outer engagement surface of the core element, between a section of the
the second locking feature is provided on the
Examiner further recognizes that claim 18 recites the limitation of the “radially inner surface” of the engagement member. For the purpose of this action, and consistent with Examiner’s interpretation of claim 15, Examiner will interpret said limitation as reading as the “inner surface” of the engagement member.
Appropriate correction is required. Claims 16-18, 20 are rejected as they depend from claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-11, 13-15, 17-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiba (US 5,644,439).
Regarding claim 1, Shiba (Fig. 1-5) discloses a connector assembly for engagement with a first member (7), wherein the first member defines a cavity with a contact surface, and an opening to the cavity (see cavity, contact surface, and opening to the cavity of the first member 7 in Fig. 1, 4-5); the connector assembly comprising:
a core element (5) having an outer engagement surface (formed by 27a-d, see Annotated Fig. 1 below) extending from a leading edge end towards a trailing edge end (see Annotated Fig. 1); and
an engagement sleeve (3) extending from a leading edge end to a trailing edge end (see Annotated Fig. 2 below), the engagement sleeve defining a passage having a central axis and an opening at the trailing edge end (see Annotated Fig. 2; central axis is arranged along screw 11 seen in Fig. 4-5),
wherein the engagement sleeve opening and engagement sleeve passage are configured to receive at least part of the core element extending from the leading edge end of the core element (see Fig. 4-5),
wherein the engagement sleeve includes an engagement member (engagement sleeve has a plurality of engagement members in the form of teeth 19a-d) having an outer surface and an inner surface (see outer and inner surfaces in Annotated Fig. 3 below),
wherein the outer surface of the engagement member is configured for engagement with the contact surface of the first member (see Fig. 5, see contact surface in Annotated Fig. 3),
wherein the inner surface of the engagement member has a first region and a second region (see Annotated Fig. 4 below), the second region extends from a free end defined by the leading edge end to the end of the first region (see Annotated Fig. 4), and the first region extends towards the opening of the engagement sleeve passage (see Annotated Fig. 4, see opening identified in Annotated Fig. 2),
wherein the inner surface of the engagement member and the outer engagement surface of the core element are configured to be slideable relative to each other in the first region and the second region (see Fig. 4-5), and
wherein the core element and engagement sleeve are configured such that, with the engagement sleeve entered in the cavity of the first structural member,
the connector assembly is operable to be in a first configuration in which the engagement sleeve is slideable relative to the cavity contact surface of the first structural member when the leading edge end of the core element is located along the first region of the engagement member (see first configuration in Fig. 4; the engagement sleeve 3 is capable of sliding relative to the cavity contact surface as the engagement sleeve must be inserted into the cavity of the first member), and
the connector assembly is operable to be in a second configuration in which the engagement sleeve is locked relative to the first structural member when the leading edge end of the core element is engaged with the second region of the engagement member (see second configuration in Fig. 5, at which point the leading edge end of the core element is within the second region of the engagement members, see Annotated 1 and 4, and the engagement members 19a-d are locked against the contact surface of the first member, see Col. 4 lines 31-44).
Annotated Figure 1 Annotated Figure 2
Annotated Figure 3 Annotated Figure 4
Regarding claim 2, Shiba discloses wherein the core element (5) and engagement sleeve (3) are configured such that, when the leading edge end of the core element slides along at least part of the second region of the inner surface of the engagement member, the outer surface of the engagement member is urged to engage with the cavity contact surface of the first member until the connector assembly is in the second configuration (as seen in Fig. 5; see leading edge end of core element in Annotated Fig. 1, see second region in Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Shiba discloses wherein the core element outer engagement surface increases in diameter from the leading edge end towards the trailing edge end terminating in a region of constant diameter (see Annotated Fig. 5 below).
Annotated Figure 5
Regarding claim 9, Shiba discloses wherein the core element (5) is provided with a first locking feature (23a-d); and
the engagement sleeve (3) is provided with a second locking feature (17a-d and teeth 19a-d),
wherein the first locking feature and second locking feature are configured to engage with one another to lock the engagement sleeve and core element together (see Col. 4 lines 9-19) and configured to disengage from one another so the engagement sleeve and core element are separable (as screw 11 is loosened, the locking features are capable of disengaging form one another).
Regarding claim 10, Shiba discloses wherein the first locking feature and the second locking feature are positioned such that
before the first locking feature engages with the second locking feature, the leading edge end of the core element is in the first region of the engagement sleeve and the connector assembly is in the first configuration (see Fig. 4, see first region in Annotated Fig. 4), and
after the first locking feature engages with the second locking feature, the leading edge end of the core element is in the second region of the engagement sleeve (see Fig. 5, see second region in Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Shiba discloses wherein the engagement member outer surface of the engagement sleeve is smooth or provided with at least one engagement tooth (it can be seen in Fig. 2 that the engagement member outer surface identified in Annotated Fig. 3 is smooth).
Regarding claim 13, Shiba discloses wherein the core element (5) defines an opening at the trailing edge end configured for receiving and engaging with a second member (see opening in Annotated Fig. 6 below, the opening receives and engages with the screw 11, i.e. a second member).
Annotated Figure 6
Regarding claim 14, Shiba discloses wherein the engagement sleeve (3) comprising:
a plurality of engagement members (19a-d), the plurality of engagement members spaced apart around the central axis (see Fig. 2, 4-5); and
each engagement member having
an outer surface for engagement with the cavity contact surface (see outer surface in Annotated Fig. 3), and
an inner surface for engagement with the core element outer surface (see inner surface in Annotated Fig. 3); a free end at the leading edge end (see free ends in Annotated Fig. 4), such that the free ends are spaced apart from one another around the central axis with a slot therebetween (slots 17a-d separate the engagement members from the trailing edge end to the free end).
Regarding claim 15, Shiba discloses wherein the first locking feature (23a-d) is provided on the outer engagement surface of the core element (see Fig. 3, locking feature on outer engagement surfaces 27a-d), between a section of the outer engagement surface which engages with the inner surface of the engagement member and the trailing edge end of the core element (see Fig. 3, see Fig. 4-5 showing the locking features are on the outer surface between the section of the outer surface which engages the inner surface of the engagement member); and
the second locking feature (19a-d, 17a-d) is provided on the engagement sleeve (see Fig. 2), between the inner surface of the engagement member and the trailing edge end of the engagement sleeve (slots 17a-d interrupt the inner surface of the engagement members, thus they are between the inner surface of the engagement members, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Shiba discloses wherein transition from the first configuration (Fig. 4) to the second configuration (Fig. 5) starts when the first locking feature and second locking feature engage (as 23a-d are received further within 17a-d, the connector assembly transitions from the first configuration to the second configuration, see Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 18, Shiba discloses wherein the engagement sleeve (3) engagement member inner surface is smooth (see Fig. 4-5, see inner surface in Annotated Fig. 3); and
the core element (5) outer engagement surface is smooth (see Fig. 3 see outer engagement surface in Annotated Fig. 1), such that when the leading edge end of the core element is in the second region of the engagement sleeve, the inner surface of the engagement member is in contact with the core element outer engagement surface (see Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 19, Shiba discloses wherein the first locking feature (23a-d) is provided on the outer surface of the core element (see Fig. 3), the first feature including a mount which extends outwards from, and extends along, the outer engagement surface from the core element leading edge towards the core element trailing edge (see mount portions of the first locking feature in Annotated Fig. 7 below), and further including teeth provided on a side of the mount to extend in a first circumferential direction (see teeth portions of the first locking feature in Annotated Fig. 7);
the second locking feature (17a-d, 19a-d) is provided on a side of the engagement sleeve engagement member (see Fig. 2) and includes teeth which extend in a second circumferential direction opposite to the first circumferential direction (teeth are formed by 19a-d, see Fig. 2 showing the teeth extend in a second circumferential direction opposite to the teeth of the first locking portion); and
the teeth of the first locking feature and the teeth of the second locking feature being configured for interlocking engagement such that, when the teeth of the first locking feature and teeth of the second locking feature are engaged the core element and engagement sleeve are locked together (see Fig. 5, see Col. 4 lines 9-19).
Annotated Figure 7
Regarding claim 21, Shiba discloses a kit of parts for a structure, the kit of parts comprising:
a connector assembly as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 above); and
a first member (7) which defines a cavity with a contact surface, and an opening to the cavity to receive at least the leading edge end of the engagement sleeve (see Fig. 1, 4-5, see Annotated Fig. 3-4).
Claims 1-10, 14-18, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uemura (US 5,769,104).
Regarding claim 1, Uemura discloses a connector assembly (with specific focus on the embodiment of Fig. 10-12) for engagement with a first member (3), wherein the first member defines a cavity with a contact surface, and an opening to the cavity (see opening, cavity, and contact surface of the first member in Fig. 4, 8); the connector assembly comprising:
a core element (14) having an outer engagement surface (comprising 141 and outer threads as stated in Col. 4 lines 49-67) extending from a leading edge end towards a trailing edge end (see Annotated Fig. 8 below); and
an engagement sleeve (13) extending from a leading edge end to a trailing edge end (see Annotated Fig. 9 below), the engagement sleeve defining a passage having a central axis and an opening at the trailing edge end (see opening which leads to the passage within Fig. 11, central axis is located along the sleeve 131),
wherein the engagement sleeve opening and engagement sleeve passage are configured to receive at least part of the core element extending from the leading edge end of the core element (see Fig. 12, see Col. 4 lines 49-67),
wherein the engagement sleeve includes an engagement member (134) having an outer surface and an inner surface (see Annotated Fig. 10 below),
wherein the outer surface of the engagement member is configured for engagement with the contact surface of the first member (see Col. 4 lines 58-67),
wherein the inner surface of the engagement member has a first region and a second region (see Annotated Fig. 10), the second region extends from a free end defined by the leading edge end to the end of the first region, and the first region extends towards the opening of the engagement sleeve passage (see Annotated Fig. 10),
wherein the inner surface of the engagement member and the outer engagement surface of the core element are configured to be slideable relative to each other in the first region and the second region (via the threading of the core element within the engagement sleeve as described in Col. 4 lines 49-67), and
wherein the core element and engagement sleeve are configured such that, with the engagement sleeve entered in the cavity of the first structural member,
the connector assembly is operable to be in a first configuration in which the engagement sleeve is slideable relative to the cavity contact surface of the first structural member when the leading edge end of the core element is located along the first region of the engagement member (first configuration is when portion 141 of the core element is in the first region and engagement members are not expanded radially outward as described in Col. 4 lines 58-67), and
the connector assembly is operable to be in a second configuration in which the engagement sleeve is locked relative to the first structural member when the leading edge end of the core element is engaged with the second region of the engagement member (second configuration is when the core element is fully threaded within the engagement sleeve and the engagement members are expanded radially outward as described in Col. 4 lines 58-67).
Annotated Figure 8 Annotated Figure 9
Annotated Figure 10
Regarding claim 2, Uemura discloses wherein the core element (14) and engagement sleeve (13) are configured such that, when the leading edge end of the core element slides along at least part of the second region of the inner surface of the engagement member, the outer surface of the engagement member is urged to engage with the cavity contact surface of the first member until the connector assembly is in the second configuration (see Col. 4 lines 58-67, as the leading edge end of the core element slides along the second region, the core element and engagement sleeve thread together and cause the connector assembly to move to the second configuration where the engagement members 134 expand outward to abut and contact the contact surface of the first member 3).
Regarding claim 3, Uemura discloses wherein when the leading edge end of the core element is located along the first region of the inner surface of the engagement member, a clearance fit is maintained between the inner surface of the engagement sleeve and the outer engagement surface of the core element (in the first configuration, a clearance fit is between portion 141 of the outer surface of the core element and the inner surface of the engagement members); and
when the leading edge end of the core element is engaged with the second region of the inner surface of the engagement member, there is an interference fit between the inner surface of the engagement sleeve and the outer engagement surface of the core element (when in the second configuration, and the core element is threaded with the engagement sleeve, the inner surface of the engagement sleeve and the outer engagement surface of the core element are in interference fit via the threaded connection as described in Col. 4 lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 4, Uemura discloses wherein the core element (14) and engagement sleeve (13) are configured such that, as the leading edge end of the core element moves from being engaged with the second region of the engagement member to being located along the first region of the engagement member, the outer engagement surface of the core element disengages with the inner engagement surface of the engagement sleeve so as to permit the engagement sleeve engagement member to disengage with the cavity contact surface of the first member (as the core element becomes unthreaded with the engagement sleeve, the leading edge will move from the second region to the first region, thereby the outer threads of the core element will disengage with the inner threads of the engagement sleeve, see Col. 4 lines 49-67), and such that the connector assembly transitions from the second configuration to the first configuration to thereby allow the engagement sleeve to slide along the cavity contact surface of the first structural member (as the core element is no longer in threaded connection with the engagement sleeve, the connector assembly will transition from the second configuration to the first configuration and allow the engagement sleeve to slide along the cavity of the first member).
Regarding claim 5, Uemura discloses wherein in the first configuration, the free end of the engagement member is a first distance from the central axis; and
in the second configuration, the free end of the engagement member is a second distance from the central axis, the second distance being greater than the first distance (see the free end in Annotated Fig. 10; as the connector assembly transitions to the second configuration, the free end will be at a second distance from the central axis which is greater than the first distance due to the engagement members of the engagement sleeve being urged outward as discussed in Col. 4 lines 49-67).
Regarding claim 6, Uemura discloses wherein in the first configuration, the engagement member outer surface increases in diameter from the leading edge end from a first diameter to a second diameter and then extends towards the trailing edge end with a region of constant diameter (see Annotated Fig. 11 below showing a region of increasing diameter from the leading edge end from a first diameter to an increasing diameter, which extends towards the trailing edge end with a region of constant diameter, see leading edge end and trailing edge end in Annotated Fig. 9.
Annotated Figure 11
Regarding claim 7, Uemura discloses wherein in the first configuration, the engagement member inner surface increases in diameter from the leading edge end along at least part of the engagement member inner surface towards the trailing edge end (see the increasing diameter of the engagement member inner surface from the leading edge end towards the trailing edge end in Annotated Fig. 12 below).
Annotated Figure 12
Regarding claim 8, Uemura discloses wherein the core element outer engagement surface increases in diameter from the leading edge end towards the trailing edge end terminating in a region of constant diameter (see the region of the increasing diameter of the core element outer engagement surface from the leading edge end and the region of constant diameter towards the trailing edge end in Annotated Fig. 13 below).
Annotated Figure 13
Regarding claim 9, Uemura discloses wherein the core element (14) is provided with a first locking feature (the outer threads on the outer engagement surface discussed in Col. 4 lines 49-67);
the engagement sleeve (13) is provided with a second locking feature (inner threads 133 on the inner surface of the engagement members of the engagement sleeve);
wherein the first locking feature and the second locking feature are configured to engage with one another to lock the engagement sleeve and the core element together and configured to disengage with one another so the engagement sleeve and core element are separable (via the threaded connection between the core element and engagement sleeve as discussed in Col. 4 lines 49-67).
Regarding claim 10, Uemura discloses wherein the first locking feature and the second locking feature are positioned such that
before the first locking feature engages with the second locking feature, the leading edge end of the core element is in the first region of the engagement sleeve and the connector assembly is in the first configuration (the first configuration occurs when the leading edge end of the core element is in the first region, see Annotated Fig. 8 and 10, thus which is prior to the first and second locking features engaging with one another), and
after the first locking feature engages with the second locking feature, the leading edge end of the core element is in the second region of the engagement sleeve (as the leading edge end of the core element enters the second region, the first and second locking features have engaged one another and the connector assembly enters the second configuration).
Regarding claim 14, Uemura discloses wherein the engagement sleeve (13) comprises:
a plurality of engagement members (134), the plurality of engagement members spaced apart around the central axis (see Fig. 10A-12); and
each engagement member having
an outer surface for engagement with the cavity contact surface (see outer surface in Annotated Fig. 10), and
an inner surface for engagement with the core element outer surface (see inner surface in Annotated Fig. 10), a free end at the leading edge end (see free ends in Annotated Fig. 10), such that the free ends are spaced apart from one another around the central axis with a slot therebetween (slots 131 separate the engagement members from the trailing edge end to the free end as seen in Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 15, Uemura discloses wherein the first locking feature is provided on the outer engagement surface of the core element, between a section of the outer engagement surface which engages with the inner surface of the engagement member and the trailing edge end of the core element (the first locking feature is the outer threads on the outer engagement surface of the core element as discussed in Col. 4 lines 49-67; the first locking feature is between a section of the outer engagement surface that engages the inner surface of the engagement member and the trailing edge end); and
the second locking feature is provided on the engagement sleeve, between the inner surface of the engagement member and the trailing edge end of the engagement sleeve (the second locking feature are the inner threads 133 which are provided on the inner surface of the engagement members, see Fig. 11-12).
Regarding claim 16, Uemura discloses wherein
(a) the first locking feature on the core element is a first screw thread (see Col. 4 lines 49-67); and
(b) the second locking feature (1333) on the engagement sleeve is a second screw thread (see Col. 4 lines 49-67).
Regarding claim 17, Uemura discloses wherein transition from the first configuration to the second configuration starts when the first locking feature and second locking feature engage (as discussed in Col. 4 lines 49-67, as when the locking features engage, the outer surface of the engagement sleeve expands outward, thus indicating the connector assembly is in the second configuration).
Regarding claim 18, Uemura discloses wherein the engagement sleeve engagement member inner surface is smooth (see the smooth portion of the inner surface in Annotated Fig. 14 below); and
the core element outer engagement surface is smooth (portion 141 of the outer surface is smooth as seen in Fig. 10), such that when the leading edge end of the core element is in the second region of the engagement sleeve, the inner surface of the engagement member is in contact with the core element outer engagement surface (as discussed in Col. 4 lines 49-67).
Annotated Figure 14
Regarding claim 20, Uemura discloses wherein the core element and engagement sleeve are rotatable relative to one another around the central axis to engage and disengage the first locking feature and second locking feature (the threads first and second locking features of the core element and engagement sleeve enable them to be rotatable relative to one another so as to engage and disengage as discussed in Col. 4 lines 49-67).
Regarding claim 21, Uemura discloses a kit of parts for a structure, the kit of parts comprising:
a connector assembly as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 above); and
a first member (3) which defines a cavity with a contact surface, and an opening to the cavity to receive at least the leading edge end of the engagement sleeve (see opening, cavity, and contact surface of the first member in Fig. 4, 8; see leading edge end of the engagement sleeve in Annotated Fig. 9; see Col. 4 lines 49-67 discussing that the first member receives the engagement sleeve).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/KEVIN J BAYNES/Examiner, Art Unit 3678